
2. DETERMINING PRESUMPTIVE SENTENCES​

The presumptive sentence for any offender convicted of a felony committed on or after May​
1, 1980, is determined by the Sentencing Guidelines in effect on the date of the conviction offense,​
except that:​

(1) If multiple offenses are an element of the conviction offense, the date of the conviction​
offense must be determined by the factfinder.​

(2) If offenses have been aggregated under one of the following statutes, or as otherwise​
permitted by statute, the date of the earliest offense should be used as the date of the conviction​
offense:​

Offense Title​Statute Number​

Gambling Regulations​349.2127, subds. 2 and 6​

Sex Trafficking​609.322, subd. 1c​

Theft​609.52, subd. 3(5)​

Identity Theft​609.527, subd. 7​

Issuance of Dishonored Checks​609.535, subd. 2a(b)​

Rustling and Livestock Theft​609.551, subd. 3​

Criminal Damage to Property​609.595​

Check Forgery​609.631, subd. 4​

Counterfeiting Currency​609.632, subd. 5​

Lawful Gambling Fraud​609.763, subd. 3​

Financial Transaction Card Fraud​609.821, subd. 3​

Commercial Bribery​609.86, subd. 3(2)​

Telecommunications Fraud​609.893, subd. 3​

Counterfeited Intellectual Property​609.895, subd. 3​

The presumptive sentence is found in the cell of the appropriate Grid located at the intersection​
of the criminal history score and the severity level. The Grids represent the two dimensions most​
important in sentencing decisions.​

A. Offense Severity​

1. General Rule. The applicable offense severity level is determined by the conviction offense,​
not the charging offense. The severity level for each felony offense is found in section 5.A, Offense​
Severity Reference Table.​

2. Theft and Damage to Property; Foreseeable Risk of Bodily Harm. For an offender sentenced​
for theft under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.52, subdivision 3a, the severity level ranking is​
elevated by one severity level from that listed on the Offense Severity Reference Table if the offense​
creates a foreseeable risk of bodily harm to another and:​

a. the violation involves a monetary value over $1,000; or​
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b. the violation involves a monetary value between $500 and $1,000, and the offender has​
been convicted within the preceding five years for an offense under Minnesota Statutes, section​
609.52, subdivision 3.​

3. First-Degree Murder. A severity level has not been assigned to first-degree murder because​
by law the punishment is a mandatory life sentence.​

4. Unranked Offenses. Some offenses are designated as unranked offenses. When the court​
sentences an unranked offense, the court must assign an appropriate severity level for the offense​
and specify on the record why that particular level was assigned. The court may consider, but is​
not limited to, the following factors:​

a. the gravity of the specific conduct underlying the unranked offense;​

b. the severity level assigned to any ranked offense with elements that are similar to the​
elements of the unranked offense;​

c. the conduct of and severity level assigned to other offenders for the same unranked​
offense; and​

d. the severity level assigned to other offenders engaged in similar conduct.​

If an offense is omitted from the Offense Severity Reference Table, the offense is considered​
unranked.​

5. Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers. When the current offense includes​
a sentence modifier, such as attempt or conspiracy, the severity level is found by determining the​
severity level for the underlying offense. Determining the presumptive sentence for these offenses​
is described in section 2.G.​

Comment​

2.A.01. The date of the offense is important because the offender's age at the time of the offense​
will determine whether the juvenile record is considered, and the date of the offense might determine​
whether a custody status point should be given and the order of sentencing with multiple convictions.​

2.A.02. If multiple offenses are an element of the offense and the determination of which​
presumptive sentence applies depends on the offense date, the date of the conviction offense must​
be determined by the factfinder. See State v. DeRosier, 719 N.W.2d 900 (Minn. 2006) (where​
defendant was charged with first-degree criminal sexual conduct occurring from June through​
August of 2000 and the presumptive sentence increased on August 1, 2000, from 86 to 144 months,​
the court erred when it made a finding without a jury that the offense occurred after the effective​
date of the increased presumptive sentence).​

2.A.03. If the offense occurred on or before April 30, 1980, the Sentencing Guidelines should​
not be used to sentence the case.​

2.A.04. An unranked offense typically has one or more of the following characteristics: (1) the​
offense is rarely prosecuted; (2) the offense covers a wide range of underlying conduct; or (3) the​
offense is new and the severity of a typical offense cannot yet be determined. If a significant number​
of future convictions are obtained under one or more of the unranked offenses, the Commission​
will reexamine the ranking of these offenses and assign an appropriate severity level for a typical​
offense. Practitioners can contact the Commission for information on severity levels assigned to​
unranked offenses.​
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2.A.05. For Theft of a Motor Vehicle, to be ranked at Severity Level 4, the offender must be​
convicted under the general theft statute, Minnesota Statutes, section 609.52, subdivision 2,​
paragraph (a), clause (1), and the offense must involve theft of a motor vehicle. It is the Commission's​
intent that any conviction involving the permanent theft of a motor vehicle be ranked at Severity​
Level 4, regardless of the value of the motor vehicle.​

2.A.06. When a sentencing worksheet is completed under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.115,​
subdivision 2a, for first-degree murder, Severity Level 12 should be used.​

2.A.07. When an offender is convicted of two or more felony offenses arising from a single​
behavioral incident, Minnesota Statutes, section 609.035, "contemplates that a defendant will be​
punished for the 'most serious' of the offenses." State v. Kebaso, 713 N.W.2d 317, 322 (Minn. 2006).​
When this occurs, the applicable severity level to use in determining the presumptive sentence is​
the severity level assigned to the offense being sentenced, which is ordinarily the most serious​
offense.​

B. Criminal History​

The horizontal axis on the Sentencing Guidelines Grids is the criminal history score. An​
offender's criminal history score is the sum of points from eligible:​

(1) prior felonies;​

(2) custody status at the time of the offense;​

(3) prior misdemeanors and gross misdemeanors; and​

(4) prior juvenile adjudications.​

This section details the requirements for calculating the criminal history points in each of these​
areas. This section also details the requirements for calculating criminal history points for convictions​
from jurisdictions other than Minnesota and convictions for enhanced felonies.​

Comment​

2.B.01. The Guidelines reduce the emphasis given to criminal history in sentencing decisions.​
Under past judicial practice, criminal history was the primary factor in dispositional decisions.​
Under the Guidelines, the conviction offense is the primary factor, and criminal history is a​
secondary factor in dispositional decisions. Prior to enactment of the Guidelines, there were no​
uniform standards regarding what should be included in an offender's criminal history, no weighting​
format for different types of offenses, and no systematic process to check the accuracy of the​
information on criminal history.​

2.B.02. The Guidelines provide uniform standards for the inclusion and weighting of criminal​
history information. The sentencing hearing provides a process to assure the accuracy of the​
information in individual cases.​

2.B.03. Minnesota Statutes, section 609A.03, subdivision 7a, paragraph (b), provides, in part:​

Notwithstanding the issuance of an expungement order:​

(1) except as provided in clause (2), an expunged record may be opened, used, or exchanged​
between criminal justice agencies without a court order for the purposes of initiating, furthering,​
or completing a criminal investigation or prosecution or for sentencing purposes or providing​
probation or other correction services;​
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(2) when a criminal justice agency seeks access to a record that was sealed under Minnesota​
Statutes, section 609A.02, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (1), after an acquittal or a court​
order dismissing for lack of probable cause, for purposes of a criminal investigation, prosecution,​
or sentencing, the requesting agency must obtain an ex parte court order after stating a good-faith​
basis to believe that opening the record may lead to relevant information.​

1. Prior Felonies. Assign a particular weight, as set forth in paragraphs a. and b., to each extended​
jurisdiction juvenile (EJJ) conviction and each felony conviction, provided that a felony sentence​
was stayed or imposed before the current sentencing or a stay of imposition of sentence was given​
before the current sentencing.​

The severity level ranking in effect at the time the current offense was committed determines​
the weight assigned to the prior offense.​

a. Current Offense on Standard Grid or Drug Offender Grid. If the current offense is not​
on the Sex Offender Grid, determine the weight assigned to each prior felony sentence according​
to its severity level, as follows:​

Current Offense on Standard Grid or Drug Offender Grid​

POINTS​SEVERITY LEVEL​

1/2​1-2, D1-D2​

1​3-5, D3-D5​

1 1/2​6-8, D6-D7​

2​9-11, D8-D9​

2​Murder 1st Degree​

2​A​

1 1/2​B-E​

1​F-G​

1/2​H​

1/2 (for first offense);​
1 (for subsequent offenses)​

I​

b. Current Offense on Sex Offender Grid. If the current offense is on the Sex Offender Grid,​
determine the weight assigned to each prior felony sentence according to its severity level, as​
follows:​

Current Offense on Sex Offender Grid​

POINTS​SEVERITY LEVEL​

1/2​1-2, D1-D2​

1​3-5, D3-D5​

1 1/2​6-8, D6-D7​

2​9-11, D8-D9​
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2​Murder 1st Degree​

3​A​

2​B-C​

1 1/2​D-E​

1​F-H​

1/2 (for first offense);​
1 (for subsequent offenses)​

I​

c. Felony Decay Factor. In computing the criminal history score, a prior felony sentence or​
stay of imposition following a felony conviction must not be used if all of the following, to the​
extent applicable, occurred before the date of the current offense:​

(1) the prior felony sentence or stay of imposition expired or was discharged;​

(2) a period of fifteen years elapsed after the date of the initial sentence following the​
prior conviction; and​

(3) if the prior felony sentence was executed, a period of fifteen years elapsed after the​
date of expiration of the sentence.​

d. Assigning Felony Weights - Previous Court Appearances Resulting in Multiple Sentences.​
Following are exceptions to including prior felonies in criminal history when multiple felony​
sentences were imposed in a previous court appearance:​

(1) Single Course of Conduct / Multiple Sentences. When multiple sentences for a single​
course of conduct were imposed under Minnesota Statutes, section 152.137, 609.585, or 609.251,​
include in criminal history only the weight from the offense at the highest severity level.​

(2) Single Course of Conduct / Multiple Victims. When multiple offenses arising from​
a single course of conduct involving multiple victims were sentenced, include in criminal history​
only the weights from the two offenses at the highest severity levels.​

e. Assigning Felony Weights - Current Multiple Sentences. Multiple offenses sentenced at​
the same time before the same court must be sentenced in the order in which they occurred. As​
each offense is sentenced, include it in the criminal history on the next offense to be sentenced (also​
known as "Hernandizing") except as follows:​

(1) Single Course of Conduct / Multiple Sentences. When multiple current convictions​
arise from a single course of conduct and multiple sentences are imposed on the same day under​
Minnesota Statutes, section 152.137, 609.585, or 609.251, the conviction and sentence for the​
"earlier" offense does not increase the criminal history score for the "later" offense.​

(2) Single Course of Conduct / Multiple Victims. When multiple current convictions​
arise out of a single course of conduct in which there were multiple victims, weights are given only​
to the two offenses at the highest severity levels.​

f. Prior Offense with Attempt, Conspiracy, or Other Sentence Modifier. When a prior offense​
included a sentence modifier, such as attempt, conspiracy, or other sentence modifier as described​
in section 2.G, the prior conviction must be given the same felony weight as a completed offense.​
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g. Prior Offenses with No Conviction. Assign no weight to an offense for which a judgment​
of guilty has not been entered before the current sentencing, such as a stay of adjudication or​
continuance for dismissal.​

h. Non-Felony Sentence. When a prior felony conviction resulted in a non-felony sentence​
(misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor), the conviction must be counted in the criminal history score​
as a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor conviction as indicated in section 2.B.3.​

i. Total Felony Points. The felony point total is the sum of the felony weights. If the sum​
of the weights results in a partial point, the point value must be rounded down to the nearest whole​
number.​

Comment​

2.B.101. The basic rule for computing the number of prior felony points in the criminal history​
score is that the offender is assigned a particular weight for every felony conviction for which a​
felony sentence was stayed or imposed before the current sentencing or for which a stay of imposition​
of sentence was given for a felony level offense, no matter what period of probation is pronounced,​
before the current sentencing.​

2.B.102. No partial points are given -- thus, an offender with less than a full point is not given​
that point. For example, an offender with a total weight of 2 1/2 would have 2 felony points.​

2.B.103.  The Commission determined that it was important to establish a weighting scheme​
for prior felony sentences to assure a greater degree of proportionality in the current sentencing.​
Offenders who have a history of serious felonies are considered more culpable than those offenders​
whose prior felonies consist primarily of low severity, nonviolent offenses.​

2.B.104.  The Commission recognized that determining the severity level of the prior felonies​
may be difficult in some instances. For that reason, the severity level of the prior offense is based​
on the severity level in effect when the offender commits the current offense.​

2.B.105.  If an offense has been repealed, but the elements of that offense have been incorporated​
into another felony statute, determine the appropriate severity level based on the severity level​
ranking for the current felony offense containing those similar elements. For example, in 2010, the​
Legislature recodified violations of domestic abuse no contact orders from Minnesota Statutes,​
section 518B.01, subdivision 22, paragraph (d), into Minnesota Statutes, section 629.75, subdivision​
2, paragraph (d). This policy also applies to offenses that are currently assigned a severity level​
ranking, but were previously unranked and excluded from the Offense Severity Reference Table.​
For example, dissemination of child pornography under Minnesota Statutes, section 617.247,​
subdivision 3, paragraph (a), was unranked until August 1, 2006. It is currently ranked at Severity​
Level E, and receives a weight of 1-1/2 points.​

2.B.106. If the prior offense has been removed from the current Severity Offense Reference​
Table in response to a legislative action that repealed the prior offense and created separate offenses​
with new or removed elements, use the current severity level for the newly created offense that has​
been added to Severity Offense Reference Table and encompasses the behavior necessarily proven​
by the prior conviction. It was contemplated that the sentencing court, in its discretion, should​
make the final determination as to the weight accorded prior felony sentences.​

2.B.107.  In cases of multiple offenses occurring in a single course of conduct in which state​
law prohibits the offender from being sentenced on more than one offense, only the offense at the​
highest severity level should be considered. The phrase "before the current sentencing" means that​
in order for prior convictions to be used in computing the criminal history score, the felony sentence​
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for the prior offense must have been stayed or imposed before sentencing for the current offense.​
When multiple current offenses are sentenced on the same day before the same court, sentencing​
must occur in the order in which the offenses occurred. The dates of the offenses must be determined​
according to the procedures in section 2.​

2.B.108. The Commission established policies to deal with several specific situations that arise​
under Minnesota law: a conviction under Minnesota Statutes, section 152.137, under which offenders​
convicted of methamphetamine-related crimes involving children and vulnerable adults are subject​
to conviction and sentence for other crimes resulting from the same criminal behavior; Minnesota​
Statutes, section 609.585, under which offenders committing another felony offense during the​
course of a burglary could be convicted of and sentenced for both the burglary and the other felony;​
and a conviction under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.251, under which offenders who commit​
another felony during the course of a kidnapping can be convicted of and sentenced for both offenses.​
For purposes of computing criminal history, the Commission decided that consideration should​
only be given to the most severe offense when there are prior multiple sentences under provisions​
of Minnesota Statutes, section 152.137, 609.585, or 609.251. This was done to prevent inequities​
due to past variability in prosecutorial and sentencing practices with respect to these statutes, to​
prevent systematic manipulation of these statutes in the future, and to provide a uniform and​
equitable method of computing criminal history scores for all cases of multiple convictions arising​
from a single course of conduct, when single victims are involved.​

When multiple current convictions arise from a single course of conduct and multiple sentences​
are imposed on the same day under Minnesota Statutes, section 152.137, 609.585, or 609.251, the​
conviction and sentence for the "earlier" offense should not increase the criminal history score for​
the "later" offense.​

2.B.109.  The Commission has carefully considered the application of the Hernandez method​
to sentencing in provisions of Minnesota law other than Minnesota Statutes, sections 152.137,​
609.585, and 609.251. The Commission's decision not to amend the Sentencing Guidelines is​
deliberate. See, State v. Williams, 771 N.W.2d 514 (Minn. 2009).​

2.B.110. To limit the impact of past variability in prosecutorial discretion, the Commission​
decided that for prior multiple felony sentences arising out of a single course of conduct in which​
there were multiple victims, consideration should be given only for the two most severe offenses.​
For example, if an offender had robbed a crowded liquor store, he could be convicted of and​
sentenced for the robbery, as well as one count of assault for every person in the store at the time​
of the offense. Past variability in prosecutorial charging and negotiating practices could create​
substantial variance in the number of felony sentences arising from comparable criminal behavior.​
To prevent this past disparity from entering into the computation of criminal histories, and to​
prevent manipulation of the system in the future, the Commission limited consideration to the two​
most severe offenses in such situations. This still allows differentiation between those getting multiple​
sentences in such situations from those getting single sentences, but it prevents the perpetuation of​
gross disparities from the past.​

This limit in calculating criminal history when there are multiple felony sentences arising out of a​
single course of conduct with multiple victims also applies when such sentences are imposed on​
the same day.​

2.B.111. When an offender was convicted of a felony but was given a misdemeanor or gross​
misdemeanor sentence, the offense will be counted as a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor for​
purposes of computing the criminal history score. The Commission also recognized that where​
such sentences were given, it was the opinion of the court that the offending behavior did not merit​
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felonious punishment, or other circumstances existed that justified a limit on the severity of the​
sanction.​

2.B.112. The decision to stay execution of sentence rather than to stay imposition of sentence​
as a means to a probationary term following a felony conviction is discretionary with the court.​
Considerable disparity appears to exist in the use of these options. In the case of two similar​
offenders it is not uncommon for one to receive a stay of execution and another to receive the benefit​
of a stay of imposition. There may also be geographical disparities. As a result of the disparity that​
exists in the use of stays of imposition, the Commission determined to treat stays of execution and​
stays of imposition the same with respect to criminal history point accrual. Similar treatment has​
the additional advantage of a simplified procedure for computing criminal history scores.​

2.B.113. The Commission established a "decay factor" for the consideration of prior felony​
offenses in computing criminal history scores. The Commission decided it was important to consider​
not just the total number of felony sentences and stays of imposition, but also the age of the sentences​
and stays of imposition. The Commission decided that the presence of old felony sentences and​
stays of imposition should not be considered in computing criminal history scores after a significant​
period of time has elapsed. A prior felony sentence or stay of imposition will not be counted in​
criminal history score computation if fifteen years has elapsed from the prior sentencing date (or​
from the date the prison sentence, if executed, expired) to the date of the current offense, provided​
the offender was then no longer on supervision for the prior sentence. If the offender received a​
stay of imposition for the prior offense, that sentencing date marks "the date of the initial sentence,"​
even if a stay of execution subsequently occurred as the result of, e.g., a probation violation. While​
this procedure does not include a measure of the offender's subsequent criminality, it has the​
overriding advantage of accurate and simple application, while also ensuring that prison offenses​
do not decay before probation offenses.​

2.B.114. An offense upon which a judgment of guilty has not been entered before the current​
sentencing (e.g., under Minnesota Statutes, section 152.18, subdivision 1), must not be assigned​
any weight in computing the criminal history score.​

2.B.115. Under Minnesota Statutes, section 260B.130, a child alleged to have committed a​
felony offense under certain circumstances may be prosecuted as an extended jurisdiction juvenile​
(EJJ). If the prosecution results in a guilty plea or finding of guilt and the court imposes a disposition​
according to Minnesota Statutes, section 260B.130, subdivision 4, paragraph (a), the extended​
jurisdiction juvenile conviction must be treated the same as an adult felony sentence for purposes​
of calculating the prior felony record component of the criminal history score. All of the policies​
under section 2.B.1, and corresponding commentary apply to EJJ convictions. If the EJJ conviction​
resulted in execution of the stayed adult prison sentence, the offense can only be counted once in​
the criminal history.​

2.B.116. Legal authorities use the terms "single course of conduct" and "single behavioral​
incident" interchangeably. In the Guidelines, this is referred to as "single course of conduct."​

2. Custody Status at the Time of the Offense.​

a. One or One-Half Custody Status Point. Assign one custody status point when the​
conditions in paragraphs (1), (2), and (3)(ii) or (iii) are met. In all other cases when the conditions​
in paragraphs (1) through (3) are met, assign one-half custody status point:​

(1) The offender was under one of the following custody statuses at the time the current​
offense was committed:​

(i) probation;​
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(ii) parole;​

(iii) supervised release;​

(iv) conditional release following release from an executed prison sentence (see​
conditional release terms listed in section 2.E.3);​

(v) release pending sentencing;​

(vi) confinement in a jail, workhouse, or prison pending or after sentencing; or​

(vii) escape from confinement following an executed sentence.​

(2) The offender was under one of the custody statuses in paragraph (1) after entry of​
a guilty plea, guilty verdict, or conviction.​

(3) The offender was under one of the custody statuses in paragraph (1) for one of the​
following:​

(i) a felony currently assigned a severity level ranking, on the Offense Severity​
Reference Table, of 1 or 2 on the Standard Grid or D1 or D2 on the Drug Offender Grid, a felony​
from a jurisdiction other than Minnesota equivalent to an offense currently ranked at one for those​
severity levels, or an extended jurisdiction juvenile (EJJ) conviction for an offense currently ranked​
at one of those severity levels;​

(ii) any other felony;​

(iii) any other EJJ conviction;​

(iv) a non-traffic gross misdemeanor;​

(v) gross misdemeanor driving while impaired, refusal to submit to a chemical test,​
or reckless driving; or​

(vi) a targeted misdemeanor.​

(4) Assigning Points to Offenses Committed Over Time. Assign one or one-half custody​
status point when the offender meets the conditions in paragraphs (1) through (3) and the offender​
was placed under one of the custody statuses in paragraph (1) at any point in time during which​
the offense occurred when:​

(i) multiple offenses are an element of the conviction offense; or​

(ii) the conviction offense is an aggregated offense.​

b. Two Custody Status Points. Assign two custody status points if:​

(1) the current conviction offense is an offense on the Sex Offender Grid other than​
Failure to Register as a Predatory Offender (Minnesota Statutes, section 243.166); and​

(2) the offender qualifies for one custody status point, as described in section a, above,​
for an offense currently found on the Sex Offender Grid other than Failure to Register as a Predatory​
Offender (Minnesota Statutes, section 243.166).​

c. Additional Duration. An additional three months must be added to the duration of the​
appropriate cell time, which then becomes the presumptive duration, when:​

(1) at least one-half custody status point is assigned; and​
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(2) the offender's total Criminal History Score exceeds the maximum score on the​
applicable Grid (i.e., 7 or more).​

Three months must also be added to the lower and upper end of the range provided in the​
appropriate cell on the applicable Grid.​

If the current conviction is an attempt, conspiracy, or other offense with a sentence modifier​
that reduces the presumptive sentence, the three months must be added to the cell duration before​
the duration is reduced as outlined in section 2.G. The presumptive duration, however, cannot be​
less than one year.​

d. No Custody Status Points Assigned. The offender must not be assigned custody status​
points when:​

(1) The offender was committed for treatment or examination under Minn. R. Crim. P.​
20.​

(2) The offender was on juvenile custody status other than for an extended jurisdiction​
juvenile (EJJ) conviction, at the time the adult felony was committed.​

(3) The offender was on custody status for a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor DWI​
committed when the offender was 16 or 17 years old, and the DWI was processed in adult court​
under Minnesota Statutes, section 260B.225, subdivisions 3 and 8.​

e. Waiver. Subject to the limitations in paragraph (4) below, the court, on its own motion​
or on the motion of a party, may, but is not required to, waive assignment of a custody status point​
or half-point pursuant to section 2.B.2, provided the offender establishes that granting a waiver is​
consistent with public safety. Specifically, the court has the discretion, but is not required, to grant​
a waiver if the offender establishes that waiver is consistent with public safety and promotes the​
traditional purposes of sentencing which are retribution, incapacitation, deterrence, restitution, and​
rehabilitation. See Minnesota Statutes, section 244.09. In considering rehabilitation, the court may​
examine the following:​

(1) Whether the offender has consistently utilized available probation services, such as​
drug, alcohol, and psychological treatment services, and has otherwise been in substantial compliance​
with the conditions of probation, parole, or conditional or supervised release, apart from the​
commission of the current offense, for the past twelve months;​

(2) Whether the current offense represents an escalation of criminal activity; and​

(3) Whether the offender has made any progress toward rehabilitation and reentry into​
society, such as additional education and/or vocational training.​

(4) The court may not, however, waive assignment of a custody status point or half-​
point if either the current offense or a custody status offense is any of the following offenses,​
including an equivalent felony offense from a jurisdiction other than Minnesota. As used within​
this paragraph, "custody status offense" means a prior offense resulting in a custody status that​
caused the offender to qualify for a custody status point as described in section a, above.​

(i) an offense currently assigned a severity level ranking, on the Offense Severity​
Reference Table, of 8, 9, 10, or 11 on the Standard Grid;​

(ii) an offense on the Sex Offender Grid other than Failure to Register as a Predatory​
Offender (Minnesota Statutes, section 243.166);​
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(iii) an offense currently assigned a severity level ranking, on the Offense Severity​
Reference Table, of D8 or D9 on the Drug Offender Grid;​

(iv) an offense listed in section 8, Severe Violent Offense List;​

(v) Fleeing Peace Officer (Great Bodily Harm) (Minnesota Statutes, section 609.487,​
subdivision 4, paragraph (b)); or​

(vi) an attempt or conspiracy to commit one of these offenses.​

Comment​

2.B.201. The basic rule assigns offenders one or one-half point if they were under some form​
of eligible criminal justice custody status when they committed the offense for which they are now​
being sentenced.​

2.B.202. The Commission intended to avoid criminal history scores in which a prior offense's​
custody status point outweighed the criminal history of the prior offense itself. Accordingly, when​
the criminal history weight of a prior felony is one-half point (but excluding severity level H or I​
offenses; see generally section 2.B.1) or the prior gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor contributes​
one or two misdemeanor units (see section 2.B.3), the custody status from that prior offense results​
in one-half, rather than one, custody status point.​

2.B.203. In determining whether to grant a waiver in a particular case, the primary consideration​
is public safety. In this context, public safety means protecting the public from crime. The court​
should consider the values of retribution, incapacitation, deterrence, restitution, and rehabilitation.​
In doing so, the court should apply a balanced approach in which all five values are examined and​
applied. For rehabilitation, the court may also consider the three factors listed in section 2.B.2.e​
in order to examine the whole person. When custody status is waived, the presumptive sentence​
will be calculated without the addition of the waived custody status point, or half-point, in the​
criminal history score. Thus, provided the processes of section 2.B.2.e are followed, granting a​
waiver of custody status for the current offense does not, in itself, constitute a departure from the​
Sentencing Guidelines.​

2.B.204. Commitments under Minn. R. Crim. P. 20 and juvenile custody status are not included​
because, in those situations, there has been no conviction. However, a custody point will be assigned​
if the offender committed the current offense while under some form of custody following an extended​
jurisdiction juvenile (EJJ) conviction.​

2.B.205. The custodial statuses covered by this policy are those occurring after conviction of​
a felony, non-traffic gross misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor driving while impaired or refusal to​
submit to a chemical test, gross misdemeanor reckless driving, or misdemeanor on the targeted​
misdemeanor list provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 299C.10, subdivision 1, paragraph (e).​
Thus, an offender who commits a new felony while on pre-trial diversion or pre-trial release on​
another charge does not get a custody status point. Likewise, offenders serving a misdemeanor​
sentence for an offense not on the targeted misdemeanor list provided in Minnesota Statutes, section​
299C.10, subdivision 1, paragraph (e), do not receive a custody status point, even if the court​
imposed the misdemeanor sentence upon conviction of a gross misdemeanor or felony.​

2.B.206. As a general rule, the Commission excludes traffic offenses from consideration in​
computing the criminal history score. Given the increased penalties associated with driving while​
impaired (DWI) offenses and the serious impact on public safety, the Commission determined that​
these offenses should be considered for custody status points in the same manner as non-traffic​
offenses.​
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2.B.207. The most problematic consequence of a Criminal History Score of 7 or more (in excess​
of the maximum points differentiated by the Sentencing Guidelines Grids) is that no additional​
penalty accrues for engaging in felonious behavior while under custody supervision. For example,​
if an offender has a Criminal History Score of 7 and is released pending sentencing for a Severity​
Level 3 offense, and he or she commits another Severity Level 3 offense while awaiting sentencing,​
the presumptive sentence for the most recent offense is the same as for the prior offense. A​
presumption exists against consecutive sentences for most property offenses, and therefore no​
additional penalty results when this situation occurs. The addition of three months to the cell​
duration provides a uniform presumptive standard for dealing with this situation.​

2.B.208.  While the Commission believes that the impact of the custody status provision should​
be maintained for all cases, incrementing the sanction for each criminal history point above seven​
is deemed inappropriate. The primary determinant of the sentence is the seriousness of the current​
conviction offense. Criminal history is of secondary importance, and the Commission believes that​
proportionality in sentencing is served sufficiently with the criminal history differentiations​
incorporated in the Sentencing Guidelines Grid and with the special provision for maintaining the​
impact of the custody status provision. The Commission deems further differentiation unnecessary​
to achieve proportionality in sentencing.​

2.B.209. The Commission believes that when multiple offenses are an element of the conviction​
offense or the conviction offense is an aggregated offense, offenders should receive a custody status​
point if they become subject to one of the custody status types listed in section 2.B.2.a(1) at any​
point during the time period in which the offenses occurred. While the Commission recognizes that​
its policy for determining the presumptive sentence states that for aggregated offenses, the earliest​
offense date determines the date of offense, it believes that eligibility for a custody status point​
should not be limited to the offender's status at the time of the earliest date of offense.​

2.B.210. When offenders on any custody status condition listed in section 2.B.2.b for a sex​
offense commits another sex offense, they are assigned an additional custody status point. The​
Commission believes that offenders who commit a subsequent sex offense pose so significant a risk​
to public safety that their criminal history scores should be enhanced to reflect this risk. This policy​
does not apply to the offense of Failure to Register as a Predatory Offender (Minnesota Statutes,​
section 243.166).​

2.B.211. Assign a custody status point to an offender on any custody status type who absconds​
and commits a new felony offense. The custody status type depends on the form of supervision that​
exists when the offender commits a new offense. For example, assign a custody status point to an​
offender who absconds from supervised release and commits a new felony offense. The custody​
status type would be "supervised release."​

3. Prior Gross Misdemeanors and Misdemeanors. Prior gross misdemeanor and misdemeanor​
convictions count as units comprising criminal history points. Four units equal one criminal history​
point; give no partial point for fewer than four units. Determine units as specified in this section.​

a. General Assignment of Units. Except as provided in paragraph g, assign the offender one​
unit for each prior conviction of the following offenses provided the offender received a stayed or​
imposed sentence or stay of imposition for the conviction before the current sentencing:​

(1) targeted misdemeanor, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 299C.10, subdivision​
1, paragraph (e);​

(2) non-traffic gross misdemeanor;​

(3) gross misdemeanor driving while impaired;​
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(4) gross misdemeanor refusal to submit to a chemical test;​

(5) gross misdemeanor reckless driving;​

(6) a felony conviction resulting in a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor sentence.​

b. Gross Misdemeanors Sentenced as Misdemeanors. A gross misdemeanor conviction​
resulting in a misdemeanor sentence for an offense not defined as a targeted misdemeanor under​
Minnesota Statutes, section 299C.10, subdivision 1, paragraph (e), must not be used to compute​
units.​

c. Single Course of Conduct / Multiple Sentences. When multiple sentences for a single​
course of conduct were imposed under Minnesota Statutes, section 152.137, 609.251, or 609.585,​
the offender must not be assigned more than one unit.​

d. Single Course of Conduct / Multiple Victims. When multiple offenses arising from a​
single course of conduct involving multiple victims were sentenced, assign only the two most severe​
offenses units in criminal history.​

e. Decay Factor. A prior misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor sentence or stay of imposition​
following a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor conviction must not be used in computing the​
criminal history score if ten years have elapsed between the date of the initial sentence following​
the prior conviction and the date of the current offense. However, misdemeanor sentences that​
result from the successful completion of a stay of imposition for a felony conviction are subject to​
the felony decay factor in section 2.B.1.c.​

f. Maximum Assignment of Points. Except as provided in paragraph g, an offender cannot​
receive more than one point for prior misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor convictions.​

g. Assignment of Units for Criminal Vehicular Homicide or Operation or Felony Driving​
While Impaired (DWI). If the current conviction is for criminal vehicular homicide or operation​
or felony DWI, assign previous violations of Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.20, 169A.31,​
169.121, 169.1211, 169.129, 360.0752, 609.2112, 609.2113, or 609.2114, two units each. There​
is no limit to the total number of misdemeanor points that can be included in the offender's criminal​
history score due to criminal vehicular homicide or operation or DWI offenses. For DWI offenses,​
see section 2.B.6 for exceptions to this policy relating to predicate offenses used for enhancement​
purposes. For Criminal Vehicular Homicide (Death or Death to an Unborn Child, and Qualified​
Prior Conviction), assign no misdemeanor units to the qualified prior driving offense that was used​
to increase the statutory maximum penalty.​

h. Prior Misdemeanor or Gross Misdemeanor Driving While Impaired (DWI) Committed​
by Juvenile Offenders. Assign no units under this section if the offender was 16 or 17 years old​
when the prior misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor DWI was committed, and the DWI was processed​
in adult court under Minnesota Statutes, section 260B.225, subdivisions 3 and 8.​

Comment​

2.B.301. The Commission established a measurement procedure based on units for misdemeanor​
and gross misdemeanor sentences, which are totaled and then converted to a point value. The​
purpose of this procedure is to provide different weightings for convictions of felonies, gross​
misdemeanors, and misdemeanors. Under this procedure, misdemeanors and gross misdemeanors​
are assigned one unit. An offender must have a total of four units to receive one point in the criminal​
history score, thus an offender with three units is assigned no point value.​
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2.B.302. The Commission decided to reduce the weight of prior gross misdemeanors (other​
than DWI-related offenses) to create a more proportional weighting scheme for prior felonies at​
Severity Level 1 and Severity Level 2 which receive a weight of 1/2 point each. The Commission​
believes that a weighting scheme that sets the same weight for both misdemeanors and gross​
misdemeanors is more consistent and equitable.​

2.B.303. The Commission placed a limit of one point on the consideration of misdemeanors or​
gross misdemeanors in the criminal history score. This was done because, with no limit on point​
accrual, offenders with lengthy, but relatively minor, misdemeanor records could accrue high​
criminal history scores and thus be subject to inappropriately severe sentences upon their first​
felony conviction. The Commission limited consideration of misdemeanors to particularly relevant​
misdemeanors under existing state statute. Offenders whose criminal record includes at least four​
prior sentences for misdemeanors on the targeted misdemeanor list provided in Minnesota Statutes,​
section 299C.10, subdivision 1, paragraph (e), non-traffic gross misdemeanors, gross misdemeanor​
reckless driving, and gross misdemeanor driving while impaired or refusal to submit to a chemical​
test are considered more culpable and are given an additional criminal history point.​

2.B.304. The Commission believes that offenders whose current conviction is for criminal​
vehicular homicide or operation or first-degree (felony) driving while impaired, and who have​
prior violations under Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.20, 169A.31, 169.121, 169.1211, 169.129,​
360.0752, 609.2112, 609.2113, or 609.2114, are also more culpable, and for these offenders there​
is no limit to the total number of misdemeanor points included in the criminal history score due to​
DWI or criminal vehicular homicide or operation (CVO) violations. To determine the total number​
of misdemeanor points under these circumstances, first add together any non DWI/CVO misdemeanor​
units. If there are less than four units, add in any DWI/CVO units. Four or more units would equal​
one point. Only DWI/CVO units can be used in calculating additional points. Each set of four​
DWI/CVO units would equal an additional point. For example, if an offender had two theft units​
and six DWI/CVO units, the theft would be added to the two DWI/CVO units to equal one point.​
The remaining four DWI/CVO units would equal a second point. In a second example, if an offender​
had six theft units and six DWI/CVO units, the first four theft units would equal one point. Four of​
the DWI/CVO units would equal a second point. The remaining two theft units could not be added​
to the remaining two DWI/CVO units for a third point. The total misdemeanor score would be two.​

When the current offense is a conviction under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.2112, subdivision​
1, paragraph (b) (Death, and Qualified Prior Conviction), or Minnesota Statutes, section 609.2114,​
subdivision 1, paragraph (b) (Death to an Unborn Child, and Qualified Prior Conviction), the​
Commission excluded consideration of the qualified prior driving offense, if a misdemeanor or​
gross misdemeanor, from the criminal history score because, by virtue of the conviction offense,​
the qualified prior conviction has been accounted for in the enhanced penalty.​

2.B.305. For purposes of computing criminal history, the Commission decided that consideration​
should only be given to the most severe offense when there are prior multiple sentences under​
provisions of Minnesota Statutes, section 152.137, 609.251, or 609.585. This was done to prevent​
inequities due to past variability in prosecutorial and sentencing practices with respect to these​
statutes, to prevent systematic manipulation of these statutes in the future, and to provide a uniform​
and equitable method of computing criminal history scores for all cases of multiple convictions​
arising from a single course of conduct, when single victims are involved. References are made to​
felony convictions under Minnesota Statutes, sections 152.137, 609.251, and 609.585, in the event​
that they result in a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor sentence.​

The Commission has carefully considered the application of the Hernandez method to sentencing​
in provisions of Minnesota law other than Minnesota Statutes, sections 152.137, 609.251, and​
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609.585. The Commission made a deliberate decision not to amend the Sentencing Guidelines. See​
State v. Williams, 771 N.W.2d 514 (Minn. 2009).​

2.B.306. The Commission also adopted a "decay" factor for prior misdemeanor and gross​
misdemeanor offenses for the same reasons articulated for felony offenses; however, given that​
these offenses are less serious, the decay period is ten years rather than 15.​

2.B.307. Convictions that are petty misdemeanors by statutory definition, that have been certified​
as petty misdemeanors under Minn. R. Crim. P. 23.04, or that are deemed to be petty misdemeanors​
under Minn. R. Crim. P. 23.02 are not used to compute the criminal history score.​

2.B.308. When multiple misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor sentences arose out of a single​
course of conduct in which there were multiple victims, consideration should be given only for the​
two most severe offenses for purposes of computing criminal history. These are the same policies​
that apply to felony convictions and juvenile adjudications.​

4. Prior Juvenile Adjudications.​

a. Assignment of Points for Juvenile Adjudications. Assign an offender one point for every​
two adjudications for felony offenses the offender committed, and for which the offender was​
prosecuted as a juvenile, provided that:​

(1) each adjudication must have been for a separate offense or must have involved​
separate victims in a single course of conduct, except as provided in paragraphs c. and d. below;​
and​

(2) the juvenile adjudications must have been for offenses committed after the offender's​
fourteenth birthday; and​

(3) the offender was under the age of twenty-five when the offender committed the​
current felony.​

b. Maximum Points for Juvenile Adjudications. An offender may receive only one point​
for juvenile adjudications as described in this section, except that the point limit does not apply to​
juvenile adjudications for offenses for which the Sentencing Guidelines would presume imprisonment​
if the offenses had been committed by an adult. Make this determination regardless of the criminal​
history score, and include offenses that carry a mandatory minimum prison sentence and other​
presumptive imprisonment offenses described in section 2.C.​

c. Single Course of Conduct / Multiple Sentences. When multiple adjudications for a single​
course of conduct were imposed under Minnesota Statutes, section 152.137, 609.251, or 609.585,​
only one offense may be used in the criminal history calculation.​

d. Single Course of Conduct / Multiple Victims. When the prior adjudications involve​
multiple offenses arising from a single course of conduct involving multiple victims, include only​
the two most severe offenses in criminal history.​

Comment​

2.B.401. Juvenile history is included in the criminal history score to identify those young adult​
felons whose criminal careers were preceded by repeated felony-type offenses committed as a​
juvenile. The Commission held several public hearings devoted to the issue of using juvenile records​
in the criminal history score. Those hearings pointed out differences in legal procedures and​
safeguards between adult and juvenile courts, differing availability of juvenile records, and differing​
procedures among juvenile courts. As a result of these issues, the Commission decided to establish​
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rigorous standards regulating the consideration of juvenile records in computing the criminal​
history score.​

2.B.402. Only juvenile adjudications for offenses that are felonies under Minnesota law will​
be considered in computing the criminal history score. Exclude from consideration status offenses,​
dependency and neglect proceedings, and misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor-type offenses.​

2.B.403. Consistent with Minnesota Statutes, section 609.035, which provides for a single​
sentence for adult offenders when multiple convictions arise from a single course of conduct, only​
juvenile adjudications for offenses arising from separate courses of conduct contribute to the​
juvenile point(s), unless multiple victims were involved.​

2.B.404. The juvenile adjudications must result from offenses committed after the offender's​
fourteenth birthday. The Commission chose the date of the offense rather than the date of​
adjudication to eliminate variability in application based on differing juvenile court practices.​

2.B.405. Juvenile adjudications will be considered in computing the criminal history score only​
for adult offenders who had not attained the age of 25 when they committed the felony for which​
they are now being sentenced. Again, the Commission chose to examine the age of the offender at​
the time of the offense rather than at time of sentencing to prevent disparities resulting from system​
processing variations.​

2.B.406. The Commission decided that it would take two juvenile adjudications to equal 1 point​
on the criminal history score, and generally, an offender may not receive more than 1 point on the​
basis of prior juvenile adjudications. This point limit does not apply to offenses committed and​
prosecuted as a juvenile for which the Guidelines would presume imprisonment, regardless of​
criminal history, if committed by an adult. This includes offenses in the non-shaded portions of the​
applicable Grids at a Criminal History Score of 0 (e.g., Severity Level 8 or I), offenses subject to​
mandatory minimum laws (e.g., Assault in the Second Degree), or any other applicable policies​
under section 2.C. The criminal history record is not used to determine whether the juvenile offense​
carries a presumptive imprisonment sentence because of the difficulty in applying criminal history​
score computations to prior juvenile offenses. Two juvenile adjudications are required for each​
additional point. Again, no partial points are allowed, so an offender with only one juvenile​
adjudication meeting the above criteria would receive no point on the criminal history score.​

2.B.407. To provide a uniform and equitable method of computing criminal history scores for​
cases of multiple felony offenses with adjudications arising from a single course of conduct when​
single victims are involved, and when the adjudications involved provisions of Minnesota Statutes,​
section 152.137, 609.251, or 609.585, consideration should be given to only the most severe offense​
with an adjudication when computing criminal history.​

When there are multiple felony offenses with adjudications arising out of a single course of​
conduct in which there were multiple victims, consideration should be given only to the two most​
severe felony offenses with adjudications when computing criminal history. These are the same​
policies that apply to felony, gross misdemeanor and misdemeanor convictions for adults.​

The Commission has carefully considered the application of the Hernandez method to sentencing​
in provisions of Minnesota law other than Minnesota Statutes, sections 152.137, 609.251, and​
609.585. The Commission made a deliberate decision not to amend the Sentencing Guidelines. See​
State v. Williams, 771 N.W.2d 514 (Minn. 2009).​

5. Convictions From Jurisdictions Other Than Minnesota.​
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a. In General. The court must make the final determination as to whether and how a prior​
non-Minnesota conviction should be counted in the criminal history score. The court should consider,​
but is not limited to, the factors in paragraphs b through e, below. Sections 2.B.1 through 2.B.7​
govern the use of these convictions.​

b. How to Count. Find the equivalent Minnesota offense based on the elements of the prior​
non-Minnesota offense. The section in which to count the non-Minnesota offense in criminal history​
depends on:​

(1) whether the offense is defined as a felony, gross misdemeanor, or targeted​
misdemeanor in Minnesota; and​

(2) the sentence imposed.​

An offense may be counted as a felony only if it would both be defined as a felony in​
Minnesota, and the offender received a sentence of 366 days or more, which includes the equivalent​
of a stay of imposition. The offense definitions in effect when the current Minnesota offense was​
committed govern the designation of non-Minnesota convictions as felonies, gross misdemeanors,​
or misdemeanors.​

c. Assigning Felony Weights. Section 2.B.1 governs the weight of a prior felony conviction​
from a jurisdiction other than Minnesota, and must be based on the severity level of the equivalent​
Minnesota felony offense.​

d. Federal Offenses; No Minnesota Equivalent. Federal felony offenses that received a​
sentence that in Minnesota would be a felony-level sentence, but for which no comparable Minnesota​
offense exists, must receive a weight of one in computing the criminal history score.​

e. Juvenile Offenses From Other Jurisdictions. Minnesota law governs the inclusion of a​
prior felony offense from jurisdictions other than Minnesota committed by an offender who was​
under 18 years old in the juvenile section or adult section of the criminal history score. The offense​
should be included in the juvenile history section only if it meets the requirements in section 2.B.4.​
The prior can be included in the adult history section only if the factfinder determines that it is an​
offense for which the offender would have been certified to adult court if it had occurred in​
Minnesota.​

Comment​

2.B.501. Convictions from jurisdictions other than Minnesota include convictions under the​
laws of any other state, or the federal government, including convictions under the Uniform Code​
of Military Justice, or convictions under the law of other nations.​

2.B.502. The Commission concluded that convictions from other jurisdictions must, in fairness,​
be considered in the computation of an offender's criminal history score. No uniform nationwide​
characterization of the terms "felony," "gross misdemeanor," and "misdemeanor" exists. Therefore,​
the Commission recognizes that criminal conduct may be characterized differently by the various​
state and federal criminal jurisdictions. Generally, the classification of prior offenses as petty​
misdemeanors, misdemeanors, gross misdemeanors, or felonies should be determined by current​
Minnesota offense definitions and sentencing policies, except as provided in section 2.B.7. However,​
with respect to out-of-state offenses, the Commission chose not to apply Minnesota's 2023 redefinition​
of "felony," which now defines a felony as including a 365-day sentence. This is consistent with the​
Commission's policy before 2023 and with Minnesota Statutes, section 609.0342, paragraph (b)'s​
treatment of pre-2023 365-day sentences as gross misdemeanor sentences.​
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2.B.503.  For prior non-Minnesota controlled substance convictions, the amount and type of​
the controlled substance should be considered in the determination of the appropriate weight to​
be assigned to a prior felony sentence for a controlled substance offense.​

2.B.504.  A non-Minnesota conviction committed by a juvenile can only be included in the adult​
section of the criminal history score if the offender would have been certified as an adult under​
Minnesota law. See State v. Marquetti, 322 N.W.2d 316 (Minn. 1982).​

6. Felony Enhancement Due to Prior Misdemeanor or Gross Misdemeanor Convictions.​

a. Enhanced Felonies. When the current offense is a felony solely because the offender has​
previous convictions for misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor offenses, the prior misdemeanor​
conviction(s) on the targeted misdemeanor list provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 299C.10,​
subdivision 1, paragraph (e), or gross misdemeanor conviction(s) upon which the enhancement is​
based may be used in determining custody status, but cannot be used in calculating the remaining​
components of the offender's criminal history score.​

b. Counting Prior Misdemeanors and Gross Misdemeanors; Future Felony. Except as​
provided in paragraph c., misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor offenses used to enhance the current​
offense must be used in calculating the offender's criminal history score on future offenses that are​
not enhanced felonies. Prior felony offenses used for enhancement must always be used in calculating​
the offender's criminal history score.​

c. Counting Prior Misdemeanors and Gross Misdemeanors; Felony Driving While Impaired​
(DWI). If the current offense is a felony DWI offense and the offender has a prior felony DWI​
offense, the prior felony DWI must be used in computing the criminal history score. The prior​
misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor offenses used to enhance the first prior felony DWI cannot​
be used in the offender's criminal history. Any other misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor DWI​
offenses may be included as provided in section 2.B.3.g.​

Comment​

2.B.601. A number of instances exist in Minnesota law in which misdemeanor or gross​
misdemeanor behavior carries a felony penalty as a result of the offender's prior record. The​
Commission decided that in the interest of fairness, a prior misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor​
offense that elevated the misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor behavior to a felony should not also​
be used in criminal history points other than custody status. Only one prior offense should be​
excluded from the criminal history score calculation, unless more than one prior was required for​
the offense to be elevated to a felony. For example, Assault in the Fifth Degree is a felony if the​
offender has two or more convictions for assaultive behavior. In those cases, the two related priors​
at the lowest level should be excluded. Similarly, theft crimes of more than $500 but less than $1,000​
are felonies if the offender has at least one previous conviction for an offense specified in that​
statute. In those cases, the prior related offense at the lowest level should be excluded.​

2.B.602.  A first-time first-degree (felony) driving while impaired (DWI) offense involves a DWI​
violation within ten years of the first of three or more prior impaired driving incidents. Because​
the DWI priors elevated this offense to the felony level, they should be excluded from the criminal​
history score. Those predicate misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor offenses should also be​
excluded for a subsequent felony DWI, but any prior felony DWI would be counted as part of the​
felony criminal history score.​

7. Determining Offense Levels for Prior Offenses.​

MINNESOTA COURT RULES​
18​SENTENCING GUIDELINES​

Published by the Revisor of Statutes under Minnesota Statutes, section 3C.08, subdivision 1.​



a. Classification of Prior Offense. The classification of a prior offense as a petty​
misdemeanor, misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony is determined by current Minnesota​
offense definitions (see Minnesota Statutes, section 609.02, subdivisions 2 to 4a) and sentencing​
policies. Offenses that are petty misdemeanors by statute, or that are certified as or deemed to be​
petty misdemeanors under Minn. R. Crim. P. 23, must not be used to compute the criminal history​
score.​

b. Monetary Threshold. When a monetary threshold determines the offense classification,​
the monetary threshold in effect when the prior offense was committed, not the current threshold,​
determines the offense classification in calculating the criminal history score.​

Comment​

2.B.701. The Commission recognized that the classification of criminal conduct as a felony,​
gross misdemeanor, misdemeanor, or petty misdemeanor is determined legally by the sentence​
given rather than the conviction offense.​

2.B.702.  A monetary threshold determines the offense classification when the value of property​
or services is an element of the offense. Punishment for the offense typically increases as the dollar​
amount increases.​

2.B.703.  When the offense severity level is determined by a monetary threshold, the threshold​
in effect when the prior offense was committed determines the offense classification in criminal​
history. For example, beginning August 1, 2007, the monetary threshold for a felony level Theft of​
Moveable Property offense under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.52, subdivision 2, paragraph​
(a), clause (1), was divided between Severity Level 2 and Severity Level 3 by the dollar amount of​
$5,000. Prior to that, this offense would have been assigned a severity level based on a dollar​
amount of $2,500. Because this was a change by the Legislature for inflation and no change was​
made by the Commission to the severity levels, a Theft of Moveable Property offense over $2,500​
which previously received a Severity Level of 3 and a weight of 1 point in criminal history would​
continue to receive that same weight.​

C. Presumptive Sentence​

1. Finding the Presumptive Sentence. The presumptive sentence for a felony conviction is found​
in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid located at the intersection of the criminal history score​
(horizontal axis) and the severity level (vertical axis). The conviction offense determines the severity​
level. The offender's criminal history score is computed according to section 2.B above.​

a. Presumptive Disposition. For cases contained in cells outside of the shaded areas, the​
sentence should be executed. For cases contained in cells within the shaded areas, the sentence​
should be stayed unless the conviction offense carries a mandatory minimum sentence. Section 3.A​
governs conditions of stayed sentences.​

b. Presumptive Duration. Each cell on the Grids provides a fixed sentence duration. If a​
cell, or other Guidelines policy, provides a fixed sentence duration of 12 months, a sentence duration​
of one year and one day is permissible without departure. Minnesota Statutes, section 244.09,​
requires that the Guidelines provide a range for sentences that are presumptive commitments. For​
cells above the solid line, the Guidelines provide both a fixed presumptive duration and a range of​
time for that sentence except as provided in section 2.C.3.c(1). The shaded areas of the grids do​
not display ranges. If the duration for a sentence that is a presumptive commitment is found in a​
shaded area, the standard range - 15 percent lower and 20 percent higher than the fixed duration​
displayed - is permissible without departure, provided that the minimum sentence is not less than​
one year, and the maximum sentence is not more than the statutory maximum.​
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2. Presumptive Sentence Durations that Exceed the Statutory Maximum Sentence. If the​
presumptive sentence duration in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid exceeds the statutory​
maximum sentence for the conviction offense, the statutory maximum is the presumptive sentence.​
See Presumptive Sentence Durations that Exceed the Statutory Maximum Sentence Table in​
Appendix 3.​

3. Finding the Presumptive Sentence for Certain Offenses.​

a. Sex Offenses. Under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.3455, certain sex offenders are​
subject to mandatory life sentences and certain repeat sex offenders are subject to presumptive​
executed prison sentences of at least 36 months.​

(1) Mandatory Life Sentence. The Sentencing Guidelines presumptive sentence does​
not apply to offenders subject to mandatory life without the possibility of release under subdivision​
2 of that statute. For offenders subject to life with the possibility of release under subdivisions 3​
and 4 of that statute, the court must specify a minimum term of imprisonment, based on the​
Sentencing Guidelines presumptive sentence as determined in section 2.C, or any applicable​
mandatory minimum sentence not contained in Minnesota Statutes, section 609.3455, that must be​
served before the offender may be considered for release.​

(2) Presumptive Executed Prison Sentences of at least 36 Months. Except when a life​
sentence applies, if the current conviction offense is criminal sexual conduct in the first, second,​
third, or fourth degree (Minnesota Statutes, sections 609.342 to 609.345) or criminal sexual predatory​
conduct (Minnesota Statutes, section 609.3453) within 15 years of a previous sex offense conviction,​
under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.3455, subdivision 10, the presumptive disposition is​
commitment. The presumptive duration is at least 36 months, or the fixed duration indicated in the​
appropriate cell on the Grid, whichever is longer.​

b. Burglary. If the current conviction offense is burglary of an occupied dwelling (Minnesota​
Statutes, section 609.582, subdivision 1, clause (a)) and there was a previous conviction for a felony​
burglary before the current offense occurred, the presumptive disposition is commitment. Prior​
burglary convictions trigger the presumptive commitment even if they have decayed for criminal​
history purposes, as set forth in section 2.B.1.c. The presumptive duration for a burglary conviction​
falling under this section is the fixed duration indicated in the appropriate cell on the Grid.​

c. Controlled Substances Offenses.​

(1) Certain First-Degree Offenses. If the current conviction is for controlled substance crime​
in the first degree and the penalty statute is Minnesota Statutes, section 152.021, subdivision 3,​
paragraph (c) (related to sale or possession of at least 100 grams or 500 dosage units of certain​
controlled substances), or if the current conviction is for aggravated controlled substance crime in​
the first degree, then the lower range, although displayed on the Drug Offender Grid, is excluded​
from what would otherwise be the presumptive range for that offense.​

(2) Subsequent Controlled Substance Convictions. If the current conviction offense is for​
a controlled substance crime in the first or second degree and is a "subsequent controlled substance​
conviction" as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 152.01, subdivision 16a, the presumptive​
disposition is commitment. Such a conviction triggers the presumptive commitment unless more​
than ten years have elapsed since discharge from sentence. The presumptive duration for a controlled​
substance conviction falling under this section is the duration indicated in the appropriate cell on​
the Drug Offender Grid, or the mandatory minimum, whichever is longer.​

d. Driving While Impaired (DWI) Offenses. If the current conviction is for felony DWI and​
if, prior to the commission of the current offense, the offender had a previous conviction (as​
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conviction is defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 609.02, subdivision 5) for a felony DWI or for​
a criminal vehicular homicide or operation as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.24,​
subdivision 1, clause (3), the presumptive disposition is commitment. Prior felony DWI or criminal​
vehicular homicide or operation convictions trigger the presumptive commitment even if they have​
decayed for criminal history purposes as set forth in section 2.B.1.c.​

e. Offenses Committed While Under State Authority. The presumptive disposition for escape​
from an executed sentence, felony assault committed by an inmate serving an executed term of​
imprisonment, or assault on secure treatment facility personnel is commitment. Pursuant to section​
2.F.1, it is presumptive for escape from an executed term of imprisonment and for felony assault​
committed by an inmate serving an executed term of imprisonment to be sentenced consecutively​
to the offense for which the inmate was confined. The presumptive duration is determined by the​
presumptive consecutive sentencing policy (see section 2.F.1, Presumptive Consecutive Sentences).​

Comment​

2.C.01. The dispositional policy adopted by the Commission was designed so that scarce prison​
resources would primarily be used for serious person offenders and community resources would​
be used for most property offenders. The Commission believes that a rational sentencing policy​
requires such trade-offs to ensure the availability of correctional resources for the most serious​
offenders. For the first year of Guidelines' operation, this policy was reflected in sentencing practices.​
However, by the third year of Guideline operation, the percentage of offenders with criminal history​
scores of four or more had increased greatly, resulting in a significant increase in imprisonment​
for property offenses. Given finite resources, increased use of imprisonment for property offenses​
results in reduced prison resources for person offenses. The allocation of scarce resources has​
been monitored and evaluated on an ongoing basis by the Commission. The Commission has​
determined that assigning particular weights to prior felony sentences in computing the criminal​
history score will address this problem. The significance of low severity level prior felonies is​
reduced, which should result in a lower imprisonment rate for property offenders. The significance​
of more serious prior felonies is increased, which should result in increased prison sentences for​
repeat serious person offenders.​

2.C.02.  In the cells outside the shaded areas of the grids, the Guidelines provide a fixed​
presumptive sentence length, and a range of time around that length. Presumptive sentence lengths​
are shown in months, and it is the Commission's intent that months be computed by reference to​
calendar months. Any sentence length given that is within the range of sentence length shown in​
the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid is not a departure from the Guidelines, and any sentence​
length given that is outside the range is a departure from the Guidelines. In the cells in the shaded​
areas of the grids, the Guidelines provide a single fixed presumptive sentence length.​

2.C.03.  The presumptive duration listed on the grid, when executed, includes both the term of​
imprisonment and the period of supervised release. According to Minnesota Statutes, section​
244.101, when the court sentences an offender to an executed sentence for an offense occurring on​
or after August 1, 1993, the sentence consists of two parts: a specified minimum term of imprisonment​
equal to two-thirds of the total executed sentence; and a specified maximum supervised release​
term equal to one-third of the total executed sentence. Separate tables following the Grids illustrate​
how executed sentences are broken down into their two components.​

The Commissioner of Corrections may extend the amount of time an offender actually serves​
in prison if the offender violates disciplinary rules while in prison or violates conditions of supervised​
release. This extension period could result in the offender serving the entire executed sentence in​
prison.​
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2.C.04. When a stay of execution is given, the presumptive sentence length shown in the​
appropriate cell should be pronounced, but its execution stayed. If the sentence length pronounced,​
but stayed, differs from that shown in the appropriate cell, the sentence is a departure from the​
Guidelines.​

2.C.05. When a stay of imposition is given, no sentence length is pronounced, and the imposition​
of the sentence is stayed to some future date. If that sentence is ever imposed, the presumptive​
sentence length shown in the appropriate cell should be pronounced, and a decision should be​
made whether to execute the presumptive sentence length given. If the sentence length pronounced​
at the imposition of the sentence differs from that shown in the appropriate cell on the applicable​
Grid, the sentence is a departure from the Guidelines.​

2.C.06. There are rare instances where the presumptive sentence length exceeds the statutory​
maximum sentence. If this situation occurs, the statutory maximum sentence becomes the presumptive​
sentence. For example, Threats of Violence under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.713, subdivision​
3, paragraph (a), clause (1) or (2), carries a statutory maximum sentence of 12 months and 1 day.​
At Severity Level 1, the statutory maximum will be exceeded when the offender reaches a Criminal​
History Score of 3. As another example, Soliciting Children for Sexual Conduct under Minnesota​
Statutes, section 609.352, carries a statutory maximum sentence of three years. At Severity Level​
G, the statutory maximum will be exceeded when the offender reaches a Criminal History Score​
of 4.​

2.C.07. When an offender is convicted of two or more offenses, and the most severe offense is​
a conviction for attempt or conspiracy under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.17 or 609.175, the​
presumptive sentence duration must be the longer of: (1) the duration for the attempt or conspiracy​
conviction; or (2) the duration for the next most severe conviction offense.​

2.C.08. The 2005 Legislature enacted statutory changes allowing life sentences with the​
possibility of release for certain sex offenders. The statute requires the sentencing court to pronounce​
a minimum term of imprisonment, based on the Guidelines or any applicable mandatory minimum​
not contained in Minnesota Statutes, section 609.3455, that the offender must serve before being​
considered for release. All applicable Guidelines provisions, including the procedures for departing​
from the presumptive sentence, are applicable to determining the minimum term of imprisonment.​
See State v. Hodges, 770 N.W.2d 515 (Minn. 2009).​

2.C.09.  Sections 2.C.3.b and 2.C.3.d clarify that the court may consider decayed convictions​
when determining whether to execute a presumptively stayed sentence. See State v. Jones, 587​
N.W.2d 854 (Minn. Ct. App. 1999).​

2.C.10.  Minnesota Statutes, section 152.021, subdivision 3, paragraphs (c) and (d), exclude​
the lower range, as defined in section 1.B.13.d, from what would otherwise be the presumptive​
range. While the mandatory-minimum provision of Minnesota Statutes, section 152.021, subdivision​
3, paragraph (c), may be waived for an offender sentenced for a first-degree possession crime who​
had not previously been convicted of controlled substance crime in the first, second, or third degree,​
a sentence duration that is shorter than the fixed presumptive sentence, even if within the lower​
range, is nevertheless a mitigated durational departure if Minnesota Statutes, section 152.021,​
subdivision 3, paragraph (c), applies. Under either subdivision, the presumptive disposition is​
commitment.​

2.C.11.  The special penalty provisions for subsequent controlled substance convictions do not​
apply to current offenses of aggravated controlled substance crime in the first degree.​
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D. Departures from the Guidelines​

1. Departures in General. The sentences provided in the Grids are presumed to be appropriate​
for the crimes to which they apply. The court must pronounce a sentence of the applicable disposition​
and within the applicable prison range unless there exist identifiable, substantial, and compelling​
circumstances to support a departure.​

The court may depart from the presumptive disposition or duration provided in the Guidelines,​
and stay or impose a sentence that is deemed to be more appropriate than the presumptive sentence.​
A pronounced sentence for a felony conviction that is outside the appropriate prison range on the​
applicable Grid, including a stayed or imposed gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor sentence, is a​
departure from the Guidelines. A departure is not controlled by the Guidelines, but rather, is an​
exercise of judicial discretion constrained by statute or case law.​

a. Disposition and Duration. Departures with respect to disposition and duration are separate​
decisions, each requiring written departure reasons. A court may depart from the presumptive​
disposition without departing from the presumptive duration, and vice-versa.​

b. Aggravated Departure. When imposing a sentence that is an aggravated departure, it is​
recommended that the court pronounce a sentence proportional to the severity of the crime for​
which the sentence is imposed and the offender's criminal history, and take into consideration the​
purposes and underlying principles of the Guidelines.​

c. Departure Report. In exercising the discretion to depart from a presumptive sentence, the​
court must disclose in writing or on the record the particular substantial and compelling circumstances​
that make the departure more appropriate than the presumptive sentence. The reasons must be stated​
in the sentencing order or recorded in the departure report and filed with the Commission.​

d. Departure Reasons. Because departures are by definition exceptions to the Guidelines,​
the departure factors in this section are advisory, except as otherwise established by case law.​

e. Revoked Stay of Adjudication. When a felony stay of adjudication is vacated and​
conviction is entered, the Guidelines must be applied. To the extent that the sentenced pronounced​
immediately following a revocation of a stay of adjudication is contrary to the Guidelines​
presumptive sentence, that sentence is a departure.​

f. Offender's Demand for Execution. A sentence that is executed pursuant to an offender's​
right to demand execution is not an aggravated dispositional departure.​

Comment​

2.D.101. The departure report must be filed with the Commission within 15 days after sentencing.​
Minn. R. Crim. P. 27.03, subd. 4(C).​

2.D.102. A defendant has the right to a jury trial to determine whether aggravating factors are​
proved beyond a reasonable doubt. See e.g., Blakely v. Washington, 542 U.S. 296 (2004); State v.​
Shattuck, 704 N.W.2d 131 (Minn. 2005); State v. Allen, 706 N.W.2d 40 (Minn. 2005). See also​
Minn. R. Crim. P. 7.03, 11.04, and 27 (detailing the procedures for seeking an aggravated sentence).​
If the departure facts are proved beyond a reasonable doubt, the court may exercise its discretion​
to depart from the presumptive sentence.​

2.D.103. The aggravating or mitigating factors and the written reasons supporting the departure​
must be substantial and compelling to overcome the presumption in favor of the Guidelines sentence.​
The purposes of the Guidelines cannot be achieved unless the presumptive sentences are applied​
with a high degree of regularity. Sentencing disparity cannot be reduced if courts depart from the​
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Guidelines frequently. Certainty in sentencing cannot be attained if departure rates are high. Prison​
populations will exceed capacity if departures increase imprisonment rates significantly above past​
practice.​

2.D.104. Plea agreements are important to our criminal justice system because it is not possible​
to support a system where all cases go to trial. However, it is important to have balance in the​
criminal justice system where plea agreements are recognized as legitimate and necessary and the​
goals of the Guidelines are supported. If a plea agreement involves a sentence departure and no​
other reasons are provided, there is little information available to make informed policy decisions​
or to ensure consistency, proportionality, and rationality in sentencing.​

Departures and their reasons highlight both the success and problems of the existing Guidelines.​
When a plea agreement involves a departure from the presumptive sentence, the court should cite​
the reasons that underlie the plea agreement or explain its reasons for accepting the negotiation.​

2.D.105. Under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.13, if a court pronounces a misdemeanor or​
gross misdemeanor sentence for a felony conviction, that conviction is deemed a gross misdemeanor​
or misdemeanor. The sentence is a departure because it is outside the appropriate range on the​
applicable Grid. Because courts sometimes fail to issue departure reports in these cases, section​
2.D was amended to clarify that if the court stays or imposes a gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor​
sentence for a felony conviction, the sentence is a departure.​

In contrast, if the prosecutor amends the charge to a gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor​
offense prior to conviction, a gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor sentence will not be a departure​
because the sentence will be consistent with the level of the charge. When the prosecutor amends​
the charge, the prosecutor must amend it to an existing offense. For example, there is no gross​
misdemeanor version of threats of violence (Minnesota Statutes, section 609.713) in statute, so a​
charge of threats of violence cannot be amended from a felony to a gross misdemeanor.​

2.D.106. The Guidelines do not apply to a stay of adjudication because it is not a conviction​
(see Section 1.A). If the initial sentence following felony conviction is commitment to the​
Commissioner of Corrections, and the Guidelines disposition is a presumptive stayed disposition,​
it is contrary to the Guidelines presumption. Accordingly, the sentence is an aggravated dispositional​
departure from the Guidelines, and "revocation of a stay of adjudication" will be noted as the​
reason for departure, unless the court offers another explanation.​

2.D.107. An offender generally has the right to demand execution of sentence. State v. Rasinski,​
472 N.W.2d 645, 651 (Minn. 1991); see also Minnesota Statutes, section 609.135, subdivision 7.​
The Commission does not regard the execution of a presumptively stayed sentence as a departure​
from the Guidelines if the record, or the Court's communication to the Commission, reflects that​
the sentence was executed upon the offender's peremptory demand.​

2. Factors That Should Not Be Used As Reasons For Departure. The following factors should​
not be used as reasons for departure:​

a. Race​

b. Sex​

c. Employment factors, including:​

(1) occupation or impact of sentence on profession or occupation;​

(2) employment history;​
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(3) employment at time of offense;​

(4) employment at time of sentencing.​

d. Social factors, including:​

(1) educational attainment;​

(2) living arrangements at time of offense or sentencing;​

(3) length of residence;​

(4) marital status.​

e. The defendant's exercise of constitutional rights during the adjudication process.​

Comment​

2.D.201. The Commission believes that sentencing should be neutral with respect to an offender's​
race, sex, and income level. Accordingly, the Commission has listed employment and social factors​
that should not be used as reasons for departure from the presumptive sentence, because these​
factors are highly correlated with sex, race, or income level. Employment is excluded as a reason​
for departure not only because of its correlation with race and income levels, but also because this​
factor is manipulable - e.g., offenders could lessen the severity of the sentence by obtaining​
employment between arrest and sentencing. While it may be desirable for offenders to obtain​
employment between arrest and sentencing, some groups (those with low income levels, low​
education levels, and racial minorities generally) find it more difficult to obtain employment than​
others. It is impossible to reward those employed without, in fact, penalizing those not employed​
at time of sentencing. The use of the factors "amenable to probation (or treatment)" or "unamenable​
to probation" to justify a dispositional departure, could be closely related to social and economic​
factors. The use of these factors, alone, to explain the reason for departure is insufficient, and the​
trial court should demonstrate that the departure is not based on any of the excluded factors.​

2.D.202. The Commission determined that the severity of an offender's sanctions should not​
vary depending on whether the offender exercised constitutional rights during the adjudication​
process.​

2.D.203. It follows from the Commission's use of the conviction offense to determine offense​
severity that departures from the Guidelines should not be permitted for elements of alleged offender​
behavior not within the definition of the conviction offense. For example, if an offender is convicted​
of simple robbery, a departure from the Guidelines to increase the severity of the sentence should​
not be permitted because the offender possessed a firearm or used another dangerous weapon.​

3. Factors That May Be Used As Reasons For Departure. The following is a nonexclusive list​
of factors that may be used as reasons for departure:​

a. Mitigating Factors.​

(1) The victim was an aggressor in the incident.​

(2) The offender played a minor or passive role in the crime or participated under​
circumstances of coercion or duress.​

(3) The offender, because of physical or mental impairment, lacked substantial capacity​
for judgment when the offense was committed. The voluntary use of intoxicants (drugs or alcohol)​
does not fall within the purview of this factor.​
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(4) The offender's presumptive sentence is a commitment but not a mandatory minimum​
sentence, and either of the following exist:​

(a) The current conviction offense is at Severity Level 1 or Severity Level 2 and the​
offender received all of his or her prior felony sentences during fewer than three separate court​
appearances; or​

(b) The current conviction offense is at Severity Level 3 or Severity Level 4 and the​
offender received all of his or her prior felony sentences during one court appearance.​

(5) Other substantial grounds exist that tend to excuse or mitigate the offender's​
culpability, although not amounting to a defense.​

(6) The court is ordering an alternative placement under Minnesota Statutes, section​
609.1055, for an offender with a serious and persistent mental illness.​

(7) The offender is particularly amenable to probation. This factor may, but need not,​
be supported by the fact that the offender is particularly amenable to a relevant program of​
individualized treatment in a probationary setting.​

(8) In the case of a controlled substance conviction, the offender is found by the district​
court to be particularly amenable to probation based on adequate evidence that the offender is​
chemically dependent and has been accepted by, and can respond to, a treatment program in​
accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 152.152.​

(9) In the case of a qualifying United States military service member or veteran, the​
offender is found by the district court to meet the criteria for particular amenability to probation​
found in Minnesota Statutes, section 609.1056, subdivision 4.​

b. Aggravating Factors.​

(1) The victim was particularly vulnerable due to age, infirmity, or reduced physical or​
mental capacity, and the offender knew or should have known of this vulnerability.​

(2) The victim was treated with particular cruelty for which the individual offender​
should be held responsible.​

(3) The current conviction is for a criminal sexual conduct offense, or an offense in​
which the victim was otherwise injured, and the offender has a prior felony conviction for a criminal​
sexual conduct offense or an offense in which the victim was otherwise injured.​

(4) The offense was a major economic offense, identified as an illegal act or series of​
illegal acts committed by other than physical means and by concealment or guile to obtain money​
or property, to avoid payment or loss of money or property, or to obtain business or professional​
advantage. The presence of two or more of the circumstances listed below is an aggravating factor​
with respect to the offense:​

(a) the offense involved multiple victims or multiple incidents per victim;​

(b) the offense involved an attempted or actual monetary loss substantially greater​
than the usual offense or substantially greater than the minimum loss specified in the statutes;​

(c) the offense involved a high degree of sophistication or planning or occurred over​
a lengthy period of time;​

(d) the defendant used his or her position or status to facilitate the commission of​
the offense, including positions of trust, confidence, or fiduciary relationships; or​
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(e) the defendant has been involved in other conduct similar to the current offense​
as evidenced by the findings of civil or administrative law proceedings or the imposition of​
professional sanctions.​

(5) The offense was a major controlled substance offense, identified as an offense or​
series of offenses related to trafficking in controlled substances under circumstances more onerous​
than the usual offense. The presence of two or more of the circumstances listed below is an​
aggravating factor with respect to the offense:​

(a) the offense involved at least three separate transactions in which controlled​
substances were sold, transferred, or possessed with intent to sell or transfer;​

(b) the offender or an accomplice possessed equipment, drug paraphernalia, or​
monies evidencing the offense was committed as part of wholesale trafficking of a controlled​
substance;​

(c) the offense involved the manufacture of controlled substances for use by other​
parties;​

(d) the offender or an accomplice knowingly possessed a firearm or other dangerous​
weapon, as defined by Minnesota Statutes, section 609.02, during the commission of the offense;​

(e) the circumstances of the offense reveal the offender to have occupied a high​
position in the drug distribution hierarchy;​

(f) the offense involved a high degree of sophistication or planning or occurred over​
a lengthy period of time or involved a broad geographic area of disbursement;​

(g) the offender used his or her position or status to facilitate the commission of the​
offense, including positions of trust, confidence or fiduciary relationships (e.g., pharmacist, physician​
or other medical professional);​

(h) the offense involved separate acts of sale or possession of a controlled substance​
in three or more counties;​

(i) the offender has a prior conviction for a crime of violence, as defined in Minnesota​
Statutes, section 609.1095, subdivision 1, paragraph (d), other than a violation of a provision under​
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 152, including attempt or conspiracy, or was convicted of a similar​
offense by the United States or another state;​

(j) the offense involved the sale of a controlled substance to a minor or vulnerable​
adult; and​

(k) the defendant, or an accomplice, manufactured, possessed, or sold a controlled​
substance in a school zone, park zone, public housing zone, federal, state, or local correctional​
facility, or drug treatment facility.​

(6) The offender committed, for hire, a crime against the person.​

(7) The offender is being sentenced as an "engrained offender" under Minnesota Statutes,​
section 609.3455, subdivision 3a.​

(8) The offender is being sentenced as a "dangerous offender who commits a third violent​
crime" under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.1095, subdivision 2.​

(9) The offender is being sentenced as a "career offender" under Minnesota Statutes,​
section 609.1095, subdivision 4.​
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(10) The offender committed the crime as part of a group of three or more offenders​
who all actively participated in the crime.​

(11) The offender intentionally selected the victim or the property against which the​
offense was committed, in whole or in substantial part, because of the victim's, the property owner's​
or another's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation,​
gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in Minnesota​
Statutes, section 363A.03, or because of the victim's actual or perceived association with another​
person or group of a certain actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual​
orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in​
Minnesota Statutes, section 363A.03​

(12) The offender used another's identity without authorization to commit a crime. This​
aggravating factor may not be used when use of another's identity is an element of the offense.​

(13) The offense was committed in the presence of a child.​

(14) The offense was committed in a location in which the victim had an expectation​
of privacy.​

Comment​

2.D.301. The Commission provides a non-exclusive list of factors that may be used as departure​
reasons. The factors are intended to describe specific situations involving a small number of cases.​
The Commission rejects factors that are general in nature, and that could apply to large numbers​
of cases, such as intoxication at the time of the offense. The factors cited are illustrative and are​
not intended to be an exclusive or exhaustive list. Some of these factors may be considered in​
establishing conditions of stayed sentences, even though they may not be used as reasons for​
departure. For example, whether an offender is employed at time of sentencing may be an important​
factor in deciding whether restitution should be used as a condition of probation, or in deciding​
the terms of restitution payment.​

2.D.302. The Commission recognizes that the criminal history score does not differentiate​
between the crime spree offender who has been convicted of several offenses but has not been​
previously sanctioned by the criminal justice system, and the repeat offender who continues to​
commit new crimes despite receiving previous consequences from the criminal justice system. The​
Commission believes the nonviolent crime spree offender should perhaps be sanctioned in the​
community at least once or twice before a prison sentence is appropriate. The Commission believes​
that the court is best able to distinguish these offenders, and can depart from the Guidelines​
accordingly.​

2.D.303. The requirement that a defendant be "particularly" amenable to probation ensures​
that the defendant's amenability to probation distinguishes the defendant from most others and​
truly presents the substantial and compelling circumstances necessary to justify a departure. State​
v. Soto, 855 N.W.2d 303, 309 (Minn. 2014). While social or economic factors cannot justify a​
departure, such facts may be relevant to determining whether a defendant is particularly amenable​
to probation. Id at 312. In determining whether a defendant is particularly suitable to individualized​
treatment in a probationary setting, for example, a court is permitted to consider the defendant's​
age, prior record, remorse, cooperation, attitude before the court, and social support. State v. Trog,​
323 N.W.2d 28, 31 (Minn. 1982).​

2.D.304. The Commission recognizes that in the medical field the diagnosis "chemically​
dependent" has been superseded by the diagnosis "substance use disorder, mild, moderate or​
severe." See the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 5th ed.; (DSM-5); American​
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Psychiatric Association, 2013. Because the chemically dependent diagnosis language remains​
prevalent in Minnesota Statutes, the Commission has not adopted the new substance use disorder​
diagnosis language. In the event that the Legislature changes the statutory language, the Commission​
will take appropriate action.​

2.D.305. In section 2.D.3.b(3), an aggravated durational departure is permitted when the​
current conviction is for a criminal sexual conduct offense or an offense in which the victim was​
otherwise injured and there is a prior felony conviction for a criminal sexual conduct offense or​
an offense in which victim injury was established as an element of the offense. The departure is​
appropriate even if the prior felony offense had decayed in accordance with section 2.B.1.c. An​
aggravated durational departure is possible without jury determination of additional facts if victim​
injury is established in proving the elements of the current offense.​

2.D.306. Special sentencing provisions were established by the legislature under Minnesota​
Statutes, sections 609.3455, subdivision 3a, 609.1095, subdivision 2, and 609.1095, subdivision 4,​
that are available to the courts when sentencing certain sex offenders, "dangerous offenders," and​
"career offenders." The use of one of these sentencing provisions would constitute a departure​
under the Guidelines and the court must provide written reasons specifying that the requirements​
of the statute have been met.​

2.D.307. The aggravating factor involving groups of three or more offenders under section​
2.D.3.b(10) cannot be used when an offender has been convicted under Minnesota Statutes, section​
609.229, Crime Committed for Benefit of a Gang. See section 2.G, Convictions for Attempts,​
Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers, for the presumptive sentence for offenders convicted​
of Crime Committed for Benefit of a Gang, Minnesota Statutes, section 609.229, subdivision 3,​
paragraph (a).​

2.D.308. The aggravating factor involving bias motivation under section 2.D.3.b(11) cannot​
be used when sentencing an offender for a crime with an increased statutory maximum penalty​
under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.2233 (felony assault motivated by bias), or for a crime that​
was elevated to a felony offense because of bias motivation (e.g., Minnesota Statutes, sections​
609.2231, subdivision 4 (fourth-degree assault); 609.595, subdivision 1a, paragraph (a) (criminal​
damage to property); and 609.749, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (1) (harassment)). The​
Commission intends that a penalty for a bias-motivated offense be subject to enhancement only​
once.​

In determining when domestic violence, sexual assault and sexual abuse cases are motivated​
by a victim's sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender expression and may be​
appropriately enhanced, proof must be shown of at least one factor, such as: offender makes abusive​
or derogatory references based on sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender​
expression; offender states hatred for a sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender​
expression as a class; crime involves excessive violence, including mutilation; or there are multiple​
victims of the same sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender expression.​

E. Mandatory Sentences​

1. In General. When an offender is convicted of an offense with a statutory mandatory minimum​
sentence of one year and one day or more, the presumptive disposition is commitment even if the​
presumptive sentence would ordinarily fall within the shaded area on the applicable Grid. The​
presumptive duration of the prison sentence is the mandatory minimum sentence in statute or the​
duration provided in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid, whichever is longer. When an​
offender is sentenced for an attempted offense under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.17, or​
conspiracy to commit an offense under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.175, and the underlying​
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offense has a mandatory minimum sentence of a year and a day or more, the presumptive duration​
is the mandatory minimum sentence in statute or one-half the duration found in the appropriate cell​
on the applicable Grid, whichever is longer. See Mandatory and Presumptive Sentences Reference​
Table in Appendix 1.​

2. Specific Statutory Provisions. The following mandatory minimum provisions should be​
imposed as indicated.​

a. Second- and Third-Degree Murder. Minnesota Statutes, section 609.107, Mandatory​
Penalty for Certain Murderers, determines the presumptive sentence for an offender sentenced​
under that statute.​

b. Dangerous Weapon or Firearm. Minnesota Statutes, section 609.11, establishes the​
mandatory sentence for offenses committed with a dangerous weapon or firearm, or for possession​
of a firearm by an ineligible felon.​

(1) Finding the Mandatory Sentence. Regardless of whether an offender would otherwise​
receive a presumptive stayed sentence under the Guidelines, the presumptive disposition for an​
offense subject to a mandatory sentence under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.11, is always​
commitment. The mandatory duration is established in the statute. See Dangerous Weapons -​
Minnesota Statutes, section 609.11, Table in Appendix 2.​

(2) Departure. Minnesota Statutes, section 609.11, subdivision 8, provides that the court,​
on its own motion or on the prosecutor's motion, may sentence without regard to the mandatory​
minimum sentence if the court finds substantial and compelling reasons to do so. Sentencing under​
subdivision 8 is a departure as follows:​

(i) Dispositional Departure. A stay of execution or stay of imposition is a dispositional​
departure.​

(ii) Durational Departure. A sentence other than the mandatory minimum or the​
presumptive duration or applicable range in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid, whichever​
is longer, is a durational departure.​

c. Controlled Substance Offenses Involving a Dangerous Weapon. Pursuant to Minnesota​
Statutes, section 609.11, subdivision 5a, some drug offenses committed with a dangerous weapon​
may be subject to one of the following two provisions.​

(1) Certain Aggravated First-Degree Offenses. If an offender is sentenced for aggravated​
controlled substance crime in the first degree under Minnesota Statutes, section 152.021, subdivision​
2b, clause (2), and is also subject to Minnesota Statutes, section 609.11, subdivision 5a, the​
presumptive duration is the mandatory minimum sentence described in section 2.C.3.c(1) added to​
the mandatory minimum sentence for the dangerous weapon involvement found in Minnesota​
Statutes, section 609.11, subdivision 4 or 5.​

(2) Subsequent Controlled Substance Offenses. If an offender is sentenced for a subsequent​
controlled substance offense and is subject to Minnesota Statutes, section 609.11, subdivision 5a,​
the presumptive duration is the longer of either:​

(i) the mandatory minimum sentence for the subsequent controlled substance offense​
added to the mandatory minimum sentence for the dangerous weapon involvement; or​

(ii) the presumptive duration for the subsequent controlled substance offense provided​
in the appropriate cell on the Drug Offender Grid and limited, if applicable, by section 2.C.3.c(1).​
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d. Dangerous and Repeat Felony Offenders. When an offender is sentenced under Minnesota​
Statutes, section 609.1095, subdivision 3, the presumptive disposition is commitment. The court​
must impose and execute the presumptive duration unless a longer mandatory minimum sentence​
is otherwise required by law or the court imposes a longer aggravated durational departure.​

e. Felony Driving While Impaired (DWI). When the court sentences an offender for first-​
degree felony driving while impaired, under Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.276, it must impose​
a sentence of at least 36 months. The court cannot stay imposition or adjudication of the sentence,​
but may stay execution.​

3. Conditional Release. Several Minnesota statutes provide for mandatory conditional release​
terms that must be served by certain offenders once they are released from prison. The court must​
pronounce the conditional release term when sentencing for the following offenses:​

(1) First-degree (felony) driving while impaired. Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.276,​
subdivision 1, paragraph (d).​

(2) Predatory offense registration violation committed by certain offenders. Minnesota​
Statutes, section 243.166, subdivision 5a.​

(3) Assault in the fourth degree against secure treatment facility personnel. Minnesota​
Statutes, section 609.2231, subdivision 3a, paragraph (e).​

(4) First- through fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct, sexual extortion, and criminal​
sexual predatory conduct. Minnesota Statutes, section 609.3455, subdivisions 6 to 8.​

(5) Use of minors in sexual performance. Minnesota Statutes, section 617.246, subdivision​
7.​

(6) Child pornography. Minnesota Statutes, section 617.247, subdivision 9.​

4. Mandatory Life Sentences. Mandatory life imprisonment sentences for first-degree murder​
and for sex offenses subject to Minnesota Statutes, section 609.3455, subdivision 2, are not governed​
by the Guidelines.​

Comment​

2.E.01. The Commission attempted to draw the dispositional line so that the great majority of​
offenses that might involve a mandatory sentence would fall outside the shaded areas of the grids.​
However, some cases carry a mandatory prison sentence under state law but fall within the shaded​
areas of the Grids; e.g., Assault in the Second Degree. When that occurs, imprisonment of the​
offender is the presumptive disposition. The presumptive duration is the mandatory minimum​
sentence or the duration provided in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid, whichever is​
longer. These crimes are ranked above the dispositional line because the Commission believes the​
durations at these levels are more proportional to the crime than the durations found at the higher​
severity levels where prison is recommended regardless of the criminal history score of the offender.​
For example, according to Minnesota Statutes, section 609.11, the mandatory minimum prison​
sentence for Assault in the Second Degree involving a knife is one year and one day. However,​
according to the Guidelines, the presumptive duration is the mandatory minimum sentence or the​
duration provided in the appropriate cell on the Standard Grid, whichever is longer. Therefore,​
for someone convicted of Assault in the Second Degree with a Criminal History Score of 0, the​
Guidelines presume a 21 month prison duration based on the appropriate cell on the Standard​
Grid found at Severity Level 6. The Commission believes this duration is more appropriate than​
the 48 month prison duration that would be recommended if this crime were ranked at Severity​
Level 8, which is the first severity level ranked completely above the dispositional line.​
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2.E.02. When the mandatory minimum sentence is less than one year, the Commission interprets​
the minimum to mean any incarceration including time spent in local confinement as a condition​
of a stayed sentence. The presumptive disposition is not commitment unless the case falls above​
the dispositional line on the applicable Grid.​

2.E.03. Some offenses by statutory definition involve a dangerous weapon, and therefore the​
mandatory minimum provision dealing with dangerous weapons always applies: Aggravated​
Controlled Substance Crime in the First Degree with a firearm under Minnesota Statutes, section​
152.021, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), clause (1); Controlled Substance Crime in the First or​
Second Degree with a firearm under Minnesota Statutes, section 152.021, subdivision 1, clause​
(2), item (i), or subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (2), item (i), or Minnesota Statutes, section​
152.022, subdivision 1, clause (2), item (i) or subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (2), item (i);​
Assault in the Second Degree under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.222; Harassment (Aggravated​
Violations) with a dangerous weapon under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.749, subdivision 3,​
paragraph (a), clause (3); Certain Persons Not to Have Firearms or Ammunition under Minnesota​
Statutes, section 624.713, subdivision 2, paragraph (b) and 609.165, subdivision 1b; and Drive-​
By Shootings under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.66. The presumptive disposition for these types​
of offenses is imprisonment and the presumptive duration is the mandatory minimum sentence​
prescribed for the conviction offense or the cell time, whichever is longer.​

2.E.04. The mandatory minimum provision dealing with the use of dangerous weapons in the​
commission of certain felonies (Minnesota Statutes, section 609.11) provides that the finder of fact​
must determine the firearm or other dangerous weapon use or firearm possession based upon the​
record of the trial or plea of guilty and does not require the citing of this provision. If the court​
finds that a dangerous weapon was involved, the mandatory minimum applies under Minnesota​
Statutes, section 609.11. This provision also provides prosecutors with the authority to make a​
motion to sentence apart from the mandatory minimum sentence. In State v. Olson, 325 N.W.2d 13​
(Minn. 1982), the Supreme Court extended that authority to courts as well. When the prosecutor​
or court makes a motion to sentence apart from the mandatory minimum, it becomes legal to stay​
imposition or execution of sentence or to impose a lesser sentence than the mandatory minimum.​
When this motion is made, the presumptive disposition for the case is still imprisonment, and the​
presumptive duration is the mandatory minimum sentence prescribed for the conviction offense or​
the cell time, whichever is longer. A stay of imposition or execution for the case constitutes a​
mitigated dispositional departure. The imposition of a duration less than the mandatory minimum​
or cell time, if the latter is longer, constitutes a mitigated durational departure. Written reasons​
specifying the substantial and compelling nature of the circumstances and demonstrating why the​
sentence selected is more appropriate, reasonable or equitable than the presumptive sentence are​
required.​

2.E.05. Minnesota Statutes, section 609.11, subdivision 5a, applies to aggravated controlled​
substance crime in the first degree only if the offender is convicted under Minnesota Statutes, section​
152.021, subdivision 2b, clause (2), and the crime was committed with a firearm or other dangerous​
weapon. Example: An offender with a Criminal History Score of 3 possessed 100 grams of cocaine.​
Because two of the aggravating factors listed in Minnesota Statutes, section 152.01, subdivision​
24, were present, the offender is convicted of aggravated controlled substance crime in the first​
degree under Minnesota Statutes, section 152.021, subdivision 2b, clause (2). It is also proven that​
the offender was in possession of a firearm, although the firearm possession was not an element​
of the crime. The mandatory minimum sentence would be 158 months, calculated as follows:​

122 months Mand. Min. (section 2.C.3.c(1); severity level D9, Criminal​
History Score of 3)​
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36 months Mand. Min. for weapon (Minnesota Statutes, section 609.11,​
subdivision 5, paragraph (a))​

+​

158 months​=​

Minnesota Statutes, section 609.11, subdivision 5a, does not apply to Minnesota Statutes, section​
152.021, subdivision 2b, clause (1), which, by definition, involves the use or possession of a firearm.​

2.E.06. Minnesota Statutes, section 609.11, subdivision 5a, states that for a subsequent controlled​
substance offense involving a weapon, the mandatory minimum duration for the drug offense and​
the mandatory minimum duration for the weapon offense are added together. The Guidelines​
presumptive duration is determined by comparing the total sum of the combined mandatory​
minimums and the duration found in the appropriate cell on the Drug Offender Grid for the​
subsequent controlled substance offense; the presumptive duration is the longer of the two. For​
example: A second-degree drug offender with a Criminal History Score of 2 is convicted of a​
subsequent controlled substance offense and was in possession of a firearm.​

36 months Mand. Min. (Minnesota Statutes, section 152.022, subdivision​
3, paragraph (b))​

Mandatory​
Minimums:​

36 months Mand. Min. (Minnesota Statutes, section 609.11, subdivision​
5, paragraph (a))​

+​

72 months​=​

vs.​

68 months (Severity Level D7; Criminal History Score of 2)​=​Grid Cell:​

F. Concurrent/Consecutive Sentences​

Generally, when an offender is convicted of multiple current offenses, or when there is a prior​
felony sentence that has not expired or been discharged, concurrent sentencing is presumptive.​

This section sets forth the criteria for imposing consecutive sentences. Imposition of consecutive​
sentences in any situation not described in this section is a departure.When the court imposes​
consecutive sentences, the court must sentence the offenses in the order in which they occurred.​

If two or more sentences are consecutively executed at the same time and by the same court,​
the Commissioner of Corrections must aggregate the sentence durations into a single fixed sentence.​
The aggregate term of imprisonment must be served before the aggregate supervised release period.​

If a sentence is executed consecutively to an earlier executed sentence (executed at an earlier​
time or by a different court), and the offender has not yet been placed on supervised release for the​
earlier executed sentence, the Commissioner of Corrections must aggregate both terms of​
imprisonment into a single, fixed term of imprisonment. The offender will serve the longer of the​
two supervised release terms.​

If a sentence is executed consecutively to an earlier executed sentence after the supervised​
release date for the earlier sentence, any remaining supervised release term from the earlier executed​
sentence is tolled while the offender serves the consecutive term of imprisonment. The offender​
will serve what remains of the previously tolled supervised release term or the supervised release​
term for the consecutive sentence, whichever is longer.​
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Comment​

2.F.01. Consecutive sentences are a more severe sanction because the intent is to confine the​
offender for a longer period than under concurrent sentences. If the severity of the sanction is to​
be proportional to the severity of the offense, consecutive sentences should be limited to more severe​
offenses.​

The Commission recommends that the court consider carefully whether the purposes of the​
Guidelines (in terms of punishment proportional to the severity of the offense and the offender's​
criminal history) would be served best by concurrent rather than consecutive sentences.​

2.F.02. When a sentence is executed consecutively to another executed sentence on the same​
day and before the same court, the Commissioner of Corrections aggregates the separate durations​
into a single fixed sentence. The two-thirds terms of imprisonment are aggregated and served​
consecutively; then, the one-third supervised release terms are aggregated and served consecutively​
as well.​

For example, if a court executes a 60-month fixed sentence, and, at the same time, executes a​
21-month fixed sentence to be served consecutively to the first sentence, the Commissioner of​
Corrections must aggregate the 40-month and 14-month terms of imprisonment into a single 54-​
month fixed term of imprisonment, and must aggregate the supervised release terms of 20 months​
and 7 months into a single 27-month fixed term of supervised release to be served consecutively,​
as illustrated below:​

1st: 20-mo. supervised release​
term​

1st: 40-mo. term of​
imprisonment​

2nd: 7-mo.​
s.r.t.​

2nd: 14-mo. term of​
imp.​

= 27-mo. agg. sup. rel. term​= 54-mo. aggregate term of imprisonment​

2.F.03. When two sentences are executed on different days or before different courts, the second​
sentence is consecutive to the first, and the offender has not yet been placed on supervised release​
for the first sentence at the time the second sentence is executed, then the terms of imprisonment​
will be aggregated. The first supervised release term will not run during the aggregate term of​
imprisonment, but the supervised release terms will run at the same time as each other.​

For example, Judge A sentences an offender to a 60-month executed sentence. Judge B later​
sentences the offender to a 21-month executed sentence, consecutive to the 60-month sentence.​
Neither of the offender's two supervised release terms will begin until the offender has completed​
the term of imprisonment (including disciplinary confinement) for both offenses. When the supervised​
release terms do begin, they will not be aggregated, as they would have been if the consecutive​
sentences were executed by the same judge at the same time. Instead, the longer supervised term​
release will effectively control the duration, and they will run simultaneously, as illustrated below:​

1st: 20-mo. supervised release term​
1st: 40-mo. term of​
imprisonment​

2nd: 7-mo. s.r.t.​
2nd: 14-mo.​
term of imp.​

= 20-mo. s.r.t.​= 54-mo. aggregate term of imprisonment​
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2.F.04. When an offender has already been placed on supervised release by the time the second,​
consecutive sentence is executed, the terms of imprisonment cannot be aggregated. In such a case,​
the first supervised release term stops running during the second term of imprisonment. When the​
offender is placed on supervised release for the consecutive sentence, the first supervised release​
term will resume; the offender will serve the remaining balance on the first supervised release term​
and the second supervised release term at the same time.​

For example, Judge A sentences an offender to a 60-month executed sentence. The offender​
serves a 40-month term of imprisonment and is placed on supervised release for 20 months. Five​
months after being placed on supervised release, Judge B sentences the offender to a 21-month​
executed sentence, consecutive to the 60-month sentence. During the ensuing 14-month term of​
imprisonment (and any disciplinary confinement thereafter), the first sentence's supervised release​
term is tolled. Upon release, the offender will serve the remaining balance of the original supervised​
release term (now 15 months) simultaneous to the service of the consecutive sentence's supervised​
release term. The longer supervised release term will effectively control the duration, as illustrated​
below:​

20-month supervised release term​

15 mo. sup. release​(tolled sup. release)​5 mo.​
1st: 40-mo. term of​
imprisonment​

7-mo. s.r.t.​2nd: 14-mo. term of imp.​

= 15-mo. s.r.t.​= 14-mo. t.i.​=5​
= 40-mo. term of​
imprisonment​

1. Presumptive Consecutive Sentences.​

a. Criteria for Imposing a Presumptive Consecutive Sentence. Consecutive sentences are​
presumptive (required under the Guidelines) when:​

(1) the offender was, at the time of the current offense:​

(i) serving an executed term of imprisonment, disciplinary confinement, or​
reimprisonment; or​

(ii) on escape status from an executed term of imprisonment, disciplinary​
confinement, or reimprisonment; and​

(2) the presumptive disposition for the current offense(s) is commitment.​

b. Finding the Presumptive Disposition. The presumptive disposition is determined using​
the criteria in section 2.C. The presumptive disposition for an escape from an executed sentence​
or for a felony assault committed by an inmate serving an executed term of imprisonment is always​
commitment.​

c. Finding the Presumptive Duration. For each offense sentenced consecutively to another​
offense(s) under this section, the presumptive duration is the duration in the appropriate cell on the​
applicable Grid at a Criminal History Score of 1, or the mandatory minimum for the offense,​
whichever is longer.​

d. Exception When Presumptive Concurrent Sentence is Longer. If the criteria in paragraph​
2.F.1.a have been met but the total time to serve in prison would be longer if a concurrent sentence​
were imposed, a concurrent sentence is presumptive. Otherwise, a concurrent sentence is a departure.​
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e. Consecutive Sentences for Multiple Offenses. When the court pronounces presumptive​
consecutive sentences for multiple offenses, each new offense will be sentenced at a Criminal​
History Score of 1. The new offenses will run concurrently to each other, but consecutive to the​
prior offense. Permissive consecutive sentencing under section 2.F.2 is not a departure if it would​
result in a longer sentence than the sentence resulting from this rule.​

f. Departure Factor. If there is evidence that the defendant has provided substantial and​
material assistance in the detection or prosecution of crime, the court may depart from the​
presumptive consecutive sentence and impose a concurrent sentence.​

g. Felony Driving While Impaired (DWI). Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.28, subdivision​
1, requires a consecutive sentence when the court sentences an offender for a felony DWI and:​

(1) the offender has a prior unexpired misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor or felony DWI​
sentence; and​

(2) the disposition for the current offense will be probation; but not​

(3) when the disposition for the current offense will be commitment.​

If the court pronounces a consecutive sentence, the presumptive duration is based on a Criminal​
History Score of 1. Any pronounced probationary jail time should be served consecutively to any​
remaining time to be served on the prior DWI offense.​

Comment​

2.F.101. This section establishes criteria requiring the use of consecutive sentences under the​
Guidelines. These are called "presumptive consecutive sentences." When consecutive sentencing​
is presumptive, it is a departure to give concurrent sentences.​

2.F.102. When the court pronounces presumptive consecutive sentences for multiple offenses,​
each new offense will be sentenced at a Criminal History Score of 1. The new offenses will run​
concurrently to each other, but consecutive to the prior offense.​

For example, an offender is convicted of Escape from Custody and First-Degree Burglary of​
an Occupied Dwelling following escape from an executed term of imprisonment. The term of​
imprisonment remaining on the original offense from which the offender escaped is 18 months.​
Each of the new offenses will have a presumptive consecutive sentence duration found at a Criminal​
History Score of 1: Escape from Custody (Severity Level 3), 13 months; Burglary (Severity Level​
6), 27 months. The two sentences will run concurrently to each other, and the longer of the two​
durations will be added to the time remaining on the original term of imprisonment (here, 27 months​
will be added to the time remaining on the original 18-month sentence). Aggregated, the new​
presumptive consecutive sentence duration is 45 months.​

2.F.103. A concurrent sentence is presumptive if it results in a longer time to serve in prison.​
For example, an inmate with a Criminal History Score of 6 assaults a prison guard only one month​
before supervised release is scheduled to begin. The Guidelines would typically recommend that​
the assault run consecutively to the unexpired prior except that a concurrent sentence is longer;​
therefore, a concurrent sentence is presumptive.​

1 month (before scheduled supervised release date)​

12 months (Severity Level 1; Criminal History Score of 1)​+​

13 months, consecutive​=​
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vs.​

19 months, concurrent (Severity Level 1; Criminal History Score of 6)​

2.F.104. If the offense is an attempt under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.17, or a conspiracy​
under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.175, and the court pronounces a presumptive consecutive​
sentence, the presumptive duration for each offense sentenced consecutively to another offense is​
determined by first locating the duration in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid at a Criminal​
History Score of 1, then applying the rules for attempts and conspiracy set forth in section 2.G.2.​

2. Permissive Consecutive Sentences.​

a. Criteria for Imposing a Permissive Consecutive Sentence. Consecutive sentences are​
permissive (may be given without departure) only in the situations specified in this section.​

(1) Specific Offenses; Presumptive Commitment. Consecutive sentences are permissive if​
the presumptive disposition for the current offense(s) is commitment, as outlined in section 2.C,​
and paragraph (i), (ii), or (iii) applies. If the court pronounces a consecutive stayed sentence under​
one of these paragraphs, the stayed sentence is a mitigated dispositional departure, but the consecutive​
nature of the sentence is not a departure. The consecutive stayed sentence begins when the offender​
completes the term of imprisonment and is placed on supervised release.​

(i) Prior Felony Sentence. A current felony conviction for a crime on the list in section​
6 of offenses eligible for permissive consecutive sentences may be sentenced consecutively to a​
prior felony sentence that has not expired or been discharged if the prior felony conviction:​

(a) is for a crime on the list in section 6 of offenses eligible for permissive consecutive​
sentences; or​

(b) is from a jurisdiction other than Minnesota and would be equivalent to a crime​
on the list in section 6.​

The presumptive disposition for the prior offense(s) must also be commitment as outlined​
in section 2.C. A non-Minnesota conviction is equivalent to a crime on the list in section 6 if it​
would both be defined as a felony in Minnesota, and received a sentence that in Minnesota would​
be a felony-level sentence, including the equivalent of a stay of imposition.​

(ii) Multiple Current Felony Convictions. If the offender is being sentenced for multiple​
current felony convictions for crimes on the list of offenses eligible for permissive consecutive​
sentences in section 6, the convictions may be sentenced consecutively to each other.​

(iii) Felony Conviction After Escape (Non-Executed Sentence). If the offender commits​
and is convicted for a new felony crime while on felony escape from lawful custody - as defined​
in Minnesota Statutes, section 609.485 - from a non-executed felony sentence, the new felony​
conviction may be sentenced consecutively to the sentence for the escape or the offense for which​
the offender was confined.​

(2) Other Offenses. Consecutive sentences for the following offenses are always permissive​
and there is no dispositional departure if the sentences are executed.​

(i) Felony Escape. If the offender is convicted of felony escape from lawful custody -​
as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 609.485 - and the offender did not escape from an executed​
term of imprisonment, disciplinary confinement, or reimprisonment (see section 2.F.1.a(1)(ii)), the​
escape may be sentenced consecutively to the sentence for which the offender was confined.​
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(ii) Felony Conviction After Escape (Executed Sentence). If the offender committed​
and is convicted for a new felony crime committed while on felony escape from lawful custody -​
as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 609.485 - from an executed felony sentence, the new​
felony may be sentenced consecutively to the sentence for the escape.​

(iii) Fleeing a Police Officer; Criminal Sexual Conduct. The court may impose​
consecutive sentences as permitted under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.035, subdivisions 5 and​
6, if both of the following occur:​

(a) the offender is convicted of either of the following offenses:​

(1) Fleeing a Peace Officer in a Motor Vehicle, as defined in Minnesota Statutes,​
section 609.487; or​

(2) Criminal Sexual Conduct in the First through Fourth Degrees with force or​
violence, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, sections 609.342 through 609.345; and​

(b) the court imposes punishment for any other crime committed by the defendant​
as part of the same conduct.​

(iv) Felony Assault in a Local Jail or Workhouse. If the offender is convicted of felony​
assault committed while in a local jail or workhouse, the felony assault conviction may be sentenced​
consecutively to any other executed prison sentence if the presumptive disposition for the other​
offense was commitment as outlined in section 2.C.​

b. Finding the Presumptive Duration. For each felony offense sentenced consecutively to another​
felony offense(s), the court must use a Criminal History Score of 0, or the mandatory minimum for​
the offense, whichever is longer, to determine the presumptive duration. A consecutive sentence​
at any other duration is a departure.​

Comment​

2.F.201. The Commission establishes criteria that permits, but does not require, the use of​
consecutive sentences in instances listed in the Guidelines. This is called "permissive consecutive​
sentences."​

2.F.202. If an offender is given permissive consecutive sentences, the presumptive duration for​
each offense sentenced consecutive to another offense(s) is determined by using the zero criminal​
history column, or the mandatory minimum, whichever is longer. The purpose of this procedure is​
to count an offender's criminal history score only one time in the computation of consecutive​
sentence durations.​

2.F.203. If the offense is an attempt under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.17, or a conspiracy​
under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.175, and the court pronounces a permissive consecutive​
sentence, the presumptive duration for each offense sentenced consecutively to another offense is​
determined by first locating the duration in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid at a Criminal​
History Score of 0, then applying the rules for attempts and conspiracy set forth in section 2.G.2.​
For example, in the case of an attempted aggravated robbery offense sentenced permissive​
consecutive to another offense, the duration found at Severity Level 8 and Criminal History Score​
of 0 (48 months), is divided in half - making the presumptive sentence 24 months.​

2.F.204. The Commission's policies on permissive consecutive sentences outline the criteria​
that are necessary to permit consecutive sentences without the requirement to cite reasons for​
departure. Courts may pronounce consecutive sentences in any other situation by citing reasons​
for departure. Courts may also pronounce durational and dispositional departures both upward​
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and downward in cases involving consecutive sentencing if reasons for departure are cited. The​
reasons for each type of departure should be specifically cited. The procedures for departures are​
outlined in section 2.D.​

2.F.205. Consecutive sentences are permissive for multiple current felony convictions even​
when the offenses involve one victim and a single course of conduct, but only when the presumptive​
disposition is commitment. However, consecutive sentencing is not permissive for multiple current​
felony convictions involving one victim and a single course of conduct if the court is giving an​
upward durational departure on any of the current conviction offenses. The Commission believes​
that to give both an upward durational departure and a consecutive sentence when the circumstances​
involve one victim and a single course of conduct can result in disproportional sentencing unless​
additional aggravating factors exist to justify the consecutive sentence.​

2.F.206. An offender given a consecutive sentence for a crime committed while using or​
possessing metal-penetrating bullets under Minnesota Statutes, section 624.7191, subdivision 3,​
can get up to the three-year statutory maximum without departing from the Guidelines. The length​
of the consecutive sentence is left to the discretion of the court. For example, an offender with a​
Criminal History Score of 0 is sentenced to a presumptive 48 months prison for aggravated robbery​
in the first degree, and next is sentenced to 36 months prison consecutively for possessing metal-​
penetrating bullets.​

3. Crime Committed for the Benefit of a Gang. When the court imposes a presumptive or permissive​
consecutive sentence for a crime committed for the benefit of a gang under Minnesota Statutes,​
section 609.229, subdivision 3, the presumptive duration includes additional months as outlined in​
section 2.G.​

4. Pre-Guidelines Cases. If a sentence is imposed consecutively to an offense committed before​
May 1, 1980, the consecutive sentence begins after completion of any incarceration arising from​
the prior sentence.​

Comment​

2.F.401. The Commissioner of Corrections has the authority to establish policies regarding​
durations of confinement for offenders sentenced for crimes committed before May 1, 1980, and​
will continue to establish policies for the durations of confinement for offenders revoked and re-​
imprisoned while on parole or supervised release, who were imprisoned for crimes committed on​
or after May 1, 1980.​

If an offender is under the custody of the Commissioner of Corrections pursuant to a sentence​
for an offense committed on or before April 30, 1980, and if the offender is convicted of a new​
felony committed on or after May 1, 1980, and is given a presumptive sentence to run consecutively​
to the previous indeterminate sentence, the phrase "completion of any incarceration arising from​
the prior sentence" means the target release date the Commissioner of Corrections assigned to the​
inmate for the offense committed on or before April 30, 1980, or the date on which the inmate​
completes any incarceration assigned as a result of a revocation of parole for the pre-Guidelines​
offense.​

G. Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers:​

1. In General. Sentence modifiers are statutes or policies that aid in defining the punishment​
for the underlying offense. Modifiers can affect either or both the duration and the disposition of​
the presumptive sentence. Any change to the presumptive fixed sentence under this section must​
also be applied to the upper and lower ends of the range found in the appropriate cell on the​
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applicable Grid, except that the presumptive sentence cannot be less than one year, nor can it be​
less than any applicable mandatory minimum.​

2. Attempt or Conspiracy. For an attempted offense under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.17,​
or for conspiracy to commit an offense under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.175, the presumptive​
duration is one-half of that found in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid for the underlying​
offense. When the underlying offense has a mandatory minimum sentence of a year or more, the​
presumptive duration is the mandatory minimum sentence in statute or one-half the duration found​
in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid, whichever is longer.​

3. Solicitation of Juveniles or Mentally Impaired Persons. When an offender is sentenced for​
soliciting a juvenile under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.494, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), or​
for soliciting a mentally impaired person under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.493, subdivision​
2, paragraph (b), the presumptive duration is one-half of that found in the appropriate cell on the​
applicable Grid for the underlying offense.​

4. Conspiracy to Commit a Controlled Substance Offense. The modifying statute for Conspiracy​
to Commit a Controlled Substance offense under Minnesota Statutes, section 152.096, does not​
affect the presumptive sentence for the underlying offense.​

5. Attempt or Conspiracy to Commit Criminal Sexual Conduct in the First or Second Degree.​
The Commission regards the provisions in Minnesota Statutes, sections 609.342, subdivision 2,​
paragraph (b), and 609.343, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), as statutorily created presumptive sentences,​
not mandatory minimums. When an offender is sentenced for an attempt or conspiracy to commit​
Criminal Sexual Conduct in the First Degree under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.342 or Criminal​
Sexual Conduct in the Second Degree under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.343, subdivisions 1,​
paragraphs (a), (b), (c), (d), (e); 1a, paragraphs (a), (b), (c), (d), (h), or (i), the presumptive duration​
is one-half of that found in the appropriate cell on the Sex Offender Grid for the underlying offense​
or any mandatory minimum, whichever is longer.​

6. Taking Responsibility for Criminal Acts. When an offender is sentenced for taking​
responsibility for criminal acts under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.495, subdivision 4, the​
presumptive duration is one-half of that found in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid for the​
underlying offense.​

7. Offense Committed in Furtherance of Terrorism. When an offender is sentenced for an offense​
committed in the furtherance of terrorism under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.714, the presumptive​
duration found in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid for the underlying offense must be​
increased by fifty percent.​

8. Criminal Sexual Predatory Conduct. When an offender is sentenced for criminal sexual​
predatory conduct under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.3453, the presumptive duration found in​
the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid for the underlying offense must be increased by:​

a. twenty-five percent; or​

b. fifty percent, if the violation was committed by an offender with a "previous sex offense​
conviction" as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 609.3455, subdivision 1.​

9. Offense Committed for the Benefit of a Gang. When an offender is sentenced for an offense​
committed for the benefit of a gang under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.229, subdivision 3,​
paragraph (a):​

a. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 609.229, subdivision 4, the presumptive disposition​
is always commitment; and​
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b. The presumptive duration is determined by locating the duration in the appropriate cell​
on the applicable Grid defined by the offender's criminal history score and the underlying crime​
with the highest severity level, or the mandatory minimum for the underlying crime, whichever is​
longer, and adding:​

(1) If the offense does not involve a victim or if the victim was eighteen or older:​

(i) 12 months, if the underlying offense was completed; or​

(ii) 6 months, if the underlying offense was an attempt under Minnesota Statutes,​
section 609.17, or conspiracy under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.175; or​

(2) If the offense involves a victim under the age of eighteen:​

(i) 24 months, if the underlying offense was completed; or​

(ii) 12 months, if the underlying offense was an attempt under Minnesota Statutes,​
section 609.17, or conspiracy under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.175.​

10. Felony Assault Motivated by Bias. When an offender is sentenced for a crime for which​
the maximum penalty has been increased under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.2233, the​
presumptive duration found in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid for the underlying offense​
must be increased by twenty-five percent.​

11. Criminal Vehicular Homicide (Death or Death to an Unborn Child, and Qualified Prior​
Conviction). When an offender is sentenced for a criminal vehicular homicide under Minnesota​
Statutes, section 609.2112, subdivision 1, paragraph (b) (death, qualified prior conviction), or​
Minnesota Statutes, section 609.2114, subdivision 1, paragraph (b) (death to an unborn child,​
qualified prior conviction), the presumptive duration found in the appropriate cell on the Standard​
Grid for the offense must be increased by fifty percent.​

12. Attempt or Conspiracy to Commit First-Degree Murder. When an offender is sentenced for​
attempt or conspiracy to commit murder in the first degree under Minnesota Statutes, section​
609.185, or murder of an unborn child in the first degree under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.2661,​
the presumptive disposition is commitment. The presumptive durations are as follows:​

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE​

6 or​
More​

5​4​3​2​1​0​SEVERITY LEVEL OF​
CONVICTION OFFENSE​

240​
204-2401​

230​
196-2401​

220​
187-2401​

210​
179-2401​

200​
170-240​

190​
162-228​

180​
153-216​

Conspiracy/Attempted Murder, 1st​
Degree​

1 Minnesota Statutes, section 244.09, requires that the Guidelines provide a range for sentences that are presumptive commitment to state​
imprisonment of 15% lower and 20% higher than the fixed duration displayed, provided that the minimum sentence is not less than one year and​
the maximum sentence is not more than the statutory maximum. See section 2.C.1-2.​

13. Second or Subsequent Severe Violent Offense.​

a. The following definitions apply to this section:​

(1) A "severe violent offense" is an offense listed in section 8, Severe Violent Offense​
List. "Severe violent offense" includes attempt or conspiracy, and includes an equivalent felony​
from a jurisdiction other than Minnesota, as outlined in section 2.B.5 (Convictions from Jurisdictions​
other than Minnesota). A current offense is not a "severe violent offense" if section 2.E.4 (Mandatory​
Life Sentences) applies.​
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(2) "Second or subsequent severe violent offense" means that prior to the commission​
of current severe violent offense, the offender has been adjudicated guilty of one or more severe​
violent offense.​

(3) A "prior severe violent offense conviction" is an adjudication that qualifies the current​
offense as a second or subsequent severe violent offense. A conviction for an offense excluded​
from criminal history score computation under section 2.B.1.c (Felony Decay Factor) does not​
qualify as a "prior severe violent offense conviction." A conviction that resulted in a non-felony​
sentence (see section 2.B.1.h) does not qualify as a "prior severe violent offense conviction" if the​
non-felony sentence was imposed before the current offense date.​

b. If the current offense is a second or subsequent severe violent offense, the presumptive​
fixed sentence for the current offense, as determined in section 2.C, shall increase by the number​
of months corresponding, in the following table, to the number of prior severe violent offense​
convictions, provided that:​

(1) If the current severe violent offense is an attempt under Minnesota Statutes, section​
609.17, or conspiracy under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.175, the increase shall be one-half the​
number of months stated; and​

(2) This section shall not apply to a presumptive or permissive consecutive sentence​
pursuant to section 2.F.​

MONTHS​NUMBER OF PRIOR SEVERE​
VIOLENT OFFENSE​

CONVICTIONS​

12​1​

18​2​

24​3 or more​

Comment​

2.G.01. If the presumptive sentence is an odd number, division by two produces a presumptive​
sentence involving a half month. For example, 41 months divided by two equals 20.5 months. In​
that case, 20.5 months is the presumptive sentence length.​

2.G.02. A modifier that reduces the duration of the presumptive sentence does not alter a​
presumptive disposition of commitment. For example, the presumptive sentence for completed​
simple robbery at a Criminal History Score of 3 is commitment for 33 months; the presumptive​
sentence for attempt is commitment for 16.5 months. Although 16.5 months appears to be in the​
shaded area on the Standard Grid, the presumptive disposition is still commitment.​

2.G.03. While the Commission recognizes the enhanced punishments available in the existing​
dangerous offender law (Minnesota Statutes, section 609.1095, subdivisions 2 and 3), it is also​
aware of the limited scope of those provisions, which, in practice, rarely result in enhanced sentences.​
It views the establishment of an automatic sentence modifier applicable to second or subsequent​
severe violent offenses as being necessary to protect the public from crime and thereby to promote​
public safety. The term "second or subsequent severe violent offense" incorporates the statutory​
term "second or subsequent offense" (Minnesota Statutes, section 609.02, subdivision 11).​
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