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duly appointed and qualified who shall assume to act as a state
inspector-or-deputy-inspector of grain shall be guilty of a misdemean-
or; and upon conviction thereof punished by a fine of not less than $50
nor more than $100.

Subd. 2. MISCONDUCT OF EMPLOYEES. An —msfeeber— ;
i —wei R i employee ofythe epart-
ment of public service who shall knowingly or carelessly inspect or
weigh any grain improperly, or give any false certificate of inspection
or wei%ht, or accept money or other consideration directly or
indireetly for any neglect or improper performance of duty or who
shall be guilty of any neglect of duty, and any person who shall
improperly influenee or attempt to influence any such officer in the
performance of his official duty shall be guilty of a gross misdemean-
or; and upon eonviction punished by a fine of not less than $100 nor
more than $1,000 or imprisonment in the county jail for not less than
30 days nor more than one year or by both such fine and imprison-
ment. :

Subd. 3. VIOLATION OF SECTION 233.31 A MISDEMEAN-
OR. Any Person found guilty of violating any provision of section
233.31 shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.

dS'ec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 1969, Section 235.14, is amended to
read: .

235.14 CERTIFICATES; INSPECTION; WEIGHING. Ever
elevator company, corporation, copartnership, association, or individ-
ual operating any elevator, building, or place in this state for the
purchase, storage, or deposit of any grain or other farm commodity
shall be entitled to receive from, and shall demand of, the officer
whose duty it is to issue the same the official certificate of inspection
in duplicate, together with the-weighmaster’s weighing certificate in
duplicate, for any grain or other farm commodity shipped from any
such elevator, huilding, or place and inspected and weighed as
provided by the laws of this state,

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 1969, Section 229.09, is repealed.
. Approved March 29, 1971.

CHAPTER 74—H.F.No.340

An act relating to the department of public service; regulating
organization and fees and permits subject to its authority; amending
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Minnesota Statutes 1969, Sections 216A.04, Subdivision 3; 221.011,
Subdivision 22; 221.131; 221.64; 239.01; 239.04; 239.07; 289.08; 239.09;
239.10; 239.20; 239.23; and 239.24.

Be it ehacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1969, Section 216A.04, Subdivi-
sion 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SERVICE; ORGANI-
ZATION; FEES AND PERMITS. The commission may employ such
other assistants as may be necessary to carry out its functions,
including-hearings, hearing officers and reporters, within the funds

rovidef therefor from time to time. The commissioners individual-

y may act as-hearings hearing officers.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 1969, Section 221.011, Subdivision
22 is amended to read:

Subd. 22. “Exempt carrier” means any carrier exempt from
chapter 221, or from any other law or regulation by the public service
commission. The following are so exempt:

(a) Any person engaged in farming or in transporting agricultur-
al, hortieultural, dairy, livestock, or other farm products within an
area having a 25 mile radius from his home postoffice. Such carrier
may transport other commodities within such area if the destination
of each haul is 2 farm within the above deseribed area. The owner of
any truck operating under this provision shall imprint his name and
address in prominent visible letters on the outside of the cab of his
truck.

(b) Any occasional accommodation service beyond the 25 mile
radius from his home postoffice by any person engaged in farming as
his primary means of livelihood and actually residing on a farm and
whose truck or trucks are licensed under provisions of section 168.013,
subdivision 1, paragraph 4a. Oecasional accommodation service shall
mean not in excess of six trips in any calendar year.

(c) AHK %)erson engaged in agricultural pursuits, who owns and

. uses a truck for transporting the products of his farm, or any person
while engaged exclusively in the transportation of fresh vegetables
from farms to canneries or viner stations, or from viner stations to
canneries, or from canneries to canneries during the harvesting,
canning or packing season, or potatoes, sugar beets, wild rice and -
rutabagas from the field of production to the first place of delivery or
unloading, including but not limited to a processing plant, warehouse
or railroad siding. This term shall also apply to a manufacturer,
producer, dealer or distributor who, in the pursuit of his own business,
owns and uses trucks for the purpose of transporting his own
products, and shall apply to any person while engaged exclusively in
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the transportation of pulpwood, cord wood, mining timber, poles,
posts, :a.ndp decorative evergreens from the place where the é;roducts
are produced to the point where they are to be used or shipped.

(d) Any person while exclusively engaged in the transportation
of dirt and sod within an area having a 50 mile radius from his home
postoffice, :

(e) Any person while exclusively engaged in the transportation of
unwashed sand or gravel to or from the point of loading or a place of
gathering within an area having a 50 mile radius from his home
postoffice or a 50 mile radius from the site of construction or
maintenance of public roads and streets.

(f) Any person engaged in the transportation of household goods
for the federal government or any agency thereof or the transporta-
tion of household goods for the state government or any agency
thereof, where competitive bids are required by law shall be exempt
from the provisions of section 221.161.

{g) Any person engaged in transporting property or freight,
excepling household goods and petroleum produets in bulk, when the
movement is entirely within the corporate ﬁmits of a city or village or
between contiguous eities or villages.

(h) Emergency vehicles such as ambulances, tow trucks, and
hearses when carrying proper and legal warning devices,

. (i) Any person engaged in delivery or spreading of agricultural
ime.

(j}) Any person engaged in transporting rubbish as defined in

section 443.27.

dSec\ 3. Minnesota Statutes 1969, Section 221.131, is amended to
read: ‘

221.131 PERMITS; TERMS, FEES, PLATES. Permits issued
pursuant to the provisions of sections 221.011 to 221.291 shall be
effective for a 12-month period, commencing on the first day of the
month of their issuance and shall continue from year to year
thereafter upon payment of the required registration fee ‘and
compliance otherwise with law. The permit holder shall pay into the
treasury of the state of Minnesota a fee of $25 for each kind of permit
for which a petition is filed, exeept on annual renewal, pursuant to
section 221.121 and a registration fee of $15 on each vehicle, includinE
pickup and delivery vehicles, operated by him under authority of suc
permit during said 12-month period or fraction thereof. Trailers
used by applicant in combination with truck-tractors shall not be
counted as vehicles in the computation of fees under this section,
provided applicant pays the fees for such truck-tractors. The commis-
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sion shall furnish a distinguishing plate, card, or decal for each
vehicle or truck-tractor for which a fee has been paid, which plate,
card, or decal shall at all times be displayed on the vehicle or
truck-tractor to which it has been assigned. Plates may be reas-
signed to another vehicle or truck-tractor without fee by the
commission upon application of the permit holder. Plates, cards, or
decals issued under the provisions of this section shall be good only
for the period for which the permit is effective. The name and
residence of the permit holder shall be stenciled or otherwise shown in
a conspicuous place on each vehicle operated under his permit. In
the event a permit has been suspended or revoked, the eommission
may consider a petition for reinstatement thereof, upon the same
procedure required for an original application, and may, in its
discretion, grant or deny the same. Regular route common carriers
and petroleum carriers, operating under sections 221.011 to 221.291,
shall annually on or before January 1 of each calendar year, pay into
the treasury of the state of Minnesota an annual registration fee of
§15 for each vehicle, including pickup and delivery vehicles, operated
during any calendar year. On vehicles registered under this section
after March 31 of any calendar year, the registration fee shall be
prorated on a quarterly basis as follows:

Vehicles registered after March 31 . ...$11.25
Vehicles registered after June 30 ...... $ 7.50
Vehicles registered after September 30 § 3.75

A fee of $3 shall be charged for the reénlacement of an unexpired
plate, card, or decal which has been lost or damaged by the owner.

The provisions of section 221,131 are limited by the provisions of
any applicable federal law.
dSec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 1969, Section 221.64, is amended to
read:

221.64 REGISTRATION FEE; EXEMPTIONS. Such registra-
tion as herein provided shall be granted utpon application, without
hearing, upon payment of an annual filing fee in the amount of $25;

rovided, however, that any permit holder who pays the registration

ee provided in Minnesota Statutes 1961, Section 221.131, shall be

exempt from the payment of any fees provided in this section.
Nothing in sections 221.61 to 221.68 shall be construed to require the
payment of such registration fee by any person who is exempt from
obtaining a permit as provided in {'Iinnesota Statutes 1961, Section
221.011, Paragraphs 13 and 21. Upon application, and payment of
said fee if applicable, the railroad and warehouse commission shall
furnish a dlstinguishin% identification for each such registration
which identification shall at all times be displayed on_or carried in the
truck tractor of the registration holder. Additional identification
units may be issued by the commission to each registration holder for
it the fee it_prescribes . Nothing in sections 221.61 to 221.68

Changes or additions indicated by underline, deletions by strikeout.



Ch. 74 LAWS 1971 — REGULAR SESSION 155

shall be construed to require any registration pursuant to sections
221.61 to 221.68 by any motor ve{nicle carrier engaged exclusively in
intrastate commerce. Motor vehicle earriers subject to Chapter 221,
Minnesota Statutes 1961, shall register their operations in interstate
commerce pursuant to sections 221.61 to 221.68 only at the time of
and as part of their application for renewal or granting of a permit or
certificate by the railroad and warehouse commission.

dSec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 1969, Section 239.01, is amended to
read:

239.01 DEPARTMENT CREATED; JURISDICTION. There is
hereby created a-department division to be known as the department
division of “weights and measures” hercafter referred to as the

division , and it shall be under the jurisdiction of the
commission, which shall have supervision and control over all weights,
weighing devices, and measures in the state.

dSec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 1969, Section 239.04, is amended to
read: -

239.04 FEES PAID INTO STATE TREASURY. All moneys
collected by the-department division for special services, fees, and
penalties shall be paid into the state treasury and credited to a fund
known as the weights and measures fund, and be available for the use
of the-department division of weights and measures.

dSec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 1969, Section 239.07, is amended to
read: .

239.07 DUTIES AND POWERS; STANDARD OF WEIGHTS
AND MEASURES. The-department division shall take charge of,
keep, and maintain in good order the standard of weights and
measures of the state and submit them to the bureau of standards at
Washington, D.C,, for certification when it is deemed necessary; and
keep a seal so formed as to impress the letters “MINN” and the date
of sealing upon the weights and measures that are sealed; it shall
test, correct, and seal, when found to be accurate, at least once every
yvear and as much oftener as may be necessary, all the copies of the
standards used throughout the state for the purpose of testing the
weighing or measuring apparatus used in the state and keep a record
thereof; it shall have general supervision of the weights, measures,
and weighing or measuring devices offered for sale, sold, or in use in
the state; and upon the written request of any person test or calibrate
weights, measures, weighing or measuring devices and instruments
or apparatus used as standards in.the state; it shall keep a complete
record of the standards, balances, and all testing and sealing
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agparatu:; owned by the state, and annuallﬁ, during the first 15 days
of January, make a report of its actions to the governor of the state.

dSecA 8. Minnesota Statutes 1969, Section 239.08, is amended to
read:

239.08 INSPECTING, TESTING, SEALING; INCORRECT
WEIGHTS, MEASURES. The—department_division or any of its
employees shall have power to inspect and test all weights, scales,
beams, and measures of every kind, instruments and mechanical
devices for measurement, and tools, appliances, or accessories con-
nected with any or all such instruments for measurement that are
kept, offered, or exposed for sale, or sold, or used, or employed within
this state by any person in determining the size, quantity, extent,
area, or measurement of quantities, things, produce, articles for
distribution or consumption, offered or submitted by any person for
sale, hire, or reward; and it shall, at least once in each year, and as
much oftener as may be deemed necessary, see that the weights,
measures, and all apparatus used in the state are correct. In the
general Iperformance of this duty the-department division , or any of
its employees, may enter or go into and upon any stand, place,
building, or premises to stop any vendor, peddler, junk dealer, coal
wagon, ice wagon, delivery wagon, or any dealer and require him, if
necessary, to proceed to some place which the scaler may specify for
the purpose of making proper tests. Scales, weights, measures, or
weighing or measuring instruments that are found, upon inspection,
to correspond with the standards in the possession of the
division shall be sealed with ﬁroper devices to be approved by the
commission. Any employee shall condemn, seize, and destroy incor-
rect weights, measures, or weighing or measuring devices which, in
the judgment of the department_division cannot be satisfactorily
repaired, and such as are incorrect and yet may be repaired, shall be
marked as “condemned for repair,” in the manner to be preseribed by
the—department division . The owners or users of( any scales,
weights, measures, or weighing or measuring instruments which have
been so disposed of shall have the same repaired or corrected within
30 days, and the same shall not be used or disposed of in any way

without the consent of the-department division .

d'Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 1969, Section 239.09, is amended to
read:

239.09 SPECIAL POLICEMEN. The—de%aa-r—t,men% division and all
authorized employees under the provisions of sections 239.01 to 239.11
are hereby made special policemen and are authorized and empow-
ered to arrest, without formal warrant, any violator of the statute in
relation to weights and measures, and to seize for use as evidence and
without formal warrant, any false weight, measure, or weighing or
measuring device or package or kind of commodity found to be used,
retained, or offered or exposed for sale or sold in violation of law.
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dSec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 1969, Section 239.10, is amended to
read:

239.10 ANNUAL INSPECTION. No fee, unless specially sched-
uled by the commission, shall be eharged for the regular annual
inspection of scales, weights, measures, and weighing or measuring
devices. At all other times, the cost of the inspection shall be paid by
the owner when the same is performed at his request; and when made
at the request of some other person the cost shall he paid by the
owner, if the scale, weight, measure, and weighing or measuring
device is found to be incorrect; otherwise by the person making the
request. The commission shall have power to fix the fees and
expenses for all special services. All moneys collected by the

division for special services, fees, and, penalties shall be
paid into the state treasury, and credited to the state general fund.

dSec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 1969, Section 239.20, is amended to
read:

239.20 SCALES TESTED. The buyers of slaughter livestock
operating at concentration points shall Kave scales upon which the
animals are weighed, inspected and tested by a scale inspector of the
department division of weights and measures at least once every 30
days at their own expense. All such scales shall be tested up to the
maximum draft that may be weighed on the scales.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 1969, Section 239.23, is amended to
read:

239.23 OFFENSES; PENALTIES. Any person who shall offer or
expose for sale, sell or use, or have in his possession a false scale,
weight or measure, or weighing or measuring device, or any weight
or measure or weighing or measuring device which has not been
sealed within one year, as provided by sections 239.01 to 239.11, or use
the same in the buying or selling of any commodity or thing; or who
shall dispose of any condemned weight, measure, or weighing or
measurin% device, or remove any tag placed thereon by any autho-
rized employee of the-departwment division , or sell or offer or expose
for sale less than the quantity he represents; or sell or offer or expose
for sale any such commodities in the manner contrary to law; or sell
or offer for sale or have in his possession for the purpose of selling,
any device or instrument to be used to, or calculated to, falsify any
weight or measure, or refuse to pay any fee charged for testing and
sealing or condemning any scale, weight, or measure, or weighing or
measuring device, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor; and upon
conviction fined a sum not less than $20 nor more than $100 or by
imprisonment for not less than ten days nor more than 90 days and
the costs of such proceeding. No scale, weight, measure, or weighing
or measuring device that has been sealed by the-department division
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shall be used, sold, or exposed for sale until the fee charged for the
service has been paid.

Sec. 13, Minnesota Statutes 1969, Section 239.24, is amended to
read:

239.24 HINDERING OFFICIAL. Any person hindering, imped-
ing, or restricting in any way any employee of the
division while in the performance of I‘I(IS official duty shall be guilty of
a misdemeanor; and upon convietion punished by a fine of not less
than $20 nor more than $100 or by imprisonment for not less than ten
nor more than 90 days for each offense.

Approved March 29, 1971.

CHAPTER 75—H.F.No.341

An act relating to warehousemen; amending Minnesota Statutes
1969, Section 231.17.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1969, Section 231.17, is amended
to read:

231.17 WAREHOUSEMEN; BONDS. Every warehouseman ap-
lying for and receiving a license from the commission, as provided
? or in: this chapter, shall file with the commission, acceptab e to the
Cﬁn}lmi)ssmn a surety bond to the state of Minnesota. Such bonds
shall be—in—the amoy $50.000f¢ arehousemen—onerat ng

e;t}es-ef—the—ﬁpst—elass—and in an amount to be determmed by the
—wa#eheusemen—m—emes—aﬁd—umages

commlssmn as reasonable for:

te the appllcant ut shal] not be less than $10, 000 and shall be
conditioned for the faithful discharge of all duties as a warehouseman
operating under this chapter, and full compliance with the laws of the
state ang rules, regulations, and orders of the commission relative
thereto. Fallure to maintain the bond as required shall void the
license.

Approved March 29, 1971.
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