Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

2006 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

145.4132 RECORDING AND REPORTING ABORTION COMPLICATION DATA.
    Subdivision 1. Forms. (a) Within 90 days of July 1, 1998, the commissioner shall prepare an
abortion complication reporting form for all physicians licensed and practicing in the state. A
copy of this section shall be attached to the form.
(b) The Board of Medical Practice shall ensure that the abortion complication reporting
form is distributed:
(1) to all physicians licensed to practice in the state, within 120 days after July 1, 1998, and
by December 1 of each subsequent year; and
(2) to a physician who is newly licensed to practice in the state, at the same time as official
notification to the physician that the physician is so licensed.
    Subd. 2. Required reporting. A physician licensed and practicing in the state who
knowingly encounters an illness or injury that, in the physician's medical judgment, is related to
an induced abortion or the facility where the illness or injury is encountered shall complete and
submit an abortion complication reporting form to the commissioner.
    Subd. 3. Submission. A physician or facility required to submit an abortion complication
reporting form to the commissioner shall do so as soon as practicable after the encounter with
the abortion-related illness or injury.
    Subd. 4. Additional reporting. Nothing in this section shall be construed to preclude the
voluntary or required submission of other reports or forms regarding abortion complications.
History: 1998 c 407 art 10 s 3

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569