The commissioner of public welfare may transfer a patient from one state hospital for the mentally ill to another, or to an institution for the mentally retarded or epileptic or from one institution for the mentally retarded or epileptic to another or to a state hospital for the mentally ill or any other institution under his jurisdiction.

The commissioner of public welfare may use available space in any institution under his jurisdiction, or in any institution under the jurisdiction of another department or agency of the state in which space is proffered him, by executive or legislative action, for the care and custody of persons, patients, or inmates of the institutions under his exclusive control for whom other, more suitable, space is not available. All laws relating to the commitment and care of such persons who may be so committed and institutionalized shall be applicable to such persons.

Sec. 6. The effective date of this act shall be January 1, 1968. Approved May 24, 1967.

CHAPTER 840—H. F. No. 485

An act relating to judicial districts; providing for additional judges in the tenth judicial district; amending Minnesota Statutes 1965, Section 2.722.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

- Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1965, Section 2.722, is amended to read:
- 2.722 Judicial districts; additional judges; tenth district. Effective July 1, 1959, the state is divided into ten judicial districts composed of the following named counties, respectively, in each of which districts two or more judges shall be chosen as hereinafter specified:
- 1. Goodhue, Dakota, Carver, LeSueur, McLeod, Scott, and Sibley; five judges; and four permanent chambers shall be maintained in Red Wing, Hastings, Shakopee, and Glencoe and one other shall be maintained at the place designated by the chief judge of the district;
 - 2. Ramsey; ten judges;
 - 3. Wabasha, Winona, Houston, Rice, Olmsted, Dodge,

Changes or additions indicated by italics, deletions by strikeout.

Steele, Waseca, Freeborn, Mower, and Fillmore; six judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Owatonna, Albert Lea, Austin, Rochester, and Winona;

- 4. Hennepin; 16 judges;
- 5. Blue Earth, Watonwan, Lyon, Redwood, Brown, Nicollet, Lincoln, Cottonwood, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Rock, Faribault, Martin, and Jackson; five judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Marshall, Windom, Fairmont, New Ulm, and Mankato;
 - 6. Carlton, St. Louis, Lake, and Cook; six judges;
- 7. Benton, Douglas, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Otter Tail, Stearns, Todd, Clay, Becker, and Wadena; four judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Moorhead, Fergus Falls, Little Falls, and St. Cloud;
- 8. Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Meeker, Renville, Swift, Yellow Medicine, Big Stone, Grant, Pope, Stevens, Traverse, and Wilkin; three judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Glenwood, Montevideo, and Litchfield;
- 9. Norman, Polk, Marshall, Kittson, Red Lake, Roseau, Mahnomen, Pennington, Aitkin, Itasca, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Beltrami, Lake of the Woods, Clearwater, Cass and Koochiching; six judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Crookston, Thief River Falls, Bemidji, Brainerd, Grand Rapids, and International Falls;
- 10. Anoka, Isanti, Wright, Sherburne, Kanabec, Pine, Chisago, and Washington; four six judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Anoka, Lindstrom-Center City, and Stillwater.

Approved May 24, 1967.

CHAPTER 841—H. F. No. 564

An act relating to the retirement of judges of probate court; amending Minnesota Statutes 1965, Section 490.12, Subdivision 3.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1965, Section 490.12, Subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Changes or additions indicated by italics, deletions by strikeout.