Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

2001 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

103G.301 General permit application procedures.

Subdivision 1. Application documentation. (a) An application for a permit must be accompanied by:

(1) maps, plans, and specifications describing the proposed appropriation and use of waters;

(2) the changes, additions, repairs, or abandonment proposed to be made;

(3) the waters of the state affected; and

(4) other data the commissioner may require.

(b) The commissioner may require a statement of the effect the actions proposed in the permit application will have on the environment, including:

(1) anticipated changes in water and related land resources;

(2) unavoidable but anticipated detrimental effects; and

(3) alternatives to the actions proposed in the permit application, including conservation measures to improve water use efficiencies and reduce water demand.

Subd. 2. Permit application fees. (a) An application for a permit authorized under this chapter, and each request to amend or transfer an existing permit, must be accompanied by a permit application fee to defray the costs of receiving, recording, and processing the application or request to amend or transfer.

(b) The fee to apply for a permit to appropriate water, a permit to construct or repair a dam that is subject to dam safety inspection, or a state general permit or to apply for the state water bank program is $75. The application fee for a permit to work in public waters or to divert waters for mining must be at least $75, but not more than $500, according to a schedule of fees adopted under section 16A.1285.

Subd. 3. Field inspection fees. (a) In addition to the application fee, the commissioner may charge a field inspection fee for:

(1) projects requiring a mandatory environmental assessment under chapter 116D;

(2) projects undertaken without a required permit or application; and

(3) projects undertaken in excess of limitations established in an issued permit.

(b) The fee must be at least $100 but not more than actual inspection costs.

(c) The fee is to cover actual costs related to a permit applied for under this chapter or for a project undertaken without proper authorization.

(d) The commissioner shall establish a schedule of field inspection fees under section 16A.1285. The schedule must include actual costs related to field inspection, including investigations of the area affected by the proposed activity, analysis of the proposed activity, consultant services, and subsequent monitoring, if any, of the activity authorized by the permit.

Subd. 4. Refund of fees prohibited. A permit application or field inspection fee may not be refunded for any reason, even if the application is denied or withdrawn.

Subd. 5. State and federal agencies exempt from fee. A permit application or field inspection fee may not be imposed on any state agency, as defined in section 16B.01, or federal governmental agency applying for a permit.

Subd. 5a. Town fees limited. Notwithstanding this section or any other law, no permit application or field inspection fee charged to a town in connection with the construction or alteration of a town road, bridge, or culvert shall exceed $100.

Subd. 6. Filing application. (a) An application for a permit must be filed with the commissioner and if the proposed activity for which the permit is requested is within a municipality, or is within or affects a watershed district or a soil and water conservation district, a copy of the application with maps, plans, and specifications must be served on the mayor of the municipality, the secretary of the board of managers of the watershed district, and the secretary of the board of supervisors of the soil and water conservation district.

(b) If the application is required to be served on a local governmental unit under this subdivision, proof of service must be included with the application and filed with the commissioner.

Subd. 7. Recommendation of local units of government. (a) If the proposed activity for which the permit is requested is within a municipality, or is within or affects a watershed district or a soil and water conservation district, the commissioner may obtain a written recommendation of the managers of the district and the board of supervisors of the soil and water conservation district or the mayor of the municipality before issuing or denying the permit.

(b) The managers, supervisors, or mayor must file a recommendation within 30 days after receiving of a copy of the application for permit.

HIST: 1990 c 391 art 7 s 34; 1991 c 298 art 4 s 1; 1993 c 186 s 7; 1995 c 218 s 13; 1996 c 305 art 3 s 10,11; 1999 c 250 art 3 s 9; 2001 c 160 s 4

* NOTE: Laws 1999, chapter 250, article 3, does not repeal *rules or fees in effect on June 30, 2001. Laws 2000, chapter *488, article 12, section 23.

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569