79.22	ARTICLE 3
79.23	COMMERCIAL REGULATION AND CONSUMER PROTECTION
79.24	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 45.011, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
79.25 79.26 79.27 79.28 79.29	Subdivision 1. <b>Scope.</b> As used in chapters 45 to 80C, 80E to 83, 155A, 216C, 332, 332A, 332B, 345, and 359, and sections 81A.22 to 81A.37; 123A.21, subdivision 7, paragraph (a), clause (23); 123A.25; 325D.30 to 325D.42; 326B.802 to 326B.885; 386.62 to 386.78; 471.617; and 471.982; and 513.80, unless the context indicates otherwise, the terms defined in this section have the meanings given them.
80.1 80.2	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
80.3 80.4 80.5	Subd. 3a. <b>Transaction hash.</b> "Transaction hash" means a unique identifier made up of a string of characters that act as a record of and provides proof that the transaction was verified and added to the blockchain.
80.6 80.7	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
80.8 80.9 80.10 80.11 80.12 80.13 80.14	Subd. 3b. New customer. "New customer" means a consumer transacting at a kiosk in Minnesota who has been a customer with a virtual currency kiosk operator for less than 96 hours. After the 96-hour period has elapsed from the day of first signing up as a customer with a virtual currency kiosk operator, the customer is considered an existing customer and no longer subject to the new customer transaction limit described in this act.  Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
80.15 80.16 80.17 80.18 80.19	Subd. 3c. Existing customer. "Existing customer" means a consumer transacting at a kiosk in Minnesota who has been a customer with a virtual currency kiosk operator for more than a 96-hour period. A new customer automatically converts to an existing customer after the 96-hour period has elapsed. An existing customer is subject to the transaction limits described in this act.
80.20 80.21	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
80.22 80.23 80.24	Subd. 6a. Virtual currency address. "Virtual currency address" means an alphanumeric identifier representing a destination for a virtual currency transfer that is associated with a virtual currency wallet.
80.25 80.26	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
80.27 80.28	Subd. 10. Virtual currency kiosk. "Virtual currency kiosk" means an electronic terminal acting as a mechanical agent of the virtual currency kiosk operator to enable the operator

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

2.2	ARTICLE 1
2.3	CONSUMER PROTECTION
126.3	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 45.011, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
126.4 126.5 126.6 126.7 126.8	Subdivision 1. <b>Scope.</b> As used in chapters 45 to 80C, 80E to 83, 155A, 216C, 332, 332A, 332B, 345, and 359, and sections 81A.22 to 81A.37; 123A.21, subdivision 7, paragraph (a), clause (23); 123A.25; 325D.30 to 325D.42; 326B.802 to 326B.885; 386.62 to 386.78; 471.617; and 471.982; and 513.80, unless the context indicates otherwise, the terms defined in this section have the meanings given them.
78.23 78.24	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
78.25 78.26 78.27	Subd. 3a. <b>Transaction hash.</b> "Transaction hash" means a unique identifier made up of a string of characters that act as a record of and provide proof that the transaction was verified and added to the blockchain.
78.28 78.29	Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
78.30 78.31 78.32 79.1 79.2	Subd. 3b. New customer. "New customer" means a consumer transacting at a kiosk in Minnesota who has been a customer with a virtual currency kiosk operator for less than 72 hours. After a 72-hour period has elapsed from the day of first signing up as a customer with a virtual currency kiosk operator, the customer will be considered an existing customer and no longer subject to the new customer transaction limit described in this act.
79.3 79.4	Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
79.5 79.6 79.7 79.8 79.9	Subd. 3c. Existing customer. "Existing customer" means a consumer transacting at a kiosk in Minnesota who has been a customer with a virtual currency kiosk operator for more than a 72-hour period. A new customer will automatically convert to an existing customer after the 72-hour period of first becoming a new customer. An existing customer is subject to the transaction limits described in this act.
79.10 79.11	Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
79.12 79.13 79.14	Subd. 6a. Virtual currency address. "Virtual currency address" means an alphanumeric identifier representing a destination for a virtual currency transfer that is associated with a virtual currency wallet.
79.15 79.16	Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
79.17 79.18	Subd. 10. Virtual currency kiosk. "Virtual currency kiosk" means an electronic terminal acting as a mechanical agent of the virtual currency kiosk operator to enable the virtual

80.29 80.30	to facilitate the exchange of virtual currency for money, bank credit, or other virtual currency, including but not limited to by (1) connecting directly to a separate virtual currency exchanger
81.1	that performs the actual virtual currency transmission, or (2) drawing upon the virtual
81.2	currency in the possession of the electronic terminal's operator.
81.8 81.9	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
81.10 81.11 81.12 81.13	Subd. 12. Virtual currency kiosk operator. "Virtual currency kiosk operator" means a corporation, limited liability company, limited liability partnership, foreign entity, or any other person or entity qualified to do business in the state of Minnesota and that operates a virtual currency kiosk within the state of Minnesota.
81.14 81.15	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
81.16 81.17 81.18 81.19 81.20	Subd. 13. Virtual currency kiosk transaction. "Virtual currency kiosk transaction" means a transaction conducted or performed, in whole or in part, by electronic means via a virtual currency kiosk. Virtual currency kiosk transaction also means a transaction made at a virtual currency kiosk to purchase currency with fiat currency or to sell virtual currency for fiat currency.
81.3 81.4	Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
81.5 81.6 81.7	Subd. 11. Virtual currency wallet. "Virtual currency wallet" means a software application or other mechanism providing a means for holding, storing, and transferring virtual currency.
81.21	Sec. 10. [53B.75] VIRTUAL CURRENCY KIOSKS.
81.22 81.23 81.24 81.25 81.26 81.27	Subdivision 1. Disclosures on material risks. (a) Before entering into an initial virtual currency transaction for, on behalf of, or with a person, the virtual currency kiosk operator must disclose in clear, conspicuous, and legibly written English all material risks generally associated with virtual currency. The disclosures must be displayed on the screen of the virtual currency kiosk with the ability for a person to acknowledge the receipt of the disclosures. The disclosures must include at least the following information:
81.28 81.29 81.30 81.31	(1) virtual currency is not legal tender, is not backed or insured by the government, and accounts and value balances are not subject to Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation,  National Credit Union Administration, or Securities Investor Protection Corporation  protections;
82.1	(2) some virtual currency transactions are deemed to be made when recorded on a public
82.2	ledger, which may not be the date or time when the person initiates the transaction;
82.3 82.4	(3) virtual currency's value may be derived from market participants' continued willingness to exchange fiat currency for virtual currency, which may result in the permanent

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

9.19 9.20	or other virtual currency, including but not limited to by (1) connecting directly to a separate
9.21 9.22	virtual currency exchanger that performs the actual virtual currency transmission, or (2) drawing upon the virtual currency in the possession of the electronic terminal's operator.
9.23 9.24	Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
9.25 9.26	Subd. 11. Virtual currency kiosk operator. "Virtual currency kiosk operator" means a licensee that operates a virtual currency kiosk within Minnesota.
9.27 9.28	Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
9.29 9.30	Subd. 12. Virtual currency wallet. "Virtual currency wallet" means a software application or other mechanism providing a means to hold, store, or transfer virtual currency.
0.1	Sec. 22. [53B.75] VIRTUAL CURRENCY KIOSKS.
0.2 0.3 0.4 0.5	Subdivision 1. <b>Disclosures on material risks.</b> (a) Before entering into an initial virtual currency transaction for, on behalf of, or with a person, the virtual currency kiosk operator must disclose in a clear, conspicuous, and easily readable manner all material risks generally associated with virtual currency. The disclosures must be displayed on the screen of the
0.6 0.7	virtual currency kiosk with the ability for a person to acknowledge the receipt of the disclosures. The disclosures must include at least the following information:
0.8 0.9 0.10	(1) virtual currency is not legal tender, backed or insured by the government, and accounts and value balances are not subject to Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, National Credit Union Administration, or Securities Investor Protection Corporation protections;
0.11	(2) some virtual currency transactions are deemed to be made when recorded on a public ledger, which may not be the date or time when the person initiates the transaction;
0.13	(3) virtual currency's value may be derived from market participants' continued willingness to exchange fiat currency for virtual currency, which may result in the permanent

82.5 82.6	and total loss of a particular virtual currency's value if the market for the virtual currency disappears;
82.7 82.8	(4) there is no assurance that a person who accepts virtual currency as payment today will do so in the future;
82.9 82.10	(5) the volatility and unpredictability of the price of virtual currency relative to fiat currency may result in a significant loss over a short period;
82.11 82.12 82.13	(6) virtual currency transactions are irreversible and are used by scammers, including those impersonating loved ones, threatening jail time, stating your identity is stolen, and insisting you withdraw money from your bank account and purchase cryptocurrency;
82.14 82.15 82.16	(7) the nature of virtual currency means that any technological difficulties experienced by the virtual currency kiosk operator may prevent access to or use of a person's virtual currency; and
82.17 82.18	(8) any bond maintained by the licensee for the benefit of a person may not cover all losses the persons incur.
82.19 82.20 82.21 82.22 82.23	(b) The virtual currency kiosk operator must provide an additional disclosure, which must be acknowledged by the person, written prominently and in bold type, and provided separately from the disclosures above, stating: "WARNING: LOSSES DUE TO FRAUDULENT OR ACCIDENTAL TRANSACTIONS ARE NOT RECOVERABLE AND TRANSACTIONS IN VIRTUAL CURRENCY ARE IRREVERSIBLE."
82.24 82.25 82.26 82.27 82.28 82.29	Subd. 2. <b>Disclosures.</b> (a) A virtual currency kiosk operator must disclose all relevant terms and conditions generally associated with the products, services, and activities of the operator and virtual currency. A virtual currency kiosk operator must make the disclosures in clear, conspicuous, and legibly written English, displayed on a separate screen from other disclosures and information, in bold-face sans serif font in a size in line with other texts displayed. These disclosures must address at least the following:
82.30	(1) the person's liability for unauthorized virtual currency transactions;
82.31	(2) the person's right to:
82.32	(i) stop payment of a virtual currency transfer and the procedure to stop the payment;
83.1 83.2	(ii) receive a receipt, trade ticket, or other evidence of a transaction at the time of transaction; and
83.3	(iii) prior notice of a change in the rules or policies of the operator;

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

80.15	and total loss of a particular virtual currency's value if the market for virtual currency
80.16	disappears;
80.17	(4) a person who accepts a virtual currency as payment today is not required to accept
80.18	and might not accept virtual currency in the future;
80.19	(5) the volatility and unpredictability of the price of virtual currency relative to fiat
80.20	currency may result in a significant loss over a short period;
80.21	(6) the nature of virtual currency may lead to an increased risk of fraud or cyber attack;
80.22	(7) the nature of virtual currency means that any technological difficulties experienced
80.23 80.24	by virtual currency kiosk operators may prevent access to or use of a person's virtual currency; and
80.25 80.26	(8) any bond maintained by the virtual currency kiosk operator for the benefit of a person may not cover all losses a person incurs.
80.27	(b) The virtual currency kiosk operator must provide an additional disclosure, which
80.28 80.29	must be acknowledged by the person, written prominently and in bold type, and provided separately from the disclosures above, stating: "WARNING: LOSSES DUE TO
80.30	FRAUDULENT OR ACCIDENTAL TRANSACTIONS ARE NOT RECOVERABLE
80.31	AND TRANSACTIONS IN VIRTUAL CURRENCY ARE IRREVERSIBLE. VIRTUAL
80.32	CURRENCY TRANSACTIONS MAY BE USED BY SCAMMERS IMPERSONATING
81.1	LOVED ONES, THREATENING JAIL TIME, AND INSISTING YOU WITHDRAW
81.2	MONEY FROM YOUR BANK ACCOUNT TO PURCHASE VIRTUAL CURRENCY."
81.3	Subd. 2. Disclosures. (a) A virtual currency kiosk operator must disclose all relevant
81.4	terms and conditions generally associated with the products, services, and activities of the
81.5	virtual currency kiosk operator and virtual currency. A virtual currency kiosk operator must
81.6 81.7	make the disclosures in a clear, conspicuous, and easily readable manner. The disclosures under this subdivision must address at least the following:
01./	under this subdivision must address at least the following.
81.8	(1) the person's liability for unauthorized virtual currency transactions;
81.9	(2) the person's right to:
81.10	(i) stop payment of a virtual currency transfer and the procedure to stop payment;
81.11	(ii) receive a receipt, trade ticket, or other evidence of a transaction at the time of the
81.12	transaction; and
81.13	(iii) prior notice of a change in the virtual currency kiosk operator's rules or policies;

83.4 83.5	(3) under what circumstances the operator will, without a court or government order, disclose a person's account information to third parties; and
83.6 83.7	(4) other disclosures that are customarily provided in connection with the opening of a person's account.
83.8 83.9 83.10 83.11 83.12	(b) Before each virtual currency transaction for, on behalf of, or with a person, the virtual currency kiosk operator must disclose the transaction's terms and conditions in clear, conspicuous, and legibly written English, displayed on a separate screen from other disclosures and information, in bold-face sans serif font in a size in line with other texts displayed. These disclosures must address at least the following:
83.13	(1) the amount of the transaction;
83.14	(2) any fees, expenses, and charges, including applicable exchange rates;
83.15	(3) the type and nature of the transaction;
83.16	(4) a warning that, once completed, the transaction may not be undone;
83.17	(5) a daily virtual currency transaction limit of no more than \$2,000 for new customers;
83.18	(6) the difference in the virtual currency's sale price versus the current market price; and
83.19 83.20	(7) other disclosures that are customarily given in connection with a virtual currency transaction.
83.21 83.22 83.23 83.24 83.25 83.26 83.27	Subd. 3. Acknowledgment of disclosures. Before completing a transaction, a virtual currency kiosk operator must ensure that each person who engages in a virtual currency transaction using the virtual currency operator's kiosk acknowledges receipt of all disclosures required under this section via confirmation of consent. Additionally, upon a transaction's completion, the virtual currency operator must provide a person with a physical receipt, or a virtual receipt sent to their email address or SMS number, containing the following information:
83.28 83.29	(1) the operator's name and contact information, including a telephone number to answer questions and register complaints;
83.30 83.31	(2) the type, value, date, and precise time of the transaction, transactional hash, and each virtual currency address;
84.1	(3) the fees charged;
84.2	(4) the exchange rate;
84.3	(5) a statement of the operator's liability for nondelivery or delayed delivery;

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

81.14 81.15	(3) under what circumstances the virtual currency kiosk operator, without a court or government order, discloses a person's account information to third parties; and
81.16 81.17	(4) other disclosures that are customarily provided in connection with opening a person's account.
81.18 81.19 81.20 81.21	(b) Before each virtual currency transaction for, on behalf of, or with a person, a virtual currency kiosk operator must disclose the transaction's terms and conditions in a clear, conspicuous, and easily readable manner. The disclosures under this subdivision must address at least the following:
81.22	(1) the amount of the transaction;
81.23	(2) any fees, expenses, and charges, including applicable exchange rates;
81.24	(3) the type and nature of the transaction;
81.25	(4) a warning that once completed, the transaction may not be reversed;
81.26	(5) a daily virtual currency transaction limit of no more than \$3,000;
81.27 81.28	(6) the difference in the virtual currency's sale price compared to the current market price; and
81.29 81.30	(7) other disclosures that are customarily given in connection with a virtual currency transaction.
82.1 82.2 82.3 82.4 82.5 82.6 82.7	Subd. 3. Acknowledgment of disclosures. Before completing the transaction, a virtual currency kiosk operator must ensure that each person who engages in a virtual currency transaction using the virtual currency operator's kiosk acknowledges receipt of all the disclosures required under this section via a confirmation of consent. Additionally, upon a transaction's completion, the virtual currency operator must provide a person with a physical receipt, or the person may choose to have a virtual receipt sent to the person's email address, containing the following information:
82.8 82.9	(1) the virtual currency kiosk operator's name and contact information, including a telephone number to answer questions and register complaints;
82.10 82.11	(2) the type, value, date, and precise time of the transaction, transactional hash, and each virtual currency address;
82.12	(3) the fees charged;
82.13	(4) the exchange rate;
82.14 82.15	(5) a statement of the virtual currency kiosk operator's liability for nondelivery or delayed delivery;

84.4	(6) a statement of the operator's refund policy; and
84.5	(7) any additional information the commissioner of commerce may require.
84.6 84.7 84.8	Subd. 4. <b>New customer hold.</b> The first transaction of a new customer must be subject to a 48-hour holding period in which the customer may reverse and cancel their transaction for a full refund.
84.9 84.10	Subd. 5. Transaction limits. (a) There is an established maximum daily transaction limit of \$2,000 for each new customer of a virtual currency kiosk.
84.11 84.12	(b) The maximum daily transaction limit of an existing customer shall be decided by each virtual currency kiosk operator in compliance with federal law.
84.13	Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.02, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
84.14 84.15 84.16	Subd. 8. <b>Student loan.</b> "Student loan" means a government, commercial, or foundation loan extension of credit for actual costs paid for tuition and reasonable education and living expenses.
84.17 84.18	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
84.19 84.20 84.21	Subd. 8a. Lender. "Lender" means an entity engaged in the business of securing, making, or extending student loans. Lender does not include, to the extent that state regulation is preempted by federal law:
84.22	(1) a bank, savings banks, savings and loan association, or credit union;
84.23	(2) a wholly owned subsidiary of a bank or credit union; or
84.24 84.25	(3) an operating subsidiary where each owner is wholly owned by the same bank or credit union.
85.1 85.2	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
85.3 85.4 85.5	Subd. 10. Annual report. (a) Beginning March 15, 2025, a student loan servicer that secures, makes, or extends student loans in Minnesota must report to the commissioner on the form the commissioner provides:

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

82.16	(6) a statement of the virtual currency kiosk operator's refund policy; and
82.17	(7) any additional information the commissioner of commerce may require.
82.18	Subd. 4. Refunds for new customers. A virtual currency kiosk operator must issue a
82.19	refund to a new customer for the full amount of all transactions made within the 72-hour
82.20	new customer time period, as described in section 53B.69, subdivision 3b, upon request of
82.21	the customer. In order to receive a refund under this subdivision, a customer must:
82.22	(1) have been fraudulently induced to engage in the virtual currency transactions; and
82.23	(2) within 14 days of the last transaction to occur during the 72-hour new customer time
82.24	period, contact the virtual currency kiosk operator and a government or law enforcement
82.25	agency to inform them of the fraudulent nature of the transaction.

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

85.6	(1) a list of all schools attended by borrowers who received a student loan from the
85.7	student loan servicer and resided within Minnesota at the time of the transaction and whose
85.8	debt is still outstanding, including student loans used to refinance an existing debt;
85.9	(2) the total outstanding dollar amount owed by borrowers residing in Minnesota who
85.10	received student loans from the student loan servicer;
85.11	(3) the total number of student loans owed by borrowers residing in Minnesota who
85.12	received student loans from the student loan servicer;
85.13	(4) the total outstanding dollar amount and number of student loans owed by borrowers
85.14	who reside in Minnesota, associated with each school identified under clause (1);
85.15	(5) the total dollar amount of student loans provided by the student loan servicer to
85.16	borrowers who resided in Minnesota in the prior calendar year;
85.17	(6) the total outstanding dollar amount and number of student loans owed by borrowers
85.18	who resided in Minnesota, associated with each school identified under clause (1), that were
85.19	provided in the prior calendar year;
85.20	(7) the rate of default for borrowers residing in Minnesota who obtained student loans
85.21	from the student loan servicer, if applicable;
85.22	(8) the rate of default for borrowers residing in Minnesota who obtained student loans
85.23	from the student loan servicer associated with each school identified under clause (1), if
85.24	applicable;
85.25	(9) the range of initial interest rates for student loans provided by the student loan service
85.26	to borrowers who resided in Minnesota in the prior calendar year;
85.27	(10) the total number of borrowers who received student loans under clause (9), and the
85.28	percentage of borrowers who received each rate identified under clause (9);
85.29	(11) the total dollar amount and number of student loans provided in the prior calendar
85.30	year by the student loan servicer to borrowers who resided in Minnesota at the time of the
85.31	transaction and had a cosigner for the student loans;
86.1	(12) the total dollar amount and number of student loans provided by the student loan
86.2	servicer to borrowers residing in Minnesota used to refinance a prior student loan or federal
86.3	student loan in the prior calendar year;
86.4	(13) the total dollar amount and number of student loans for which the student loan
86.5	servicer had sued to collect from a borrower residing in Minnesota in the prior calendar
86.6	year;
86.7	(14) a copy of any model promissory note, agreement, contract, or other instrument used
86.8	by the student loan servicer in the previous year to substantiate that a borrower owes a new
86.9	debt to the student loan servicer; and

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

86.10	(15) any other information considered necessary by the commissioner to assess the total
86.11	size and status of the student loan market and well-being of borrowers in Minnesota.
86.12	(b) A student loan servicer that acquires or assumes student loans in Minnesota must
86.13	report to the commissioner on the form the commissioner provides:
86.14	(1) a list of all schools attended by borrowers residing in Minnesota who used, for
86.15	attendance, any outstanding student loans assumed or acquired by the student loan servicer;
86.16	(2) the total outstanding dollar amount and number of student loans that have been
86.17	acquired or assumed by the student loan servicer and owed by borrowers who reside in
86.18	Minnesota;
86.19	(3) the total outstanding dollar amount and number of student loans owed by borrowers
86.20	who reside in Minnesota that have been assumed or acquired by the student loan servicer,
86.21	associated with each school identified under clause (1);
86.22	(4) the total dollar amount and number of student loans owed by borrowers who resided
86.23	in Minnesota that were acquired or assumed by the student loan servicer in the prior calendar
86.24	year;
86.25	(5) the total dollar amount and number of student loans that were acquired or assumed
86.26	by the student loan servicer and owed by borrowers who resided in Minnesota in the prior
86.27	year, associated with each school identified under clause (1);
86.28	(6) the rate of default for student loans acquired or assumed by the student loan servicer
86.29	if applicable;
86.30	(7) the rate of default for student loans acquired or assumed by the student loan servicer
86.31	associated with each school identified under clause (1), if applicable;
87.1	(8) the total outstanding dollar amount and number of student loans owed by borrowers
87.2	residing in Minnesota who had a cosigner for the student loans, if applicable;
87.3	(9) the total outstanding dollar amount and number of student loans that were acquired
87.4	or assumed by the student loan servicer and owed by borrowers residing in Minnesota to
87.5	refinance a prior student loan or federal student loan;
87.6	(10) the total dollar amount and number of student loans for which the student loan
87.7	servicer had sued to collect from borrowers residing in Minnesota in the prior calendar year;
87.8	and
87.9	(11) any other information considered necessary by the commissioner to assess the total
87.10	size and status of the student loan market and well-being of borrowers in Minnesota.
87.11	(c) The commissioner of commerce shall share data collected under this subdivision
87.11	with the commissioner of higher education.

37.13	Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.06, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
37.14 37.15 37.16	Subd. 4. <b>Transfer of student loan.</b> (a) If a borrower's student loan servicer changes pursuant to the sale, assignment, or transfer of the servicing, the original student loan servicer must:
37.17 37.18 37.19 37.20 37.21	(1) require the new student loan servicer to honor all benefits that were made available, or which may have become available, to a borrower from the original student loan servicer or is authorized under the student loan contract, including any benefits for which the student loan borrower has not yet qualified unless that benefit is no longer available under the federal or state laws and regulations; and
37.22 37.23 37.24	(2) transfer to the new student loan servicer all information regarding the borrower, the account of the borrower, and the borrower's student loan, including but not limited to the repayment status of the student loan and the benefits described in clause (1).
37.25 37.26	(b) The student loan servicer must complete the transfer under paragraph (a), clause (2), less than 45 days from the date of the sale, assignment, or transfer of the servicing.
37.27 37.28	(c) A sale, assignment, or transfer of the servicing must be completed no less than seven days from the date the next payment is due on the student loan.
37.29 37.30	(d) A new student loan servicer must adopt policies and procedures to verify that the original student loan servicer has met the requirements of paragraph (a).
88.1	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.06, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
38.2 38.3 38.4	Subd. 5. <b>Income-driven repayment.</b> (a) A student loan servicer must evaluate a borrower for eligibility for an income-driven repayment program before placing a borrower in forbearance or default.
38.5 38.6	(b) A student loan servicer must provide the following information on the student loan servicer's website:
38.7 38.8	(1) a description of any income-driven repayment programs available under the student loan contract or federal or state laws and regulations; and
38.9 38.10 38.11 38.12 38.13	(2) information on the policies and procedures the student loan servicer implements to facilitate the evaluation of student loan income-driven repayment program requests, including accurate information regarding any options that may be available to the borrower through the promissory note or that may have been marketed to the borrower through marketing materials.
88.14	Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
88.15	Subdivision 1. <b>Misleading borrowers.</b> A student loan servicer must not directly or indirectly employ any scheme, device, or artifice to attempt to defraud or mislead a borrower

88

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

88.17	Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.07, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
88.18 88.19	Subd. 3. <b>Misapplication of payments.</b> A student loan servicer must not knowingly or negligently misapply student loan payments to the outstanding balance of a student loan.
88.20	Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.07, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
88.21 88.22 88.23 88.24 88.25 88.26 88.27	Subd. 9. Incorrect information regarding student loan forgiveness loans. (a) A student loan servicer must not misrepresent the availability of student loan forgiveness for which the servicer has reason to know the borrower is eligible. This includes but is not limited to student loan forgiveness programs specific to military borrowers, borrowers working in public service, or borrowers with disabilities.  (b) A student loan servicer must not provide incorrect information related to forbearance. If a student loan servicer suggests placing a borrower in forbearance in lieu of a repayment
88.28 88.29 88.30	program that would result in savings to the borrower and the borrower relies on this information, the student loan servicer shall be subject to the penalties provided under section 58B.09.
89.1 89.2	Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
89.3 89.4	Subd. 11. <b>Property.</b> A student loan servicer must not obtain property by fraud or misrepresentation.
89.5 89.6	Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
89.7 89.8 89.9 89.10 89.11	Subd. 12. Customer service. A student loan servicer must not allow a borrower to remain on hold during an individual call for more than two hours unless the student loan servicer returns the borrower's phone call within 24 hours of the two hours expiring. A student loan servicer must not allow a call on hold to automatically lapse or end upon reaching a duration of two hours to satisfy this requirement.
89.12 89.13	Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
89.14 89.15 89.16	Subd. 13. Abusive acts or practices. A student loan servicer must not engage in abusive acts or practices when servicing a student loan in this state. An act or practice is abusive in connection with the servicing of a student loan if that act or practice:
89.17 89.18	(1) materially interferes with the ability of a borrower to understand a term or condition of a student loan; or
89.19	(2) takes unreasonable advantage of any of the following:
89.20 89.21	(i) a lack of understanding on the part of a borrower of the material risks, costs, or conditions of the student loan;

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

39.22	(ii) the inability of a borrower to protect the interests of the borrower when selecting or
39.23	using a student loan or feature, term, or condition of a student loan; or
39.24	(iii) the reasonable reliance by the borrower on a student loan servicer to act in the
39.25	interests of the borrower.
39.26	Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to
39.27	read:
39.28	Subd. 14. <b>Violations.</b> A violation of this section is an unlawful practice under section
39.29	325D.44.
90.1	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.09, is amended by adding a subdivision to
90.2	read:
90.3	Subd. 4. <b>Private right of action.</b> (a) A borrower who suffers damage as a result of the
90.4	failure of a student loan servicer to comply with this chapter may bring an action on a
90.5	borrower's own behalf and on behalf of a similarly situated class of persons against that
90.6	student loan servicer to recover or obtain:
90.7	(1) actual damages, except that the total award of damages must be at least \$500 per
90.8	plaintiff, per violation;
90.9	(2) an order enjoining the methods, acts, or practices;
90.10	(3) restitution of property;
90.11	(4) punitive damages;
90.12	(5) reasonable attorney fees; and
90.13	(6) any other relief that the court deems proper.
90.14	(b) In addition to any other remedies provided by this subdivision or otherwise provided
90.15	by law, if a student loan servicer is shown, by a preponderance of the evidence, to have
90.16	engaged in conduct that substantially interferes with a borrower's right to an alternative
90.17	payment arrangement; loan forgiveness, cancellation, or discharge; or any other financial
90.18	benefit established under the terms of a borrower's promissory note or under the Higher
90.19	Education Act of 1965, United States Code, title 20, section 1070a, et seq., a borrower is
90.20	entitled to damages of at least \$1,500 per plaintiff, per violation.
90.21	(c) At least 45 days before bringing an action for damages or injunctive relief under this
90.22	chapter, a borrower must:
90.23	(1) provide written notice to the student loan servicer alleged to have violated this chapter
90.24	regarding the nature of the alleged violations; and
90.25	(2) demand that the student loan servicer correct and remedy the method, act, or practice
90.26	identified in the notice under clause (1).

90.27	(a) The notice required by this subdivision must be sent by certified or registered mail,
90.28	return receipt requested, to the student loan servicer's address on file with the Department
90.29	of Commerce or to the student loan servicer's principal place of business in Minnesota.
90.30	(e) An action for damages or injunctive relief brought by a borrower only on the
90.31	individual borrower's behalf must not be maintained under paragraph (a) upon a showing
90.32	by a student loan servicer that an appropriate correction and remedy is given, or is agreed
91.1	to be given within a reasonable time, to the borrower within 30 days after the notice is
91.2	received.
01.2	(6 A
91.3	(f) An action for damages brought by a borrower on both the borrower's behalf and on
91.4	behalf of a similarly situated class of persons must not be maintained under paragraph (a)
91.5	upon a showing by a student loan servicer alleged to have employed or committed a method,
91.6	act, or practice declared unlawful if:
91.7	(1) all borrowers similarly situated have been identified or a reasonable effort to identify
91.8	other borrowers has been made;
91.9	(2) all harmoware identified have been notified that upon the harmowards request the
91.10	(2) all borrowers identified have been notified that, upon the borrower's request, the student loan servicer must make the appropriate correction and remedy;
91.10	student loan servicer must make the appropriate correction and remedy,
91.11	(3) the correction and remedy requested by the borrower has been given or is given
91.12	within a reasonable amount of time; and
91.13	(4) the student loan servicer has ceased from engaging, or if immediate cessation is
91.14	impossible or unreasonably expensive under the circumstances, the student loan servicer
91.15	ceases to engage within a reasonable amount of time, in the method, act, or practice.
01.16	
91.16	(g) An attempt to comply with a demand described in paragraph (c) by a student loan
91.17 91.18	servicer that receives the demand is construed as an offer to compromise and is inadmissible as evidence under Minnesota Rules of Evidence, rule 408. An attempt to comply with a
91.18	demand is not an admission of engaging in an act or practice declared unlawful by paragraph
91.19	(a). Evidence of compliance or attempts to comply with this section may be introduced by
91.20	a defendant to establish good faith or to show compliance with paragraph (a).
91.21	a describant to establish good faith of to show comphance with paragraph (a).
91.22	(h) An award of damages must not be given in an action based on a method, act, or
91.23	practice in violation of paragraph (a) if the student loan servicer alleged to have employed
91.24	or committed that method, act, or practice:
91.25	(1) proves by a preponderance of the evidence that the violation was not intentional and
91.26	resulted from a bona fide error, notwithstanding the use of reasonable procedures adopted
91.27	to avoid that error; and
91.28	(2) makes an appropriate correction, repair, replacement, or other remedy under
91.29	paragraphs (e) and (f).

PAGE R11 REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE

91.30	(i) The commissioner must administer and enforce this section and must adopt rules and
91.31	issue orders consistent with the authority under this section.
93.1	Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 239.791, subdivision 8, is amended
93.2	to read:
93.3	Subd. 8. Disclosure; reporting. (a) A refinery or terminal, shall provide, at the time
93.4	gasoline is sold or transferred from the refinery or terminal, a bill of lading or shipping
93.5	manifest to the person who receives the gasoline. For oxygenated gasoline, the bill of lading
93.6	or shipping manifest must include the identity and the volume percentage or gallons of
93.7	oxygenate included in the gasoline, and it must state: "This fuel contains an oxygenate. Do
93.8	not blend this fuel with ethanol or with any other oxygenate." For nonoxygenated gasoline,
93.9	the bill or manifest must state: "This fuel is not oxygenated. It must not be sold at retail in
93.10	Minnesota." This subdivision does not apply to sales or transfers of gasoline between
93.11	refineries, between terminals, or between a refinery and a terminal.
93.12	(b) A delivery ticket required under section 239.092 for biofuel blended with gasoline
93.13	must state the volume percentage of biofuel blended into gasoline delivered through a meter
93.14	into a storage tank used for dispensing by persons not exempt under subdivisions 10 to 14
93.15	and, 16, and 17.
93.16	(c) On or before the 23rd day of each month, a person responsible for the product must
93.17	report to the department, in the form prescribed by the commissioner, the gross number of
93.18	gallons of intermediate blends sold at retail by the person during the preceding calendar
93.19	month. The report must identify the number of gallons by blend type. For purposes of this
93.20	subdivision, "intermediate blends" means blends of gasoline and biofuel in which the biofuel
93.21	content, exclusive of denaturants and other permitted components, is greater than ten percent
93.22	and no more than 50 percent by volume. This paragraph only applies to a person who is
93.23	responsible for selling intermediate blends at retail at more than ten locations. A person
93.24	responsible for the product at fewer than ten locations is not precluded from reporting the
93.25	gross number of intermediate blends if a report is available.
93.26	(d) All reports provided pursuant to paragraph (c) are nonpublic data, as defined in
93.27	section 13.02, subdivision 9.
93.28	Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 239.791, is amended by adding a subdivision
93.29	to read:
93.30	Subd. 17. Bulk delivery of premium grade gasoline; exemption. (a) A person
93.31	responsible for the product may offer for sale, sell, or deliver a bulk delivery of unleaded
93.32	premium grade gasoline, as defined in section 239.751, subdivision 4, that is not oxygenated
93.33	in accordance with subdivision 1 if the conditions in paragraphs (b) to (d) are met.
94.1	(b) Nonoxygenated gas is only for use in vehicles that qualify for an exemption under
94.2	subdivision 12, paragraph (a).

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

16.20 to read:

16.29

#### House Language UES4097-1

16.21	Subd. 8. Disclosure; reporting. (a) A refinery or terminal, shall provide, at the time
16.22	gasoline is sold or transferred from the refinery or terminal, a bill of lading or shipping
16.23	manifest to the person who receives the gasoline. For oxygenated gasoline, the bill of lading
16.24	or shipping manifest must include the identity and the volume percentage or gallons of
16.25	oxygenate included in the gasoline, and it must state: "This fuel contains an oxygenate. Do
16.26	not blend this fuel with ethanol or with any other oxygenate." For nonoxygenated gasoline,
16.27	the bill or manifest must state: "This fuel is not oxygenated. It must not be sold at retail in
16.28	Minnesota." This subdivision does not apply to sales or transfers of gasoline between

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 239.791, subdivision 8, is amended

16.30 (b) A delivery ticket required under section 239.092 for biofuel blended with gasoline must state the volume percentage of biofuel blended into gasoline delivered through a meter into a storage tank used for dispensing by persons not exempt under subdivisions 10 to 14 and 16.

refineries, between terminals, or between a refinery and a terminal.

- 17.1 (c) On or before the 23rd day of each month, a person responsible for the product must report to the department, in the form prescribed by the commissioner, the gross number of gallons of intermediate blends sold at retail by the person during the preceding calendar month. The report must identify the number of gallons by blend type. For purposes of this subdivision, "intermediate blends" means blends of gasoline and biofuel in which the biofuel content, exclusive of denaturants and other permitted components, is greater than ten percent and no more than 50 percent by volume. This paragraph only applies to a person who is responsible for selling intermediate blends at retail at more than ten locations. A person responsible for the product at fewer than ten locations is not precluded from reporting the gross number of intermediate blends if a report is available.
- 17.11 (d) All reports provided pursuant to paragraph (c) are nonpublic data, as defined in 17.12 section 13.02, subdivision 9.

94.3	(c) No more than one bulk fuel storage tank on the premises may be used for storage of
94.4	the nonoxygenated gasoline.
94.5	(d) The bulk fuel delivery is 500 gallons or less.

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

17.13	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 272.12, is amended to read:
17.14	272.12 CONVEYANCES, TAXES PAID BEFORE RECORDING.
17.15	When:
17.16	(a) a deed or other instrument conveying land,
17.17	(b) a plat of any townsite or addition thereto,
17.18	(c) a survey required pursuant to section 508.47,
17.19 17.20	(d) a condominium plat subject to chapter 515 or 515A or a declaration that contains such a plat, or
17.21 17.22	(e) a common interest community plat subject to chapter 515B or a declaration that contains such a plat,
17.23	is presented to the county auditor for transfer, the auditor shall ascertain from the records
17.24	if there be taxes delinquent upon the land described therein, or if it has been sold for taxes.
17.25	An assignment of a sheriff's or referee's certificate of sale, when the certificate of sale
17.26	describes real estate, and certificates of redemption from mortgage or lien foreclosure sales,
17.27	when the certificate of redemption encompasses real estate and is issued to a junior creditor,
17.28	are considered instruments conveying land for the purposes of this section and section
17.29	272.121. If there are taxes delinquent, the auditor shall certify to the same; and upon payment
17.30	of such taxes, or in case no taxes are delinquent, shall transfer the land upon the books of
17.31	the auditor's office, and note upon the instrument, over official signature, the words, "no
17.32	delinquent taxes and transfer entered," or, if the land described has been sold or assigned
18.1	to an actual purchaser for taxes, the words "paid by sale of land described within;" and,
18.2	unless such statement is made upon such instrument, the county recorder or the registrar of
18.3	titles shall refuse to receive or record the same; provided, that sheriff's or referees' certificates
18.4	of sale on execution or foreclosure of a lien or mortgage, certificates of redemption from
18.5	mortgage or lien foreclosure sales issued to the redeeming mortgagor or lienee, documents
18.6	evidencing the termination of a contract for deed as described in section 559.213, deeds of
18.7	distribution made by a personal representative in probate proceedings, transfer on death
18.8 18.9	deeds under section 507.071, decrees and judgments, receivers receipts, patents, and copies
18.10	of town or statutory city plats, in case the original plat filed in the office of the county
18.11	recorder has been lost or destroyed, and the instruments releasing, removing and discharging reversionary and forfeiture provisions affecting title to land and instruments releasing,
18.12	removing or discharging easement rights in land or building or other restrictions, may be
18.13	recorded without such certificate; and, provided that instruments conveying land and, as
10.13	recorded without such certificate, and, provided that histrations conveying faild and, as

18.14	appurtenant thereto an easement over adjacent tract or tracts of land, may be recorded
18.15	without such certificate as to the land covered by such easement; and provided further, that
18.16	any instrument granting an easement made in favor of any public utility or pipe line for
18.17	conveying gas, liquids or solids in suspension, in the nature of a right-of-way over, along,
18.18	across or under a tract of land may be recorded without such certificate as to the land covered
18.19	by such easement. Documents governing homeowners associations of condominiums,
18.20	townhouses, common interest ownership communities, and other planned unit developments
18.21	may be recorded without the auditor's certificate to the extent provided in section
18.22	515B.1-116(e).
18.23	A deed of distribution made by a personal representative in a probate proceeding, a
18.24	decree, or a judgment that conveys land shall be presented to the county auditor, who shall
18.25	transfer the land upon the books of the auditor's office and note upon the instrument, over
18.26	official signature, the words, "transfer entered", and the instrument may then be recorded.
18.27	A decree or judgment that affects title to land but does not convey land may be recorded
18.28	without presentation to the auditor.
18.29	A violation of this section by the county recorder or the registrar of titles shall be a gross
18.30	misdemeanor, and, in addition to the punishment therefor, the recorder or registrar shall be
18.31	liable to the grantee of any instrument so recorded for the amount of any damages sustained.
18.32	When, as a condition to permitting the recording of deed or other instrument affecting
18.33	the title to real estate previously forfeited to the state under the provisions of sections 281.16
18.34	to 281.25, county officials, after such real estate has been purchased or repurchased, have
18.35	required the payment of taxes erroneously assumed to have accrued against such real estate
19.1	after forfeiture and before the date of purchase or repurchase, the sum required to be so paid
19.2	shall be refunded to the persons entitled thereto out of moneys in the funds in which the
19.3	sum so paid was placed. Delinquent taxes are those taxes deemed delinquent under section
19.4	279.02.
19.5	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective the day following final enactment.
19.6	Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 325E.21, subdivision 1b, is amended
19.7	to read:
19.8	Subd. 1b. Purchase or acquisition record required. (a) Every scrap metal dealer,
19.9	including an agent, employee, or representative of the dealer, shall create a permanent record
19.10	written in English, using an electronic record program at the time of each purchase or
19.11	acquisition of scrap metal or a motor vehicle. The record must include:
19.12	(1) a complete and accurate account or description, including the weight if customarily
19.13	purchased by weight, of the scrap metal or motor vehicle purchased or acquired;
19.14	(2) the date, time, and place of the receipt of the scrap metal or motor vehicle purchased
19.15	or acquired and a unique transaction identifier;

19.16 19.17	(3) a photocopy or electronic scan of the seller's proof of identification including the identification number;
19.18 19.19	(4) the amount paid and the number of the check or electronic transfer used to purchase or acquire the scrap metal or motor vehicle;
19.20 19.21 19.22	(5) the license plate number and description of the vehicle used by the person when delivering the scrap metal or motor vehicle, including the vehicle make and model, and any identifying marks on the vehicle, such as a business name, decals, or markings, if applicable;
19.23 19.24 19.25	(6) a statement signed by the seller, under penalty of perjury as provided in section 609.48, attesting that the scrap metal or motor vehicle is not stolen and is free of any liens or encumbrances and the seller has the right to sell it;
19.26 19.27 19.28 19.29	(7) a copy of the receipt, which must include at least the following information: the name and address of the dealer, the date and time the scrap metal or motor vehicle was received by the dealer, an accurate description of the scrap metal or motor vehicle, and the amount paid for the scrap metal or motor vehicle; and
19.30 19.31 19.32 20.1 20.2	(8) in order to purchase or acquire a detached catalytic converter, the vehicle identification number of the car it was removed from or, as an alternative, any numbers, bar codes, stickers, or other unique markings, whether resulting from the pilot project created under subdivision 2b or some other source. The alternative number must be under a numbering system that can be immediately linked to the vehicle identification number by law enforcement; and
20.3	(9) (8) the identity or identifier of the employee completing the transaction.
20.4 20.5 20.6	(b) The record, as well as the scrap metal or motor vehicle purchased or acquired, shall at all reasonable times be open to the inspection of any properly identified law enforcement officer.
20.7 20.8 20.9 20.10 20.11 20.12 20.13 20.14	(c) Except for the purchase or acquisition of detached catalytic converters or motor vehicles, no record is required for property purchased or acquired from merchants, manufacturers, salvage pools, insurance companies, rental car companies, financial institutions, charities, dealers licensed under section 168.27, or wholesale dealers, having an established place of business, or of any goods purchased or acquired at open sale from any bankrupt stock, but a receipt as required under paragraph (a), clause (7), shall be obtained and kept by the person, which must be shown upon demand to any properly identified law enforcement officer.
20.15 20.16	(d) The dealer must provide a copy of the receipt required under paragraph (a), clause (7), to the seller in every transaction.

4.6	Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 325E.80, subdivision 1, is amende
4.7	to read:
4.8	Subdivision 1 Definitions (a) For summass of this section the terms in this subdivision
	Subdivision 1. <b>Definitions.</b> (a) For purposes of this section, the terms in this subdivision
4.9	have the meanings given.
4.10	(b) "Essential consumer good or service" means a good or service that is vital and
4.11	necessary for the health, safety, and welfare of the public, including without limitation:
4.12	food; water; fuel; gasoline; shelter; construction materials; transportation; health care
4.13	services; pharmaceuticals; and medical, personal hygiene, sanitation, and cleaning supplies
4.14	(c) "Restoration and mitigation services provider" means a person or business that
4.15	provides a service to prevent further damage to property following a fire, smoke, water, or
4.16	storm event. Services include but are not limited to boarding up property, water extraction,

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

20.21	(f) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a scrap metal dealer or the dealer's agent,
20.22	employee, or representative may not disclose personal information concerning a customer
20.23	without the customer's consent unless the disclosure is required by law or made in response
20.24	to a request from a law enforcement agency. A scrap metal dealer must implement reasonable
20.25	safeguards to protect the security of the personal information and prevent unauthorized
20.26	access to or disclosure of the information. For purposes of this paragraph, "personal
20.27	information" is any individually identifiable information gathered in connection with a
20.28	record under paragraph (a).
20.29	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 325E.21, subdivision 11, is amended
20.30	to read:
20.31	Subd. 11. Prohibition on possessing catalytic converters; exception. (a) It is unlawful
20.32	for a person to possess a used catalytic converter that is not attached to a motor vehicle
20.33	except when:
21.1	(1) the converter is marked with the date the converter was removed from the vehicle
21.2	and the identification number of the vehicle from which the converter was removed or an
21.2 21.3	and the identification number of the vehicle from which the converter was removed or <del>an</del> <del>alternative number to the vehicle identification number,</del> as an alternative to the vehicle
21.2 21.3 21.4	and the identification number of the vehicle from which the converter was removed or an alternative number to the vehicle identification number, as an alternative to the vehicle identification number, any numbers, bar codes, stickers, or other unique markings, whether
21.2 21.3	and the identification number of the vehicle from which the converter was removed or <del>an</del> <del>alternative number to the vehicle identification number,</del> as an alternative to the vehicle
21.2 21.3 21.4	and the identification number of the vehicle from which the converter was removed or an alternative number to the vehicle identification number, as an alternative to the vehicle identification number, any numbers, bar codes, stickers, or other unique markings, whether
21.2 21.3 21.4 21.5	and the identification number of the vehicle from which the converter was removed or an alternative number to the vehicle identification number, as an alternative to the vehicle identification number, any numbers, bar codes, stickers, or other unique markings, whether resulting from the pilot project created under subdivision 2b or some other source; or
21.2 21.3 21.4 21.5 21.6	and the identification number of the vehicle from which the converter was removed or an alternative number to the vehicle identification number, as an alternative to the vehicle identification number, any numbers, bar codes, stickers, or other unique markings, whether resulting from the pilot project created under subdivision 2b or some other source; or  (2) the converter has been EPA certified for reuse as a replacement part.
21.2 21.3 21.4 21.5 21.6 21.7	and the identification number of the vehicle from which the converter was removed or an alternative number to the vehicle identification number, as an alternative to the vehicle identification number, any numbers, bar codes, stickers, or other unique markings, whether resulting from the pilot project created under subdivision 2b or some other source; or  (2) the converter has been EPA certified for reuse as a replacement part.  (b) If an alternative number to the vehicle identification number is used, it must be under
21.2 21.3 21.4 21.5 21.6 21.7 21.8 21.9 21.10	and the identification number of the vehicle from which the converter was removed or an alternative number to the vehicle identification number, as an alternative to the vehicle identification number, any numbers, bar codes, stickers, or other unique markings, whether resulting from the pilot project created under subdivision 2b or some other source; or  (2) the converter has been EPA certified for reuse as a replacement part.  (b) If an alternative number to the vehicle identification number is used, it must be under a numbering system that can be immediately linked to the vehicle identification number by law enforcement. The marking of the vehicle identification or alternative number may be made in any permanent manner, including but not limited to an engraving or use of permanent
21.2 21.3 21.4 21.5 21.6 21.7 21.8 21.9	and the identification number of the vehicle from which the converter was removed or an alternative number to the vehicle identification number, as an alternative to the vehicle identification number, any numbers, bar codes, stickers, or other unique markings, whether resulting from the pilot project created under subdivision 2b or some other source; or  (2) the converter has been EPA certified for reuse as a replacement part.  (b) If an alternative number to the vehicle identification number is used, it must be under a numbering system that can be immediately linked to the vehicle identification number by law enforcement. The marking of the vehicle identification or alternative number may be made in any permanent manner, including but not limited to an engraving or use of permanent ink. The marking must clearly and legibly indicate the date removed and the vehicle
21.2 21.3 21.4 21.5 21.6 21.7 21.8 21.9 21.10	and the identification number of the vehicle from which the converter was removed or an alternative number to the vehicle identification number, as an alternative to the vehicle identification number, any numbers, bar codes, stickers, or other unique markings, whether resulting from the pilot project created under subdivision 2b or some other source; or  (2) the converter has been EPA certified for reuse as a replacement part.  (b) If an alternative number to the vehicle identification number is used, it must be under a numbering system that can be immediately linked to the vehicle identification number by law enforcement. The marking of the vehicle identification or alternative number may be made in any permanent manner, including but not limited to an engraving or use of permanent ink. The marking must clearly and legibly indicate the date removed and the vehicle identification number or the alternative number and the method by which law enforcement
21.2 21.3 21.4 21.5 21.6 21.7 21.8 21.9 21.10 21.11	and the identification number of the vehicle from which the converter was removed or an alternative number to the vehicle identification number, as an alternative to the vehicle identification number, any numbers, bar codes, stickers, or other unique markings, whether resulting from the pilot project created under subdivision 2b or some other source; or  (2) the converter has been EPA certified for reuse as a replacement part.  (b) If an alternative number to the vehicle identification number is used, it must be under a numbering system that can be immediately linked to the vehicle identification number by law enforcement. The marking of the vehicle identification or alternative number may be made in any permanent manner, including but not limited to an engraving or use of permanent ink. The marking must clearly and legibly indicate the date removed and the vehicle

94.17	drying, smoke or odor removal, cleaning, and personal property inventory, removal, and
94.18	storage.
94.19	(d) "Seller" means a manufacturer, supplier, wholesaler, distributor, or retail seller of
94.20	goods and services.
94.21	(e) "Tree trimmer" means a person registered under section 18G.07.
94.22	(d) (f) "Unconscionably excessive price" means a price that represents a gross disparity
94.23	compared to the seller's average price of an essential good or service, offered for sale or
94.24	sold in the usual course of business, in the 60-day period before an abnormal market
94.25	disruption is declared under subdivision 2. None of the following is an unconscionably
94.26	excessive price:
94.27	(1) a price that is substantially related to an increase in the cost of manufacturing,
94.28	obtaining, replacing, providing, or selling a good or service;
94.29	(2) a price that is no more than 25 percent above the seller's average price during the
94.30	60-day period before an abnormal market disruption is declared under subdivision 2;
94.31	(3) a price that is consistent with the fluctuations in applicable commodity markets or
94.32	seasonal fluctuations; or
95.1	(4) a contract price, or the results of a price formula, that was established before an
95.2	abnormal market disruption is declared under subdivision 2.
95.3	Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 325E.80, subdivision 5, is amended
95.4	to read:
95.5	Subd. 5. Prices and rates. Upon the occurrence of a weather event classified as a severe
95.6	thunderstorm pursuant to the criteria established by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric
95.7	Administration, a residential building contractor, tree trimmer, or restoration and mitigation
95.8	services provider operating within the geographic region impacted by the weather event
95.9	and repairing damage caused by the weather event shall not:
95.10	(1) charge an unconscionably excessive price for labor in comparison to the market price
95.11	charged for comparable services in the geographic region impacted by the weather event;
95.12	or
95.13	(2) charge an insurance company a rate that exceeds what the residential building
95.14	contractor, tree trimmer, or restoration and mitigation services provider would otherwise
95.15	<del>charges members</del> charge a member of the general public.
95.16	Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 325E.80, subdivision 6, is amended
95.17	to read:
95.18	Subd. 6. Civil penalty. A person who is found to have violated this section subdivision
95.19	4 is subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$1,000 per sale or transaction, with a maximum

PAGE R17 REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE

95.20 95.21	penalty of \$25,000 per day. No other penalties may be imposed for the same conduct regulated under this section subdivision 4.
95.22 95.23	Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 325E.80, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
95.24 95.25 95.26 95.27	Subd. 7. <b>Enforcement authority.</b> (a) The attorney general may investigate and bring an action using the authority under section 8.31 against a seller or, residential building contractor, tree trimmer, or restoration and mitigation services provider for an alleged violation of this section.
95.28 95.29	(b) Nothing in this section creates a private cause of action in favor of a person injured by a violation of this section.
96.1	Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325F.03, is amended to read:
96.2	325F.03 FLAME RESISTANT PUBLIC ASSEMBLY TENTS.
96.3 96.4 96.5 96.6 96.7 96.8 96.9 96.10 96.11 96.12	No person, firm or corporation shall establish, maintain or operate any circus, side show carnival, tent show, theater, skating rink, dance hall, or a similar exhibition, production, engagement or offering or other place of assemblage in or under which ten 15 or more persons may gather for any lawful purpose in any tent, awning or other fabric enclosure unless such tent, awning or other fabric enclosure, and all auxiliary tents, curtains, drops, awnings and all decorative materials, are made from a nonflammable material or are treated and maintained in a flame resistant condition. This section shall does not apply to tents designed or manufactured for camping, backpacking, mountaineering, or children's play; tents used to conduct committal services on the grounds of a cemetery, nor to tents, awnings or other fabric enclosures erected and used within a sound stage, or other similar structural enclosure which is equipped with an overhead automatic sprinkler system.
96.14	Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325F.04, is amended to read:
96.15	325F.04 FLAME RESISTANT TENTS AND SLEEPING BAGS.
96.16 96.17 96.18 96.19 96.20 96.21	No person, firm, or corporation may sell or offer for sale or manufacture for sale in this state any tent subject to section 325F.03 unless all fabrics or pliable materials in the tent are durably flame resistant. No person, firm or corporation may sell or offer for sale or manufacture for sale in this state any sleeping bag unless it meets the standards of the commissioner of public safety for flame resistancy. Tents and sleeping bags subject to section 325F.03 shall be conspicuously labeled as being durably flame resistant.
96.22	Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325F.05, is amended to read:
96.23	325F.05 RULES.
96.24 96.25 96.26	The commissioner of public safety shall act so as to have effective rules concerning standards for nonflammable, flame resistant and durably flame resistant materials and for labeling requirements by January 1, 1976 under sections 325F.03 and 325F.04. In order to

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

21.14	Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325F.03, is amended to read:
21.15	325F.03 FLAME RESISTANT PUBLIC ASSEMBLY TENTS.
21.16 21.17 21.18 21.19 21.20 21.21 21.22 21.23 21.24 21.25 21.26	No person, firm or corporation shall establish, maintain or operate any circus, side show, carnival, tent show, theater, skating rink, dance hall, or a similar exhibition, production, engagement or offering or other place of assemblage in or under which ten 15 or more persons may gather for any lawful purpose in any tent, awning or other fabric enclosure unless such tent, awning or other fabric enclosure, and all auxiliary tents, curtains, drops, awnings and all decorative materials, are made from a nonflammable material or are treated and maintained in a flame resistant condition. This section shall does not apply to tents designed or manufactured for camping, backpacking, mountaineering, or children's play; tents used to conduct committal services on the grounds of a cemetery; nor to tents, awnings or other fabric enclosures erected and used within a sound stage, or other similar structural enclosure which is equipped with an overhead automatic sprinkler system.
21.20	Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325F.04, is amended to read:
21.28	325F.04 FLAME RESISTANT TENTS AND SLEEPING BAGS.
21.29 21.30 21.31 21.32 22.1 22.2	No person, firm, or corporation may sell or offer for sale or manufacture for sale in this state any tent subject to section 325F.03 unless all fabrics or pliable materials in the tent are durably flame resistant. No person, firm or corporation may sell or offer for sale or manufacture for sale in this state any sleeping bag unless it meets the standards of the commissioner of public safety for flame resistancy. Tents and sleeping bags subject to section 325F.03 shall be conspicuously labeled as being durably flame resistant.
22.3	Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325F.05, is amended to read:
22.4	325F.05 RULES.
22.5 22.6	The commissioner of public safety shall act so as to have effective rules concerning standards for nonflammable, flame resistant and durably flame resistant materials and for labeling requirements by Japanese 1, 1076 under sections 325E 03 and 325E 04. In order to

96.27 96.28 96.29	comply with sections 325F.03 and 325F.04 all materials and labels must comply with the rules adopted by the commissioner. The commissioner has general rulemaking power to otherwise implement sections 325F.03 to 325F.07.
97.1 97.2	Sec. 34. [325F.078] SALES OF AEROSOL DUSTERS CONTAINING 1,1- DIFLUOROETHANE (DFE).
97.3 97.4	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given.
97.5 97.6	(b) "Aerosol duster" means a product used to clean electronics and other items by means of an aerosol sprayed from a pressurized container.
97.7 97.8 97.9	(c) "Behind-the-counter" means placement by a retailer of a product to ensure that customers do not have direct access to the product before a sale is made, requiring the seller to deliver the product directly to the buyer.
97.10 97.11	(d) "DFE" or "1,1-difluoroethane" means a chemical with a Chemicals Abstract Service Registry Number of 75-37-6.
97.12 97.13	Subd. 2. Requirements for retail sale. A retailer must only sell an aerosol duster that contains DFE:
97.14	(1) from behind the counter;
97.15 97.16	(2) to a purchaser who presents valid evidence that the purchaser is at least 21 years of age; and
97.17	(3) in a quantity that complies with the purchasing limit established in subdivision 3.
97.18 97.19	Subd. 3. Purchasing limit. (a) A retailer is prohibited from selling more than three cans of an aerosol duster containing DFE to a customer in a single transaction.
97.20 97.21	(b) A retailer is prohibited from selling aerosol dusters containing DFE through same day pick up services or same day delivery services.
97.22 97.23	Subd. 4. Exemption. (a) Subdivisions 2 and 3 do not apply to a business purchasing aerosol dusters online.
97.24 97.25	(b) Office wholesalers can sell more than three cans of aerosol dusters containing DFE to a business they have a contract with.
97.26 97.27 97.28	Subd. 5. <b>Labeling.</b> (a) An aerosol duster manufactured after May 31, 2025, must not be sold in this state unless the aerosol duster clearly warns against the dangers of intentionally misusing duster aerosol products.
97.29 97.30	(b) The font size of this warning shall be the same or larger than other warning language. The font color and background of the label must be in contrasting colors.

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

## House Language UES4097-1

2.8 2.9 2.10	rules adopted by the commissioner. The commissioner has general rulemaking power to otherwise implement sections 325F.03 to 325F.07.
2.11 2.12	Sec. 19. [325F.078] SALES OF AEROSOL DUSTERS CONTAINING 1,1- DIFLUOROETHANE (DFE).
2.13 2.14	Subdivision 1. <u>Definitions.</u> (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given.
2.15 2.16	(b) "Aerosol duster" means a product used to clean electronics and other items by means of an aerosol sprayed from a pressurized container.
2.17 2.18 2.19	(c) "Behind the counter" means placement by a retailer of a product to ensure that customers do not have direct access to the product before a sale is made, requiring the seller to deliver the product directly to the buyer.
2.20 2.21	(d) "DFE" or "1,1-difluoroethane" means a chemical with a Chemicals Abstract Service Registry Number of 75-37-6.
2.22 2.23	Subd. 2. Requirements for retail sale. A retailer must only sell an aerosol duster that contains DFE:
2.24	(1) from behind the counter;
2.25 2.26	(2) to a purchaser who presents valid evidence that the purchaser is at least 21 years of age; and
2.27	(3) in a quantity that complies with the purchasing limit established in subdivision 3.
2.28 2.29	Subd. 3. Purchasing limit. A retailer is prohibited from selling more than three cans of an aerosol duster containing DFE to a customer in a single transaction.
3.1 3.2	Subd. 4. Exemption. Subdivisions 2 and 3 do not apply to a business purchasing aerosol dusters online.
3.3 3.4	Subd. 5. Labeling. (a) An aerosol duster containing DFE must not be sold in this state unless the aerosol duster conforms to the labeling requirements established in this subdivision

PAGE R19 REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE

97.31		(c) The label on each can of aerosol duster containing DFE must contain the following:
		(1) 1
98.1		(1) the words "DANGER: DEATH! Breathing this product to get high can kill you!";
98.2	and	
98.3		(2) the poison control phone number, 1-800-222-1222.

98.4 (d) In order to comply with paragraph (a), a label may include, but is not limited to the words:

98.6 (1) "Deliberate misuse by concentrating and inhaling the contents can be harmful or fatal!"; and

98.8 (2) "Intentional misuse by deliberately concentrating and inhaling the vapors can be harmful or fatal!".

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

23.5 23.6 23.7	(b) The label on each can of aerosol duster containing DFE must contain the following, placed within a red rectangle encompassing at least one-half of the area of the rear side of the can:
23.8 23.9 23.10	(1) at the top left corner of the rectangle, the words "Inhalant Abuse Public Safety Announcement" in red ink on a white background that covers one quarter of the rear side of the can;
23.11	(2) below the words in clause (1), the words "DANGER: DEATH! Breathing this product to get high can kill you" in white ink on a red background;
23.13	(3) at the top right corner of the rectangle, a skull and crossbones symbol in black ink on a yellow background contained within a triangle, and the word "DANGER" in black ink
23.15 23.16 23.17 23.18	on a yellow background just below the triangle;  (4) below the symbol in clause (3), in black ink on a white background, the words:  "Abuse or Misuse" underlined, under which are the words "Danger: Can stop your heart Caution: Can cut off air to your brain Warning: Can result in death";
23.19	(5) below the words in clause (4), a drawing of a person lying on the ground, in white ink, within a red circle, on a white background, contained within a red triangle;
23.21 23.22	(6) below the triangle in clause (5), in white ink on a red background, the word "WARNING," and, below that, "Risk of death when abused or misused";
23.23 23.24 23.25 23.26 23.27	(7) across the bottom of the rectangle, in black type on a white background, the words "This product contains a bittering agent to help discourage inhalant abuse. The misuse and abuse of this product by deliberately concentrating and inhaling the chemical contents presents a serious health hazard and can result in fatality. Please use this product responsibly as the product was intended."; and
23.28 23.29 23.30 23.31	(8) below the words in clause (7), two smaller versions of the skull and crossbones symbols described in clause (3) on a white background, placed equidistant from the edges of the red rectangle, and in between which, in red ink, is the website address "www.inhalant.org."

98.10	(e) The safety symbols and color standards of the label described in this section must
98.11	conform with the ANSI Z535 safety signage standards guidelines established by the American
98.12	National Standards Institute.
98.13 98.14	Subd. 6. Violations. (a) A person who violates subdivision 2 or 3 is guilty of a misdemeanor.
98.15	(b) It is an affirmative defense to a charge under subdivision 2, clause (2), if the defendant
98.16	proves by a preponderance of the evidence that the defendant reasonably and in good faith
98.17	relied on proof of age as described in section 340A.503, subdivision 6.
98.18 98.19	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to purchases of aerosol dusters made on or after that date.

98.20	Sec	35	1325F.6761 TICKET SALES	

- 98.21 Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given.
- 98.23 (b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of commerce.
- 98.24 (c) "Entertainment" means all forms of entertainment, including but not limited to theatrical or operatic performances, concerts, motion pictures, entertainment at fairgrounds,
- 98.26 amusement parks, athletic competitions and other sports, and all other forms of diversion,
- 98.27 recreation, or show.
- 98.28 (d) "Internet domain name" means a globally unique, hierarchical reference to an Internet host or service, which is assigned through a centralized Internet naming authority and which

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

24.1	(c) The safety symbols and color standards of the label described in this section must
24.2	conform with the ANSI Z535 safety signage standards guidelines established by the American
24.3	National Standards Institute.
24.4	Subd. 6. Violations. (a) A person who violates subdivision 2 or 3 is guilty of a
24.5	misdemeanor.
24.6	(b) It is an affirmative defense to a charge under subdivision 2, clause (2), if the defendan
24.7	proves by a preponderance of the evidence that the defendant reasonably and in good faith
24.8	relied on proof of age as described in section 340A.503, subdivision 6.
24.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
24.10	applies to purchases of aerosol dusters made on or after that date.
24.11	Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325F.56, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
24.12	Subd. 2. Repairs. "Repairs" means work performed for a total price of more than \$100
24.13	and less than \$7,500, including the price of parts and materials, to restore a malfunctioning,
24.14	defective, or worn motor vehicle, appliance, or dwelling place used primarily for personal,
24.15	family, or household purposes and not primarily for business or agricultural purposes.
24.16	"Repairs" do not include service calls or estimates.
24.17	Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325F.62, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
24.18	Subd. 3. Required notice to be displayed. Each shop shall conspicuously display a
24.19	sign that states the following: "Upon a customer's request, this shop is required to provide
24.20	a written estimate for repairs costing more than \$100 to \$7,500 if the shop agrees to perform
24.21	the repairs. The shop's final price cannot exceed its written estimate by more than ten percent
24.22	without the prior authorization of the customer. You must request that the estimate be in
24.23	writing. An oral estimate is not subject to the above repair cost limitations." If the shop
24.24	charges a fee for the storage or care of repaired motor vehicles or appliances, the shop shall
24.25	conspicuously display a sign that states the amount assessed for storage or care, when the
24.26	charge begins to accrue, and the interval of time between assessments."

98.30 98.31	is composed of a series of character strings separated by periods with the rightmost string specifying the top of the hierarchy.
99.1 99.2	(e) "Online ticket marketplace" means the administrator of a website or other electronic service, including an agent, employee, or assignee of such administrator, that sells tickets
99.2	or maintains a platform to facilitate the sale of tickets.
19.3	or maintains a piatform to facilitate the sale of tickets.
99.4	(f) "Operator" means a person, including an agent, employee, or assignee of such person,
99.5	who:
99.6	(1) owns, operates, or controls a place of entertainment;
99.7	(2) produces entertainment; or
99.8	(3) sells a ticket to a place of entertainment for original sale.
99.9	(g) "Person" means a party, individual, partnership, association, corporation, or other
99.10	legal entity.
99.11	(h) "Place of entertainment" means an entertainment facility, including but not limited
99.12	to an amphitheater, theater, stadium, arena, racetrack, museum, amusement park, venue,
99.13	club, or other place where performances, concerts, exhibits, athletic games, contests, or
99.14	other forms of entertainment are held. For the purposes of this section, place of entertainment
99.15	does not include movie theaters.
99.16	(i) "Ticket reseller" means a person that offers or sells tickets for resale after the original
99.17	sale to an entertainment event located in this state and includes an operator to the extent
99.18	that the operator offers or sells tickets for resale. Sales by a ticket reseller includes sales by
99.19	any means, including but not limited to in-person, or by telephone, mail, delivery service,
99.20	facsimile, Internet, email, or other electronic means. A ticket reseller does not include a
99.21	person that purchases a ticket solely for their own use or the use of their invitees, employees,
99.22	or agents.
99.23	(j) "URL" means a uniform resource locator for a website on the Internet.
99.24	Subd. 2. Disclosures. (a) An operator, ticket reseller, or online ticket marketplace must,
99.25	at all times during the ticket listing and purchasing process, disclose in an easily readable
99.26	and conspicuous manner and in dollars:
99.27	(1) the total cost of the ticket, inclusive of all fees and surcharges that must be paid in
99.28	order to purchase the ticket;
99.29	(2) the portion of the ticket price that represents a service charge; and
99.30	(3) any other fee or surcharge to the purchaser.
99.31	(b) The disclosure of subtotals, fees, charges, and all other components of the total price
99.32	must not be false or misleading, and shall not be presented more prominently or in the same
100.1	or larger size than the total price. The disclosure of subtotals, fees, charges, and all other

100.2	components of the total price may be displayed in a way that allows the purchaser to hide
100.3	or minimize the itemized list. The price of a ticket must not increase with respect to a
100.4	particular person after the ticket is first displayed to such person, excluding reasonable fees
100.5	for the delivery of nonelectronic tickets based on the delivery method selected by the
100.6	purchaser and any additional purchases made by the purchaser, which must be disclosed
100.7	prior to accepting payment.
100.8	(c) A ticket reseller and online ticket marketplace must disclose in an easily readable
100.9	and conspicuous manner on its website or electronic service:
100.10	(1) that the website or electronic service is owned or operated by a ticket reseller or
100.11	online ticket marketplace and that the price of a resale ticket offered for sale may be higher
100.12	or lower than the original purchase price;
100.13	(2) that the purchaser is responsible for checking with the place of entertainment for
100.14	information on changes to the event or cancellations prior to the event's start time; and
100.15	(3) the refund policy of the ticket reseller or online ticket marketplace.
100.16	A ticket reseller or online ticket marketplace must require a purchaser to confirm having
100.17	read the disclosures required by this paragraph before completing a transaction.
100.18	(d) A ticket reseller or online ticket marketplace must provide proof of purchase to the
100.19	purchaser that must include all event and ticket information within 24 hours of the purchase,
100.20	including:
100.21	(1) that the purchaser is responsible for checking with the place of entertainment for
100.22	information on changes to the event or cancellations prior to the event's start time; and
100.23	(2) the refund policy of the ticket reseller or online ticket marketplace.
100.24	(e) An online ticket marketplace must not use any combination of text, images, trademark,
100.25	copyright, web designs, or Internet addresses that is identical or substantially similar to text,
100.26	images, trademark, copyright, web designs, or Internet addresses associated with a place of
100.27	entertainment without the written permission of the place of entertainment duly authorized
100.28	to provide such permission. This paragraph does not prohibit an online ticket marketplace
100.29	from using text containing the name of a place of entertainment or of an event in order to
100.30	describe the location of the event or the event itself. This paragraph does not prohibit an
100.31	online ticket marketplace from providing information or images identifying the specific
100.32	seat or area the purchaser will occupy in the place of entertainment.
101.1	(f) The obligations of paragraphs (a) to (d) do not apply to any person, unless the person
101.2	engaged in annual aggregate transactions that were equal to or greater than \$5,000.
101.3	Subd. 3. Prohibitions. (a) A ticket reseller or online ticket marketplace must not:
101.4	(1) sell or offer to sell more than one copy of the same ticket to a place of entertainment;

101.5 101.6 101.7	(2) employ another person directly or indirectly to wait in line to purchase tickets for the purpose of reselling the tickets if the practice is prohibited or if the place of entertainment has posted a policy prohibiting the practice;
101.8 101.9 101.10	(3) sell or offer to sell a ticket without first informing the person of the location of the place of entertainment and the ticket's assigned seat, including but not limited to the seat number, row, and section number of the seat;
101.11 101.12	(4) sell or offer to sell a ticket for which there is no assigned seat without first informing the person of the general admission area to which the ticket corresponds; or
101.13 101.14 101.15 101.16 101.17	the place of entertainment, and having actual or constructive possession of such ticket, unless the ticket reseller owns the ticket pursuant to a season ticket package purchased by
101.18 101.19 101.20 101.21	any of the following, unless acting on behalf of the place of entertainment, event, or person
101.22	(1) the name of a place of entertainment;
101.23	(2) the name of an event, including the name of a person scheduled to perform or appear
101.24	
101.25	(3) a name substantially similar to those described in clause (1) or (2).
101.26	(c) A person must not:
101.27 101.28 101.29	
101.30 101.31 101.32	
102.1	(d) A person must not sell a ticket obtained in violation of paragraph (c) if the person:
102.2 102.3	(1) participated in or had the ability to control the conduct committed in violation of paragraph (c); or
102.4	(2) knew that the ticket was acquired in violation of paragraph (c).
102.5	(e) An operator, online ticket marketplace, or ticket reseller must not sell a ticket unless:

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

102.6 102.7	(1) the ticket is in the possession or constructive possession of the operator, online ticket marketplace, or ticket reseller; or
102.8	(2) the operator, online ticket marketplace, or ticket reseller has a written contract with
102.9	the place of entertainment to obtain the ticket.
102.10	(f) Pursuant to United States Code, title 15, section 45c, circumvention of a security
102.11	measure, access control system, or other technological control measure used by an online
102.12	ticket marketplace to enforce posted event ticket purchasing limits or to maintain the integrity
102.13	of posted online ticket purchasing order rules is prohibited.
102.14	Subd. 4. Commissioner data requests; data practices. (a) Upon request by the
102.15	commissioner, an online ticket marketplace must disclose to the commissioner information
102.16	about technology and methods used in an alleged violation of subdivision 3, paragraph (f).
102.17	Data collected or maintained by the commissioner under this subdivision are civil
102.18	investigative data under section 13.39, and the commissioner may share with the attorney
102.19	general any not public data, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 8a, received under this
102.20	subdivision.
102.21	(b) The commissioner may enforce this section under section 45.027.
102.22	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to tickets
102.23	sold on or after that date.
102.24	Sec. 36. [325F.782] DEFINITIONS.
102.24 102.25	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
	Sec. 36. [325F.782] DEFINITIONS.  Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of sections 325F.782 to 325F.7822, the following terms have the meanings given.
102.25	Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of sections 325F.782 to 325F.7822, the following
102.25 102.26	Subdivision 1. <b>Scope.</b> For purposes of sections 325F.782 to 325F.7822, the following terms have the meanings given.
102.25 102.26 102.27	Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of sections 325F.782 to 325F.7822, the following terms have the meanings given.  Subd. 2. Minor. "Minor" means an individual who is younger than 21 years of age.  Subd. 3. Vapor product. "Vapor product" means a noncombustible product that employs a heating element, power source, electronic circuit, or other electronic, chemical, or
102.25 102.26 102.27 102.28	Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of sections 325F.782 to 325F.7822, the following terms have the meanings given.  Subd. 2. Minor. "Minor" means an individual who is younger than 21 years of age.  Subd. 3. Vapor product. "Vapor product" means a noncombustible product that employs
102.25 102.26 102.27 102.28 102.29	Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of sections 325F.782 to 325F.7822, the following terms have the meanings given.  Subd. 2. Minor. "Minor" means an individual who is younger than 21 years of age.  Subd. 3. Vapor product. "Vapor product" means a noncombustible product that employs a heating element, power source, electronic circuit, or other electronic, chemical, or
102.25 102.26 102.27 102.28 102.29 102.30	Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of sections 325F.782 to 325F.7822, the following terms have the meanings given.  Subd. 2. Minor. "Minor" means an individual who is younger than 21 years of age.  Subd. 3. Vapor product. "Vapor product" means a noncombustible product that employs a heating element, power source, electronic circuit, or other electronic, chemical, or mechanical means, regardless of shape or size, that can be used to produce vapor from
102.25 102.26 102.27 102.28 102.29 102.30 102.31	Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of sections 325F.782 to 325F.7822, the following terms have the meanings given.  Subd. 2. Minor. "Minor" means an individual who is younger than 21 years of age.  Subd. 3. Vapor product. "Vapor product" means a noncombustible product that employs a heating element, power source, electronic circuit, or other electronic, chemical, or mechanical means, regardless of shape or size, that can be used to produce vapor from nicotine or any other substance, and the use or inhalation of which simulates smoking. Vapor product includes an electronic cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic pipe, or similar product or device. Vapor product also includes a vapor cartridge or other
102.25 102.26 102.27 102.28 102.29 102.30 102.31 103.1 103.2 103.3	Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of sections 325F.782 to 325F.7822, the following terms have the meanings given.  Subd. 2. Minor. "Minor" means an individual who is younger than 21 years of age.  Subd. 3. Vapor product. "Vapor product" means a noncombustible product that employs a heating element, power source, electronic circuit, or other electronic, chemical, or mechanical means, regardless of shape or size, that can be used to produce vapor from nicotine or any other substance, and the use or inhalation of which simulates smoking. Vapor product includes an electronic cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic
102.25 102.26 102.27 102.28 102.29 102.30 102.31 103.1 103.2	Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of sections 325F.782 to 325F.7822, the following terms have the meanings given.  Subd. 2. Minor. "Minor" means an individual who is younger than 21 years of age.  Subd. 3. Vapor product. "Vapor product" means a noncombustible product that employs a heating element, power source, electronic circuit, or other electronic, chemical, or mechanical means, regardless of shape or size, that can be used to produce vapor from nicotine or any other substance, and the use or inhalation of which simulates smoking. Vapor product includes an electronic cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic pipe, or similar product or device. Vapor product also includes a vapor cartridge or other
102.25 102.26 102.27 102.28 102.29 102.30 102.31 103.1 103.2 103.3	Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of sections 325F.782 to 325F.7822, the following terms have the meanings given.  Subd. 2. Minor. "Minor" means an individual who is younger than 21 years of age.  Subd. 3. Vapor product. "Vapor product" means a noncombustible product that employs a heating element, power source, electronic circuit, or other electronic, chemical, or mechanical means, regardless of shape or size, that can be used to produce vapor from nicotine or any other substance, and the use or inhalation of which simulates smoking. Vapor product includes an electronic cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic pipe, or similar product or device. Vapor product also includes a vapor cartridge or other container of nicotine or other substance in a solution or other form that is intended to be
102.25 102.26 102.27 102.28 102.29 102.30 102.31 103.1 103.2 103.3 103.4	Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of sections 325F.782 to 325F.7822, the following terms have the meanings given.  Subd. 2. Minor. "Minor" means an individual who is younger than 21 years of age.  Subd. 3. Vapor product. "Vapor product" means a noncombustible product that employs a heating element, power source, electronic circuit, or other electronic, chemical, or mechanical means, regardless of shape or size, that can be used to produce vapor from nicotine or any other substance, and the use or inhalation of which simulates smoking. Vapor product includes an electronic cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic pipe, or similar product or device. Vapor product also includes a vapor cartridge or other container of nicotine or other substance in a solution or other form that is intended to be used with or in an electronic cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic pipe,
102.25 102.26 102.27 102.28 102.29 102.30 102.31 103.1 103.2 103.3 103.4 103.5	Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of sections 325F.782 to 325F.7822, the following terms have the meanings given.  Subd. 2. Minor. "Minor" means an individual who is younger than 21 years of age.  Subd. 3. Vapor product. "Vapor product" means a noncombustible product that employs a heating element, power source, electronic circuit, or other electronic, chemical, or mechanical means, regardless of shape or size, that can be used to produce vapor from nicotine or any other substance, and the use or inhalation of which simulates smoking. Vapor product includes an electronic cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic pipe, or similar product or device. Vapor product also includes a vapor cartridge or other container of nicotine or other substance in a solution or other form that is intended to be used with or in an electronic cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic pipe, or similar product or device.
102.25 102.26 102.27 102.28 102.29 102.30 102.31 103.1 103.2 103.3 103.4 103.5	Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of sections 325F.782 to 325F.7822, the following terms have the meanings given.  Subd. 2. Minor. "Minor" means an individual who is younger than 21 years of age.  Subd. 3. Vapor product. "Vapor product" means a noncombustible product that employs a heating element, power source, electronic circuit, or other electronic, chemical, or mechanical means, regardless of shape or size, that can be used to produce vapor from nicotine or any other substance, and the use or inhalation of which simulates smoking. Vapor product includes an electronic cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic pipe, or similar product or device. Vapor product also includes a vapor cartridge or other container of nicotine or other substance in a solution or other form that is intended to be used with or in an electronic cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic pipe, or similar product or device.  Sec. 37. [325F.7821] PROHIBITION ON DECEPTIVE VAPOR PRODUCTS.

103.10	(i) a food or brand of food commonly marketed to minors, including but not limited to
103.11	candy, desserts, and beverages;
103.12	(ii) school supplies commonly used by minors, including but not limited to erasers,
103.12	highlighters, pens, and pencils; and
103.14	(iii) a product based on or depicting a character, personality, or symbol known to appeal
103.15	to minors, including but not limited to a celebrity; a character in a comic book, movie,
103.16	television show, or video game; and a mythical creature;
103.17	(2) attempting to conceal the nature of the vapor product from parents, teachers, or other
103.18	adults; or
103.19	(3) using terms for, describing, or depicting any product described in clause (1).
103.20	Sec. 38. [325F.812] CELLULAR TELEPHONE CASES.
103.21	Subdivision 1. Certain cellular telephone cases; prohibition. A person is prohibited
103.22	from purchasing, possessing, importing, manufacturing, selling, holding for sale, or
103.23	distributing a cellular telephone case, stand, or cover that is a facsimile of or reasonably
103.24	appears to be a firearm, including but not limited to a pistol or revolver.
103.25	Subd. 2. Enforcement. This section may be enforced by the attorney general under
103.26	section 8.31, but a court may not impose a civil penalty of more than \$500 for a violation
103.27	of this section.
104.1	Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325G.24, is amended to read:
	· · ·
104.2	325G.24 RIGHT OF CANCELLATION.
104.3	Subdivision 1. Right of cancellation. (a) Any person who has elected to become a
104.4	member of a club may unilaterally cancel such membership, in the person's exclusive
104.5	discretion, by giving written notice of cancellation at any time before midnight of the third
104.6	business day following the date on which membership was attained. Notice of cancellation
104.7	may be given personally or by mail.
104.8	(b) If given by mail, the notice is effective upon deposit in a mailbox, properly addressed
104.9	and postage prepaid. Notice of cancellation need not take a particular form and is sufficient
104.10	if it indicates, by any form of written expression, the intention of the member not to be
104.11	bound by the contract.
104.12	(c) Cancellation under this subdivision shall be without liability on the part of the member
104.13	and the member shall be entitled to a refund, within ten days after notice of cancellation is
104.14	given, of the entire consideration paid for the contract. Rights of cancellation may not be
104.15	waived or otherwise surrendered.

04.16	Subd. 2. Right of member unilateral termination. (a) Any person who has elected to
04.17	become a member of a club may unilaterally terminate such membership, in the person's
04.18	exclusive discretion, by giving notice of termination at any time.
04.19	(b) If given by mail, the notice is effective upon deposit in a mailbox, properly addressed,
04.20	and postage prepaid.
04.21	(c) A club must not impose a termination fee or any other liability on the member for
04.22	termination under this subdivision.
04.23	(d) Termination under this subdivision is effective at the end of the membership term
04.24	in which the member provides the notice of termination. If membership is at-will without
04.25	a defined membership term, then termination under this subdivision is effective immediately,
04.26	unless the member indicates a future effective date of termination, in which event the date
04.27	indicated by the member is the effective date of termination.
04.28	(e) If a member provides notice of termination at any time before midnight of the third
04.29	business day following the date on which membership was attained, the club must treat the
04.30	notice as a notice of cancellation under subdivision 1, unless the member specifically
04.31	provides for a future termination effective date.
04.32	Subd. 3. Notice requirements. (a) A club must accept a notice of cancellation or notice
04.33	of termination that has been given:
05.1	(1) verbally, including but not limited to personally or over the telephone to customer
05.2	or account service members;
05.3	(2) in writing, including but not limited to via mail, email, or an online message through
05.4	the club's website directed to customer or account service members;
05.5	(3) through a termination election as described in section 325G.60; or
05.6	(4) in any other manner or medium by which the member initially accepted membership
05.7	to the club and that is no more burdensome to the member than was the initial acceptance.
05.8	(b) The process to cancel must be stated clearly and be easily accessible and completed
05.9	with ease.
05.10	Subd. 4. No waiver. A right of cancellation or right of termination under this section
05.11	may not be waived or otherwise surrendered.
05.12	Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325G.25, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
05.13	Subdivision 1. Form and content. A copy of every contract shall be delivered to the
05.14	member at the time the contract is signed. Every contract must be in writing, must be signed
05.15	by the member, must designate the date on which the member signed the contract and must
05.16	state, clearly and conspicuously in boldface type of a minimum size of 14 points, the
05 17	following

105.18	"MEMBERS' RIGHT TO CANCEL"
105.19	"If you wish to cancel this contract, you may cancel in-person, over the phone, by
105.20	delivering or mailing a written notice to the club, via email or an online message through
105.21	the club's website, through the "termination election" provided on the club's website (if
105.22	applicable) and as described in Minnesota Statutes, section 325G.60, or in any other manner
105.23	or medium by which you initially accepted membership to the club. The notice must say
105.24	that you do not wish to be bound by the contract and must be delivered or mailed be provided
105.25	to the club before midnight of the third business day after you sign this contract. The notice
105.26	must be delivered or mailed to: (Insert name and mailing address of club). If you cancel,
105.27	the club will return, within ten days of the date on which you give notice of cancellation,
105.28	any payments you have made."
105.29	"MEMBERS' RIGHT TO UNILATERAL TERMINATION"
105.30	"You may unilaterally terminate this contract in your exclusive discretion at any time.
105.31	If you terminate, your membership will terminate at the end of the membership term in
105.32	which you provided the club with notice of termination. If your membership is at-will
106.1	without a defined membership term, then your membership will terminate immediately,
106.2	unless you indicate a future effective date of termination. If you wish to terminate this
106.3	contract, you may terminate in-person, over the phone, by delivering or mailing a written
106.4	notice to the club, via email or an online message through the club's website, through the
106.5	"termination election" provided on the club's website (if applicable) and as described in
106.6	Minnesota Statutes, section 325G.60, or in any other manner or medium by which you
106.7	initially accepted membership to the club. The club may not impose a termination fee or
106.8	any other liability on you for termination."
106.9	"NOTICE INFORMATION"
106.10	"If you wish to provide notice of cancellation or notice of termination to the club:
106.11	In-person or by mail, the applicable address is: [Insert name and mailing address of
106.12	club];
106.13	Over the phone, the applicable phone number is: [Insert phone number of club];
106.14	Via email, the applicable email address is: [Insert email address of club];
106.15	On the club's website, the applicable website address is: [Insert address, if applicable]."
106.16	Sec. 41. [325G.38] HANDHELD ELECTRONIC DEVICES; DISCLOSURES.
106.17	If a retail establishment offers consumers the use of handheld electronic devices that
106.18	require payment for games or other entertainment, the handheld electronic device must
106.19	display a disclosure. The disclosure must be provided to the consumer before a game or
106.20	entertainment is purchased and must:

106.21	(1) require the user to affirm that the user is 18 years of age or older; and
106.22	(2) include, in at least ten-point font and larger than all other type viewable on the screen
106.23	at that time, the payment amount required.
106.24	Sec. 42. [325G.56] DEFINITIONS.
106.25	Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of sections 325G.56 to 325G.62, the terms defined
106.26	in this section have the meanings given them.
106.27	Subd. 2. Automatic renewal. "Automatic renewal" means a plan or arrangement in
106.28	which a subscription or purchasing agreement is automatically renewed at the end of a
106.29	definite term for a subsequent term.
107.1	Subd. 3. Clear and conspicuous. "Clear and conspicuous" means in larger type than
107.2	the surrounding text, or in contrasting type, font, or color to the surrounding text of the same
107.3	size, or set off from the surrounding text of the same size by symbols or other marks, in a
107.4	manner that calls attention to the language. In the case of an audio disclosure, "clear and
107.5 107.6	conspicuous" means in a volume and cadence sufficient to be readily audible and
107.0	understandable.
107.7	Subd. 4. Consumer. "Consumer" means any individual who seeks or acquires, by
107.8	purchase or lease, any goods, services, money, or credit for personal, family, or household
107.9	purposes. Consumer includes but is not limited to a member as defined in section 325G.23,
107.10	unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.
107.11	Subd. 5. Continuous service. "Continuous service" means a plan or arrangement in
107.12	which a subscription or purchasing agreement continues until the consumer terminates the
107.13	agreement.
107.14	Subd. 6. Indefinite subscription agreement. "Indefinite subscription agreement" means
107.15	a subscription or purchasing agreement:
107.16	(1) between a seller and a consumer in Minnesota; and
107.17	(2) subject to automatic renewal or continuous service.
107.18	Indefinite subscription agreements include but are not limited to contracts, as defined in
107.19	section 325G.23, subject to automatic renewal or continuous service.
107.20	Subd. 7. Offer terms. "Offer terms" means the following disclosures:
107.21	(1) that the indefinite subscription agreement will continue until the consumer terminates
107.22	
107.23	(2) the description of the cancellation policy that applies to the indefinite subscription
107.23	agreement;
107.25	(3) the recurring charges that will be charged to the consumer's credit or debit card or
107.26	payment account with a third party as part of the plan or arrangement and that the amount

	of the charge may change, if that is the case, and the amount to which the charge will change,
107.28	if known;
107.29	(4) the length of the automatic renewal term or that the service is continuous, unless the
107.30	length of the term is definite and chosen by the consumer; and
107.31	(5) the minimum purchase obligation, if any.
108.1	Subd. 8. Seller. "Seller" means a seller, lessor, licensor, or professional who advertises,
108.2	solicits, or engages in consumer transactions, or a manufacturer, distributor, or licensor who
108.3	advertises and sells, leases, or licenses goods or services to be resold, leased, or sublicensed
108.4	by other persons in consumer transactions. Seller includes but is not limited to a club as
108.5	defined in section 325G.23, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.
108.6	Sec. 43. [325G.57] REQUIREMENTS FOR AUTOMATIC RENEWAL OR
108.7	CONTINUOUS SERVICE.
108.8	Subdivision 1. Notices upon offer. A seller making an offer for an indefinite subscription
108.9	agreement must, before the consumer accepts the offer, present the offer terms in a clear
108.10	and conspicuous manner to the consumer and in visual proximity, or in the case of an offer
108.11	conveyed by voice, in temporal proximity, to the offer's proposal.
108.12	Subd. 2. Confirmation upon consumer consent. A seller making an offer for an
108.13	indefinite subscription agreement must, in a timely manner after the consumer accepts the
108.14	offer, provide the consumer with confirmation of the consumer's acceptance of the offer,
108.15	in a manner that is capable of being retained by the consumer, that includes the following:
108.16	(1) the offer terms;
108.17	(2) if the offer includes a free trial, information on how to cancel the free trial before
108.18	the consumer pays or becomes obligated to pay for any goods or services in connection
108.19	with the free trial; and
108.20	(3) options for termination of the indefinite subscription agreement, which options must
108.21	be easy to use, cost-effective, and timely for all consumers:
108.22	(i) if a seller makes offers for an indefinite subscription agreement through an online
108.23	website, a termination election as set forth in section 325G.60; and
108.24	(ii) if a consumer enters into the indefinite subscription agreement through any means
108.25	other than a toll-free telephone number, an email address, or a postal address, then an option
108.26	substantially similar to, as easy to use, and as accessible as the initial means of consumer
108.27	acceptance of the agreement.
108.28	A communication of the required information through amail is sufficient to most the
108.28	A communication of the required information through email is sufficient to meet the requirements of this subdivision.
100.29	
108.30	Subd. 3. Material changes. Upon a material change in the terms of the indefinite
108.31	subscription agreement, the seller must provide to the consumer in a timely manner, and in

108.32	any case prior to the implementation of the material change, a clear and conspicuous notice
109.1	of the material change and provide information regarding how to terminate the agreement
109.2	in a manner that is capable of being retained by the consumer. A material change in the
109.3	terms of an indefinite subscription agreement in violation of this subdivision is void and
109.4	unenforceable.
109.5	Subd. 4. Free trials. A seller making an offer for an indefinite subscription agreement
109.6	that includes a free trial lasting more than 30 days must, no fewer than five days and no
109.7	more than 30 days before the end of any such free trial, notify the consumer of the consumer's
109.8	option to cancel the free trial before the end of the trial period to avoid an obligation to pay
109.9	for the goods or services.
109.10	Subd. 5. <b>Periodic notice of continuous service.</b> (a) If an indefinite subscription
109.10	agreement is subject to continuous service, the seller must give the consumer written notice
109.11	of the continuous service at least once per calendar year via mail or email.
	of the continuous service at least once per carendar year via man of email.
109.13	(b) The notice required under this subdivision must include the terms of the service and
109.14	how to terminate or manage the service.
109.15	Sec. 44. [325G.58] PROHIBITED CONDUCT.
109.16	Subdivision 1. <b>Definition</b> ; agreement. For purposes of this section, "agreement" means
109.17	an indefinite subscription agreement, as defined in section 325G.56, and a contract, as
109.18	defined in section 325G.23.
109.19	Subd. 2. Charges prior to effective date. A seller must not charge the consumer's credit
109.20	or debit card or the consumer's account with a third party in connection with an agreement
109.21	before the agreement has been duly authorized by the seller and consumer and made effective.
109.22	Subd. 3. <b>Right of first refusal.</b> An agreement must not require the consumer to permit
109.22	the seller to match any offer the consumer has received. A provision in an agreement that
109.24	violates this subdivision is void and unenforceable.
109.25	Subd. 4. No abusive tactics or offers upon notice. (a) A seller that has received a notice
109.26	of cancellation or notice of termination of an agreement from a consumer cannot:
109.27	(1) make any misrepresentation or undertake any unfair or abusive tactic to delay,
109.28	unreasonably delay, or avoid the cancellation or termination of the agreement; or
109.29	(2) make or provide additional benefits, contract modifications, gifts, or similar offers
109.29	to the consumer until the seller has obtained permission from the consumer, granted by the
109.30	consumer after notice of cancellation or termination was given to the seller, for the seller
109.32	to engage in any such activity.
110.1	(b) A seller can only seek a consumer's permission under this paragraph once per
110.2	cancellation or termination attempt. A consumer's grant of permission under this paragraph

110.3	is limited to the immediate cancellation or termination attempt and does not apply to
110.4	subsequent attempts.
110.5	Subd. 5. Exceptions. This section does not prohibit a seller from:
110.6	(1) asking the consumer the reasons for cancellation or termination, provided that a
110.7	consumer is not required to answer as a condition of cancellation or termination;
110.8	(2) informing the consumer that there may be consequences of cancelling or terminating
110.9	the subscription; or
110.10	(3) verifying the identity of the consumer.
110.11	Sec. 45. [325G.59] CONSUMER'S RIGHT TO TERMINATE.
110.12	Subdivision 1. Termination of agreement subject to automatic renewal. A consumer
110.13	may terminate an indefinite subscription agreement subject to automatic renewal at any
110.14	time by following the procedure set forth in the confirmation described in section 325G.57,
110.15	subdivision 2. A termination under this subdivision is effective at the end of the term in
110.16	which notice of termination is provided by the consumer, unless the consumer specifies a
110.17	termination date occurring at the end of a subsequent term, in which event the termination
110.18	is effective as of the date specified by the consumer, if the option is available.
110.19	Subd. 2. Termination of agreement subject to continuous service. (a) A consumer
110.20	may terminate an indefinite subscription agreement subject to continuous service at any
110.21	time by following the procedure set forth in the confirmation described in section 325G.57,
110.22	subdivision 2. A termination under this subdivision must take effect no later than 31 days
110.23	from the date of a verified consumer's notice of termination unless the consumer specifies
110.24	a future termination date, in which event the termination is effective as of such date.
110.25	(b) This subdivision does not require a seller to provide an option to set a future
110.26	termination date.
110.27	Subd. 3. Termination in absence of confirmation or notice. If the seller fails to provide
110.28	either the confirmation required under section 325G.57, subdivision 2, or a notice required
110.29	by section 325G.57, subdivision 5, the consumer may terminate the indefinite subscription
110.30	agreement by any reasonable means at any time, including but not limited to by mail, email,
110.31	telephone, an online option, a termination election under section 325G.60, or the means by
110.32	which the consumer entered into the agreement, at no cost to the consumer.
111.1	Sec. 46. [325G.60] TERMINATION ELECTION REQUIREMENT.
111.2	Subdivision 1. <b>Definition</b> ; <b>agreement.</b> For purposes of this section, "agreement" means
111.3	an indefinite subscription agreement, as defined in section 325G.56, and a contract, as
111.4	defined in section 325G.23.
111.5	Subd. 2. Termination election required. (a) If a seller has a website with profile or
1116	subscription management capabilities, then such website must include a termination election

	Schate Language 54077-2
111.7	on the website. The termination election must be clear and conspicuous on the website and
111.8	must use plain language to convey that any consumer may use the termination election to
111.9	terminate the agreement at any time. The termination election must only require a consumer
111.10	to input information that is necessary to process the termination. The termination election
111.11	must include a checkbox, submission button, or similarly common and simple mechanism
111.12	for the member to indicate a desire to terminate the agreement.
111.13	(b) For purposes of this section, "termination election" means a simple and easily
111.14	accessible means for a consumer to quickly provide notice of termination, and that does not
111.15	include undue complexity, confusion, or misrepresentation by the seller.
111 17	C., 47 1235C (1) UNICONDITIONAL CIETE
111.16	Sec. 47. [325G.61] UNCONDITIONAL GIFTS.
111.17	Any good, including but not limited to any ware, merchandise, or product, is an
111.18	unconditional gift to the consumer if a seller sends the good under an indefinite subscription
111.19	agreement without first obtaining the consumer's affirmative consent to the agreement in
111.20	accordance with section 325G.57. The consumer may use or dispose of the good in any
111.21	manner without any obligation to the seller, including but not limited to any obligation
111.22	
111.22	returns to simplify of the good.
111.23	Sec. 48. [325G.62] EXEMPTION.
111.04	0.4. 2250.5(4.2250.(1.1.4.4.1.4.1.4.1.4.1.4.1.4.1.4.1.4.1.
111.24	Sections 325G.56 to 325G.61 do not apply to:
111.25	(1) contracts governed by another state or federal statute or regulation specifically
111.26	intended to regulate automatic renewal or continuous service;
111.20	intended to regulate distortion of continuous service,
111.27	(2) any licensee as defined in section 60A.985, subdivision 8, and any affiliate of such

(3) an individual or business licensed by the Department of Labor and Industry as a

(4) any service provided by a business or its affiliate where either the business or its

(5) any person or entity registered or licensed with the Financial Industry Regulatory

Authority, the Securities and Exchange Commission, or under the Minnesota Securities

111.30 technology system contractor or power limited technician as defined in section 326B.31;

affiliate is licensed or regulated by the Public Utilities Commission, the Federal

Communications Commission, or the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission; or

a licensee as defined in section 60D.15, subdivision 2;

112.1

112.2

112.3

112.4

112.6

Act.

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

House Language UES4097-1

24.27 Sec. 22. **[3250.01] CITATION.** 

24.28 This chapter may be cited as the "Prohibiting Social Media Manipulation Act."

4.29	Sec. 23. [325O.02] DEFINITIONS.
4.30	(a) For purposes of this chapter, the following terms have the meanings given.
5.1 5.2	(b) "Accessible user interface" means a way for a user to input data, make a choice, or take an action on a social media platform in two clicks or fewer.
5.3 5.4	(c) "Account holder" means a natural person or legal person who holds an account or profile with a social media platform.
5.5 5.6 5.7	(d) "Account interactions" means any action that an account holder can make within a social media platform that has an impact on another user. Account interactions include but are not limited to:
5.8	(1) sending messages or invitations to users;
5.9	(2) reporting users;
5.10 5.11	(3) commenting on, resharing, liking, voting, or otherwise reacting to users' user-generated content; and
5.12	(4) posting user-generated content or disseminating user-generated content to users.
5.13 5.14	Actions that have no impact on other users, including viewing user-generated content or public content, are not account interactions.
5.15	(e) "Algorithmic ranking system" means a computational process, including one derived
5.16	from algorithmic decision making, machine learning, statistical analysis, or other data
5.17 5.18	processing or artificial intelligence techniques, used to determine the selection, order, relative prioritization, or relative prominence of content from a set of information that is provided
5.19	to a user on a social media platform, including search results ranking, content
5.20	recommendations, content display, or any other automated content selection method.
5.21 5.22	(f) "Click" means an act of selecting an option on an electronic interface by pressing a button, touching a screen, making a gesture, issuing a voice command, or other means.
5.23	(g) "Content" means any media, including but not limited to written posts, images, visual
5.24	or audio recordings, notifications, and games, that a user views, reads, watches, listens to,
5.25	or otherwise interacts or engages with on a social media platform. Content includes other
5.26	account holders' accounts or profiles when recommended to a user by the social media
5.27	platform.
5.28	(h) "Default" means a preselected option adopted by a social media platform for the
5.29	social media platform's service, product, or feature.
5.30	(i) "Device operating system provider" means a business that manages or develops
5.31	operating system software for mobile or desktop devices, including but not limited to personal
5.32	computers, smartphones, and tablets, which manage device resources and are loaded by a
6.1	boot program. Device operating system provider does not include a business that manages

26.2	or develops operating system software for a video game console, as defined by section
26.3	<u>325E.72.</u>
26.4	(j) "Engage" or "engagement" means a user's utilization of the social media platform.
26.5	(k) "Existing extended network" means a user's existing network plus the set of account
26.6	holders on a social media platform who are all directly connected to the account holders
26.7	within that user's existing network.
26.8	(1) "Existing network" means the set of account holders on a social media platform with
26.9	whom a user has consented to have a direct connection.
26.10	(m) "Expressed preferences" means a freely given, considered, specific, and unambiguous
26.11	indication of a user's preferences regarding the user's engagement with a social media
26.12	platform. Expressed preferences cannot be based on the user's time spent engaging with
26.13	content on the social media platform, nor on the usage of features that do not indicate explicit
26.14	preference, including comments made, posts reshared, or similar actions that may be taken
26.15	on content the user perceives to be of low quality. Expressed preferences may not be obtained
26.16	through a user interface designed or manipulated with the substantial effect of subverting
26.17	or impairing a user's decision making.
26.18	(n) "Optimize" means promoted, prioritized, or maximized by a social media platform's
26.19	algorithmic ranking system.
26.20	(o) "Social media platform" means an electronic medium, including a browser-based or
26.21	application-based interactive computer service, Internet website, telephone network, or data
26.22	network, that allows an account holder to create, share, and view user-generated content
26.23	for the predominant purpose of social interaction, sharing content, or personal networking.
26.24	Social media platform does not include:
26.25	(1) an Internet search provider;
26.26	(2) an Internet service provider;
26.27	(3) an email or short message service;
26.28	(4) a streaming service, online video game, or other Internet website where the content
26.29	is not user generated but where interactive functions enable chat, comments, reviews, or
26.30	other interactive functionality that is incidental to, directly related to, or dependent upon
26.31	provision of the content;
27.1	(5) a communication service, including text, audio, or video communication technology,
27.2	provided by a business to the business's employees and clients for use in the course of
27.3	business activities and not for public distribution, except that social media platform does
27.4	include a communication service provided by a social media platform;
27.5	(6) an advertising network with the sole function of delivering commercial content;

Senate Language S4097-2

27.6	(7) a telecommunications carrier, as defined in United States Code, title 47, section 153;
27.7	(8) a broadband service, as defined by section 116J.39, subdivision 1;
27.8	(9) single-purpose community groups for education;
27.9 27.10 27.11 27.12	(10) teleconferencing or video-conferencing services that allow reception and transmission of audio and video signals for real-time communication, except that social media platform does include teleconferencing or video-conferencing services provided by a social media platform;
27.13 27.14	(11) cloud computing services, which may include cloud storage and shared document collaboration; or
27.15	(12) providing or obtaining technical support for a platform, product, or service.
27.16 27.17	(p) "Time sensitive" means content that is welcomed under a user's expressed preferences and that would have significantly reduced value to the user with the passing of time.
27.18 27.19	(q) "User" means a natural person who is located in Minnesota and who holds an account or profile with a social media platform.
27.20 27.21	(r) "User-generated content" means any content created by an account holder that is uploaded, posted, shared, or disseminated on the social media platform.
27.22 27.23	(s) "Varied set of account holders" means a set of account holders who have different behaviors and histories.
27.24	Sec. 24. [3250.03] SCOPE; EXCLUSIONS.
27.25	(a) A social media platform is subject to this chapter if the social media platform:
27.26 27.27	(1) does business in Minnesota or provides products or services that are targeted to residents of Minnesota; and
27.28	(2) has more than 10,000 monthly active account holders located in Minnesota.
27.29 27.30	(b) For purposes of this chapter, a social media platform may determine whether an account holder is located in Minnesota based on:
28.1	(1) the account holder's own supplied address or location;
28.2	(2) global positioning system-level latitude, longitude, or altitude coordinates;
28.3	(3) cellular phone system coordinates;
28.4	(4) Internet protocol device address; or
28.5	(5) other mechanisms that can be used to identify an account holder's location.

28.6 28.7 28.8	(c) This chapter applies exclusively to social media platform operations that directly impact account holders reasonably presumed to be located within the state of Minnesota based on the factors in paragraph (b).
28.9	Sec. 25. [3250.04] REQUIREMENTS FOR SOCIAL MEDIA PLATFORMS.
28.10 28.11 28.12	Subdivision 1. Content optimization. (a) A social media platform must provide an accessible user interface that allows a user to clearly indicate whether a particular piece of content:
28.13	(1) is of high or low quality; and
28.14	(2) complies with the user's expressed preferences.
28.15 28.16	(b) A social media platform's algorithmic ranking system must optimize content for a user that:
28.17	(1) a varied set of account holders indicates is of high quality; and
28.18	(2) complies with a user's expressed preferences.
28.19 28.20 28.21	(c) A social media platform's algorithmic ranking system must not optimize content that is not related to a user's expressed preferences in order to maximize the user's engagement with the platform.
28.22 28.23 28.24 28.25 28.26 28.27	Subd. 2. Account interaction limits. (a) A social media platform must develop criteria to designate an account holder who has recently created an account with or joined the social platform as a new account holder. An account created within 30 days must be considered a new account holder. For a new account holder, a social media platform must set daily numerical limits on account interactions equivalent to the 50th percentile of all platform account holders.
28.28 28.29 28.30 28.31 29.1 29.2	(b) For all account holders, a social media platform must set daily numerical limits on account interactions equivalent to the two standard deviations above the median for all platform account holders. A limit required under this paragraph may allow an account holder to have account interactions in excess of the limit, but at a minimum must reduce the impact of the engagement on other users. A limit may be exceeded for account interactions with another user if the other user clearly initiates and welcomes the engagement.
29.3 29.4	<u>Subd. 3.</u> <b>Default privacy settings.</b> (a) A social media platform must provide default settings for a user that do not:
29.5 29.6	(1) allow the user's account or the user's user-generated content to be discovered by anyone outside the user's existing extended network;
29.7 29.8 29.9	(2) allow messaging, requests, reactions, comments, or other contact from an account holder that is not already within the user's existing extended network, unless the user initiates and welcomes the contact;

29.10	(3) reveal the user's location outside the user's existing network, unless the user
29.11	specifically shares the user's location outside the user's existing network;
29.12	(4) disseminate any information about the user, including the user's profile and any of
29.13	the user's user-generated content, to anyone outside of the user's existing network without
29.14	a specific request from the user to disseminate the information; or
29.15	(5) allow or facilitate a user's user-generated content, or any user's facial or biometric
29.16	data, to be incorporated into generative artificial intelligence models without the user's
29.17	explicit consent.
29.18	(b) The default settings required in paragraph (a) may be changed only to comply with
29.19	the user's expressed preferences. A social media platform must not utilize a system, user
29.20	interface, or prompt that encourages a user to change the user's privacy settings toward
29.21	allowing the user's information or user-generated content to be shared or disseminated more
29.22	broadly.
29.23	Subd. 4. Option for heightened protection. (a) A social media platform must provide
29.24	an accessible user interface to allow a user to opt in to any or all of the heightened protection
29.25	requirements under paragraph (d). A social media platform may make the heightened
29.26	protections the default settings for all users or all account holders.
29.27	(b) A device operating system provider must provide an option for a user to automatically
29.28	opt in to any or all of the heightened protection requirements under paragraph (d) across all
29.29	social media platforms managed by the operating system on the user's device. If a user
29.30	selects the option under this paragraph, the device operating system provider must inform
29.31	all social media platforms managed by the provider's operating system of the user's preference
29.32	and a notified social media platform must adjust the user's account settings accordingly. A
30.1	device operating system provider may provide a user the ability to opt out of any or all
30.2	heightened protections.
30.3	(c) A device operating system provider must, by default, consider any device with
30.4	parental controls enabled to have opted in to all the heightened protection requirements
30.5	under paragraph (d).
30.6	(d) For a user receiving heightened protections, a social media platform must not:
30.7	(1) use platform features that increase, sustain, or extend a user's engagement with the
30.8	platform beyond the user's expressed preferences regarding time or duration. Features subject
30.9	to this clause include but are not limited to:
30.10	(i) optimization for time spent or content consumed;
30.11	(ii) content feeds without finite endings;
30.12	(iii) autoplaying videos or other content; and

0.13	(iv) notifications that are not time sensitive; or
0.14 0.15	(2) provide any visible count showing how much engagement content that the user viewed, consumed, or generated has received.
0.16 0.17	Subd. 5. Transparency requirements. (a) A social media platform must publicly post the following information on the social media platform's website:
0.18 0.19 0.20	(1) an explanation of how the social media platform designates new account holders and an explanation detailing the operation and effect of usage limits applicable to new account holders under subdivision 2, paragraph (a);
0.21 0.22	(2) an explanation detailing the operation and effect of the usage limits required under subdivision 2, paragraph (b);
0.23	(3) an explanation detailing how the platform:
0.24	(i) assesses users' perceptions of the quality of content;
0.25	(ii) assesses users' expressed preferences regarding content; and
0.26 0.27 0.28	(iii) utilizes the assessments under items (i) and (ii) in the social media platform's algorithmic ranking system, including how the assessments are weighted in relation to other signals in the algorithmic ranking system;
0.29 0.30 0.31	(4) statistics on the platform's use with respect to the tenth, 25th, 50th, 75th, 90th, 99th, and 99.9th percentile of all platform account holders for each distinct type of account interaction or engagement, including but not limited to:
1.1	(i) sending invitations or messages to other platform account holders;
1.2	(ii) commenting on, resharing, liking, voting for, or otherwise reacting to content;
1.3	(iii) posting new user-generated content;
1.4	(iv) disseminating user-generated content to other platform account holders; and
1.5	(v) time spent on the platform;
1.6	(5) an explanation of how the platform determines whether a notification is time sensitive;
1.7 1.8 1.9	(6) an explanation of how the platform determines what constitutes a "varied set of account holders," including what behaviors are used as signals and how any measurement of difference is created and used; and
31.10 31.11 31.12	(7) a description of all product experiments that have been conducted on 1,000 or more users, including the results of the product experiments on users' engagement with content that:
1.13	(i) users indicate to be high or low quality:

Sec. 49. [332.3352] WAIVER OF LICENSING AND REGISTRATION.

The commissioner of commerce may, by order, waive the licensing and registration

Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.71, subdivision 2, is amended

Subd. 2. Coerced debt. (a) "Coerced debt" means all or a portion of debt in a debtor's

(2) the use or threat of force, intimidation, undue influence, harassment, fraud, deception,

(1) the use of the debtor's personal information without the debtor's knowledge,

requirements of this chapter for a nonresident collection agency and its affiliated collectors if: (1) a written reciprocal licensing agreement is in effect between the commissioner and the licensing officials of the collection agency's home state; and (2) the collection agency

112.7

112.8

112.14 to read:

112.15

112.17

112.19

112.21

is licensed in good standing in that state.

112.16 name that has been incurred as a result of:

112.20 coercion, or other similar means against the debtor; or

(3) economic abuse perpetrated against the debtor.

112.18 authorization, or consent;

31.14	(ii) users indicate complies or does not comply with the users' expressed preferences;
31.15	and
31.16	(iii) violates platform policies.
31.17	(b) Additional steps taken by a social media platform to prevent abusive use beyond
31.18	what must be publicly disclosed under paragraph (a) are encouraged and may, but are not
31.19	required to, be publicly disclosed.
31.20	(c) When automatically delivering, suggesting, or selecting content to a user, a social
31.21	media platform must provide an accessible user interface to allow the user to access a basic,
31.22	nontechnical explanation detailing why a particular piece of content was promoted by the
31.23	platform's algorithmic ranking system.
31.24	Sec. 26. [3250.05] ENFORCEMENT.
31.25	The attorney general may bring a civil enforcement action and recover the relief provided
31.26	in section 8.31 against a social media platform that violates this chapter. Nothing in this
31.27	chapter establishes a private right of action, including under section 8.31, subdivision 3a,
31.28	for a violation of this chapter or any other law.
32.1	Sec. 27. [3250.06] SEVERABILITY.
32.2	If any provision of this chapter or the chapter's application to any person or circumstance
32.3	is held invalid for any reason in a court of competent jurisdiction, the remainder of the
32.4	chapter or the application of the provision to other persons or circumstances is not affected.
137.13	Sec. 15. [332.3352] WAIVER OF LICENSING AND REGISTRATION.
137.14	The commissioner of commerce may, by order, waive the licensing and registration
137.15	requirements of this chapter for a nonresident collection agency and the nonresident collection
137.16	agency's affiliated collectors if: (1) a written reciprocal licensing agreement is in effect
137.17	between the commissioner and the licensing officials of the nonresident collection agency's
137.18	home state; and (2) the nonresident collection agency is licensed in good standing in the
137.19	nonresident collection agency's home state.
94.16	Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.71, subdivision 2, is amended
94.17	to read:
94.18	Subd. 2. Coerced debt. (a) "Coerced debt" means all or a portion of debt in a debtor's
94.19	name that has been incurred as a result of:
94.20	(1) the use of the debtor's personal information without the debtor's knowledge,
94.21	authorization, or consent;
94.22	(2) the use or threat of force, intimidation, undue influence, harassment, fraud, deception,
94.23	coercion, or other similar means against the debtor; or
94.24	(3) economic abuse perpetrated against the debtor.

# SF 4097 - Commercial Regulation & Consumer Protection Senate Language S4097-2

112.22 (b) Coerced debt does not include secured debt. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. 112.23 Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.71, subdivision 4, is amended 112.24 112.25 to read: 112.26 Subd. 4. **Debtor.** "Debtor" means a person who (1) is a victim of domestic abuse, 112.27 harassment economic abuse, or sex or labor trafficking, and (2) owes coerced debt. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. 112.28 Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.71, subdivision 5, is amended 113.1 113.2 to read: 113.3 Subd. 5. **Documentation.** "Documentation" means a writing that identifies a debt or a portion of a debt as cocreed debt, describes the circumstances under which the cocreed debt was incurred, and takes the form of: 113.6 (1) a police report; 113.7 (2) a Federal Trade Commission identity theft report; (3) an order in a dissolution proceeding under chapter 518 that declares that one or more 113.8 113.9 debts are coerced; or 113.10 (4) a sworn written certification. 113.11 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.71, subdivision 7, is amended 113.12 113.13 to read: Subd. 7. Economic abuse. "Economic abuse" means behavior in the context of a domestic relationship that controls, restrains, restricts, impairs, or interferes with the ability of a victim 113.16 of domestic abuse, harassment, or sex or labor trafficking debtor to acquire, use, or maintain 113.17 economic resources, including but not limited to: 113.18 (1) withholding or restricting access to, or the acquisition of, money, assets, credit, or 113.19 financial information: (2) interfering with the victim's ability to work and earn wages; or 113.20 113.21 (3) exerting undue influence over a person's financial and economic behavior or decisions. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. 113.22 Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.72, is amended to read: 113.23 113.24 332.72 COERCED DEBT PROHIBITED. (a) A person is prohibited from causing another person to incur coerced debt. 113.25

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

94.25

#### House Language UES4097-1

(b) Coerced debt does not include secured debt.

94.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
94.27 94.28	Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.71, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
94.29 94.30	Subd. 4. <b>Debtor.</b> "Debtor" means a person who (1) is a victim of domestic abuse, harassment economic abuse, or sex or labor trafficking, and (2) owes coerced debt.
95.1	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
95.2 95.3	Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.71, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
95.4 95.5 95.6	Subd. 5. <b>Documentation.</b> "Documentation" means a writing that identifies a debt or a portion of a debt as coerced debt, describes the circumstances under which the coerced debt was incurred, and takes the form of:
95.7	(1) a police report;
95.8	(2) a Federal Trade Commission identity theft report;
95.9 95.10	(3) an order in a dissolution proceeding under chapter 518 that declares that one or more debts are coerced; or
95.11	(4) a sworn written certification.
95.12	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
95.13 95.14	Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.71, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
95.15 95.16 95.17 95.18	Subd. 7. <b>Economic abuse.</b> "Economic abuse" means behavior in the context of a domestic relationship that controls, restrains, restricts, impairs, or interferes with the ability of a victim of domestic abuse, harassment, or sex or labor trafficking debtor to acquire, use, or maintain economic resources, including but not limited to:
95.19 95.20	(1) withholding or restricting access to, or the acquisition of, money, assets, credit, or financial information;
95.21	(2) interfering with the victim's ability to work and earn wages; or
95.22	(3) exerting undue influence over a person's financial and economic behavior or decisions
95.23	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
95.24	Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.72, is amended to read:
95.25	332.72 COERCED DEBT PROHIBITED.
95.26	(a) A person is prohibited from causing another person to incur coerced debt.

### SF 4097 - Commercial Regulation & Consumer Protection Senate Language S4097-2

113.26	(b) A person who causes another person to incur a coerced debt in violation of this
113.27	7 1
113.28	determined by a court to be coerced debt, plus the creditor's reasonable attorney fees and
113.29	costs, provided the creditor follows the procedures under section 332.74, subdivision 3,
113.30	paragraph (b).
114.1	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective January 1, 2025.
114.2	Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.73, subdivision 1, is amended
114.3	to read:
114.4	Subdivision 1. <b>Notification.</b> (a) Before taking an affirmative action under section 332.74,
114.5	a debtor must, by certified mail, notify a creditor that the debt or a portion of a debt on
114.6	which the creditor demands payment is coerced debt and request that the creditor cease all
114.7	collection activity on the coerced debt. The notification and request must be in writing and
114.8	include documentation. If not already included in documentation, the notification must
114.9	include a signed statement that includes:
114.10	(1) an assertion that the debtor is a victim of domestic abuse, economic abuse, or sex or
114.11	labor trafficking;
	<del></del>
114.12	(2) a recitation of the facts supporting the claim that the debt is coerced; and
114.13	(3) if only a portion of the debt is claimed to be coerced debt, an itemization of the
114.14	portion of the debt that is claimed to be coerced debt.
114.15	(b) The creditor, within 30 days of the date the notification and request is received, must
	notify the debtor in writing of the creditor's decision to either immediately cease all collection
	activity or continue to pursue collection. If a creditor ceases collection but subsequently
114.18	decides to resume collection activity, the creditor must notify the debtor ten days prior to
	the date the collection activity resumes.
114.20	(b) If a creditor ceases collection but subsequently decides to resume collection activity;
	the creditor must notify the debtor ten days prior to the date the collection activity resumes.
114.22	(c) A debtor must not proceed with an action under section 332.74 until the 30-day
114.23	period provided under paragraph (a) has expired.
114.24	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective January 1, 2025.
114.25	Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.74, subdivision 3, is amended
114.26	to read:
11405	0.11.2 <b>D.P.C</b> ( \ TC 11. 1 1 1 1 Cd 21 d cd 11.
114.27	Subd. 3. <b>Relief.</b> (a) If a debtor shows by a preponderance of the evidence that the debtor
	has been aggrieved by a violation of section 332.72 and the debtor has incurred coerced
114.29	debt, the debtor is entitled to one or more of the following:
114.30	(1) a declaratory judgment that the debt or portion of a debt is coerced debt;
	the state of the s

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

95.27 95.28 95.29 96.1 96.2	(b) A person who causes another person to incur a coerced debt in violation of this section is civilly liable to the creditor for the amount of the debt, or portion of the debt, determined by a court to be coerced debt, plus the creditor's reasonable attorney fees and costs, provided the creditor follows the procedures under section 332.74, subdivision 3, paragraph (b).
06.3	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
)6.4 )6.5	Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.73, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
06.6 06.7 06.8 06.9 06.10	Subdivision 1. <b>Notification.</b> (a) Before taking an affirmative action under section 332.74 a debtor must, by certified mail, notify a creditor that the debt or a portion of a debt on which the creditor demands payment is coerced debt and request that the creditor cease all collection activity on the coerced debt. The notification and request must be in writing and include documentation. If not already included in documentation, the notification must include a signed statement that includes:
)6.12 )6.13	(1) an assertion that the debtor is a victim of domestic abuse, economic abuse, or sex or labor trafficking;
6.14	(2) a recitation of the facts supporting the claim that the debt is coerced; and
)6.15 )6.16	(3) if only a portion of the debt is claimed to be coerced debt, an itemization of the portion of the debt that is claimed to be coerced debt.
06.17 06.18 06.19 06.20 06.21	(b) The creditor, within 30 days of the date the notification and request is received, must notify the debtor in writing of the creditor's decision to either immediately cease all collection activity or continue to pursue collection. If a creditor ceases collection but subsequently decides to resume collection activity, the creditor must notify the debtor ten days prior to the date the collection activity resumes.
06.22	(b) If a creditor ceases collection but subsequently decides to resume collection activity, the creditor must notify the debtor ten days prior to the date the collection activity resumes.
)6.24 )6.25	(c) A debtor must not proceed with an action under section 332.74 until the 30-day period provided under paragraph (a) has expired.
6.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
)6.27 )6.28	Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.74, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
96.29 96.30 96.31	Subd. 3. <b>Relief.</b> (a) If a debtor shows by a preponderance of the evidence that the debtor has been aggrieved by a violation of section 332.72 and the debtor has incurred coerced debt, the debtor is entitled to one or more of the following:
7.1	(1) a declaratory judgment that the debt or portion of a debt is coerced debt;

### SF 4097 - Commercial Regulation & Consumer Protection Senate Language S4097-2

115.1 115.2 115.3	(2) an injunction prohibiting the creditor from (i) holding or attempting to hold the debtor liable for the debt or portion of a debt, or (ii) enforcing a judgment related to the coerced debt; and
115.4 115.5 115.6 115.7	(3) an order dismissing any cause of action brought by the creditor to enforce or collect the coerced debt from the debtor or, if only a portion of the debt is established as coerced debt, an order directing that the judgment, if any, in the action be amended to reflect only the portion of the debt that is not coerced debt.
	(b) If the court orders relief for the debtor under paragraph (a), the court, after the creditor's motion has been personally served on the person who violated section 332.72, or if personal service cannot be made, after service by United States mail to the last known address of the person who violated section 332.72 and one-week published notice under section 645.11, shall must issue a judgment in favor of the creditor against the person in the amount of the debt or a portion thereof.
115.14 115.15	(c) This subdivision applies regardless of the judicial district in which the creditor's action or the debtor's petition was filed.
115.16	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
115.17 115.18	Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.74, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
115.21 115.22 115.23 115.24	Subd. 5. <b>Burden.</b> In any affirmative action taken under subdivision 1 or any affirmative defense asserted in subdivision 4, the debtor bears the burden to show by a preponderance of the evidence that the debtor incurred coerced debt. There is a presumption that the debtor has incurred coerced debt if the person alleged to have caused the debtor to incur the coerced debt has been eriminally convicted, entered a guilty plea, or entered an Alford plea under of or received a stay of adjudication for a violation of section 609.27, 609.282, 609.322, or 609.527.
115.26	FFFCTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

PAGE R43

97.2 97.3 97.4	(2) an injunction prohibiting the creditor from (i) holding or attempting to hold the debtor liable for the debt or portion of a debt, or (ii) enforcing a judgment related to the coerced debt; and
97.5 97.6 97.7 97.8	(3) an order dismissing any cause of action brought by the creditor to enforce or collect the coerced debt from the debtor or, if only a portion of the debt is established as coerced debt, an order directing that the judgment, if any, in the action be amended to reflect only the portion of the debt that is not coerced debt.
97.9 97.10 97.11 97.12 97.13 97.14	(b) If the court orders relief for the debtor under paragraph (a), the court, after the creditor's motion has been personally served on the person who violated section 332.72, or if personal service cannot be made, after service by United States mail to the last known address of the person who violated section 332.72 and one-week published notice under section 645.11, shall must issue a judgment in favor of the creditor against the person in the amount of the debt or a portion thereof.
97.15 97.16	(c) This subdivision applies regardless of the judicial district in which the creditor's action or the debtor's petition was filed.
97.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
97.18 97.19	Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.74, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
97.20 97.21 97.22 97.23 97.24 97.25 97.26	Subd. 5. <b>Burden.</b> In any affirmative action taken under subdivision 1 or any affirmative defense asserted in subdivision 4, the debtor bears the burden to show by a preponderance of the evidence that the debtor incurred coerced debt. There is a presumption that the debtor has incurred coerced debt if the person alleged to have caused the debtor to incur the coerced debt has been eriminally convicted, entered a guilty plea, or entered an Alford plea under of or received a stay of adjudication for a violation of section 609.27, 609.282, 609.322, or 609.527.
97.27	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective January 1, 2025.
97.28	Sec. 47. [332C.01] DEFINITIONS.
97.29 97.30	Subdivision 1. Application. For purposes of this chapter, the following terms have the meanings given.
98.1 98.2 98.3 98.4	Subd. 2. Collecting party. "Collecting party" means a party engaged in the collection of medical debt. Collecting party does not include banks, credit unions, public officers, garnishees, and other parties complying with a court order or statutory obligation to garnish or levy a debtor's property.
98.5 98.6	Subd. 3. Debtor. "Debtor" means a person obligated or alleged to be obligated to pay any debt.

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

8.7 8.8	Subd. 4. Medical debt. "Medical debt" means debt incurred primarily for medically necessary health treatment or services. Medical debt does not include debt charged to a
8.9	credit card unless the credit card is issued under a credit plan offered solely for the payment
8.10	of health care treatment or services.
8.11 8.12	Subd. 5. Medically necessary. "Medically necessary" has the meaning given in section 62J.805, subdivision 6.
8.13	Subd. 6. Person. "Person" means any individual, partnership, association, or corporation
8.14	Sec. 48. [332C.02] PROHIBITED PRACTICES.
8.15	No collecting party shall:
8.16	(1) in a collection letter, publication, invoice, or any oral or written communication,
8.17	threaten wage garnishment or legal suit by a particular lawyer, unless the collecting party has actually retained the lawyer to do so:
8.18	
8.19 8.20	(2) use or employ sheriffs or any other officer authorized to serve legal papers in connection with the collection of a claim, except when performing legally authorized duties;
	, , , , , , , ,
8.21	(3) use or threaten to use methods of collection which violate Minnesota law;
8.22 8.23	(4) furnish legal advice to debtors or represent that the collecting party is competent or able to furnish legal advice to debtors:
8.24 8.25	(5) communicate with debtors in a misleading or deceptive manner by falsely using the stationery of a lawyer, forms or instruments which only lawyers are authorized to prepare,
8.26	or instruments which simulate the form and appearance of judicial process;
8.27	(6) publish or cause to be published any list of debtors, use shame cards or shame
8.28	automobiles, advertise or threaten to advertise for sale any claim as a means of forcing
8.29	payment thereof, or use similar devices or methods of intimidation;
9.1 9.2	(7) operate under a name or in a manner which falsely implies the collecting party is a branch of or associated with any department of federal, state, county, or local government
9.2 9.3	or an agency thereof;
9.4	(8) transact business or hold itself out as a debt settlement company, debt management
9.5	company, debt adjuster, or any person who settles, adjusts, prorates, pools, liquidates, or
9.6	pays the indebtedness of a debtor, unless there is no charge to the debtor, or the pooling or
9.7 9.8	liquidation is done pursuant to a court order or under the supervision of a creditor's committee;
9.9 9.10	(9) unless an exemption in the law exists, violate Code of Federal Regulations, title 12, part 1006, while attempting to collect on any account, bill, or other indebtedness. For
9.11	purposes of this section, Public Law 95-109, and Code of Federal Regulations, title 12, part
9.12	1006, apply to collecting parties;

9.13	(10) communicate with a debtor by use of an automatic telephone dialing system or an
9.14	artificial or prerecorded voice after the debtor expressly informs the collecting party to cease
9.15	communication utilizing an automatic telephone dialing system or an artificial or prerecorded
9.16	voice. For purposes of this clause, an automatic telephone dialing system or an artificial or
9.17	prerecorded voice includes but is not limited to (i) artificial intelligence chatbots, and (ii)
9.18	the usage of the term under the Telephone Consumer Protection Act, United States Code,
9.19	title 47, section 227(b)(1)(A);
9.20	(11) in collection letters or publications, or in any oral or written communication, imply
9.21	or suggest that medically necessary health treatment or services will be denied as a result
9.22	of a medical debt;
9.23	(12) when a debtor has a listed telephone number, enlist the aid of a neighbor or third
9.24	party to request that the debtor contact the collecting party, except a person who resides
9.25	with the debtor or a third party with whom the debtor has authorized with the collecting
9.26	party to place the request. This clause does not apply to a callback message left at the debtor'
9.27	place of employment which is limited solely to the collecting party's telephone number and
9.28	name;
9.29	(13) when attempting to collect a medical debt, fail to provide the debtor with the full
9.30	name of the collecting party, as registered with the secretary of state;
	(14) 6 (1)
9.31	(14) fail to return any amount of overpayment from a debtor to the debtor or to the state
9.32	of Minnesota pursuant to the requirements of chapter 345;
00.1	(15) accept currency or coin as payment for a medical debt without issuing an original
0.2	receipt to the debtor and maintain a duplicate receipt in the debtor's payment records;
00.2	(16) -44
00.3	(16) attempt to collect any amount, including any interest, fee, charge, or expense
00.4	incidental to the charge-off obligation, from a debtor unless the amount is expressly
0.5	authorized by the agreement creating the medical debt or is otherwise permitted by law;
0.6	(17) falsify any documents with the intent to deceive;
00.7	(18) when initially contacting a Minnesota debtor by mail to collect a medical debt, fail
00.8	to include a disclosure on the contact notice, in a type size or font which is equal to or larger
0.9	than the largest other type of type size or font used in the text of the notice, that includes
00.10	and identifies the Office of the Minnesota Attorney General's general telephone number,
00.11	and states: "You have the right to hire your own attorney to represent you in this matter.";
00.12	(19) commence legal action to collect a medical debt outside the limitations period set
00.13	forth in section 541.053;
00.14	(20) report to a credit reporting agency any medical debt which the collecting party
00.15	knows or should know is or was originally owed to a health care provider, as defined in
00 16	

100.17	(21) challenge a debtor's claim of exemption to garnishment or levy in a manner that is
100.18	baseless, frivolous, or otherwise in bad faith.
100.19	Sec. 49. [332C.03] MEDICAL DEBT REPORTING PROHIBITED.
100.20	(a) A collecting party is prohibited from reporting medical debt to a consumer reporting
100.21	agency.
100.22	(b) A consumer reporting agency is prohibited from making a consumer report containing
100.23	an item of information that the consumer reporting agency knows or should know concerns:

- 100.24 (1) medical information; or
- 100.25 (2) debt arising from:
- (i) the provision of medical care, treatment, services, devices, medicines; or
- (ii) procedures to maintain, diagnose, or treat a person's physical or mental health.
- 100.28 (c) For purposes of this section, "consumer report," "consumer reporting agency," and
- 100.29 "medical information" have the meanings given in the Fair Credit Reporting Act, United
- 100.30 States Code, title 15, section 1681a.
- 101.1 (d) This section applies to collection agencies and debt buyers licensed under chapter 101.2 332.
- 101.3 Sec. 50. [332C.04] DEFENDING MEDICAL DEBT CASES.
- A debtor who successfully defends against a claim for payment of medical debt that is
- alleged by a collecting party must be awarded the debtor's costs, including reasonable
- attorney fees as determined by the court, incurred in defending against the collecting party's
- 101.7 claim for debt payment.
- 101.8 Sec. 51. **[332C.05] ENFORCEMENT.**
- (a) The attorney general may enforce this chapter under section 8.31.
- 101.10 (b) A collecting party that violates this chapter is strictly liable to the debtor in question
- 101.11 for the sum of:
- 101.12 (1) actual damage sustained by the debtor as a result of the violation;
- 101.13 (2) additional damages as the court may allow, but not exceeding \$1,000 per violation;
- 101.14 and
- (3) in the case of any successful action to enforce the foregoing, the costs of the action,
- 101.16 together with reasonable attorney fees as determined by the court.
- (c) A collecting party that willfully and maliciously violates this chapter is strictly liable
- 101.18 to the debtor for three times the sums allowable under paragraph (b), clauses (1) and (2).

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

101.19	(d) The dollar amount limit under paragraph (b), clause (2), changes on July 1 of each
101.20	even-numbered year in an amount equal to changes made in the Consumer Price Index,
101.21	compiled by the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics. The Consumer Price Index for
101.22	December 2024 is the reference base index. If the Consumer Price Index is revised, the
101.23	percentage of change made under this section must be calculated on the basis of the revised
101.24	Consumer Price Index. If a Consumer Price Index revision changes the reference base index,
101.25	a revised reference base index must be determined by multiplying the reference base index
101.26	that is effective at the time by the rebasing factor furnished by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
101.27	(e) If the Consumer Price Index is superseded, the Consumer Price Index referred to in
101.28	this section is the Consumer Price Index represented by the Bureau of Labor Statistics as
101.29	most accurately reflecting changes in the prices paid by consumers for consumer goods and
101.30	services.
102.1	(f) The attorney general must publish the base reference index under paragraph (c) in
102.2	the State Register no later than September 1, 2024. The attorney general must calculate and
102.3	publish the revised Consumer Price Index under paragraph (c) in the State Register no later
102.4	than September 1 each even-numbered year.
102.5	(g) A collecting party may not be held liable in any action brought under this section if
102.6	the collecting party shows by a preponderance of evidence that the violation: (1) was not
102.7	intentional and resulted from a bona fide error made notwithstanding the maintenance of
102.8	procedures reasonably adopted to avoid any such error; or (2) was the result of inaccurate
102.9	or incorrect information provided to the collecting party by a health care provider, as defined
102.10	in section 62J.805, subdivision 3; a health carrier, as defined in section 62A.011, subdivision
102.11	2; or another collecting party currently or previously engaged in collection of the medical
102.12	debt in question.
32.5	Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 507.235, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
32.6	Subd. 1a. Requirements of vendor. (a) A vendor entering into a contract for deed
32.7	involving residential real property must, contemporaneously with the execution of the
32.8	contract for deed:
32.9	(1) deliver to the vendee a copy of the contract for deed containing original signatures
32.10	in recordable form <del>; and</del> .
32.11	(2) (b) Within four months of executing the contract for deed, the vendor must:
32.12	(1) pay, or reimburse the vendee for payment of, any delinquent taxes necessary for
32.13	recordation of the contract for deed, unless the contract for deed provides for the vendee to
32.14	pay the delinquent taxes; and
32.15	(2) record the contract for deed in the office of the county recorder or registrar of titles
32.16	in the county in which the land is located.

32.17 32.18 32.19	(c) The following statement included in a contract for deed for other than residential real property constitutes prima facie evidence that this subdivision does not apply: "The property is not residential real property."
32.20 32.21 32.22 32.23 32.24 32.25 32.26	(d) If the contract for deed is not in recordable form, within four months of the execution of the contract for deed the vendor must make a good faith effort to correct the defects that rendered the contract unrecordable. A good faith effort includes but is not limited to determining the reason or reasons the contract was not in recordable form, and revising and, if necessary, having all parties reexecute the contract to render it in recordable form. The vendee must, in good faith, cooperate with the vendor to the extent that cooperation is necessary to correct the defects.
32.27	(b) (e) For purposes of this subdivision:
32.28 32.29 32.30 32.31	(1) "contract for deed" means an executory contract for the conveyance of residential real property under which the seller provides financing for the purchase of the residential real property and under which the purchaser does or has a right to go into possession. Contract for deed does not include:
32.32	(i) a purchase agreement;
33.1	(ii) an earnest money contract;
33.2	(iii) an exercised option or a lease, including a lease with an option to purchase; or
33.3	(iv) a mortgage, as defined in section 287.01; and
33.4 33.5 33.6 33.7	(2) "residential real property" means real property occupied, or intended to be occupied, by one to four families, if the purchaser intends to occupy the real property. consisting of one to four family dwelling units, one of which is intended to be occupied as the principal place of residence by:
33.8	(i) the purchaser;
33.9 33.10	(ii) if the purchaser is an entity, the natural person who is the majority or controlling owner of the entity; or
33.11	(iii) if the purchaser is a trust, the settlor of the trust.
33.12 33.13	Residential real property does not include <del>property subject to a family farm security loan or</del> a transaction subject to sections 583.20 to 583.32.
33.14 33.15	(f) The performance of the obligations by the vendor required under this subdivision satisfies any of the obligations of the original vendee, as required under subdivision 1.
33.16 33.17 33.18	(g) The requirements of this subdivision may not be waived or altered by any provision in a contract for deed. A provision in a contract for deed to the contrary is void and unenforceable.

33.19	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to all contracts
33.20	for deed executed by all parties on or after that date.
33.21	Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 507.235, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
33.22	Subd. 5. Civil enforcement. (a) A city in which the land is located or, if the land is not
33.23	located within a city, the county in which the land is located, may enforce the provisions
33.24	of this section. The city or county may bring an action to compel the recording of a contract
33.25	for deed or any assignments of a contract for deed, an action to impose the civil penalty, or
33.26	an action to compel disclosure of information.
33.27	(b) Prior to bringing an action under this subdivision to compel recording or to impose
33.28	the penalty, or an action under subdivision 4, the city or county must provide written notice
33.29	to the person, subject to subdivision 1, of the person's duty to record the contract for deed
33.30	or the assignment. If the person so notified fails to record the contract for deed or assignment
33.31	documents within 14 days of receipt of the notice, an action may be brought.
34.1	(c) It is an affirmative defense in an enforcement action under this section that the contract
34.2	for deed or assignment document is not recordable, or that section 272.121 prohibits the
34.3	recording of the contract for deed or assignment, and that the defendant has provided to the
34.4	city or county attorney true and correct copies of the documents within 14 days after receipt
34.5	of the notice.
34.6	(d) In an action brought under this subdivision, the city or county attorney may recover
34.7	costs and disbursements, including reasonable attorney fees.
34.8	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective the day following final enactment.
34.9	Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 513.73, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
34.10	Subd. 3. Private transfer fee. "Private transfer fee" means a fee or charge required by
34.11	a private transfer fee obligation and payable upon the transfer of an interest in real property,
34.12	or payable for the right to make or accept the transfer, regardless of whether the fee or
34.13	charge is a fixed amount or is determined as a percentage of the value of the property, the
34.14	purchase price, or other consideration given for the transfer. The following are not private
34.15	transfer fees for purposes of this section:
34.16	(1) consideration payable by the grantee to the grantor for the interest in real property
34.17	being transferred, including any subsequent additional consideration for the property payable
34.18	by the grantee based upon any subsequent appreciation, development, or sale of the property,
34.19	provided that the additional consideration is payable on a onetime basis only, and the
34.20	obligation to make the payment does not bind successors in title to the property. For the
34.21	purposes of this clause, an interest in real property may include a separate mineral estate
34.22	and its appurtenant surface access rights;
34.23	(2) commission payable to a licensed real estate broker for the transfer of real property
34.24	pursuant to an agreement between the broker and the grantor or the grantee, including any

34.25	subsequent additional commission for that transfer payable by the grantor or the grantee
34.26	based upon any subsequent appreciation, development, or sale of the property;
34.27 34.28 34.29 34.30 34.31 34.32 35.1 35.2 35.3	(3) interest, charges, fees, or other amounts payable by a borrower to a lender pursuant to a loan secured by a mortgage against real property, including but not limited to a fee payable to the lender for consenting to an assumption of the loan or a transfer of the real property subject to the mortgage, fees, or charges payable to the lender for estoppel letters or certificates, and shared appreciation interest or profit participation or other consideration and payable to the lender in connection with the loan;  (4) rent, reimbursement, charge, fee, or other amount payable by a lessee to a lessor under a lease, including but not limited to a fee payable to the lessor for consenting to an assignment, subletting, encumbrance, or transfer of the lease;
35.4 35.5 35.6 35.7	(5) consideration payable to the holder of an option to purchase an interest in real property or the holder of a right of first refusal or first offer to purchase an interest in real property for waiving, releasing, or not exercising the option or right upon the transfer of the property to another person;
35.8 35.9 35.10 35.11	(6) consideration payable by a contract for deed vendee to the vendor pursuant to the terms of a recorded contract for deed, including any subsequent additional consideration for the property payable by the vendee based upon any subsequent appreciation, development, or sale of the property;
35.12 35.13	$\frac{(7)}{(6)}$ a tax, fee, charge, assessment, fine, or other amount payable to or imposed by a governmental authority;
35.14 35.15 35.16 35.17 35.18	(8) (7) a fee, charge, assessment, fine, or other amount payable to a homeowner's condominium, cooperative, mobile home, or property owner's association pursuant to a declaration or covenant or law applicable to the association, including but not limited to fees or charges payable for estoppel letters or certificates issued by the association or its authorized agent;
35.19 35.20 35.21 35.22	(9) (8) a fee, a charge, an assessment, dues, a contribution, or other amount pertaining to the purchase or transfer of a club membership relating to real property owned by the member, including but not limited to any amount determined by reference to the value, purchase price, or other consideration given for the transfer of the real property; and
35.23 35.24	(10) (9) a mortgage from the purchaser of real property granted to the seller or to a licensed real estate broker.
35.25	FFFFCTIVE DATE This section is effective the day following final enactment

115.27	Sec. 58. [513.80] RESIDENTIAL REAL ESTATE SERVICE AGREEMENTS;
115.28	UNFAIR SERVICE AGREEMENTS.
115.29	Subdivision 1. <b>Definitions.</b> (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have
115.30	the meanings given.
115.31	(b) "County recorder" has the meaning given in section 13.045, subdivision 1.
116.1	(c) "Person" means natural persons, corporations both foreign and domestic, trusts,
116.2	partnerships both limited and general, incorporated or unincorporated associations,
116.3	companies, business entities, and any other legal entity or any other group associated in fact
116.4	although not a legal entity or any agent, assignee, heir, employee, representative, or servant
116.5	thereof.
116.6	(d) "Record" or "recording" means placement of a document or instrument in the official
116.7	county public land records.
116.8	(e) "Residential real property" means real property that is located in Minnesota occupied,
116.8	or intended to be occupied, by one to four families as their residence.
110.7	
116.10	(f) "Service agreement" means a contract under which a person agrees to provide real
116.11	estate broker services as defined in section 82.55, subdivision 19, in connection with the
116.12	purchase or sale of residential real property.
116.13	(g) "Service provider" means an individual or entity that provides services to a person
116.14	pursuant to a service agreement.
116.15	Subd. 2. Unfair service agreements; prohibition. (a) A service agreement subject to
116.16	this section is unfair and prohibited if any part of the agreement provides an exclusive right
116.17	to a service provider for a term in excess of one year after the time the service agreement
116.18	is entered into and:
116.19	(1) purports to run with the land or to be binding on future owners of interests in the real
116.20	property;
116.21	(2) allows for assignment of the right to provide service without notice to and consent
116.21	of the residential real property's owner, including a contract for deed vendee;
110.22	
116.23	(3) is recorded or purports to create a lien, encumbrance, or other real property security
116.24	interest; or
116.25	(4) contains a provision that purports to automatically renew the agreement upon its
116.26	expiration.
116.27	(b) The following are not unfair service agreements under this section:
116.28	(1) a home warranty or similar product that covers the cost of maintaining a major home
116.29	system or appliance for a fixed period;

116.30	(2) an insurance contract;
116.31	(3) a mortgage loan or a commitment to make or receive a mortgage loan;
117.1	(4) an option or right of refusal to purchase a residential real property;
117.2 117.3 117.4	(5) a declaration of any covenants, conditions, or restrictions created in the formation of a homeowners association, a group of condominium owners, or other common interest community or an amendment to the covenants, conditions, or restrictions;
117.5 117.6	(6) a maintenance or service agreement entered by a homeowners association in a common interest community;
117.7 117.8	(7) a security agreement governed by chapter 336 that relates to the sale or rental of personal property or fixtures; or
117.9 117.10	(8) a contract with a gas, water, sewer, electric, telephone, cable, or other utility service provider.
117.11 117.12	(c) This section does not impair any lien right granted under Minnesota law or that is judicially imposed.
117.13	Subd. 3. Recording prohibited. (a) A person is prohibited from:
117.14 117.15	(1) presenting or sending an unfair service agreement or notice or memorandum of an unfair service agreement to any county recorder to record; or
117.16 117.17	(2) causing an unfair service agreement or notice or memorandum of an unfair service agreement to be recorded by a county recorder.
117.18 117.19	(b) If a county recorder records an unfair service agreement, the county recorder does not incur liability.
117.20 117.21	(c) If an unfair service agreement is recorded, the recording does not create a lien or provide constructive notice to any third party, bona fide purchaser, or creditor.
117.22 117.23 117.24 117.25	Subd. 4. Unfair service agreements unenforceable. A service agreement that is unfair under this section is unenforceable and does not create a contractual obligation or relationship. Any waiver of a consumer right, including a right to trial by jury, in an unfair service agreement is void.
117.26	Subd. 5. Unfair service agreements; solicitation. Encouraging any consumer to enter
117.27	
117.28	(1) an unfair method of competition; and
117.29 117.30	(2) an unfair or deceptive act or practice under section 82.81, subdivision 12, paragraph (c), and section 325F.69.

# SF 4097 - Commercial Regulation & Consumer Protection Senate Language S4097-2

18.1	Subd. 6. <b>Enforcement authority.</b> (a) This section may be enforced by the attorney
18.2	general under section 8.31, except that any private cause of action brought under subdivision
18.3	7 is subject to the limitation under subdivision 7, paragraph (d).
10.4	
18.4	(b) The commissioner of commerce may enforce this section with respect to a service
18.5	provider's real estate license.
18.6	Subd. 7. Remedies. (a) A consumer that is party to an unfair service agreement related
18.7	to residential real property or a person with an interest in the property that is the subject of
18.8	that agreement may bring an action under section 8.31 or 325F.70 in district court in the
18.9	county where the property is located.
18.10	(b) If an unfair service agreement or a notice or memorandum of an unfair service
18.11	agreement is recorded against any residential real property, any judgment obtained under
18.12	this section, after being certified by the clerk having custody of the unfair service agreement
18.13	or notice or memorandum of the unfair service agreement, may be recorded and indexed
18.14	against the real property encumbered or clouded by the unfair service agreement.
18.15	(c) The remedies provided under this section are not exclusive and do not reduce any
18.16	other rights or remedies a party may have in equity or in law.
18.17	(d) No private action may be brought under this section more than six years after the
18.18	

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

House Language UES4097-1

102.13	0 50	N 1 .	0, , ,	2022	section 519.05	. 114	1
10713	Sec 3/	Minnesora	Statilites	/11//	Section 3 19 113	is amended to	read.
102.13	500. 52.	Willingsou	Diatutes	2022,	30000011 317.03	, is amenaca ic	, icau.

#### 102.14 **519.05 LIABILITY OF HUSBAND AND WIFE SPOUSES.**

- 102.15 (a) A spouse is not liable to a creditor for any debts of the other spouse. Where husband
- 102.16 and wife are living together, they shall be jointly and severally liable for necessary medical
- 102.17 services that have been furnished to either spouse, including any claims arising under section
- 102.18 246.53, 256B.15, 256D.16, or 261.04, and necessary household articles and supplies furnished
- 102.19 to and used by the family. Spouses are joint and severally liable for claims arising under
- 102.20 section 256B.15. Notwithstanding this paragraph, in a proceeding under chapter 518 the
- 102.21 court may apportion such debt between the spouses.
- 02.22 (b) Either spouse may close a credit card account or other unsecured consumer line of
- 102.23 credit on which both spouses are contractually liable, by giving written notice to the creditor.
- Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 550.37, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- 102.25 Subd. 2. Bible and musical instrument Sacred possessions. The family Bible, library,
- 102.26 and musical instruments Torah, Qur'an, prayer rug, other religious items in an aggregate
- 102.27 amount not exceeding \$2,000.

02.28 02.29	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to causes of action commenced on or after that date.
03.1	Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 550.37, is amended by adding a subdivision to
03.2	read:
03.3	Subd. 2a. Library. A personal library in an aggregate amount not exceeding \$2,000.
03.4 03.5	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to causes of action commenced on or after that date.
03.6 03.7	Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 550.37, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
03.8 03.9	Subd. 2b. Musical instruments. Musical instruments in an aggregate amount not exceeding \$2,000.
03.10 03.11	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to causes of action commenced on or after that date.
03.12	Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 550.37, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
03.13 03.14	Subd. 4. <b>Personal goods.</b> (a) All wearing apparel, one watch, utensils, and foodstuffs of the debtor and the debtor's family.
03.15 03.16 03.17 03.18	(b) Household furniture, household appliances, phonographs, radio and television receivers radios, computers, tablets, televisions, printers, cell phones, smart phones, and other consumer electronics of the debtor and the debtor's family, not exceeding \$11,250 in value.
03.19 03.20 03.21	(c) The debtor's aggregate interest, not exceeding \$3,062.50 in value, in wedding rings or other religious or culturally recognized symbols of marriage exchanged between the debtor and spouse at the time of the marriage and in the debtor's possession jewelry.
03.22 03.23 03.24	The exemption provided by this subdivision may not be waived except with regard to purchase money security interests. Except for a pawnbroker's possessory lien, a nonpurchase money security interest in the property exempt under this subdivision is void.
03.25	If a debtor has property of the type which would qualify for the exemption under clause (b), of a value in excess of \$11,250 an itemized list of the exempt property, together with
03.27 03.28 03.29	the value of each item listed, shall be attached to the security agreement at the time a security interest is taken, and a creditor may take a nonpurchase money security interest in the excess over \$11,250 by requiring the debtor to select the exemption in writing at the time the loan
03.30 04.1 04.2	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to causes of action commenced on or after that date.

104.3	Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 550.37, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
104.4	Subd. 6. Tools of trade. The tools, implements, machines, vehicles, instruments, office
104.5	furniture, stock in trade, and library reasonably necessary in the trade, business, or profession
104.6	of the debtor, not exceeding \$12,500 in value.
104.7	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to causes
104.8	of action commenced on or after that date.
104.9	Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 550.37, subdivision 12a, is amended to read:
104.10	Subd. 12a. Motor vehicles. One of the following: (1) one motor vehicle, to the extent
104.11	of a value not exceeding \$5,000 \$10,000; (2) one motor vehicle that is regularly used by or
104.12	for the benefit of a physically disabled person, as defined under section 169.345, subdivision
104.13	2, to the extent of a value not exceeding \$25,000; or (3) one motor vehicle, to the extent of
104.14	a value not exceeding \$50,000 \$100,000, that has been designed or modified, at a cost of
104.15	not less than \$3,750, to accommodate the physical disability making a disabled person
104.16	eligible for a certificate authorized by section 169.345.
104.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to causes
104.18	of action commenced on or after that date.
104.19	Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 550.37, subdivision 14, is amended to read:
104.20	Subd. 14. Public assistance. All government assistance based on need, and the earnings
104.21	or salary of a person who is a recipient of government assistance based on need, shall be
104.22	exempt from all claims of creditors including any contractual setoff or security interest
104.23	asserted by a financial institution. For the purposes of this chapter, government assistance
104.24	based on need includes but is not limited to Minnesota family investment program;
104.25	Supplemental Security Income; medical assistance, received by the person or by the person's
104.26	dependent child; MinnesotaCare, received by the person or by the person's dependent child;
104.27	payment of Medicare part B premiums or receipt of part D extra help,; MFIP diversionary
104.28	work program; work participation cash benefit; Minnesota supplemental assistance;
104.29	emergency Minnesota supplemental assistance; general assistance; emergency general
104.30	assistance, emergency assistance or county crisis funds; energy or fuel assistance, and;
104.31	Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP); and the portion of any tax refund
104.32	attributable to a state or federal tax credit, including but not limited to the earned income
105.1	tax credit, state or federal child tax credit, Minnesota working family credit, renter's credit,
105.2	or any low-income tax credit. The salary or earnings of any debtor who is or has been an
105.3	eligible recipient of government assistance based on need, or an inmate of a correctional
105.4	institution shall, upon the debtor's return to private employment or farming after having
105.5	been an eligible recipient of government assistance based on need, or an inmate of a
105.6	correctional institution, be exempt from attachment, garnishment, or levy of execution for
105.7	a period of six months after the debtor's return to employment or farming and after all public
105.8	assistance for which eligibility existed has been terminated. Any portion of an income tax
105.9	refund consisting of income that was exempt when the income was earned is also exempt

05.10	under this subdivision. The exemption provisions contained in this subdivision also apply
05.11	for 60 days after deposit in any financial institution, whether in a single or joint account. In
05.12	tracing the funds, the first-in first-out method of accounting shall be used. The burden of
05.13	establishing that funds are exempt rests upon the debtor. Agencies distributing government
05.14	assistance and the correctional institutions shall, at the request of creditors, inform them
05.15	whether or not any debtor has been an eligible recipient of government assistance based on
05.16	need, or an inmate of a correctional institution, within the preceding six months.
05.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to causes
05.18	of action commenced on or after that date.
05.19	Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 550.37, subdivision 20, is amended to read:
05.20	Subd. 20. Traceable funds. The exemption of funds from creditors' claims, provided
05.21	by subdivisions 9, 10, 11, 15, 22, and 24, shall not be affected by the subsequent deposit of
05.22	the funds in a bank or any other financial institution, whether in a single or joint account,
05.23	if the funds are traceable to their the funds' exempt source. In tracing the funds, the first-in
05.24	first-out method of accounting shall be used. The burden of establishing that funds are
05.25	exempt rests upon the debtor. No bank or other financial institution shall be liable for
05.26	damages for complying with process duly issued out of any court for the collection of a
05.27	debt even if the funds affected by the process are subsequently determined to have been
05.28	exempt.
05.29	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to causes
05.30	of action commenced on or after that date.
05.31	Sec. 61. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 550.37, subdivision 22, is amended to read:
05.32	Subd. 22. Rights of action. Rights of action or money received for injuries to the person
05.33	of the debtor or of a relative whether or not resulting in death. Injuries to the person include
06.1	physical, mental, and emotional injuries. The exemption under this subdivision applies to
06.2	the right to receive, annuities being paid, and money already received.
06.3	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to causes
06.4	of action commenced on or after that date.
06.5	Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 550.37, subdivision 23, is amended to read:
06.6	Subd. 23. Life insurance aggregate interest. The debtor's aggregate interest not to
06.7	exceed in value \$10,000 in any accrued dividend dividends or interest under or loan value
06.8	of any unmatured life insurance eontracts owned by the debtor under which the
06.9	insured is the debtor or an individual of whom the debtor is a dependent.
06.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to causes
06.11	of action commenced on or after that date.

106.12 106.13	Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 550.37, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
106.14	Subd. 27. Household tools and equipment. The debtor's aggregate interest, not to
106.15 106.16	exceed \$3,000, in household tools and equipment, including but not limited to hand and power tools, snow removal equipment, and lawnmowers.
106.17 106.18	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to causes of action commenced on or after that date.
106.19	Sec. 64. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 550.37, is amended by adding a subdivision to
106.20	read:
106.21 106.22	Subd. 28. <b>Property tax refunds.</b> Any refund due under chapter 290A, up to a present value of \$3,000.
106.23 106.24	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to causes of action commenced on or after that date.
106.25	Sec. 65. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 550.37, is amended by adding a subdivision to
106.26 106.27	read: Subd. 29. <b>Funds in a depository account.</b> An amount up to an aggregate of \$4,000 in
106.28 106.29	financial institutions in which the debtor has a depository account, regardless of the sources of the money, is exempt from garnishment under sections 571.91 to 571.915. The exemption
100.29 107.1 107.2	under this subdivision must not be claimed in conjunction with the exemption under subdivision 30.
107.2	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to
107.4	garnishment levied on or after that date.
107.5 107.6	Sec. 66. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 550.37, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
107.7 107.8	Subd. 30. Wild card exemption in bankruptcy. In a bankruptcy, a debtor may exempt any property, including money in a bank account, up to \$4,000 in value. A debtor is
107.8	prohibited from claiming the exemption under this subdivision if the debtor is already
107.10	protecting money in a bank account under subdivision 29, and the debtor is prohibited from
107.11	using this subdivision in conjunction with subdivision 29.
107.12	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to exemptions
107.13	claimed on or after that date.
107.14	Sec. 67. [550.3711] MOTOR VEHICLE; BANKRUPTCY DEBTOR'S RIGHT TO
107.15	RETAIN.
107.16	Subdivision 1. No default. If a buyer does not default in performing the buyer's
107 17	obligations under the contract, the seller or holder is prohibited from (1) accelerating the

107.18	
107.19	vehicle.
107.20	Subd. 2. Bankruptcy. (a) Neither of the following constitutes a default in the performance
107.21	<u> </u>
107.22	
107.23 107.24	
107.25	(b) The act or status under paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (2), with respect to the buyer
107.26 107.27	or another individual liable on the contract, must not be used by a seller or holder to: (1) accelerate the maturity of a portion of or the entire amount due under the contract; or (2)
107.27	repossess the motor vehicle.
	<u> </u>
107.29 107.30	(c) A contract provision that states an act or status under paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (2), with respect to the buyer or another individual liable on the contract, constitutes a default
107.30	is void and unenforceable.
108.1 108.2	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to causes
	of action commenced on or after that date.
108.3	Sec. 68. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 550.39, is amended to read:
108.4	550.39 EXEMPTION OF INSURANCE POLICIES.
108.5	The net amount payable to any insured or to any beneficiary under any policy of accident
108.6	or disability insurance or under accident or disability clauses attached to any policy of life
108.7	insurance shall be exempt and free and clear from the claims of all creditors of such insured
108.8	or such beneficiary and from all legal and judicial processes of execution, attachment,
108.9	garnishment, or otherwise, up to a total amount of \$1,000,000 per claim and subsequent
108.10	award.
35.26	Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 559.21, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:
35.27	Subd. 2a. For post 7/31/1985 contract. If a default occurs in the conditions of a contract
35.28	for the conveyance of real estate or an interest in real estate executed on or after August 1,
35.29	1985, that gives the seller a right to terminate it, the seller may terminate the contract by
35.30	serving upon the purchaser or the purchaser's personal representatives or assigns, within or
35.31	outside of the state, a notice specifying the conditions in which default has been made. The
35.32 36.1	notice must state that the contract will terminate 60 days, or a shorter period allowed or a
36.1	longer period required in subdivision 4, after the service of the notice, unless prior to the termination date the purchaser:
	•
36.3	(1) complies with the conditions in default;
36.4	(2) makes all payments due and owing to the seller under the contract through the date
36.5	that payment is made;

36.6 (3) pays the costs of service of the notice, including the reasonable costs of service by sheriff, public officer, or private process server; except payment of costs of service is not 36.7 required unless the seller notifies the purchaser of the actual costs of service by certified mail to the purchaser's last known address at least ten days prior to the date of termination; (4) except for earnest money contracts, purchase agreements, and exercised options, 36.10 pays two percent of any amount in default at the time of service, not including the final balloon payment, any taxes, assessments, mortgages, or prior contracts that are assumed by the purchaser; and 36.14 (5) if the contract for deed is executed on or after August 1, 2024, pays an amount to apply on attorney fees actually expended or incurred of \$1,000; if the contract is executed on or after August 1, 1999, and before August 1, 2024, pays an amount to apply on attorneys' attorney fees actually expended or incurred, of \$250 if the amount in default is less than \$1,000, and of \$500 if the amount in default is \$1,000 or more; or if the contract is executed before August 1, 1999, pays an amount to apply on attorneys' attorney fees actually expended or incurred, of \$125 if the amount in default is less than \$750, and of \$250 if the amount in default is \$750 or more; except that no amount for attorneys' fees is required to be paid unless some part of the conditions of default has existed for at least 30 days prior to the date 36.23 of service of the notice. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2024. 36.24 36.25 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 559.21, subdivision 4, is amended to read: Subd. 4. Law prevails over contract; procedure; conditions. (a) The notice required 36.26 by this section must be given notwithstanding any provisions in the contract to the contrary, except that (1) earnest money contracts, purchase agreements, and exercised options that are subject to this section may, unless by their terms they provide for a longer termination period, be terminated on 30 days' notice, or may be canceled under section 559.217 and (2) contracts for deed executed by an investor seller shall be terminated on 90 days' notice. The notice must be served within the state in the same manner as a summons in the district court, and outside of the state, in the same manner, and without securing any sheriff's return of not found, making any preliminary affidavit, mailing a copy of the notice or doing any other 37.2 preliminary act or thing whatsoever. Service of the notice outside of the state may be proved by the affidavit of the person making the same, made before an authorized officer having 37.4 a seal, and within the state by such an affidavit or by the return of the sheriff of any county 37.5 therein. (b) If a person to be served is a resident individual who has departed from the state, or 37.6 cannot be found in the state; or is a nonresident individual or a foreign corporation. partnership, or association, service may be made by publication as provided in this paragraph. Three weeks' published notice has the same effect as personal service of the notice. The published notice must comply with subdivision 3 and state (1) that the person to be served is allowed 90 days after the first date of publication of the notice to comply with the conditions of the contract, and (2) that the contract will terminate 90 days after the first date

37.13	of publication of the notice, unless before the termination date the purchaser complies with
37.14	the notice. If the real estate described in the contract is actually occupied, then, in addition
37.15	to publication, a person in possession must be personally served, in like manner as the
37.16	service of a summons in a civil action in state district court, within 30 days after the first
37.17	date of publication of the notice. If an address of a person to be served is known, then within
37.18	30 days after the first date of publication of the notice a copy of the notice must be mailed
37.19	to the person's last known address by first class mail, postage prepaid.
37.20	(c) The contract is reinstated if, within the time mentioned, the person served:
37.21	(1) complies with the conditions in default;
37.22	(2) if subdivision 1d or 2a applies, makes all payments due and owing to the seller under
37.23	the contract through the date that payment is made;
37.24	(3) pays the costs of service as provided in subdivision 1b, 1c, 1d, or 2a;
37.25	(4) if subdivision 2a applies, pays two percent of the amount in default, not including
37.26	the final balloon payment, any taxes, assessments, mortgages, or prior contracts that are
37.27	assumed by the purchaser; and
37.28	(5) pays attorneys' fees as provided in subdivision 1b, 1c, 1d, or 2a.
37.29	(d) The contract is terminated if the provisions of paragraph (c) are not met.
37.30	(e) In the event that the notice was not signed by an attorney for the seller and the seller
37.31	is not present in the state, or cannot be found in the state, then compliance with the conditions
37.32	specified in the notice may be made by paying to the court administrator of the district court
37.33	in the county wherein the real estate or any part thereof is situated any money due and filing
38.1	proof of compliance with other defaults specified, and the court administrator of the district
38.2	court shall be deemed the agent of the seller for such purposes. A copy of the notice with
38.3	proof of service thereof, and the affidavit of the seller, the seller's agent or attorney, showing
38.4	that the purchaser has not complied with the terms of the notice, may be recorded with the
38.5	county recorder or registrar of titles, and is prima facie evidence of the facts stated in it; but
38.6	this section in no case applies to contracts for the sale or conveyance of lands situated in
38.7	another state or in a foreign country. If the notice is served by publication, the affidavit must
38.8	state that the affiant believes that the party to be served is not a resident of the state, or
38.9	cannot be found in the state, and either that the affiant has mailed a copy of the notice by
38.10	first class mail, postage prepaid, to the party's last known address, or that such address is
38.11	not known to the affiant.
38.12	(f) No notice under this section may be given for a contract for deed executed by an
38.13	investor seller unless, at least 30 days prior to the service of the notice, some part of the
38.14	conditions of default has existed and the investor seller has notified the purchaser of the
38 15	conditions of default by certified mail to the nurchaser's last known address

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

38.16	(g) For purposes of this subdivision, "investor seller" has the meaning given in section
38.17	559A.01, subdivision 5.
38.18	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2024.
38.19	Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 559.21, is amended by adding a subdivision to
38.20	read:
38.21	Subd. 4a. Termination prohibited for certain transfers regarding residential real
38.22	property. (a) Notwithstanding any provisions in a contract for deed to the contrary, the
38.23	notice under this section may not be given and no other remedies may be exercised for any
38.24	contract for deed based on any of the following transfers:
38.25	(1) a transfer on death deed conveying or assigning the deceased purchaser's interest in
38.26	the property to a grantee beneficiary;
38.27	(2) a transfer by devise, descent, or operation of law on the death of a joint tenant occurs;
38.28	(3) a transfer by which the spouse or a child of the purchaser becomes an owner of the
38.29	property;
38.30	(4) a transfer resulting from a decree of a dissolution of marriage, legal separation
38.31	agreement, or from an incidental property settlement agreement, by which the spouse of
38.32	the purchaser becomes an owner of the property; or
39.1	(5) a transfer into an inter vivos trust by which the purchaser is and remains a beneficiary
39.2	and that does not relate to a transfer of rights of occupancy in the property.
39.3	(b) For the purposes of this subdivision, "contract for deed" has the meaning given in
39.4	section 507.235, subdivision 1a, paragraph (e).
39.5	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to all contracts
39.6	for deed executed by all parties on or after that date.
39.7	Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 559.21, is amended by adding a subdivision to
39.8	read:
39.9	Subd the Tourningtian muchibited if you dow fails to record contracts for deed
39.9	Subd. 4b. Termination prohibited if vendor fails to record contracts for deed involving residential real property. (a) Notwithstanding subdivision 2a or any provision
39.11	to the contrary in a contract for deed, a vendor may not terminate a contract for deed under
39.12	this section if the contract has not been recorded as required under section 507.235,
39.13	subdivision 1a, paragraph (b), and the vendor has failed to make a good faith effort to record
39.14	the contract as provided under section 507.235, subdivision 1a, paragraph (d).
39.15	(b) Nothing contained in this subdivision prohibits judicial termination of a contract for
39.16	deed.

9.17	(c) For the purposes of this subdivision, "contract for deed" has the meaning given in
9.18	section 507.235, subdivision 1a, paragraph (e).
9.19	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to all contracts
9.20	for deed executed by all parties on or after that date.
0.21	C. 25 Minner Charles 2022 - 4 - 550 21 is some delle elline elline elline elline
9.21	Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 559.21, is amended by adding a subdivision to
9.22	read:
9.23	Subd. 9. Affidavit of seller constituting prima facie evidence. In any instance where
9.24	the copy of the notice of default, proof of service of the notice, and an affidavit showing
9.25	that the purchaser has not complied with the terms of the notice have been or may be
9.26	recorded, an affidavit of the seller, the seller's agent, or the attorney verified by a person
9.27	having knowledge of the facts and attesting that the seller is not an investor seller or that
9.28	the seller has complied with the requirements of subdivision 4, paragraph (f), may be recorded
9.29	with the county recorder or registrar of titles and is prima facie evidence of the facts stated
9.30	in the affidavit.
9.31	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to contracts
9.32	for deed executed by all parties on or after that date.
0.1	Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 559.211, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
0.2	Subdivision 1. Order; proceedings; security. (a) In an action arising under or in relation
0.3	to a contract for the conveyance of real estate or any interest therein, the district court,
0.4	notwithstanding the service or publication pursuant to the provisions of section 559.21 of
0.5	a notice of termination of the contract, has the authority at any time prior to the effective
0.6	date of termination of the contract and subject to the requirements of rule 65 of the Rules
0.7	of Civil Procedure for the District Courts to enter an order temporarily restraining or enjoining
8.0	further proceedings to effectuate the termination of the contract, including recording of the
0.9	notice of termination with proof of service, recording of an affidavit showing noncompliance
0.10	with the terms of the notice, taking any action to recover possession of the real estate, or
0.11	otherwise interfering with the purchaser's lawful use of the real estate. In the action, the
0.12	purchaser may plead affirmatively any matter that would constitute a defense to an action
0.13	to terminate the contract.
0.14	(b) Upon a motion for a temporary restraining order the court has the discretion,
0.15	notwithstanding any rule of court to the contrary, to grant the order without requiring the
0.16	giving of any security or undertaking, and in exercising that discretion, the court shall
0.17	consider, as one factor, the moving party's ability to afford monetary security. Upon a motion
0.18	for a temporary injunction, the court shall condition the granting of the order either upon
0.19	the tender to the court or vendor of installments as they become due under the contract or
0.20	upon the giving of other security in a sum as the court deems proper. Upon written
0.21	application, the court may disburse from payments tendered to the court an amount the court
0.22	determines necessary to insure the timely payment of property taxes, property insurance,
0.23	installments of special assessments, mortgage installments, prior contract for deed

40.24	installments or other similar expenses directly affecting the real estate, or for any other
40.25	purpose the court deems just.
40.26	(c) If a temporary restraining order or injunction is granted pursuant to this subdivision,
40.27	the contract shall not terminate until the expiration of 15 days after the entry of the order
40.28	or decision dissolving or modifying the temporary restraining order or injunction. If the
40.29	vendor has made an appearance and the restraining order or injunction is granted, the court
40.30	may award court filing fees, reasonable attorney fees, and costs of service to the purchaser.
40.31	(d) If the court subsequently grants permanent relief to the purchaser or determines by
40.32	final order or judgment that the notice of termination was invalid or the purchaser asserted
40.33	a valid defense, the purchaser is entitled to an order granting court filing fees, reasonable
40.34	attorney fees, and costs of service.
41.1	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2024.
41.2	Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 559.213, is amended to read:
41.3	559.213 PRIMA FACIE EVIDENCE OF TERMINATION.
41.4	The recording, heretofore or hereafter, of the copy of notice of default, proof of service
41.5	thereof, and the affidavit showing that the purchaser has not complied with the terms of the
41.6	notice, provided for by Minnesota Statutes 1941, section 559.21, shall be prima facie evidence
41.7	that the contract referred to in such notice has been terminated. It is not necessary to pay
41.8	current or delinquent real estate taxes owed on the real property that is the subject of the
41.9	contract to record the documents required by this section, provided that the documents must
41.10 41.11	be first presented to the county auditor for entry upon the transfer record and must have "Transfer Entered" noted in the documents over the county auditor's official signature.
41.11	Transfer Efficient floted in the documents over the county auditor's official signature.
41.12	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective the day following final enactment.
41.13	Sec. 38. [559A.01] CONTRACTS FOR DEED INVOLVING INVESTOR SELLERS
41.14	AND RESIDENTIAL REAL PROPERTY; DEFINITIONS.
41.15	Subdivision 1. Application. The definitions in this section apply to sections 559A.01
41.16	to 559A.05.
41.17	Subd. 2. Balloon payment. "Balloon payment" means a scheduled payment of principal,
41.18	interest, or both under a contract for deed that is significantly larger than the regular
41.19	installment payments and that may be due prior to the end of the contract term or may be
41.20	the final payment that satisfies the contract.
41.21	Subd. 3. Churning. "Churning" means the act of an investor seller executing a contract
41.22	for deed on or after August 1, 2024, if previously the investor had frequently or repeatedly
41.23	executed contracts for deed and subsequently terminated the contracts under section 559.21.

41.24 41.25	Subd. 4. Contract for deed. "Contract for deed" has the meaning given in section 507.235, subdivision 1a.
41.26 41.27 41.28	Subd. 5. <b>Investor seller.</b> (a) "Investor seller" means a person entering into a contract for deed to sell residential real property or, in the event of a transfer or assignment of the seller's interest, the holder of the interest.
41.29 41.30	(b) An investor seller does not include a person entering into a contract for deed who is:
42.1 42.2 42.3	(1) a natural person who has owned and occupied the residential real property as the natural person's primary residence for a continuous 12-month period at any time prior to the execution of the contract for deed;
42.4 42.5	(2) any spouse, parent, child, sibling, grandparent, grandchild, uncle, aunt, niece, nephew, or cousin of the natural person;
42.6	(3) a personal representative of the natural person;
42.7	(4) a devisee of the natural person;
42.8	(5) a grantee under a transfer on death deed made by the natural person;
42.9	(6) a trust whose settlor is the natural person;
42.10 42.11 42.12 42.13 42.14	(7) a trust whose beneficiary is (i) a natural person where the trust or the natural person, or a combination of the two, has owned and the natural person has occupied the residential real property as the natural person's primary residence for a continuous 12-month period at any time prior to the execution of the contract for deed, or (ii) any spouse, parent, child, sibling, grandparent, grandchild, uncle, aunt, niece, nephew, or cousin of the natural person;
42.15 42.16	(8) a natural person selling on contract for deed to any spouse, parent, child, sibling, grandparent, grandchild, uncle, aunt, niece, nephew, or cousin;
42.17 42.18 42.19 42.20	(9) a bank, credit union, or residential mortgage originator that is under the supervision of or regulated by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, the National Credit Union Administration, or the Minnesota Department of Commerce; and
42.21 42.22	(10) a natural person who has owned and leased the residential real property to the purchaser for at least the prior two years.
42.23 42.24 42.25	(c) If, substantially contemporaneous with the execution of the contract for deed, the seller's interest is assigned or transferred to a person who does not meet any of the qualifications of paragraph (b), the assignee or transferree is deemed an investor seller who
42.26	has executed the contract for deed.

42.27 42.28	<u>Subd. 6.</u> Person. "Person" means a natural person, partnership, corporation, limited liability company, association, trust, or other legal entity, however organized.
42.29 42.30	Subd. 7. Purchase agreement. "Purchase agreement" means a purchase agreement for a contract for deed, an earnest money contract, or an executed option contemplating that,
42.31	at closing, the investor seller and the purchaser will enter into a contract for deed.
43.1	Subd. 8. Purchaser. "Purchaser" means a person who executes a contract for deed to
43.2	purchase residential real property. Purchaser includes all purchasers who execute the same
43.3	contract for deed to purchase residential real property.
43.4	Subd. 9. Residential real property. "Residential real property" means real property
43.5	consisting of one to four family dwelling units, one of which is intended to be occupied as
43.6	the principal place of residence by:
43.7	(1) the purchaser;
43.8	(2) if the purchaser is an entity, the natural person who is the majority or controlling
43.9	owner of the entity; or
43.10	(3) if the purchaser is a trust, the settlor or beneficiary of the trust.
43.11	Residential real property does not include a transaction subject to sections 583.20 to 583.32.
43.12	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to contracts
43.13	for deed executed by all parties on or after that date.
43.14	Sec. 39. [559A.02] APPLICABILITY.
43.15	This chapter applies only to residential real property where a purchaser is entering into
43.16	a contract for deed with an investor seller. Either of the following statements included in a
43.17	contract for deed in which the property is not residential real property or the seller is not an
43.18	investor seller constitutes prima facie evidence that this chapter does not apply to the contract
43.19	for deed: "The property is not residential real property" or "The seller is not an investor
43.20	seller." A person examining title to the property may rely on either statement.
43.21	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to contracts
43.22	for deed executed by all parties on or after that date.
43.23	Sec. 40. [559A.03] CONTRACTS FOR DEED INVOLVING INVESTOR SELLERS
43.24	AND RESIDENTIAL REAL PROPERTY; DISCLOSURES.
43.25	Subdivision 1. Disclosures required. (a) In addition to the disclosures required under
43.26	sections 513.52 to 513.61, an investor seller must deliver to a prospective purchaser the
43.27	disclosures specified under this section and instructions for cancellation as provided under
43.28	section 559A.04, subdivision 2, paragraph (b).
43.29	(b) The disclosures must be affixed to the front of any purchase agreement executed
43.30	between an investor seller and a prospective purchaser. The investor seller may not enter

43.31	into a contract for deed with a prospective purchaser earlier than ten calendar days after the			
44.1	execution of the purchase agreement by all parties and provision by the investor seller of			
44.2	the disclosures required under this section and instructions for cancellation as required under			
44.3	section 559A.04, subdivision 2, paragraph (b).			
44.4	(c) If there is no purchase agreement, an investor seller must provide the disclosures			
44.5	required under this section to the prospective purchaser no less than ten calendar days before			
44.6	the prospective purchaser executes the contract for deed. The disclosures must be provided			
44.7	in a document separate from the contract for deed. The investor seller may not enter into a			
44.8	contract for deed with a prospective purchaser earlier than ten calendar days after providing			
44.9	the disclosures to the prospective purchaser.			
44.10	(d) The first page of the disclosures must contain the disclosures required in subdivisions			
44.11	2, 3, and 4, in that order. The title must be centered, be in bold, capitalized, and underlined			
44.12	20-point type, and read "IMPORTANT INFORMATION YOU NEED TO KNOW." The			
44.13	disclosures required under subdivisions 5 and 6 must follow in subsequent pages in that			
44.14	order.			
44.15	(e) The investor seller must acknowledge delivery and the purchaser must acknowledge			
44.16	receipt of the disclosures by signing and dating the disclosures. The acknowledged disclosures			
44.17	constitute prima facie evidence that the disclosures have been provided as required by this			
44.18	section.			
44.10				
44.19	Subd. 2. Disclosure of balloon payment. (a) The investor seller must disclose the			
44.20	amount and due date of, if any, all balloon payments. For purposes of disclosure of a balloon			
44.21	payment, the investor seller may assume that all prior scheduled payments were timely			
44.22	made and no prepayments were made. If there is more than one balloon payment due, each balloon payment must be listed separately.			
44.23	balloon payment must be fisted separately.			
44.24	(b) The disclosure must be in the following form, with the title in 14-point type and the			
44.25	text in 12-point type:			
44.26	"BALLOON PAYMENT			
44.20	BALLOONTATMENT			
44.27	This contract contains a lump-sum balloon payment or several balloon payments. When			
44.28				
44.29				
44.30	you may not get back all the money you paid for it.			
44.31	If you cannot come up with this large amount - even if you have made all your monthly			
44.32	payments - the seller can cancel the contract.			
44.33	Amount of Balloon Payment When Balloon Payment is Due			
45.1	\$ (amount) (month, year)"			

5.2	Subd. 3. Disclosure of price paid by investor seller to acquire property. (a) The
5.3	investor seller must disclose to the purchaser the purchase price and the date of earliest
5.4	acquisition of the property by the investor seller, unless the acquisition occurs more than
5.5	two years prior to the execution of the contract for deed.
5.6	(b) The disclosure must be in the following form, with the title in 14-point type and the
5.7	text in 12-point type:
5.8	"INVESTOR SELLER'S PRICE TO BUY HOUSE BEING SOLD TO BUYER
5.9	<b>Date Investor Seller Acquired Property:</b>
5.10	(date seller acquired ownership)
5.11	Price Paid by Investor Seller to Acquire the Property:
5.12	\$ (total purchase price paid by seller to acquire ownership)
5.13	Contract for Deed Purchase Price:
5.14	\$ (total sale price to the purchaser under the contract)"
5.15	(c) For the purposes of this subdivision, unless the acquisition occurred more than two
5.16	years prior to the execution of the contract for deed, the person who first acquires the propert
5.17	is deemed to be the same person as the investor seller where the person who first acquires
5.18	the property:
5.19	(1) is owned or controlled, in whole or in part, by the investor seller;
5.20	(2) owns or controls, in whole or in part, the investor seller;
5.21	(3) is under common ownership or control, in whole or in part, with the investor seller;
5.22	(4) is a spouse, parent, child, sibling, grandparent, grandchild, uncle, aunt, niece, nephev
5.23	or cousin of the investor seller, or of the natural person who owns or controls, in whole or
5.24	in part, the investor seller; or
5.25	(5) is an entity owned or controlled, in whole or in part, by a person who is a spouse,
5.26	parent, child, sibling, grandparent, grandchild, uncle, aunt, niece, nephew, or cousin of the
5.27	investor seller, or of the natural person who owns or controls, in whole or in part, the investor
5.28	seller.
5.29	Subd. 4. Disclosure of other essential terms. (a) An investor seller must disclose to
5.30	the prospective purchaser the purchase price, the annual interest rate, the amount of any
5.31	down payment, and whether the purchaser is responsible for any or all of the following:
5.1 5.2	paying property taxes, acquiring homeowner's insurance, making repairs, and maintaining
).2	the property.

46.3 46.4	(b) The disclosure must be in the following form, with the title in 14-point type and the text in 12-point type:			
46.5	"COSTS AND ESSENTIAL TERMS			
46.6	1. Purchase Price:		\$ (price)	
46.7	2. Annual Interest Rate:		(interest rate)	<u>%</u>
46.8	3. Down Payment:		\$ (down paym	ent)
46.9	4. Monthly/Period Installments	<u>s:</u>	\$ (amount of i	nstallment payment)
46.10 46.11	5. Taxes, Homeowner's Insurance, Repairs and Maintenance:			
46.12	You (seller must circle one	e):		
46.13	(a) DO	DO NOT		have to pay property taxes
46.14 46.15	(b) DO	DO NOT		have to pay homeowner's insurance
46.16 46.17	(c) ARE	ARE NOT		responsible for repairs and maintenance."
46.18 46.19	Subd. 5. General disclosure. (a) An investor seller must provide the prospective purchaser with a general disclosure about contracts for deeds as provided in this subdivision.			
46.20 46.21	(b) The disclosure must be in the following form, with the title in 18-point type, the titles of the sections in 14-point type and underlined, and the text of each section in 12-point type,			
46.22	with a double space between ea			
46.23	"KNOW WHAT	YOU ARE GET	TTING INTO B	EFORE YOU SIGN
46.24	1. How Contracts for Dec	ed Work		
46.25				sure you know exactly what
46.26 46.27	you are getting into before you mortgage. Minnesota's foreclos			ct for deed is NOT a
46.28	You should get advice fro	om a lawyer or t	he Minnesota H	omeownership Center
46.29	before you sign the contract.		he Homeownersl	nip Center at
46.30	1-(866)-462-6466 or go to www			
46.31	2. What If I Can't Make	My Payments?		

46.32	If you do not make your monthly installment payment or the balloon payment, the seller		
46.33	can cancel the contract beginning only 120 days from the date you missed the payment. If		
47.1	the contract is canceled, you lose your home and all the money you have paid, including		
47.2	any down payment, all the monthly payments, and any improvements to the property		
47.3	you have made.		
47.4	If the contract contains a final lump-sum balloon payment, you will need to get a mortgage		
47.5	or other financing to pay it off, or you will have to sell the property. If you can't come up		
47.6	with this large amount - even if you have made all your monthly payments - the seller can		
47.7	cancel the contract. Even if you are able to sell the property, you may not get back all		
47.8	the money you have paid for it.		
47.9	3. BEFORE YOU SIGN, YOU SHOULD:		
47.10	A. Get an Independent, Professional Appraisal of the property to learn what it is		
47.11	worth and make sure you are not overpaying for the house.		
47.12	B. Get an Independent, Professional Inspection of the property because you will		
47.13	probably be responsible for maintaining and making repairs on the house.		
47.14 47.15	C. Buy Title Insurance from a title insurance company or ask a lawyer for a "title opinion" to address or minimize potential title problems.		
47.13	opinion to address of minimize potential the problems.		
47.16	4. YOUR RIGHTS BEFORE YOU SIGN		
47.17	A. Waiting Period After Getting Disclosures. There is a ten calendar day waiting		
47.18	period after you get these disclosures. The contract for deed cannot be signed by you or the		
47.19	seller during that ten calendar day period.		
47.20	B. Canceling a Purchase Agreement. You have ten calendar days after you get these		
47.21	disclosures to cancel your purchase agreement and get back any money you paid."		
47.22	Subd. 6. Amortization schedule. In a document separate from all other documents, an		
47.23	investor seller must provide to the prospective purchaser an amortization schedule consistent		
47.24	with the contract for deed, including the portion of each installment payment applied to		
47.25	interest and to principal and the amount and due date of any balloon payments.		
47.26	Subd. 7. Disclosures in other languages. If the contract was advertised or primarily		
47.27	negotiated with the purchaser in a language other than English, the investor seller must		
47.28	provide the disclosures required in this section in the language in which the contract was		
47.29	advertised or primarily negotiated.		
47.30	Subd. 8. No waiver. The provisions of this section may not be waived.		
47.31	Subd. 9. Effects of violation. Except as provided in section 559A.05, subdivision 2, a		
47.32	violation of this section has no effect on the validity of the contract for deed.		

8.1 8.2	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to contracts for deed executed by all parties on or after that date.
8.3 8.4	Sec. 41. [559A.04] CONTRACTS FOR DEED INVOLVING INVESTOR SELLERS AND RESIDENTIAL REAL PROPERTY; RIGHTS AND REQUIREMENTS.
8.5 8.6 8.7 8.8	Subdivision 1. Requirement of investor seller if property subject to mortgage. An investor may not execute a contract for deed that is subject to a mortgage with a due-on-sale clause and not expressly assumed by the contract for deed purchaser unless the investor seller has:
8.9 8.10 8.11 8.12	(1) procured a binding agreement with the mortgage holder whereby the holder either consents to the sale of the property to the purchaser by contract for deed or agrees to not exercise the holder's rights under a due-on-sale clause in the mortgage based on the contract for deed; and
8.13	(2) in the contract:
8.14	(i) disclosed the existence of the investor seller's mortgage;
8.15 8.16	(ii) covenants that the investor seller will perform all obligations under the mortgage; and
8.17 8.18	(iii) expressly represents to the purchaser that the seller has procured the binding agreement required under clause (1).
8.19 8.20 8.21 8.22 8.23 8.24 8.25	Subd. 2. Right to cancel purchase agreement. (a) A prospective purchaser may cancel a purchase agreement prior to the execution by all parties of the contract for deed or within ten calendar days of receiving the disclosures required under section 559A.03, whichever is earlier. A purchaser's execution of the contract for deed earlier than ten calendar days of receiving the disclosures does not excuse, constitute a waiver of, or constitute a defense by an investor seller regarding the seller's violation of section 559A.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (b) or (c).
8.26 8.27 8.28 8.29	(b) In addition to the disclosures required under section 559A.03, an investor seller must provide the prospective purchaser with notice of the person to whom, and the mailing address to where, cancellation of the purchase agreement must be delivered or sent. Cancellation of the purchase agreement is effective upon personal delivery or upon mailing.
8.30 8.31 9.1 9.2	(c) In the event of cancellation or if no purchase agreement has been signed and the prospective purchaser elects not to execute the contract for deed, the investor seller may not impose a penalty or fee and must promptly refund all payments made by the prospective purchaser.
9.3 9.4	Subd. 3. <b>Duty of investor seller to account.</b> The investor seller must inform the purchaser in a separate writing of the right to request an annual accounting. Upon reasonable written

19.5 19.6	request by the purchaser and no more than once every calendar year, an investor seller must provide an accounting of:
19.7 19.8	(1) all payments made pursuant to the contract for deed during the prior calendar year with payments allocated between interest and principal;
19.9	(2) any delinquent payments;
19.10	(3) the total principal amount remaining to satisfy the contract for deed; and
19.11	(4) the anticipated amounts and due dates of all balloon payments.
49.12 49.13 49.14 49.15	Subd. 4. Churning prohibited. (a) An investor seller is prohibited from churning. There is a rebuttable presumption that the investor seller has violated this subdivision if, on or after August 1, 2024, the investor seller executes a contract for deed and, within the previous 48 months, the investor seller either:
49.16 49.17	(1) had completed two or more termination proceedings under section 559.21 on the same residential real property being sold by the contract for deed; or
49.18 49.19 49.20	(2) had completed four or more termination proceedings under section 559.21 on contracts for deed for any residential real property, where terminated contracts comprise 20 percent or more of all contracts executed by the investor seller during that period.
19.21 19.22 19.23 19.24	(b) Nothing contained in this subdivision or in section 559A.01, subdivision 3, shall invalidate, impair, affect, or give rise to any cause of action with respect to any contract for deed or termination proceeding under section 559.21 used as a predicate to establish the presumption under paragraph (a).
19.25 19.26 19.27	(c) For the purposes of this subdivision, a person who sold residential real property on a contract for deed is deemed to be the same person as the investor seller where the person who sold on a contract for deed:
19.28	(1) is owned or controlled, in whole or in part, by the investor seller;
19.29	(2) owns or controls, in whole or in part, the investor seller;
19.30	(3) is under common ownership or control, in whole or in part, with the investor seller;
50.1 50.2 50.3	(4) is a spouse, parent, child, sibling, grandparent, grandchild, uncle, aunt, niece, nephew, or cousin of the investor seller, or of the natural person who owns or controls, in whole or in part, the investor seller; or
50.4 50.5 50.6 50.7	(5) is an entity owned or controlled, in whole or in part, by a person who is a spouse, parent, child, sibling, grandparent, grandchild, uncle, aunt, niece, nephew, or cousin of the investor seller, or of the natural person who owns or controls, in whole or in part, the investor seller.
50.8 50.9	Subd. 5. <b>Duty of investor seller to refund down payments.</b> (a) If an investor seller terminates under section 559.21 a contract for deed within 48 months of executing the

50.10 50.11	contract, any portion of the down payment that exceeded ten percent of the purchase price shall be refunded to the purchaser within 180 days of the termination of the contract.
50.12 50.13 50.14	(b) Upon delivery to the purchaser by the investor seller of reasonable documentation that the following expenses were incurred or taxes and contract payments were unpaid, an investor seller may offset against the refund, if applicable, for:
50.15	(1) unpaid property taxes for the period prior to termination of the contract;
50.16 50.17	(2) unpaid insurance premiums for the period prior to termination of the contract incurred by the investor seller;
50.18 50.19	(3) the reasonable cost of necessary repairs for damage to the residential real property caused by the purchaser, beyond ordinary wear and tear, incurred by the investor seller;
50.20 50.21	(4) attorney fees, not to exceed \$1,000, and costs of service incurred in connection with the termination of the contract;
50.22 50.23	(5) unpaid utility arrears for the period prior to termination of the contract incurred by the investor seller; and
50.24 50.25	(6) one-half of the unpaid monthly contract installment payments, excluding balloon payments, that accrued prior to termination of the contract.
50.26 50.27 50.28 50.29 50.30 50.31 50.32 51.1 51.2	(c) If the purchaser disputes the amount that an investor seller claims as the refund or an offset, the purchaser may commence an action in district court or conciliation court to determine the amount of the refund or the offsets and recover any money owed by the investor seller to the purchaser. The purchaser is entitled to recover from the investor seller any portion of the down payment that the court finds is owed by the investor seller to the purchaser and not previously paid to the purchaser. An attorney expressly authorized by the investor seller to receive payments in the notice of termination is designated as the attorney who may receive service as agent for the investor seller in an action under this paragraph in the same manner as provided in section 559.21, subdivision 8.
51.3 51.4	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to contracts for deed executed by all parties on or after that date.
51.5 51.6	Sec. 42. [559A.05] CONTRACTS FOR DEED INVOLVING INVESTOR SELLERS AND RESIDENTIAL REAL PROPERTY; REMEDIES FOR VIOLATION.
51.7 51.8	<u>Subdivision 1.</u> <u><b>Definition.</b></u> For the purposes of this section, "material violation of section 559A.03" means:
51.9 51.10	(1) if applicable, failure to disclose any balloon payment as required under section 559A.03, subdivision 2;
51.11 51.12	(2) failure to disclose the price paid by the investor seller under the contract for deed to acquire property as required under section 559A.03, subdivision 3;

May 02, 2024 11:16 AM

51.13 51.14	(3) failure to disclose the other essential terms of the contract as required under section 559A.03, subdivision 4;
51.15 51.16	(4) failure to provide the general disclosure in substantially the form required under section 559A.03, subdivision 5;
51.17 51.18	(5) failure to disclose the amortization schedule as required under section 559A.03, subdivision 6;
51.19	(6) a violation of section 559A.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (b) or (c);
51.20	(7) a violation of section 559A.03, subdivision 7; or
51.21 51.22	(8) a material omission or misstatement of any of the information required to be disclosed under section 559A.03.
51.23 51.24 51.25 51.26 51.27 51.28	Subd. 2. Remedy for violation of disclosure requirements or churning. (a) Notwithstanding any provision in the purchase agreement or contract for deed to the contrary, a purchaser may, within two years of the execution of the contract for deed, bring an action for relief for a material violation of section 559A.03 or a violation of section 559A.04, subdivision 4. A prevailing purchaser may rescind a contract and, in conjunction with the rescission, may recover against the investor seller a sum equal to:
51.29 51.30 51.31	(1) all amounts paid by the purchaser under the contract for deed, including payments to third parties, less the fair rental value of the residential real property for the period of time the purchaser was in possession of the property;
52.1 52.2	(2) the reasonable value of any improvements to the residential real property made by the purchaser;
52.3	(3) actual, consequential, and incidental damages; and
52.4	(4) reasonable attorney fees and costs.
52.5 52.6 52.7 52.8 52.9 52.10	(b) A claim for rescission and a money judgment awarded under this subdivision does not affect any rights or responsibilities of a successor in interest to the investor seller prior to the filing of a lis pendens in the action in which relief is sought, unless it is established by clear and convincing evidence that the successor in interest had prior knowledge that the contract for deed was executed in violation of the requirements of section 559A.03 or 559A.04, subdivision 4.
52.11 52.12 52.13 52.14 52.15	(c) A purchaser barred under paragraph (b) from making a claim against a successor in interest to the investor seller may, within two years of the execution of the contract for deed, bring a claim for violation of the requirements of section 559A.03 or 559A.04, subdivision 4, against the original investor seller who entered into the contract for deed and may recover the greater of actual damages or statutory damages of \$5,000, plus reasonable attorney fees

52.16	and costs. The original investor seller has no claim for indemnification or contribution
52.17	against the successor in interest.
52.18	Subd. 3. Remedy for failure of investor seller to procure agreement with mortgage
52.19	holder. (a) If a mortgage holder commences foreclosure of the mortgage holder's mortgage
52.20	based on the sale to a purchaser under the contract for deed and notwithstanding any provision
52.21	in the purchase agreement or contract for deed to the contrary, a purchaser may bring an
52.22	action for the failure of the investor seller to procure the agreement with the mortgage holder
52.23	as required under section 559A.04, subdivision 2. A prevailing purchaser may rescind a
52.24	contract and may recover against the investor seller a sum equal to:
52.25	(1) all amounts paid by the purchaser under the contract for deed, including payments
52.26	to third parties, less the fair rental value of the residential real property for the period of
52.27	time the purchaser was in possession of the property;
52.28	(2) the reasonable value of any improvements to the residential real property made by
52.29	the purchaser;
52.30	(3) actual, consequential, and incidental damages; and
52.31	(4) reasonable attorney fees and costs.
52.32	(b) An action under this subdivision may be brought at any time and is not subject to
52.33	the statute of limitations in subdivision 2, provided that at least 30 days prior to bringing
53.1	the action, a purchaser must deliver a notice of violation to the investor seller under the
53.2	contract for deed personally or by United States mail.
53.3	(c) An investor seller may cure the violation at any time prior to entry of a final judgment
53.4	by delivering to the purchaser either evidence of the agreement with the mortgage holder
53.5	as required under section 559A.04, subdivision 2, or evidence that the mortgage holder has
53.6	abandoned foreclosure of the mortgage. If the violation is cured, the purchaser's action must
53.7	be dismissed. An investor seller is liable to the purchaser for reasonable attorney fees and
53.8	court costs if the seller delivers evidence of the mortgage holder's agreement or abandonment
53.9	of the foreclosure after the purchaser has commenced the action.
53.10	(d) Nothing in this subdivision bars or limits any other claim by a purchaser arising from
53.11	the investor seller's breach of a senior mortgage.
53.12	Subd. 4. <b>Defense to termination.</b> A purchaser's right to the remedy under subdivision
53.13	2 or 3 constitutes grounds for injunctive relief under section 559.211.
53.14	Subd. 5. Effect of action on title. An action under subdivision 2 or 3 is personal to the
53.15	purchaser only, does not constitute an interest separate from the purchaser's interest in the
53.16	contract for deed, and may not be assigned except to a successor in interest.
53.17	Subd. 6. Rights cumulative. The rights and remedies provided in this section are
53.18	cumulative to, and not a limitation of, any other rights and remedies provided under law

3.19	and at equity. Nothing in this chapter precludes a court from construing a contract for deed
3.20	as an equitable mortgage.
3.21	Subd. 7. <b>Public enforcement.</b> The attorney general has authority under section 8.31 to
3.22	investigate and prosecute violations of sections 559A.03 and 559A.04, subdivision 4.
3.23	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to all contract
3.24	for deed executed by all parties on or after that date.
08.11	Sec. 69. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 563.01, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
08.12	Subd. 3. Court fee waiver; authorization of in forma pauperis. (a) Any court of the
08.13	state of Minnesota or any political subdivision thereof may authorize the commencement
08.14	or defense of any civil action, or appeal therein, without prepayment of fees, costs and
08.15	security for costs by a natural person who makes affidavit stating (a) the nature of the action,
08.16	defense or appeal, (b) a belief that affiant is entitled to redress, and (c) that affiant is
08.17	financially unable to pay the fees, costs and security for costs.
08.18	(b) Upon a finding by the court that the action is not of a frivolous nature, the court shall
08.19	allow the person to proceed in forma pauperis with a court fee waiver if the affidavit is
08.20	substantially in the language required by this subdivision and is not found by the court to
08.21	be untrue. Persons meeting the requirements of this subdivision include, but are not limited
08.22	to, a person who is receiving public assistance described in section 550.37, subdivision 14,
08.23	who is represented by an attorney on behalf of a civil legal services program or a volunteer
08.24	attorney program based on indigency, or who has an annual income not greater than 125
08.25	percent of the poverty line established under United States Code, title 42, section 9902(2),
08.26	except as otherwise provided by section 563.02.
08.27	(c) If, at commencement of the action, the court finds that a party does not meet the
08.28	eligibility criteria under paragraph (b), but the court also finds that the party is not able to
08.29	pay all of the fees, costs, and security for costs, the court may order payment of a fee of \$75
08.30	or partial payment of the fees, costs, and security for costs, to be paid as directed by the
08.31	court.
09.1	The court administrator shall transmit any fees or payments to the commissioner of
09.2	management and budget for deposit in the state treasury and credit to the general fund.
09.3	Sec. 70. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 563.01, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
09.4	Subd. 4. Payment of expenses. Upon order of the court, the court administrator and the
09.5	sheriff of any Minnesota county shall perform their duties without charge to the person
09.6	proceeding in forma pauperis with a court fee waiver. The court shall direct payment of the
09.7	reasonable expense of service of process pursuant to subdivision 2 if served by a private
09.8	process server if the sheriff is unavailable, or by publication

09.9	Sec. 71. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 563.01, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
09.10	Subd. 8. Appellate briefs. In any case on appeal the appellate court shall, upon granting
09.11	permission to proceed in forma pauperis with a court fee waiver following application in
09.12	the manner provided in subdivision 3, direct payment of the reasonable expenses incurred
09.13	in obtaining the record and reproducing the appellate briefs.
09.14	Sec. 72. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 563.01, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
09.15	Subd. 9. Rescinding in forma pauperis status court fee waiver. Upon motion, the
09.16	court may rescind its permission to proceed in forma pauperis with a court fee waiver if it
09.17	the court finds the allegations of poverty contained in the affidavit are untrue, or if, following
09.18	commencement of the action, the party becomes able to pay the fees, costs and security for
09.19	the costs. In such cases, the court may direct the party to pay to the court administrator any
09.20	costs allowing the action to proceed. The court administrator shall transmit the costs to the
09.21	commissioner of management and budget for deposit in the state treasury and credit them
09.22	to the general fund.
09.23	Sec. 73. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 563.01, subdivision 10, is amended to read:
09.24	Subd. 10. Judgment. Judgment may be rendered for costs at the conclusion of the action
09.25	as in other cases. In the event any person recovers moneys by either settlement or judgment
09.26	as a result of commencing or defending an action in forma pauperis with a court fee waiver,
09.27	the costs deferred and the expenses directed by the court to be paid under this section shall
09.28	be included in such moneys and shall be paid directly to the court administrator by the
09.29	opposing party. The court administrator shall transmit the costs to the commissioner of
09.30	management and budget for deposit in the state treasury and credit them to the general fund.
10.1	Sec. 74. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 563.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
10.2	Subd. 2. Inmate request to proceed in forma pauperis waive court fees. (a) An inmat
10.3	who wishes to commence a civil action by proceeding in forma pauperis with court fee
10.4	waived must meet the following requirements, in addition to the requirements of section
10.5	563.01, subdivision 3:
10.6	(1) exhaust the inmate complaint procedure developed under the commissioner of
10.7	corrections policy and procedure before commencing a civil action against the department,
10.8	and state in the application to proceed in forma pauperis waive court fees that the inmate
10.9	has done so; and
10.10	(2) include the following information in an affidavit submitted under section 563.01:
10.11	(i) a statement that the inmate's claim is not substantially similar to a previous claim
10.12	brought by the inmate against the same party, arising from the same operative facts, and in
10.13	which there was an action that operated as an adjudication on the merits;

10.14	(ii) complete information on the inmate's identity, the nature and amount of the inmate's
10.15	income, spouse's income, if available to the inmate, real property owned by the inmate, and
10.16	the inmate's bank accounts, debts, monthly expenses, and number of dependents; and
10.17	(iii) the most recent monthly statement provided by the commissioner of corrections
10.18	showing the balance in the inmate's inmate account.
10.19	(b) The inmate shall also attach a written authorization for the court to obtain at any
10.20	time during pendency of the present action, without further authorization from the inmate,
10.21	a current statement of the inmate's inmate account balance, if needed to determine eligibility
10.22	to proceed with bringing a civil action in forma pauperis with court fees waived. An inmate
10.23	who has no funds in an inmate account satisfies the requirement of section 563.01,
10.24	subdivision 3, clause (c).
10.25	(c) An inmate who seeks to proceed as a plaintiff in forma pauperis with court fees
10.26	waived must file with the court the complaint in the action and the affidavit under this
10.27	section before serving the complaint on an opposing party.
10.28	(d) An inmate who has funds in an inmate account may only proceed as a plaintiff in a
10.29	civil action by paying the lesser of:
10.30	(1) the applicable court filing fee; or
11.1	(2) 50 percent of the balance shown in the inmate's account according to the statement
11.2	filed with the court under this subdivision, consistent with the requirements of section
11.3	243.23, subdivision 3.
11.4	(e) If an inmate elects to proceed under paragraph (d), the court shall notify the
11.5	commissioner of corrections to withdraw from the inmate's account the amount required
11.6	under this section and forward the amount to the court administrator in the county where
11.7	the action was commenced. The court shall also notify the commissioner of corrections of
11.8	the amount of the filing fee remaining unpaid. The commissioner shall continue making
11.9	withdrawals from the inmate's account and forwarding the amounts withdrawn to the court
11.10	administrator, at intervals as the applicable funds in the inmate's account equal at least \$10,
11.11	until the entire filing fee and any costs have been paid in full.
11.12	Sec. 75. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 571.72, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
11.13	Subd. 6. <b>Bad faith claim.</b> If, in a proceeding brought under subdivision 9, section 571.91,
11.14	or a similar proceeding under this chapter to determine a claim of exemption, the claim of
11.15	exemption is not upheld, and the court finds that it was asserted in bad faith, the creditor
11.16	shall be awarded actual damages, costs, reasonable attorney fees resulting from the additional
11.17	proceedings, and an amount not to exceed \$100. If the claim of exemption is upheld, and
11.18	the court finds that the creditor disregarded the claim of exemption in bad faith, the debtor
11.19	shall be awarded actual damages, costs, reasonable attorney fees resulting from the additional
11.20	proceedings, and an amount not to exceed \$100. The underlying judgment shall be modified
11.21	to reflect assessment of damages, costs, and attorney fees. However, if the party in whose

111.23	favor a penalty assessment is made is not actually indebted to that party's attorney for fees, the attorney's fee award shall be made directly to the attorney and if not paid an appropriate judgment in favor of the attorney shall be entered.
111.24	Sec. 76. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 571.72, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
	·
111.26 111.27	Subd. 8. <b>Exemption notice.</b> In every garnishment where the debtor is a natural person, the debtor shall be provided with a garnishment exemption notice. If the creditor is garnishing
111.28	earnings, the earnings exemption notice provided in section 571.924 must be served ten or
111.29	more days before the service of the first garnishment summons. If the creditor is garnishing
111.30 111.31	funds in a financial institution, the exemption notice provided in section 571.912 must be served with the garnishment summons. In all other cases, the exemption notice must be in
111.31	the following form and served on the debtor with a copy of the garnishment summons.
112.1	STATE OF MINNESOTA DISTRICT COURT
112.2	COUNTY OFJUDICIAL DISTRICT
112.3	(Creditor)
112.4	against
112.5	(Debtor) EXEMPTION NOTICE
112.6	and
112.7	(Garnishee)
112.8	A Garnishment Summons is being served upon you. Some of your property may be
112.9	exempt and cannot be garnished. The following is a list of some of the more common
112.10 112.11	exemptions. It is not complete and is subject to section 550.37 of the Minnesota Statutes and other state and federal laws. The dollar amounts contained in this list are subject to the
112.12	provisions of section 550.37, subdivision 4a, at the time of garnishment. If you have questions
112.13	about an exemption, you should obtain legal advice.
112.14	(1) a homestead or the proceeds from the sale of a homestead;
112.15	(2) household furniture, appliances, phonographs, radios, and televisions up to a total
112.16	current value of \$5,850;
112.17	(3) a manufactured (mobile) home used as your home;
112.18 112.19	(4) one motor vehicle currently worth less than \$2,600 after deducting any security interest;
112.20 112.21 112.22	(5) farm machinery used by an individual principally engaged in farming, or tools, machines, or office furniture used in your business or trade. This exemption is limited to \$13,000;

112.23	(6) relief based on need. This includes:
112.24	(i) Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP) and Work First Program;
112.25	(ii) Medical Assistance (MA), whether received by you or by your dependent child;
112.26	(iii) General Assistance (GA);
112.27	(iv) Emergency General Assistance (EGA);
112.28	(v) Minnesota Supplemental AID (MSA);
112.29	(vi) MSA-Emergency Assistance (MSA-EA);
112.30	(vii) Supplemental Security Income (SSI);
112.31	(viii) Energy Assistance; and
113.1	(ix) Emergency Assistance (EA);
113.2	(7) Social Security benefits;
113.3	(8) unemployment benefits, workers' compensation, or veteran's benefits;
113.4	(9) an accident, disability, or retirement pension or annuity;
113.5	(10) life insurance proceeds;
113.6	(11) earnings of your minor child; and
113.7 113.8	(12) money from a claim for damage or destruction of exempt property (such as household goods, farm tools, business equipment, a manufactured (mobile) home, or a car).
113.9 113.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to exemption notices provided on or after that date.
113.11	Sec. 77. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 571.72, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
113.12 113.13 113.14 113.15	Subd. 9. <b>Motion to determine objections.</b> (a) This subdivision applies to all garnishment proceedings governed by this chapter. An objection regarding a garnishment must be interposed as provided in section 571.914, subdivision 1, in the form provided under section 571.914, subdivision 2.
113.16 113.17 113.18	(b) Upon motion of any party in interest, on notice, the court shall determine the validity of any claim of exemption and may make any order necessary to protect the rights of those interested.
113.19 113.20 113.21	(c) Upon receipt of a claim of exemption by the debtor, the creditor must comply with the claim or interpose an objection within ten business days of the date the exemption claim was received. An objection must be interposed by:

113.22 113.23	(1) in the district court that issued the judgment, filing the Notice of Objection and requesting a hearing; and
113.24 113.25	(2) mailing or delivering one copy of the Notice of Objection and Notice of Hearing to the garnishee and one copy of the Notice of Objection and Notice of Hearing to the debtor.
113.26 113.27	(d) For the purposes of subdivision 6, there is a rebuttable presumption of bad faith if the court finds that the creditor failed to comply with the requirements of this subdivision.
113.28 113.29	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to causes of action commenced on or after that date.
114.1	Sec. 78. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 571.72, subdivision 10, is amended to read:
114.2	Subd. 10. Exemption notice for prejudgment garnishment.
114.3	EXEMPTION NOTICE
114.4 114.5 114.6	IMPORTANT NOTICE: A garnishment summons may be served on your employer bank, or other third parties without any further court proceeding or notice to you. See the attached Notice of Intent to Garnish for more information.
114.7 114.8	The following money and wages may be protected (the legal word is exempt) from garnishment:
114.9	1. Financial institutions/bank
114.10 114.11	Some of the money in your account may be protected because you receive government benefits from one or more of the following places:
114.12	MFIP - Minnesota family investment program,
114.13	MFIP Diversionary Work Program,
114.14	Work participation cash benefit,
114.15	GA - general assistance,
114.16	EA - emergency assistance,
114.17	MA - medical assistance, whether received by you or by your dependent child,
114.18	EGA - emergency general assistance or county crisis funds,
114.19	MSA - Minnesota supplemental aid,
114.20	MSA-EA - MSA emergency assistance,
114.21	Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP),
114.22	SSI - Supplemental Security Income,

14.23	MinnesotaCare, whether received by you or by your dependent child,
14.24	Medicare Part B premium payments,
14.25	Medicare Part D extra help,
14.26	Energy or fuel assistance,
14.27	Social Security benefits,
14.28	Unemployment benefits,
15.1	Workers' compensation,
15.2	Veterans benefits.
15.3 15.4 15.5	Sending the creditor's attorney (or creditor, if no attorney) a copy of BANK STATEMENTS that show what was in your account for the past 60 days may give the creditor enough information about your exemption claim to avoid a garnishment.
15.6	2. Earnings
15.7	All or some of your earnings may be completely protected from garnishment if:
15.8	All of your earnings (wages) may be protected if:
15.9	You get government benefits (see list of government benefits)
15.10	You currently receive other assistance based on need
15.11	You have received government benefits in the last six months
15.12	You were in jail or prison in the last six months
15.13 15.14 15.15	Your wages are only protected for 60 days after they are deposited in your account so it would be helpful if you immediately send the undersigned creditor a copy of BANK STATEMENTS that show what was in your account for the past 60 days.
15.16	Some of your earnings (wages) may be protected if:
15.17 15.18 15.19	If all of your earnings are not exempt, some of your earnings may still be protected for 20 days after they were deposited in your account. The amount protected is the larger amount of:
15.20	75 percent of your wages (after taxes are taken out); or
15.21	(insert the sum of the current federal minimum wage) multiplied by 40.
15.22 15.23	The money from the following are also exempt for 20 days after they are deposited in your account.
15 24	An accident, disability, or retirement pension or annuity

115.25	Payments to you from a life insurance policy
115.26	Earnings of your child who is under 18 years of age
115.27	Child support
115.28	Money paid to you from a claim for damage or destruction of property. Property
115.29 116.1	includes household goods, farm tools or machinery, tools for your job, business equipment, a mobile home, a car, a musical instrument, a pew or burial lot, clothes, furniture, or
116.1	appliances.
116.3	Death benefits paid to you.
116.4	YOU WILL BE ABLE TO CLAIM THESE EXEMPTIONS WHEN YOU
116.5	RECEIVE A NOTICE. You will get the notice at least ten days BEFORE a wage
116.6	garnishment. BUT if the creditor garnishes your bank account, you will not get the
116.7	notice until AFTER the account has been frozen. IF YOU BELIEVE THE MONEY
116.8 116.9	IN YOUR BANK ACCOUNT OR YOUR WAGES ARE EXEMPT, YOU SHOULD IMMEDIATELY CONTACT THE PERSON BELOW. YOU SHOULD TELL THEM
116.10	WHY YOU THINK YOUR ACCOUNT OR WAGES ARE EXEMPT TO SEE IF
116.11	YOU CAN AVOID GARNISHMENT.
110.11	100 CHANOID GHEADHALLA
116.12	Creditor
116.13	Creditor address
116.14	Creditor telephone number
116.15	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to exemption
116.16	notices provided on or after that date.
116.17	Sec. 79. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 571.911, is amended to read:
116.18	571.911 EXEMPTION NOTICE; DUTY OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTION.
116.19	(a) If the garnishment summons is used to garnish funds of a debtor who is a natural
116.20	person and if the funds to be garnished are held on deposit at a financial institution, the
116.21	creditor shall serve with the garnishee summons a notice, instructions, and two copies of
116.22	an exemption notice. The notice, instructions, and exemption notices must be substantially
116.23	in the forms set forth in section 571.912. Failure of the creditor to send the exemption notice
116.24	renders the garnishment void, and the financial institution shall take no action.
116.25	(b) Unless the total amount in the depository accounts under the debtor's name is less
116.26	than the amount specified under section 550.37, subdivision 29, upon receipt of the
116.27	garnishment summons and exemption notices, the financial institution shall retain as much
116.28	of the amount under section 571.73 as the financial institution has on deposit owing to the
116.29	debtor, but not more than 110 percent of the creditor's claim. If the amount in the account

116.30	1
116.31	notify the creditor that no money is retained.
116.32	(c) If the creditor receives notice from the financial institution that no money is retained
116.33	the creditor is prohibited from sending the notice under section 571.912.
117.1	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to causes
117.2	of action commenced on or after that date.
117.3	Sec. 80. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 571.914, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
117.4	Subdivision 1. Objections and request for hearing. An objection shall be interposed,
117.5	within six business days of receipt by the creditor of an exemption claim from the debtor,
117.6	by mailing or delivering one copy of the Notice of Objection and Notice of Hearing to the
117.7	financial institution and one copy of the Notice of Objection and Notice of Hearing to the
117.8	<del>debtor.</del>
117.9	(a) The Notice of Objection and Notice of Hearing form must be substantially in the
117.10	form set out in subdivision 2.
117.11	(b) The court administrator may charge a fee of \$1 for the filing of a Notice of Objectio
117.12	and Notice of Hearing. Upon the filing of a Notice of Objection and Notice of Hearing, the
117.13	court administrator shall schedule the matter for hearing no sooner than five business days
117.14	but no later than seven business days from the date of filing. A debtor may request
117.15	continuance of the hearing by notifying the creditor and the court. The court shall schedule
117.16	the continued hearing within seven days of the original hearing date.
117.17	(c) An order stating whether the debtor's funds are exempt shall be issued by the court
117.18	within three days of the date of the hearing.
117.19	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to causes
117.20	of action commenced on or after that date.
117.21	Sec. 81. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 571.92, is amended to read:
117.22	571.92 GARNISHMENT OF EARNINGS.
117.23	Sections 571.921 to 571.926 relate to the garnishment of earnings. The exemptions
117.24	available under section 550.37 apply to the garnishment of earnings if the debtor is a residen
117.25	of Minnesota and the debtor's place of employment is in Minnesota, regardless of where
117.26	the employer is domiciled.
117.27	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to causes
117 28	of action commenced on or after that date

118.1	Sec. 82. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 571.921, is amended to read:
118.2	571.921 DEFINITIONS.
118.3 118.4	For purposes of sections 571.921 to $\frac{571.926}{571.927}$ , the following terms have the meanings given them:
118.5	(a) "Earnings" means:
118.6 118.7 118.8 118.9	(1) compensation paid or payable to an employee, independent contractor, or self-employed person for personal service whether denominated as wages, salary, commissions, bonus, payments, profit-sharing distribution, severance payment, fees, or otherwise, and includes periodic payments pursuant to a pension or retirement program;
118.10 118.11 118.12 118.13	(2) compensation paid or payable to the producer for the sale of agricultural products; livestock or livestock products; milk or milk products; or fruit or other horticultural products produced when the producer is operating a family farm, a family farm corporation, or an authorized farm corporation, as defined in section 500.24, subdivision 2; or
118.14	(3) maintenance as defined in section 518.003, subdivision 3a.
118.15 118.16	(b) "Disposable earnings" means that part of the earnings of an individual remaining after the deduction from those earnings of amounts required by law to be withheld.
118.17 118.18 118.19 118.20	(c) "Employee" means an individual who performs services subject to the right of the employer to control both what is done and how it is done., whether currently or formerly employed, who is owed earnings and who is treated by an employer as an employee for federal employment tax purposes.
118.21 118.22	(d) "Employer" means a person for whom an individual performs services as an employee who owes or will owe earnings to an employee or independent contractor.
118.23 118.24 118.25	(e) "Independent contractor" means an individual who (1) receives or is owed earnings from an employer through periodic payments, and (2) is not treated by the employer as an employee for federal employment tax purposes.
118.26 118.27	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to causes of action commenced on or after that date.
119.1	Sec. 83. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 571.922, is amended to read:
119.2	571.922 LIMITATION ON WAGE GARNISHMENT.
119.3 119.4 119.5	(a) Unless the judgment is for child support, the maximum part of the aggregate disposable earnings of an individual for any pay period subjected to garnishment may not exceed the lesser of:

119.6	(1) 25 percent of the debtor's disposable earnings, if the debtor's weekly income exceeds
119.7	120 times the greater of the hourly wage described in section 571.922, paragraph (a), clause
119.8	( <u>4</u> ); <del>or</del>
119.9	(2) 15 percent of the debtor's disposable earnings, if the debtor's weekly income exceeds
119.10	80 times, but is less than or equal to 120 times, the greater of the hourly wages described
119.11	in section 571.922, paragraph (a), clause (4); or
119.12	(3) five percent of the debtor's disposable earnings, if the debtor's weekly income exceeds
119.13	40 times, but is less than or equal to 80 times, the greater of the hourly wages described in
119.14	section 571.922, paragraph (a), clause (4).
119.15	(b) The amount by which the debtor's disposable earnings exceed the greater of:
119.16	(i) (1) 40 times the hourly wage described in section 177.24, subdivision 1, paragraph
119.17	(b), clause (1), item (iii); or
119.18	(ii) (2) 40 times the federal minimum hourly wages prescribed by section 6(a)(1) of the
119.19	Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, United States Code, title 29, section 206(a)(1). The
119.20	calculation of the amount that is subject to garnishment must be based on the hourly wage
119.21	in effect at the time the earnings are payable, times the number of work weeks in the pay
119.22	period. When a pay period consists of other than a whole number of work weeks, each day
119.23	of that pay period in excess of the number of completed work weeks shall be counted as a
119.24	fraction of a work week equal to the number of excess workdays divided by the number of
119.25	days in the normal work week.
119.26	(b) (c) If the judgment is for child support, the garnishment may not exceed:
119.27	(1) 50 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is
119.28	supporting a spouse or dependent child and the judgment is 12 weeks old or less (12 weeks
119.29	to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);
119.30	(2) 55 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is
119.31	supporting a spouse or dependent child, and the judgment is over 12 weeks old (12 weeks
120.1	to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the garnishment summons is
120.2	received);
120.3	(3) 60 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is not
120.4	supporting a spouse or dependent child and the judgment is 12 weeks old or less (12 weeks
120.5	to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);
120.6	or
120.7	(4) 65 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is not
120.8	supporting a spouse or dependent child, and the judgment is over 12 weeks old (12 weeks
120.9	to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the garnishment summons is
120.10	received)

20.11	Wage garnishments on judgments for child support are effective until the judgments are			
20.12	satisfied if the judgment creditor is a county and the employer is notified by the county			
20.13	when the judgment is satisfied.			
20.14	(e) (d) No court may make, execute, or enforce an order or any process in violation of			
20.15	this section.			
20.16	Sec. 84. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 571.924, subdivision 1, is amended to read:			
20.17	Subdivision 1. Requirement. The creditor shall serve upon the debtor, no less than ten			
20.18	days before the service of the garnishment summons, a notice that a summons may be issued.			
20.19	The notice shall: (1) be substantially in the form set out in section 571.925; (2) be served			
20.20	personally, in the manner of a summons and complaint, or by first class mail to the last			
20.21	known address of the debtor; (3) inform the debtor that a garnishment summons may be			
20.22	served on the debtor's employer after ten days, and that the debtor may, within that time,			
20.23	cause to be served on the creditor a signed statement under penalties of perjury asserting			
20.24	an entitlement to an exemption from garnishment; (4) inform the debtor of the earnings			
20.25	garnishment exemptions contained in section 550.37, subdivision 14; and (5) advise the			
20.26	debtor of the relief set forth in this chapter to which the debtor may be entitled if a creditor			
20.27	in bad faith disregards a valid claim and the fee, costs, and penalty that may be assessed			
20.28	against a debtor who in bad faith falsely claims an exemption or in bad faith takes action			
20.29	to frustrate the garnishment process; and (6) provide in type that is at least two points larger			
20.30	than the body of the notice: (i) the date upon which the notice is mailed; (ii) a mailing			
20.31	address and an email address for delivery of an exemption claim; and (iii) a telephone			
20.32	number for the creditor's attorney or the creditor.			
21.1	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to causes			
21.2	of action commenced on or after that date.			
21.3	Sec. 85. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 571.925, is amended to read:			
21.4	571.925 FORM OF NOTICE.			
21.5	The ten-day notice informing a debtor that a garnishment summons may be used to			
21.6	garnish the earnings of an individual must be substantially in the following form:			
21.7	STATE OF MINNESOTA DISTRICT COURT			
21.8	COUNTY OFJUDICIAL DISTRICT			
21.9	(Creditor)			
21.10	against			
21.11	GARNISHMENT EXEMPTION			
11 12	(Dobtor) NOTICE AND NOTICE OF			

121.13	and INTENT TO GARNISH EARNINGS
121.14	(Garnishee)
121.15 121.16 121.17 121.18 121.19 121.20	ten days or more from the date hereof. Some or all of your earnings are exempt from garnishment. If your earnings are garnished, your employer must show you how the amount
121.21 121.22 121.23 121.24	, ,
121.25	Assistance based on need includes, but is not limited to:
121.26	MFIP - Minnesota family investment program,
121.27	MFIP Diversionary Work Program,
121.28	Work participation cash benefit,
121.29	GA - general assistance,
121.30	EA - emergency assistance,
121.31	MA - medical assistance, whether received by you or by your dependent child,
121.32	EGA - emergency general assistance,
121.33	MSA - Minnesota supplemental aid,
121.34	MSA-EA - MSA emergency assistance,
122.1	Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP),
122.2	SSI - Supplemental Security Income,
122.3	MinnesotaCare, whether received by you or by your dependent child,
122.4	Medicare Part B premium payments,

122.5	Medicare Part D extra help,		
122.6	Energy or fuel assistance.		
122.7 122.8	If you wish to claim an exemption, you should fill out the appropriate form below, sign it, and send it to the creditor's attorney and the garnishee.		
122.9 122.10	You may wish to contact the attorney for the creditor in order to arrange for a settlement of the debt or contact an attorney to advise you about exemptions or other rights.		
122.11	PENALTIES		
122.12 122.13 122.14 122.15 122.16	be served on your employer. If your earnings are garnished after you claim an exemption, you may petition the court for a determination of your exemption. If the court finds that the creditor disregarded your claim of exemption in bad faith, you will be entitled to		
122.17 122.18 122.19 122.20	the court for a determination of your exemption, and if the court finds that you claimed an exemption in bad faith, you will be assessed costs and reasonable attorney's fees plus		
122.21 122.22 122.23 122.24	thus requiring the creditor to petition the court to resolve the problem, you will be liable to the creditor for costs and reasonable attorney's fees plus an amount not to exceed		
122.25	Dated:		
122.26	(Attorney for) Creditor		
122.27			
122.28	Address		
122.29			
122.30	Telephone		
122.31	DEBTOR'S EXEMPTION CLAIM NOTICE		
122.32	I hereby claim that my earnings are exempt from garnishment because:		
123.1 123.2	(1) I am presently a recipient of relief based on need. (Specify the program, case number, and the county from which relief is being received.)		

123.3			
123.4	Program Case Number	(if known)	County
123.5 123.6 123.7	(2) I am not now receiving relief based on within the last six months. (Specify the prwhich relief has been received.)		
123.8			
123.9	Program Case Number	(if known)	County
123.10 123.11	(3) I have been an inmate of a correctional the correctional institution and location.)	institution within	the last six months. (Specify
123.12			
123.13	Correctional Institution	Location	
123.14 123.15 123.16 123.17 123.18	I hereby authorize any agency that has dis institution in which I was an inmate to disclose attorney only whether or not I am or have been inmate of a correctional institution within the la copy of this form to the creditor or creditor's at	to the above-nam a recipient of reli- est six months. I h	ed creditor or the creditor's ef based on need or an
123.19			
123.20	Date	Debtor	
123.21			
123.22		Address	
123.23			
123.24		Debtor Tel	ephone Number
123.25	STATE OF MINNESOTA		DISTRICT COURT
123.26	COUNTY OF		JUDICIAL DISTRICT
123.27	(Creditor)		

123.28	(Debtor)
123.29	(Financial institution)
123.30 123.31	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to notices provided on or after that date.
124.1	Sec. 86. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 571.927, is amended to read:
124.2	571.927 PENALTY FOR RETALIATION FOR GARNISHMENT.
124.3 124.4 124.5	Subdivision 1. <b>Prohibition.</b> An employer shall not discharge or otherwise discipline an employee or independent contractor as a result of an earnings garnishment authorized by this chapter.
124.6 124.7 124.8 124.9 124.10 124.11	Subd. 2. <b>Remedy.</b> If an employer violates this section, a court may order the reinstatement of an aggrieved party who demonstrates a violation of this section, and other relief the court considers appropriate. The aggrieved party may bring a civil action within 90 days of the date of the prohibited action. If an employer-employee or employer-independent contractor relationship existed before the violation of this section, the employee or independent contractor shall recover twice the wages earnings lost as a result of this violation.
124.12 124.13	Subd. 3. <b>Nonwaiver.</b> The rights guaranteed by this section may not be waived or altered by employment contract.
124.14 124.15 124.16	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to causes of action commenced on or after that date.  Sec. 87. <b>GARNISHMENT FORMS REVISION.</b>
124.17 124.18 124.19	(a) The attorney general must review and make recommendations to revise into plain language the notices and forms found in Minnesota Statutes, sections 571.72, subdivisions 8 and 10; 571.74; 571.75, subdivision 2; 571.912; and 571.925.
124.20 124.21 124.22 124.23 124.24	format. If the attorney general determines the forms should be revised, the attorney general
124.25 124.26 124.27 124.28	(c) The recommendations made under paragraphs (a) and (b) must include proposals to (1) explain in simple terms the meaning of garnishment in any form that uses the term garnishment, and (2) prominently place on forms the name, telephone, and email address of the creditor.
124.29 124.30	(d) When developing the recommendations, the attorney general must consult with the Center for Plain Language and other plain language experts the attorney general may identify,

and must collaborate with the commissioner of commerce and affected business and consumer groups, including but not limited to:

	125.1	(1) the Minnesota Creditors' Rights Association;
	125.2	(2) the Great Lakes Credit and Collections Association;
	125.3	(3) the Minnesota Bankers' Association;
	125.4	(4) the Minnesota Credit Union Network;
	125.5	(5) BankIn Minnesota;
	125.6	(6) Mid-Minnesota Legal Aid;
	125.7	(7) the Minnesota chapter of the National Association of Consumer Advocates;
	125.8	(8) the Minnesota chapter of the National Association of Consumer Bankruptcy Attorneys;
	125.9	(9) Lutheran Social Service; and
	125.10	(10) Family Means.
	125.11 125.12 <b>th</b>	(e) For the purposes of this section, "plain language" means communication in which e wording, structure, and design are so clear that the intended reader can easily: (1) find
	125.13 w	hat the reader needs; (2) understand what the reader needs; and (3) use what the reader
		nds to meet the reader's needs.
	54.1	Sec. 44. REPEALER.
	54.2 54.3 <b>5</b> 5	(a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 45.014; 239.791, subdivision 3; 559.201; and 59.202, are repealed.
	54.4	(b) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 82B.25, is repealed.
	54.5	(c) Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.58, is repealed.
	54.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (b) is effective January 1, 2026.
118.19 Sec. 59. <u>REPEALER.</u>	125.25	Sec. 89. REPEALER.
(a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 325G.25, subdivision 1a; and 332.3351, are		
118.21 repealed.		
40.00 (A) NO. 11. (A) A. (A) A	125.26	(a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.08, subdivision 3, is repealed.
(b) Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.71, subdivision 8, is repealed.	125.27	(b) Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.71, subdivision 8, is repealed.
118.23 <b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> Paragraph (b) is effective January 1, 2025.	125.28	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> Paragraph (b) is effective January 1, 2025.

118.24	Sec. 60. <b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b>
118.25	(a) Sections 12 to 25 are effective August 1, 2024.
118.26	(b) Sections 42, 43, and 45 to 52 are effective August 1, 2025, and apply to contracts
118 27	entered into modified or renewed on or after that date