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ARTICLE 3
AGING SERVICES

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144A.20, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Assisted living director qualifications; ongoing training. (a) The Board of
Executives for Long Term Services and Supports may issue licenses to qualified persons
as an assisted living director and shall approve training and examinations. No license shall
be issued to a person as an assisted living director unless that person:

(1) is eligible for licensure;

(2) has applied for licensure under this subdivision within six-menths 30 days of hire as
an assisted living director; and

(3) has satisfactorily met standards set by the board eris-seheduled-to-complete-the
training-inparagraph-(b)-within-ene-yearofhire. The standards shall be designed to assure

that assisted living directors are individuals who, by training or experience, are qualified to
serve as assisted living directors.

(b) In order to be qualified to serve as an assisted living director, an individual must:

(1) have completed an approved training course and passed an examination approved
by the board that is designed to test for competence and that includes assisted living facility
laws in Minnesota; or

(2)(i) currently be licensed in the state of Minnesota as a nursing home administrator or
have been validated as a qualified health services executive by the National Association of
Long Term Care Administrator Boards; and

(ii) have core knowledge of assisted living facility laws;-et.

(c) An assisted living director must receive at least 30 hours of training continuing
education every two years on topics relevant to the operation of an assisted living facility
and the needs of its residents. An assisted living director must maintain records of the
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training required by this paragraph for at least the most recent three-year period and must
provide these records to Department of Health surveyors upon request. Continuing education
earned to maintain another professional license, such as a nursing home administrator license,
nursing license, social worker license, mental health professional license, or real estate
license, may be used to satisfy this requirement when the continuing education is relevant

to the assisted living services offered and residents served at the assisted living facility.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144G.30, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Correction orders. (2) A correction order may be issued whenever the
commissioner finds upon survey or during a complaint investigation that a facility, a
managerial official, an agent of the facility, or an employee of the facility is not in compliance
with this chapter. The correction order shall cite the specific statute and document areas of
noncompliance and the time allowed for correction.

(b) The commissioner shall mail or email copies of any correction order to the facility
within 30 calendar days after the survey exit date. A copy of each correction order and
copies of any documentation supplied to the commissioner shall be kept on file by the
facility and public documents shall be made available for viewing by any person upon
request. Copies may be kept electronically.

(c) By the correction order date, the facility must:

(1) document in the facility's records any action taken to comply with the correction
order. The commissioner may request a copy of this documentation and the facility's action
to respond to the correction order in future surveys, upon a complaint investigation, and as
otherwise needed-; and

(2) post or otherwise make available, in a manner or location readily accessible to
residents and others, the most recent plan of correction documenting the actions taken by
the facility to comply with the correction order.

(d) After the plan of correction is posted or otherwise made available under paragraph
(c), clause (2), the facility must provide a copy of the facility's most recent plan of correction
to any individual who requests it. A copy of the most recent plan of correction must be
provided within 30 days after the request and in a format determined by the facility, except
the facility must make reasonable accommodations in providing the plan of correction in
another format upon request.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to correction
orders issued on or after that date.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.975, subdivision 7¢, is amended to read:

Subd. 7e. Long-term care options counseling for-assisted-living at critical care
transitions. (a) The purpose of long-term care options counseling for-assistedttving is to
support persons with current or anticipated long-term care needs in making informed choices
among options that include the most cost-effective and least restrictive settings. Prospeetive
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Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.975, subdivision 7e, is amended to read:

Subd. 7e. Long-term care options counseling for-assisted-living at critical care
transitions. (a) The purpose of long-term care options counseling for-assistedttving is to
support persons with current or anticipated long-term care needs in making informed choices
among options that include the most cost-effective and least restrictive settings. Prospeetive
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47.27 H atita ; 0 0 41.14 H atita ; 0 0

47.28 Reaching people before a crisis and durmg care transmons is important to ensure quallty 41.15 Reaching people before a crisis and durmg care transmons is important to ensure quallty
4729 of care and life, prevent unnecessary hospitalizations and readmissions, reduce the burden 41.16  of care and life, prevent unnecessary hospitalizations and readmissions, reduce the burden
47.30 on the health care system, reduce costs, and support personal preferences. 41.17  on the health care system, reduce costs, and support personal preferences.

47.31 41.18

47.32 41.19

47.33 41.20

48.1 41.21

48.2 41.22

48.3 41.23

48.4 41.24

48.5 41.25

48.6 41.26

48.7 ing-da h i i 8 W Counsehng must be 41.27 ing-da h i i 8 W Counsehng must be
48.8 dellvered by Semor LinkAge Line either by telephone or in-person. Counseling must: 41.28 dellvered by Semor LinkAge Line either by telephone or in person. Counseling must:

48.9 41.29

48.10 41.30

48.11 41.31

48.12 42.1

48.13 422

48.14 423

48.15 (2)-the-eounseling-shall (1) be performed in a manner that provides objective and complete 424 (2)-the-eounseling-shalt (1) be performed in a manner that provides objective and complete
48.16 information; 42.5  information;

48.17 (—.’H—theeeimsehﬂg—must Q 1nclude a reVleW of the pfespeetwe—feﬁdeﬂt—s—feaseﬂs—fof 42.6 (—.’H—theeeimsehﬂg—must Q 1nclude a reVleW of the pfespeetwe—feﬁdeﬂt—s—feaseﬂs—fof
48.18 een RE-a SSery person's personal goals, & 42.7 o RE-a SSery person's personal goals, &
48.19  discussion of the pfespeeﬂve—res-}deﬂt—s person's 1mmed1ate and projected long-term care 42.8  discussion of the pfespeeﬂve—res-}deﬂt—s person's 1mmed1ate and projected long-term care
48.20 needs, and alternative community services or settings that may meet the prespeetiveresident's 429  needs, and alternative community services or settings that may meet the prespeetiveresident's
48.21 person's needs; and 42.10  person's needs; and

48.22 42.11

48.23 42.12

48.24 42.13

48.25 42.14

48.26 42.15

48.27 AL hH a H e 42.16 AL hH a H e

48.28 the counseling and referral protocols in subdivision 7, paragraph (b), clauses (11) to (13). 42.17 the counseling and referral protocols in subdivision 7, paragraph (b), clauses (11) to (13).
48.29 (c) An assisted living facility licensed under chapter 144G shal: 42.18 (c) An assisted living facility licensed under chapter 144G shal:

48.30 5 must inform each prospective resident or the prospective resident's designated or 42.19 5 must inform each prospective resident or the prospective resident's designated or
48.31 legal representative of the availability of and contact information for long-term care options 4220 legal representative of the availability of and contact information for long-term care options
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counseling services under this subdivisions by providing Senior LinkAge Line information
at the facility tour.

paragraph(o)-are-permittea-aceoraingtopo es-established-by-the-commissiener: Prior to
discharge, hospitals must refer older adults who are at risk of nursing home placement to
the Senior LinkAge Line for long-term care options counseling. Hospitals must make these
referrals using referral protocols and processes developed under subdivision 7.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.69, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 6h. Continuity of care for seniors receiving personal assistance. (a) If an
individual 65 years of age or older is receiving personal assistance from the same agency
continuously during the six months prior to being newly enrolled with any managed care
or county-based purchasing plan, the managed care plan or county-based purchasing plan
with which the individual is newly enrolled must offer the agency a contract for the purposes
of allowing the enrollee to receive any personal assistance covered under the terms of the
plan from the enrollee's current agency, provided the enrollee continues to live in the service
area of the enrollee's current agency.

(b) This subdivision applies only if the enrollee's current agency agrees to accept as
payment in full the managed care plan's or county-based purchasing plan's in-network
reimbursement rate for the same covered service at the time the service is provided, and
agrees to enter into a managed care plan's or county-based purchasing plan's contract for

personal assistance.

(c) For the purposes of this subdivision, "agency" means any of the following:

(1) an agency provider as described in section 256B.85;

(2) a financial management services provider for an enrollee who directly employs direct
care staff through the community first services and supports budget model or through the
consumer-directed community supports option available under the elderly waiver; or

(3) a personal care assistance provider agency as defined under section 256B.0659,
subdivision 1, paragraph (1).
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4221 counseling services under this subdivisions by providing Senior LinkAge Line information
42.22  at the facility tour.

42.23

42.24

42.25

42.26 8 H
4227 paragraph(b)-arepermitted-aceordingto-policies-established by the-eemmissioner. Prior to
4228 discharge, hospitals must refer older adults who are at risk of nursing home placement to
42.29 the Senior LinkAge Line for long-term care options counseling. Hospitals must make these
4230 referrals using referral protocols and processes developed under subdivision 7.

4231 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.

43.1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.69, is amended by adding a subdivision to
432  read:

433 Subd. 6h. Continuity of care for seniors receiving personal assistance. (a) If an
434 individual 65 years of age or older is receiving personal assistance from the same agency
43.5  continuously during the six months prior to being newly enrolled with any managed care
43.6  or county-based purchasing plan, the managed care or county-based purchasing plan with
43.7  which the individual is newly enrolled must offer the agency a contract for the purposes of
43.8  allowing the enrollee to receive any personal assistance covered under the terms of the plan
439  from the enrollee's current agency, provided the enrollee continues to live in the service
43.10 area of the enrollee's current agency.

43.28 (c) This subdivision applies only if the enrollee's current agency agrees to accept as
4329 payment in full the managed care plan's or county-based purchasing plan's in-network
43.30 reimbursement rate for the same covered service at the time the service is provided, and
43.31 agrees to enter into a managed care plan's or county-based purchasing plan's contract for
4332 services of like kind.

43.11 (b) For the purposes of this subdivision, the following terms have the meanings given:
43.12 (1) "agency" means any of the following:

43.15 (ii) an agency provider as described in section 256B.85, subdivision 2, paragraph (c);
43.16 or

43.17 (iii) a financial management services provider for an enrollee who directly employs
43.18 direct care staff through the community first services and supports budget model or through
43.19  the consumer-directed community supports option available under the elderly waiver; and
43.13 (i) a personal care assistance provider agency as defined under section 256B.0659,
43.14  subdivision 1, paragraph (1);
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(d) For the purposes of this subdivision, "personal assistance" means any of the following:

(1) community first services and supports, extended community first services and
supports, or enhanced rate community first services and supports under section 256B.85;

(2) personal assistance provided through the consumer-directed community supports
option available under the elderly waiver; or

(3) personal care assistance services, extended personal care assistance services, or
enhanced rate personal care assistance services under section 256B.0659.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256R.08, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Reporting of financial statements. (a) No later than February 1 of each
year, a nursing facility must:

(1) provide the state agency with a copy of its audited-finaneial-statements-erits working
trial balance;

(2) provide the state agency with a copy of its audited financial statements for each year
an audit is conducted,

2) (3) provide the state agency with a statement of ownership for the facility;

£3) (4) provide the state agency with separate, audited financial statements er and working
trial balances for every other facility owned in whole or in part by an individual or entity
that has an ownership interest in the facility;

(5) provide the state agency with information regarding whether the licensee or a general
partner, director, or officer of the licensee controls or has an ownership interest of five
percent or more in a related organization that provides any services, facilities, or supplies
to the nursing facility;

t4) (6) upon request, provide the state agency with separate, audited financial statements
or and working trial balances for every organization with which the facility conducts business
and which is owned in whole or in part by an individual or entity which has an ownership
interest in the facility;

€5 (7) provide the state agency with copies of leases, purchase agreements, and other
documents related to the lease or purchase of the nursing facility; and

£6) (8) upon request, provide the state agency with copies of leases, purchase agreements,
and other documents related to the acquisition of equipment, goods, and services which are
claimed as allowable costs.

(b) If the licensee or the general partner, director, or officer of the licensee controls or
has an interest as described in paragraph (a), clause (5), the licensee must disclose all services,
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43.20 (2) "personal assistance" means any of the following:

43.23 (ii) community first services and supports, extended community first services and

43.24  supports, or enhanced rate community first services and supports under section 256B.85;
4325 or

43.26 (iii) personal assistance provided through the consumer-directed community supports
43.27 option available under the elderly waiver.

43.21 (i) personal care assistance services, extended personal care assistance services, or

43.22 enhanced rate personal care assistance services under section 256B.0659;

44.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

44.2 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256R.08, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

443 Subdivision 1. Reporting of financial statements. (a) No later than February 1 of each
444  year, a nursing facility must:

44.5 (1) provide the state agency with a copy of its audited-finaneial-statements-erits working
44.6  trial balance;

447 (2) provide the state agency with a copy of its audited financial statements for each year
44.8  an audit is conducted;

44.9 2) (3) provide the state agency with a statement of ownership for the facility;

44.10 £3) (4) provide the state agency with separate, audited financial statements er and working
44.11 trial balances for every other facility owned in whole or in part by an individual or entity
44.12  that has an ownership interest in the facility;

44.13 (5) provide the state agency with information regarding whether the licensee or a general
44.14  partner, director, or officer of the licensee controls or has an ownership interest of five

44.15 percent or more in a related organization that provides any services, facilities, or supplies
44.16  to the nursing facility;

44.17 t4) (6) upon request, provide the state agency with separate, audited financial statements
44.18 er and working trial balances for every organization with which the facility conducts business
44.19  and which is owned in whole or in part by an individual or entity which has an ownership
4420 interest in the facility;

4421 €5 (7) provide the state agency with copies of leases, purchase agreements, and other
4422  documents related to the lease or purchase of the nursing facility; and

44.23 £6) (8) upon request, provide the state agency with copies of leases, purchase agreements,
44.24  and other documents related to the acquisition of equipment, goods, and services which are
44.25 claimed as allowable costs.

44.26 (b) If the licensee or the general partner, director, or officer of the licensee controls or
4427 has an interest as described in paragraph (a), clause (5), the licensee must disclose all services,
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facilities, or supplies provided to the nursing facility; the number of individuals who provide
services, facilities, or supplies at the nursing facility; and any other information requested

by the state agency.

) (c) Audited financial statements submitted under paragraph paragraphs (a) and (b)
must include a balance sheet, income statement, statement of the rate or rates charged to
private paying residents, statement of retained earnings, statement of cash flows, notes to
the financial statements, audited applicable supplemental information, and the public
accountant's report. Public accountants must conduct audits in accordance with chapter
326A. The cost of an audit must not be an allowable cost unless the nursing facility submits
its audited financial statements in the manner otherwise specified in this subdivision. A
nursing facility must permit access by the state agency to the public accountant's audit work
papers that support the audited financial statements submitted under paragraph paragraphs

(a) and (b).

te) (d) Documents or information provided to the state agency pursuant to this subdivision
must be public unless prohibited by the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability
Act or any other federal or state regulation. Data, notes, and preliminary drafts of reports
created, collected, and maintained by the audit offices of government entities, or persons
performing audits for government entities, and relating to an audit or investigation are
confidential data on individuals or protected nonpublic data until the final report has been
published or the audit or investigation is no longer being pursued actively, except that the
data must be disclosed as required to comply with section 6.67 or 609.456.

& (e) If the requirements of paragraphs (a) and, (b), and (c) are not met, the
reimbursement rate may be reduced to 80 percent of the rate in effect on the first day of the
fourth calendar month after the close of the reporting period and the reduction must continue
until the requirements are met.

(f) Licensees must provide the information required in this section to the commissioner
in a manner prescribed by the commissioner.

(g) For purposes of this section, "related organization" and "control" have the meanings
given in section 256R.02, subdivision 43.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256R.08, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 5. Notice of costs associated with leases, rent, and use of land or other real
property by nursing homes. (a) Nursing homes must annually report to the commissioner,
in a manner determined by the commissioner, their cost associated with leases, rent, and
use of land or other real property and any other related information requested by the state

agency.
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44.28 facilities, or supplies provided to the nursing facility; the number of individuals who provide
44.29  services, facilities, or supplies at the nursing facility; and any other information requested
4430 by the state agency.

4431 ) (c) Audited financial statements submitted under paragraph paragraphs (a) and (b)
44.32  must include a balance sheet, income statement, statement of the rate or rates charged to
45.1  private paying residents, statement of retained earnings, statement of cash flows, notes to
452 the financial statements, audited applicable supplemental information, and the public

453  accountant's report. Public accountants must conduct audits in accordance with chapter

454 326A. The cost of an audit must not be an allowable cost unless the nursing facility submits
45.5  its audited financial statements in the manner otherwise specified in this subdivision. A

45.6  nursing facility must permit access by the state agency to the public accountant's audit work
457  papers that support the audited financial statements submitted under paragraph paragraphs
458  (a) and (b).

459 te) (d) Documents or information provided to the state agency pursuant to this subdivision
45.10 must be public unless prohibited by the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability
45.11 Act or any other federal or state regulation. Data, notes, and preliminary drafts of reports
45.12  created, collected, and maintained by the audit offices of government entities, or persons
45.13  performing audits for government entities, and relating to an audit or investigation are

45.14  confidential data on individuals or protected nonpublic data until the final report has been
45.15 published or the audit or investigation is no longer being pursued actively, except that the
45.16 data must be disclosed as required to comply with section 6.67 or 609.456.

45.17 & (e) If the requirements of paragraphs (a) and, (b), and (c) are not met, the

45.18 reimbursement rate may be reduced to 80 percent of the rate in effect on the first day of the
45.19  fourth calendar month after the close of the reporting period and the reduction must continue
45.20 until the requirements are met.

45.21 (f) Licensees must provide the information required in this section to the commissioner
4522 in a manner prescribed by the commissioner.

45.23 (g) For purposes of this section, "related organization" and "control" have the meaning
45.24 given in section 256R.02, subdivision 43.

45.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.

45.26 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256R.08, is amended by adding a subdivision to
4527 read:

45.28 Subd. 5. Notice of costs associated with leases, rent, and use of land or other real
45.29 property by nursing homes. (a) Nursing homes must annually report to the commissioner,
4530 in a manner determined by the commissioner, their cost associated with leases, rent, and
45.31 use of land or other real property and any other related information requested by the state
4532  agency.
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(b) A nursing facility that violates this subdivision is subject to the penalties and
procedures under section 256R.04, subdivision 7.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256S.205, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Rate adjustment; rate floor. (2) Notwithstanding the 24-hour customized
living monthly service rate limits under section 256S.202, subdivision 2, and the component
service rates established under section 256S.201, subdivision 4, the commissioner must
establish a rate floor equal to $119 per resident per day for 24-hour customized living
services provided to an elderly waiver participant in a designated disproportionate share
facility.

(b) The commissioner must apply the rate floor to the services described in paragraph
(a) provided during the rate year.

(c) The commissioner must adjust the rate floor by the same amount and at the same
time as any adjustment to the 24-hour customized living monthly service rate limits under
section 256S.202, subdivision 2.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256S.205, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 7. Expiration. This section expires on the first December 31 that occurs at least
23 months following the effective date of the repeal, expiration, or removal of all rate
phase-in provisions in section 256S.2101. The commissioner of human services shall inform
the revisor of statutes when this section expires.

Sec. 9. REPEALER.

(a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.975, subdivisions 7f and 7g, are repealed.

(b) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256R.18, is repealed.

EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (a) is effective August 1, 2024. Paragraph (b) is effective
July 1, 2024.

PAGE R7A3

April 19,2024 12:02 PM

46.1
46.2

46.3

46.4
46.5
46.6

46.7
46.8

House Language UES4399-1

(b) A nursing facility that violates this subdivision is subject to the penalties and

procedures under section 256R.04, subdivision 7.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.

Sec. 5. REPEALER.

(a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.975, subdivisions 7f and 7g, are repealed.

(b) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256R.18, is repealed.

EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (a) is effective August 1, 2024. Paragraph (b) is effective

July 1, 2024.
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