Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

2006 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

168.128 LIMOUSINE PLATES.
    Subdivision 1. Limousine registration. A unique vehicle registration category is established
for limousines.
    Subd. 2. Plates. (a) A person who operates a limousine for other than personal use shall
register the motor vehicle as provided in this section.
(b) A person who operates a limousine for personal use may apply. The commissioner shall
issue limousine plates to the registered owner of a limousine who:
(1) certifies that an insurance policy under section 65B.135 in an aggregate amount of
$300,000 per accident is in effect for the entire period of the registration;
(2) provides the commissioner with proof that the passenger automobile license tax and a
$10 fee have been paid for each limousine receiving limousine plates; and
(3) complies with this chapter and rules governing the registration of motor vehicles and
licensing of drivers.
(c) The limousine plates must be designed to specifically identify the vehicle as a limousine
and must be clearly marked with the letters "LM." Limousine plates may not be transferred upon
sale of the limousine, but may be transferred to another limousine owned by the same person
upon notifying the commissioner and paying a $5 transfer fee.
    Subd. 3. Insurance. (a) The application must include a certificate of insurance verifying that
a valid commercial insurance policy is in effect and giving the name of the insurance company
and the number of the insurance policy. The policy must provide stated limits of liability,
exclusive of interest and costs, with respect to each motor vehicle for which coverage is granted,
of not less than $100,000 because of bodily injury to one person in any one accident and, subject
to that limit for one person, of not less than $300,000 because of injury to two or more persons in
any one accident and of not less than $100,000 because of injury to or destruction of property.
The insurance company must notify the commissioner if the policy is canceled or if the policy
no longer provides the coverage required by this subdivision.
(b) The commissioner shall immediately notify the commissioner of transportation if the
policy of a person required to have a permit under section 221.84 is canceled or no longer
provides the coverage required by this subdivision.
    Subd. 4.[Repealed by amendment, 1Sp2005 c 6 art 2 s 14]
History: 1988 c 636 s 6; 1989 c 318 s 5; 1991 c 284 s 3,4; 1992 c 581 s 8; 1Sp2005 c
6 art 2 s 14; 2006 c 212 art 1 s 6

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569