30.23	ARTICLE 4
30.24	BOARD OF DENTISTRY
30.25	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 150A.06, subdivision 1c, is amended to read:
30.26 30.27 30.28	Subd. 1c. Specialty dentists. (a) The board may grant one or more specialty licenses in the specialty areas of dentistry that are recognized by the Commission on Dental Accreditation.
30.29	(b) An applicant for a specialty license shall:
31.1 31.2 31.3	(1) have successfully completed a postdoctoral specialty program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation, or have announced a limitation of practice before 1967;
31.4 31.5 31.6 31.7	(2) have been certified by a specialty board approved by the Minnesota Board of Dentistry, or provide evidence of having passed a clinical examination for licensure required for practice in any state or Canadian province, or in the case of oral and maxillofacial surgeons only, have a Minnesota medical license in good standing;
31.8 31.9 31.10	(3) have been in active practice or a postdoctoral specialty education program or United States government service at least 2,000 hours in the 36 months prior to applying for a specialty license;
31.11 31.12 31.13 31.14	(4) if requested by the board, be interviewed by a committee of the board, which may include the assistance of specialists in the evaluation process, and satisfactorily respond to questions designed to determine the applicant's knowledge of dental subjects and ability to practice;
31.15 31.16 31.17 31.18 31.19	(5) if requested by the board, present complete records on a sample of patients treated by the applicant. The sample must be drawn from patients treated by the applicant during the 36 months preceding the date of application. The number of records shall be established by the board. The records shall be reasonably representative of the treatment typically provided by the applicant for each specialty area;
31.20 31.21	(6) at board discretion, pass a board-approved English proficiency test if English is not the applicant's primary language;
31.22	(7) pass all components of the National Board Dental Examinations;
31.23	(8) pass the Minnesota Board of Dentistry jurisprudence examination;
31.24	(9) abide by professional ethical conduct requirements; and
31.25	(10) meet all other requirements prescribed by the Board of Dentistry.
31.26	(c) The application must include:
31.27	(1) a completed application furnished by the board;

31.14	ARTICLE 4
31.15	BOARD OF DENTISTRY
31.16	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 150A.06, subdivision 1c, is amended to read:
31.17 31.18 31.19	Subd. 1c. Specialty dentists. (a) The board may grant one or more specialty licenses in the specialty areas of dentistry that are recognized by the Commission on Dental Accreditation.
31.20	(b) An applicant for a specialty license shall:
31.21 31.22 31.23	(1) have successfully completed a postdoctoral specialty program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation, or have announced a limitation of practice before 1967;
31.24 31.25 31.26 31.27	(2) have been certified by a specialty board approved by the Minnesota Board of Dentistry, or provide evidence of having passed a clinical examination for licensure required for practice in any state or Canadian province, or in the case of oral and maxillofacial surgeons only, have a Minnesota medical license in good standing;
31.28 31.29 31.30	(3) have been in active practice or a postdoctoral specialty education program or United States government service at least 2,000 hours in the 36 months prior to applying for a specialty license;
32.1 32.2 32.3 32.4	(4) if requested by the board, be interviewed by a committee of the board, which may include the assistance of specialists in the evaluation process, and satisfactorily respond to questions designed to determine the applicant's knowledge of dental subjects and ability to practice;
32.5 32.6 32.7 32.8 32.9	(5) if requested by the board, present complete records on a sample of patients treated by the applicant. The sample must be drawn from patients treated by the applicant during the 36 months preceding the date of application. The number of records shall be established by the board. The records shall be reasonably representative of the treatment typically provided by the applicant for each specialty area;
32.10 32.11	(6) at board discretion, pass a board-approved English proficiency test if English is not the applicant's primary language;

(7) pass all components of the National Board Dental Examinations;

(8) pass the Minnesota Board of Dentistry jurisprudence examination;

(10) meet all other requirements prescribed by the Board of Dentistry.

(9) abide by professional ethical conduct requirements; and

(1) a completed application furnished by the board;

(c) The application must include:

Senate Language UEH4247-1

32.11

32.12

32.13

32.14

32.15

32.16

32.17

31.28	(2) a nonrefundable fee; and
31.29	(3) a copy of the applicant's government-issued photo identification card.
32.1 32.2 32.3	(d) A specialty dentist holding one or more specialty licenses is limited to practicing in the dentist's designated specialty area or areas. The scope of practice must be defined by each national specialty board recognized by the Commission on Dental Accreditation.
32.4 32.5 32.6 32.7	(e) A specialty dentist holding a general dental license is limited to practicing in the dentist's designated specialty area or areas if the dentist has announced a limitation of practice. The scope of practice must be defined by each national specialty board recognized by the Commission on Dental Accreditation.
32.8 32.9 32.10	(f) (e) All specialty dentists who have fulfilled the specialty dentist requirements and who intend to limit their practice to a particular specialty area or areas may apply for one or more specialty licenses.
32.11	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 150A.06, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
32.12 32.13 32.14 32.15 32.16	Subd. 8. Licensure by credentials; dental assistant. (a) Any dental assistant may, upon application and payment of a fee established by the board, apply for licensure based on an evaluation of the applicant's education, experience, and performance record in lieu of completing a board-approved dental assisting program for expanded functions as defined in rule, and may be interviewed by the board to determine if the applicant:
32.17 32.18 32.19	(1) has graduated from an accredited dental assisting program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation and or is currently certified by the Dental Assisting National Board;
32.20 32.21 32.22 32.23	(2) is not subject to any pending or final disciplinary action in another state or Canadian province, or if not currently certified or registered, previously had a certification or registration in another state or Canadian province in good standing that was not subject to any final or pending disciplinary action at the time of surrender;
32.24	(3) is of good moral character and abides by professional ethical conduct requirements;
32.25 32.26	(4) at board discretion, has passed a board-approved English proficiency test if English is not the applicant's primary language; and
32.27 32.28	(5) has met all expanded functions curriculum equivalency requirements of a Minnesota board-approved dental assisting program.
32.29 32.30	(b) The board, at its discretion, may waive specific licensure requirements in paragraph (a).
33.1 33.2	(c) An applicant who fulfills the conditions of this subdivision and demonstrates the minimum knowledge in dental subjects required for licensure under subdivision 2a must

be licensed to practice the applicant's profession.

32.18	(2) a nonrefundable fee; and
32.19	(3) a copy of the applicant's government-issued photo identification card.
32.20 32.21 32.22	(d) A specialty dentist holding one or more specialty licenses is limited to practicing in the dentist's designated specialty area or areas. The scope of practice must be defined by each national specialty board recognized by the Commission on Dental Accreditation.
32.23 32.24 32.25 32.26	(e) A specialty dentist holding a general dental license is limited to practicing in the dentist's designated specialty area or areas if the dentist has announced a limitation of practice. The scope of practice must be defined by each national specialty board recognized by the Commission on Dental Accreditation.
32.27 32.28 32.29	(f) (e) All specialty dentists who have fulfilled the specialty dentist requirements and who intend to limit their practice to a particular specialty area or areas may apply for one or more specialty licenses.
33.1	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 150A.06, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
33.2 33.3 33.4 33.5 33.6	Subd. 8. Licensure by credentials; dental assistant. (a) Any dental assistant may, upon application and payment of a fee established by the board, apply for licensure based on an evaluation of the applicant's education, experience, and performance record in lieu of completing a board-approved dental assisting program for expanded functions as defined in rule, and may be interviewed by the board to determine if the applicant:
33.7 33.8 33.9	(1) has graduated from an accredited dental assisting program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation and or is currently certified by the Dental Assisting National Board;
33.10 33.11 33.12 33.13	(2) is not subject to any pending or final disciplinary action in another state or Canadian province, or if not currently certified or registered, previously had a certification or registration in another state or Canadian province in good standing that was not subject to any final or pending disciplinary action at the time of surrender;
33.14	(3) is of good moral character and abides by professional ethical conduct requirements;
33.15 33.16	(4) at board discretion, has passed a board-approved English proficiency test if English is not the applicant's primary language; and
33.17 33.18	(5) has met all expanded functions curriculum equivalency requirements of a Minnesota board-approved dental assisting program.
33.19 33.20	(b) The board, at its discretion, may waive specific licensure requirements in paragraph (a).
33.21 33.22	(c) An applicant who fulfills the conditions of this subdivision and demonstrates the minimum knowledge in dental subjects required for licensure under subdivision 2a must

be licensed to practice the applicant's profession.

Senate Language UEH4247-1

Health Occupations Scope -- Art. 4

House Language H4247-2

33.4	(d) If the applicant does not demonstrate the minimum knowledge in dental subjects
33.5	required for licensure under subdivision 2a, the application must be denied. If licensure is
33.6	denied, the board may notify the applicant of any specific remedy that the applicant could
33.7	take which, when passed, would qualify the applicant for licensure. A denial does not
33.8	prohibit the applicant from applying for licensure under subdivision 2a.

33.9 (e) A candidate whose application has been denied may appeal the decision to the board according to subdivision 4a.

May 08, 2024 09:15 AM

Senate Language UEH4247-1

(d) If the applicant does not demonstrate the minimum knowledge in dental subjects
required for licensure under subdivision 2a, the application must be denied. If licensure is
denied, the board may notify the applicant of any specific remedy that the applicant could
take which, when passed, would qualify the applicant for licensure. A denial does not
prohibit the applicant from applying for licensure under subdivision 2a.

33.29 (e) A candidate whose application has been denied may appeal the decision to the board according to subdivision 4a.