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sha]l be pro—rated on the same basis as classification aid was

Sec. 3. ApprOprlatlon The sum of $20 000 is hereby ap-
proprlated out of the funds transferred from the income tax
school fund to be distributed by the State Board Qf Educa-
tion in making the adjustments as provided by Section 2 of
this act. ) '

Approved April 23, 1945,

CHAPTER 512—S8. F. No. 294

An act relatmg to vital statistics and repealing Minnesota
Statutes 1941, Sections 144.15, 144.16, 144.17, 144.18, 144.19,
144.20, 144.21, 144.22, 144.28, 144.24, 144.25, 144.26, 144 27,
144.28, and 144, 49, Subdivisions 2 and 3.

Be it enagted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

- Section 1. Definitions. Subdivision 1. Unless the lan-
guage or context clearly indicates that a different meaning
is intended, the following words, terms, and phrases, for the
purposes of this act, shall be given meanings ascribed to them.

Subd. 2. “Vital statistics” includes the reglstratlon prep-
aration, transcription, collection, compilation and preservation
of data pertaining to births, adoptlons, legitimations, deaths,
stillbirths, and data incidental thereto.

Subd. 3. “Live birth” means the birth of a child who
shows evidence of life after the child is entirely outside the -
. mother.

Subd. 4 “Stillbirth?” ‘means a birth after 20 weeks of
gestatlon whlch is not a live birth,

Subd. 5. “Dead body” means lifeless human body or such
parts of the human body or the bones thereof.from the state
of which it reasonably may be concluded that death recently
occurred,

Subd. 6. “Person in charge of mterment" means any per—
son who places or causes to be placed a stillborn child or dead
body or the ashes, after cremation, in a grave, vault, urn or
other receptable, or otherWISe dlsposes thereof.
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Sec. 2. Board shall establish division; install system;
make rules. The state board of health shall:

Subdivigion 1. Establish a division of vital statistics with
suitable offices properly equipped for the preservation of its
official records;

. . Subd. 2. Install a statewide system of vital statistics;

Subd. 3. Make and may amend necessary regulations,
according to Minnesota Statutes 1941, Section 144.12, give
instructions and prescribe and furnish at the expense of the
gstate forms for collecting, transcribing, compiling and pre-
serving vital statistics provided that the book of record for

the local registrar shall be paid for by the city, village, or
town comprising the registration distriet; and

Subd. 4. Enforce this act and the regulations made pur-
suant thereto, .

Sec. 3. Regulations; effective date. The regulations of
the board, upon the approval of the Attorney General, shall
take effect 30 days after publication and filing with the Sec-
retary of State.

_ Sec. 4. Primary registration districts. Each town, vil-
lage and city shall, for the purposes of this act, constitute a
primary registration district, provided the state registrar may
establish registration districts comprised of one or more un-
organized towns and appoint registrars for them, and with
the consent of the respective town boards or municipal coun-
cils, combine two or more primary reglstratlon districts and
appoint registrars for them.

’
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Sec. b. State registrar; compensatmn The board shall
appoint a qualified state registrar of vital statistics whose
compensation shall be fixed under such provisions as may be
provided by other provisions of the statutes.

See. 6. Supervision; enforcement; employees. The state
registrar, under the supervision of the board, shall have
charge of the division of vital statistics and be the custodian
of all its files and records, and perform the duties prescribed
by the board. He shall enforce this act and the regulations
of the board and have supervisory power over local registrars. -
He shall submit to the board reports of the administration
of this act. He may appoint and, at his pleasure, remove one
or more employees of the board as deupty state registrars

* who shall render such aid as he may require of them.
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Sec. 7. Local registrar; deputies; report; enforcement.
The town and village clerk, and in cities the _health officer,
shall be the lecal registrar. A local registrar with the approval
of the state registrar may appoint and remove deputies. All
local registrars shall immediately report to the state registrar
violations of this act or the regulations of the board, and
under the supervision of the state registrar shall cause all
the provisions of the act and regulations of the board to be
enforced. Any local registrar who neglects or refuses to per-
-form the duties imposed upon him by this act shall be super-
seded by ‘another to be appointed by the state reglstrar in
his place.

The board, upon the recommendation of the state regis-
trar, may appoint and remove sub-registrars to receive cer-
tificates of death and issue burial permits in any designated
territory. They shall be subject to the supervision of the
state registrar,

Sec. 8. Board to provide assistance. The board shall pro-
vide other necessary assistance and determine the status,’
compensation and duties of persons thus employed in con-
formance with the provisions of the state civil service law.

Sec. 9. Filing of birth certificate. Within the time pre-
scribed by the board a certificate of every birth shall be filed
with the local registrar of the distriet in which the birth
occurréd, by the physician, midwife, or other legally author-
ized person in attendance at the birth; or if not so attended,
by one of the parents.

- Provided that the birth certificate of an illegitimate child
shall be filed by the attending physician, midwife, parent, or
other, directly with the state registrar.

Sec. 10. Delayed or altered certificates. If neither parent
of the newborn child whose birth is unattended as above pro-
vided is able to prepare a birth certificate, the local registrar
shall secure the necessary information from any person hav-
ing knowledge of the birth and prepare, record and file the
certificate. In such cases the board shall prescribe the time
within which a supplementary report furnishing information
omitted from the original certificate may be returned for the
purpose of completing the certificate. Certificates of birth
completed by such a supplementary report shall not be con-
sidered *“delayed” or ‘“altered.”

Sec. 11. Contents of certificates. Subdivision 1. Who-
ever first assumes the custody of a child of unknown parent-
age shall immediately report to the local registrar who shall
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1mmed1ately make and file a certlﬁcate stating: (a) the date
and place of findixg or assumption of custody; (b) sex; color
or race; and approximate age of child; (¢) name and address
of the person or institution with whom thé .child has been
placed for ¢are, and (d) name glven to the child by the finder
oér custodian.

Subd. 2. The place where the child was found or custody
agssumed shall be known as the place of birth and the date
of birth shall be determined by approximation.

Subd. 3. The report shall constitute the certificate of
birth. ‘
Subd. 4. If the child i$ identified and a regular certificate

of birth is found or obtained, the report shall be sealed and
filed and may be opened only by court order,

Sec. 12. Certificate of death or stillbirth. A certificate of
every death or stillbirth shall ‘be filed before interment or in
any case within five days after the oceurrence is known with
the local registrar of the district in which the death or still-
- birth o¢ccurred or with a sub-registrar; or if the place of
death or stillbirth is not known then with the local registrar
of the district in which tHe body is found, or a sub-registrar,
within 24 Hours thereafte¥. In évery instancé a certificate
shgll be filed prior to mterment or other dispogition of the
body

Sec. 13. Death certificates. Subdivion 1. Time of filing.
The funeral director of other person taking charge for prep-
aration of a dead human body fér interment or other dis-
posal shall file with the local registrar of the district in which
the death or stillbirth occurred or the body was found, or
with a sub-registrar, a certificate of death or stillbirth before
interment of in any case within five days after the occurrence.

Subd. 2. ~Statement as to autopsy; statement of physician.

In préparing a certificate of death or stillbirth the person in
charge of such preparation shall obtain and enter on the cer-
tificate the personal data required by the board and. a state-
ment as to whether or not an autopsy was performed on such
body from the pérsons best qualified to supply them and which
persons shall sign the certificate as the informants. He shall
present the certificate of death to the physician last in at-
tendance upon the deceased or to the coroner having juris-
diction who shall thereupon certify the cause of death accord-
ing to his best knowlédge and belief. Heé shall present the cer-
tificate of stillbirth to the physician, midwife, or other per-
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son in attendance at the stillbirth, who shall certify the still-
birth and such medical data pertaining thereto as he can
furnish.

Subd. 8. Procedure prior to burial. Thereupon the fu-
neral director or person in charge for such preparation shall
notify the appropriate local registrar if death occurred with-
out medical attendance, or in case he is unable to secure such
certification by the physician last in attendance. In such event
the local registrar shall inform the local health officer and
refer the case to him for immediate investigation and certi-
fication of the cause of death prior to issuing a permit for
burial, cremation, transportation or other disposition of the
body. When there is no medical health officer for such regis-
tration district, the local registrar may complete the certifi-
cate on the basis of information received from relatives of
the deceased or others having knowledge of the facts. If the
circumstances suggest that the death or stillbirth was caysed
by other than natural causes, the local registrar shall refer
the case to the coroner for investigation and certification.

Sec. 14. Delayed certification. If the cause of death can-
not be determined before interment or other disposition of
the body, or in any case within five days, the certification or
its cause may be filed after the prescribed period, but the
attending physician or coroner shall give the local registrar
of the district in which the death occurred, or the sub-regis-
‘trar, written rotice of the reason for the delay in order that
a permit for the disposition of the body may be issued.

Sec. 15. Form and use of certificate. The form of certifi-
cates shall include as a minimum the items required by the
respective standard certificates as recommended by the United
States Bureau of the Census subject to approval of and meodi-
fication by the board. The form and use of such certificate
shall be subject to the provisions of Section 24.

Sec. 16. Prima facie evidence. Certificates filed within
six months after the time prescribed therefor shall be prima-
facie evidence of the facts therein stated. Data therein per-
taining to the father of a child are prima facie evidence only
if the alleged father is the husband of the mother; if not,
the data pertaining to the father of a child are not evidence
in any proceeding adverse to- the interests of the alleged
father, or of his heirs, next of kin, devises, legatees or other
successors in interest, if the paternity is controverted.

Sée. 17. Certificates furnished to public. Subdivision 1.
Subject to the requirements of Sections 21, 23 and 24 the
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state registrar, any clerk of district court, or any local regis-
trar shall, upon request, furnish to any applicant a certified
copy of any certificate, or any part thereof.

Subd. 2. Copies of the contents of any certificate on file
in the division of vital statistics or in the office of any clerk
of district court or on file with any local registrar, or any
part of any such certificate, certified by the sfate registrar,
a clerk of the district court, or a local registrar, as the casé
may be, shall be considered for all purposes the same as the
original, subject to the requirements of Sections 21, 23 and 24.

Sec. 18, Fees. Subdivision 1. The applicant shall pay a
fee of $1.00 for each certified copy of a birth or death record.
Provided that a fee shall not be charged for any certified
copy needed in connection with serviee in the armed forces or
the'Merchant Marine of the United States or in the presenta-
tion of claims to the United States Veterans Administration

or the official veterans administration of any. state or terri-
tory of the United States.

Subd. 2. When the salary of the officer issuing a certi-
fied copy under this act consists in whole or in part of fees
authorized by law, such officer shall be paid the legal fee
therefor by the governmental subdivision of which he is an
officer, and the governing body thereof is authorized and di-
rected to order such payment made from the general revenue
funds thereof.

. Sec. 19. Deposit with state treasurer. The state regis-
trar shall keep an account of all fees received and turn the
same over to the state treasurer according to law.

Sec. 20, Delayed certificate; proof. .*A birth certificate of
a perscen born in this state or a death certificate of a person
who died in this state may be filed or amended after the time
herein prescribed upon submitting such proof as ghall be re-
‘quired by the board.

Sec. 21. Delayed or altered certificates. Subdivision 1.
Certificates accepted subsequent to six months after the time
prescribed for filing and certificates which have been altered
after being filed with the state registrar shall contain the
date of the delayed filing and the date of the alteration and
be marked ‘“‘delayed” or “altered.”.

Subd. 2. All alterations made on birth and death rec-
ords shall be in red ink.
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Subd. 3. A summary statement of the evidence submitted
in support of the acceptance for delayed filing or alteratlon
shall be endorsed on the certificate.

Subd. 4. Such evidence shall be preserved in such man-
ner as the board may prescribe.

Sec. 22. Before district court. Subdivision 1. Petition;
hearing; evidence. Any person born or residing in this state
may also petition the district court of the county in which
he resides or was born for an order establishing a public
record of the time and place of his birth and his parentage.
The petition shall be verified by him and shall allege the
facts which he claims entitled him to such an order. The
court shall fix the time and place of hearing the petition. At
least ten days before the hearing, notice thereof shall be
mailed to the county attorney of the county and to the state
division of vital statistics and shall be published once in a
newspaper of general circulation in the county. Proof of the |,

mailing and publication shall be filed at the hearing. The oral
testimony shall be transcribed and together w1th the other
proofs shall be filed in the proceedmg

Subd. 2. Court order. If the court is satisfied from the
evidence received at the hearing of the truth of the allega-
tions of the petition and of the facts ag to the time and place
of the petitioner’s birth and of his parentage, and that he
resides in the county or was born there, the court shall make
and enter an order reciting the jurisdictional facts and de-
termining the time and place of the petitioner’s birth and
the names of his parents, and any other- facts deemed rele-
vant by the court.

Subd. 3. Certified copy. A certified copy of the order of
the court may be filed in the office .of the register of deeds .
of the county and shall be filed in the office of the state divi-
sion of vital statistics.

Subd. 4. Admissible as proof. -The order, the record.
thereof, and certified copies of the order or of the records
shall be evidence of the truth of their contents and be ad-
missible as proof thereof at all times and places the same as
certificates of _birth mentioned in-Section 16.

Sec. 23. Probative value. The probative value of a “de
layed” or “altered” certificate shall be determined by the judi-
cial or administrative body or official before whom the cer-
tificate is offered as evidence.
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Sec. 24. Access to records. Subdivision 1. Open {o in-
spection.  The birth and death records and fileg of the division
of vital statistics, the local registrars and clerks of the dis- .
trict court are open to inspection,-subject to the provisions of
this aet and regulations of the board; but it is unlawful for
any officer or employee of the state or any local registrar or
clerk of district court to disclose data contained in vital sta-
tlst1%a1 records except as authorized by this act or by the
boar

Subd. 2. Procedure in case of lllegitlmacy Disclosure of
illegitimacy of birth or of information for-which it can be
ascertained may be made only upon order of a court of com-
petent jurisdiction in a case where such information is nee-
essary for the determination of personal or property rights
and then only for such purpose. The birth and death 'records
of the State Board of Health shall be opened to inspection by
the Director of Social Welfare, and it shall not be necessary
for said Director to obtain an order of the court in order to
inspect records of LIIegltlmate children or to secure certified
. copies thereof. ,

Subd. 3. Rule as to right of inspection. No state regis-
trar or local registrar or clerk of the distriet court shall per-
mit inspection of the records or issue a certified copy of a
certificate or part thereof unless it is in compliance with the
district court order, or he is satisfied that the applicant there-
for has a direct interest in-the matter recorded and that the
information therein contained is necessary for the determi-
nation of personal or property rights. His decision shall be .
subject to review by the board or a court under the limita-
tions of this section,

Subd. 4. Purposes of research. The board may permit
the use of data contained in vital statistical records for re-
search purposes only, but no identifying use thereof shall be
" made.

Subd. 5. Direction to local registrars. Subject to the pro-
visions of this section the board may direct local registrars
to make a return upon the filing of birth, death, and stillbirth
certificates with them of certain data shown thereon to fed-
eral, state, or municipal agencies. Payment by such agencies
for such services may be made through the state registrar
to local registrars as the board shall direct.

Sec. 25. Adoption. In cases of adoption the state regis-
trar upon receipt of a certified copy of an order or decree of
adoption shall prepare a supplementary certificate in the new
name of the adopted person, and seal and file the original
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certificate of birth with said certified copy attached thereto.
Such sealed documents may be opened only upon order of the
court or, if otherwise found necessary, by the state registrar.
Upon the receipt of a certified copy of a court order of annul-
ment of adoption the state_registrar shall restore the original
certificate to its original place in the file.

Sec. 26. Legitimation; proof. In cases of legitimation
the state registrar upon receipt of proof thereof shall pre-
pare.a new certificate of birth in the new name of the legiti-
mated child. The evidence upon which the new certificate is
made and the original certificate shall be sealed and filed and
may be opened only upon order of court or if the state reg-
istrar finds it necessary.

_Sec, 27. Institutions. Persons in charge of institutions
for care or correction or for treatment of disease, injury or
childbirth shall record and report all statistical data required
by this act relating to their inmates or patients under regu-
lations of the board. o :

Sec. 28. Burial permit: removal of body from district.
When a death or stillbirth occurs or a dead body is found,
the body shall not be disposed of or permanently removed
from the registration district until a permit has been issued
by the local registrar of the place of death or a sub-registrar
or, if necessary to avoid delay, by the state registrar.

The sexton or other person acting as such shall not per-
mit the interment or cremation of a dead human-body until
a burial permit issued under the provisions of this act has
béen filed with him. He shall keep a record of all interments
and cremations stating the name of deceased. place of death,
date of burial or crémation, and name and address of the at-
tending funeral director.

Sec. 29. Death outside the state; permit. When death or
stillbirth oecurs outside .this state and the body is accom-
_ panied by a permit for burial, removal or other disposition
isdued in accordance with the law and regulations in force
where the death or stillbirth occurred, the permit shall au-
thorize the transportation of the body into or through' this
state but before the burial, cremation or other disposal of
the body within this state such permit shall be presented to
the local registrar of the distriect where disposal is to be
made who shall keep a record thereof and thereupon issue
his permit for such disposal.

Sec. 30. Regulations mandatory. No permit under sec-
tion 28 shall be issued until a certificate of death or stillbirth
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as far as it can be completed under the circumstances of the
case has been filed and until.all the regulations of the board
in respect to the issuance of such permit have been complied
with,

Sec. 81. Duties of registrar.. Subdivision 1. Endorse-
ment on certificate; record; transmit to clerk. The local reg-
istrar shall endorse on each certificate of birth or death filed
with him the number of his district, the number of the cer-
tificate in consecutive numbers beginning with. number one
for the first birth or the first death of each calendar year,
the date when filed with him, his post office address, and
subscribe the same. He shall record such certificates in a
suitable record book and, except in cities of the first class
shall, forthwith transmit to the clerk of distriet court of the
county in which such birth or death occurred all original cer-
tificateg of births and deaths received by him.

Subd. 2. Fees. Each local registrar shall be paid the sum
of 50 cents for each complete birth, death or stillbirth cer-
tificate transmitted by -him to the clerk of district court. In
case no birth, death or stillbirth was registered during any
calendar month the local registrar shall so report to the clerk
of district court and be paid the sum of 50 cents for the re-
port, but no fee shall be paid for a “no report” card if a re-
port of a birth or death for that month is received later.
“No report” cards received by the clerk of district court shall
be dated and signed, recorded by him in an appropriate rec-
ord, and immediately transmitted to the state registrar.

Subd. 3. Auditor to pay clerk. Upon certification by the
clerk of district court at the end of each calendar year, the
fees of local registrars for the registration and transmittal
of birth and death records and reports of no birth or death
shall be paid by the county auditor of the proper.county out
of the general revenue fund of the county.

Subd. 4. In cities having 100,000 inhabitants. Local reg-
istrars of cities of 100,000 or more population shall transmit
all birth, death and stillbirth certificates direct to the state
registrar.

Subd. 5. Remeoval of local registrar; new appointment.
Any local registrar who neglects or fails to discharge his
duties as provided by this act may, after notice and oppor-
tunity to be heard, be removed from office by the state reg-
istrar, and thereupon the state registrar may appoint another
for the unexpired part of his term. If any local registrar
or clerk of district court fails to file or transmit birth, death
or stillbirth certificates according to this aet, the state regis-
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trar shall obtain them by other means at the expense of the
registration district or county concerned.

Sec. 32. Clerk of court. Subdivision 1. Notify parents;
correct certificate. The clerk of district court, upon receipt of
birth certificates from any local registrar, shall date and sign
such certificate, shall immediately notify either parent of the
child of the exact spelling of names certified to, date, age of
parents, and date of birth, and compare the correctness of
the certificate with the facts as stated. If found incorrect or
incomplete, he shall correct such certificate in a manner ac-
ceptable to the state registrar.

Subd. 2. . County birth record. Upon being satisfied that .
the certificate is correct, the clerk of district court shall pre-
pare an exact duplicate of the original certificate and record
in a suitable book, in form approved by the state registrar
and furnished at the expense of the county, which shall be
designated the county birth record, the following facts as
they appear on each certificate:

Name of child;

Place of birth;

Date of birth;

Sex;

Color of child;

Name of father;

Color of father;

Age of father;

- Maiden name of mother;

10, Age of mother;

11. Color of mother;

‘12, Birthplace of father;

13. Birthplace of mother;

14. Number of children of mother;
15. Single, twin or other of plural birth;
16.  Date of filing;

WMo ok WD

which shall constltute a legal blrth record, and a certified copy
of facts contained in such record shall be ev1dence in any court
to the extent of the original certificate. The clerk of district
court shall index such record in a suitable manner at the
expense of the county. .

Sec. 33. Duties of clerk. The clerk of district court, upon
receipt of death certificates from any local registrar, shall
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date and sign such certificate, shall ascertain from available
documents or from persons who know the correct spelling
of name, date of birth, age, residence, and date of death, the
correctness of such facts on the certificate. If found incom-
plete or in error, he shall correct the certificate in a manner
acceptable to the state registrar. When the clerk of district
court is satisfied with the spelling of name, date of birth, age,
date of death, place of death, and place of residence are cor-
reect, he shall prepare an exact duplicate of the original certifi-
cate and record in a suitable book, in form approved by the
state registrar, the followmg facts as they appear on the cer-
tificate ;

Name of deceased and name of spouse, if any,
Sex; ;
Color of deceased;
. Conjugal condition;
Date of birth;
Date of death;
Birthplace of deceased;
Name of father;
Maiden name of mother;

Residence of deceased, town, village or c1ty, and
county;

11. Date of filing.

»-¢ .
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The clerk of district court shall index such record in a suitable
manner at the expense of the county. Such record shail con-
stitute a legal death record, and a certified copy of the facts
contained in such record shal] be ev1dence in any court to the
extent of the original certificate.

The clerk of district court shall file and index all duplicate
certificates prepared by him of births and deaths.

Sec. 34. Transmission. Subdivision 1. Transmit to state
registrar. On or before the tenth day of each month the clerk
of distriet court shall transmit to the state registrar all
original birth and death certificates received by him for births
and deaths which ocecurred during the previous month, and
certify the number of birth and death certificates received
from each local registrar. The clerk of district court shall,
on or before the tenth of each month, prepare a certified
transeript of birth and death certificates received by him for
births and deaths occurring during the previous month on
which the place of residence of the mother and that of the
decendent is shown to be in another county of the state and
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immediately transmit such certified transcript to the clerk of
district court of the county shown on the original birth and
death certificates to be the place of residence of the mother or
the decedent- except where a city of the first class shall be
such residence.

Subd. 2. Ciiies of the first class; fees. HRegistrars of
citiegs"of the first class shall transmit to the clerks of district
court of the counties in Minnesota stated to be the residence
of the mother of a child or of a decedent, a transeript of such
certificate. Such county stated to be the residence shall pay to
the local registrar of a city of the first class a fee of 50 cents,
payment to be made monthly.

Subd. 3. Clerk’s fees. The county auditor, upon certifi-
cation to him by the clerk of district court of the number of
birth and death certificates and transecripts received during
the preceding month, shall issue his warrant in the sum of
$1.00 to said clerk of distriet court for each certificate and
transcript received, checked, recorded, and indexed, except
those certificates on which the reSIdence of the mother of a
child or that of the decedent is shown to be in another county
of the state, which sum shall be full compengation for all serv-
ices rendered as provided herein.

Sec. 35. Violations and penalties. Subdivision 1. Any
person who wilfully makes or alters any certificate or certi- .
fied copy thereof provided for in this act, except in accordance
with the provisions of this act, shall, upon conviction, be fined
not more than $1,000, or be 1mprlsoned not exceedmg snc
months or both fined and imprisoned.

Subd. 2. Any person who knowingly transports or ae-
cepts for transportation, 1nterment or other dlsposltlon a
dead body without an accompanying permit issued in accord- -
ance with the provisions of this act, shall, upon conthmn be
fined not more than $500.

Subd. 3. Except where a different penalty is prov1ded in
this section, any person who violates any of the provisions of
.this act, or regulatmns -of the board, or neglects or refuses to
perform any of the duties imposed upon him by this act or -
regulations of the board shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.

Sec. 36. Citation. This act may be cited on the “Uniform’
Vital Statistics Act”.

Sec. 37. Repeals. Minnesota Statutes 1941, Sections
144.15, 144.16, 144.17, 144.18, 144.19, 144,20, 144.2]1, 144.22,
144,23, 144.24, 144.25, 144.26, 144,27, 144.28, and 144 .49, sub-
divisions 2 and 3, are hereby repealed
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Sec. 38. Effective date. This act shall take effect Janu-
ary 1, 1946.

Approved April 23, 1945.

CHAPTER 513—S. F. No. 365

An act relating to the time within which certain actions
may be commenced; and amending Minnesofa Statuh’s 1941,
. Section 541.07. : :

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

Bection 1. Minnesota Statutes 1941, Section 541.07, is
hereby amended to read as follows:

541.07. Two year limitations. The following actions shall
be commenced within two years:

(1) TFor libel, slander, assault, battery, false imprison-
ment, or other tort, resulting in.personal injury, and all ac-
tions against physicians, surgeons, dentists, hospitals, sani-
tariums, for malpractice, error, mistake or failure to cure,
whether based on contract or tort; provided a counter-claim
may be pleaded as a defense to any action for services brought -
by a physician, surgeon, dentist, hospital or sanitarium, after
the limitations herein described notwithstanding it is barred
by the provisions of this chapter, if it was the property of the
party pleading it at the time it became barred and was not
barred at the time the claim sued on orlgmated but no judg-
ment thereof except for costs can be rendered in deOI‘ of the
party so pleading it;

(2) Upon a statute for a penalty or forfeiture to the
state;

(3) For damages caused by a dam, other than a dam
used for commercial purposes; but as against one holding un-
der the preemption or homestead laws, such limitations ghall
not begin to run until a patent has been issued for the land so
‘damaged ; ~

(4) Against a master for breach of an indenture of ap-
prenticeship; the limitation, in such case, to run from the ex-
piration of the term of service;

( 5) For the recovery of wages, overtime, damages, fees
or penalties accruing under any fedeml or state law respecting



