Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

Authenticate

Pdf

Minnesota Administrative Rules

3100.5100 PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT.

Subpart 1.

Professional development cycles.

A.

The initial professional development cycle must coincide with the initial licensure period for each dentist, dental therapist, dental hygienist, or licensed dental assistant. The initial cycle for each licensee begins on the date of initial licensure and ends on the last day of the licensee's birth month in either an even-numbered or odd-numbered year that corresponds with the licensee's year of birth. The initial cycle varies in the number of months depending on the date of initial licensure for each licensee.

B.

A biennial professional development cycle coincides with the biennial licensure periods for each dentist, dental therapist, dental hygienist, or licensed dental assistant. Each biennial renewal cycle consists of a 24-month period beginning on the first day of the month following expiration of the previous professional development cycle. An established biennial cycle continues to apply even if the license is revoked, suspended, conditioned, or not renewed for any reason for any length of time.

Subp. 2.

Professional development requirements.

A.

For the initial professional development requirements, each dentist, dental therapist, dental hygienist, and licensed dental assistant shall establish a portfolio to record, monitor, and retain acceptable documentation of fundamental and elective professional development activities, CPR certification, and self-assessments.

B.

The minimum number of required hours of fundamental and elective professional development for each biennial cycle is 50 hours for dentists and dental therapists, and 25 hours for dental hygienists and licensed dental assistants. Each dentist, dental therapist, dental hygienist, and licensed dental assistant shall establish a portfolio to record, monitor, and retain acceptable documentation of fundamental and elective professional development activities, CPR certification, and self-assessments. Any professional development hours earned in excess of the required hours for a biennial cycle must not be carried forward to the subsequent biennial cycle. The requirements for the fundamental and elective professional development activities are described in subitems (1) and (2).

(1)

Each dentist, dental therapist, dental hygienist, and licensed dental assistant must complete a minimum of 60 percent of the required biennial hours in fundamental activities directly related to the provision of clinical dental services as follows: a minimum of 30 hours for dentists and dental therapists, and a minimum of 15 hours for dental hygienists and licensed dental assistants. A licensee may earn all required biennial hours in fundamental activities only.

(2)

Dentists, dental therapists, dental hygienists, and licensed dental assistants are allowed a maximum of 40 percent of the required biennial hours in elective activities directly related to, or supportive of, the practice of dentistry, dental therapy, dental hygiene, or dental assisting as follows: a maximum of 20 hours for dentists and dental therapists, and a maximum of ten hours for dental hygienists and licensed dental assistants.

C.

Professional development is credited on an hour-for-hour basis.

D.

If a licensee fails to meet the professional development requirements because of extenuating circumstances, the licensee may apply for an extension of time to complete the requirements by making a written request to the board. The written request shall include a complete explanation of the circumstances, the renewal period, the number of hours earned, and the licensee's plan for completing the balance of the requirement. If an extension is granted after review, the board shall establish the length of the extension to obtain the professional development requirements which must be completed concurrently with the subsequent renewal period.

Subp. 3.

Professional development activities.

Professional development activities include, but are not limited to, continuing education, community services, publications, and career accomplishments throughout a professional's life. Professional development activities are categorized as fundamental or elective activities as described in items A and B.

A.

Fundamental activities include, but are not limited to, clinical subjects, core subjects, CPR training, and the self-assessment examination. Examples of fundamental activities for an initial or biennial cycle are described in subitems (1) to (5).

(1)

Clinical subjects are those seminars, symposiums, lectures, college courses pertaining to basic sciences, or programs whose contents directly relate to the provision of dental care and treatment to patients.

(2)

Core subjects are those seminars, symposiums, lectures, or programs that relate to public safety and professionalism. Each licensee shall complete a minimum of two of the categories of core subjects for each biennial cycle. Examples of core subject categories include, but are not limited to:

(a)

infection control;

(b)

record keeping;

(c)

ethics;

(d)

patient communications;

(e)

management of medical emergencies; and

(f)

treatment and diagnosis.

(3)

A CPR certification course is mandatory for each licensee to maintain licensure. The CPR course must be equivalent to the American Heart Association healthcare provider course or the American Red Cross professional rescuer course. The licensee must maintain a consecutive and current CPR certificate when renewing a license or permit each biennial term.

(4)

A licensee must complete one self-assessment examination obtainable through the board for each cycle.

(5)

The board shall approve other additional fundamental activities if the board finds the activity to be a seminar, symposium, lecture, or program whose contents are directly related to dental care and treatment to patients or public safety and professionalism.

B.

Elective activities for an initial or biennial cycle include, but are not limited to, the examples described in subitems (1) to (7):

(1)

general attendance at a multiday state or national dental convention for a maximum of three credit hours;

(2)

volunteerism or community service directly relating to the practice of dentistry, dental therapy, dental hygiene, or dental assisting such as international or national mission work, voluntary clinic work, or dental health presentations to students or groups;

(3)

professional reading of published articles or other forms of self-study directly relating to the practice of dentistry, dental therapy, dental hygiene, or dental assisting;

(4)

scholarly activities include, but are not limited to:

(a)

teaching a professional course directly related to the practice of dentistry, dental therapy, dental hygiene, or dental assisting; or presenting a continuing dental education program;

(b)

presenting a table clinic directly related to the practice of dentistry, dental therapy, dental hygiene, or dental assisting;

(c)

authoring a published dental article or text in a recognized publication;

(d)

participating in test construction for an accredited state or nationally recognized dental association or organization; and

(e)

participating in a scientific dental research program from an accredited institution or program or an evidence-based clinical study;

(5)

dental practice management courses include, but are not limited to, computer, insurance claims or billing, and Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) training;

(6)

leadership or committee involvement with the board or a dental professional association for a maximum of three credit hours; or

(7)

the board shall approve other additional elective activities if the board finds the contents of the activity to be directly related to, or supportive of, the practice of dentistry, dental hygiene, or dental assisting.

Subp. 4.

Acceptable documentation of professional development activities.

A licensee must record or obtain acceptable documentation of hours in professional development activities for the licensee's portfolio. Acceptable documentation includes, but is not limited to, the following:

A.

a completed self-assessment examination;

B.

a copy of the front and back of a completed CPR card or certificate from the American Heart Association, the American Red Cross, or other equivalent organization;

C.

confirming documentation from the presenting organization that provides the attendee's name, license number, name of organization or presenter, course date, number of credit hours, subject matter, or program title; and

D.

a personal log of published articles read by the licensee including title of the article, name of author, name of journal or periodical, and date of published article.

Subp. 5.

Retention of documentation.

A licensee must keep acceptable documentation for each fundamental and elective activity as required to meet professional development requirements. The licensee must retain the documentation for 24 months after each biennial renewal period has ended for purposes of an audit by the appropriate board committee.

Statutory Authority:

MS s 150A.04

Published Electronically:

July 8, 2013

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569