Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

2006 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

82B.13 EDUCATION PREREQUISITES.
    Subdivision 1. Trainee real property appraiser or licensed real property appraiser. As a
prerequisite for licensing as a trainee real property appraiser or licensed real property appraiser, an
applicant must present evidence satisfactory to the commissioner that the person has successfully
completed at least 90 classroom hours of prelicense courses. The courses must consist of 75 hours
of general real estate appraisal principles and the 15-hour national USPAP course.
(a) After January 1, 2008, a trainee real property appraiser applicant must present evidence
satisfactory to the commissioner that the person has successfully completed at least 75 hours of
prelicense courses approved by the commissioner.
(b) After January 1, 2008, a licensed real property appraiser applicant must present evidence
satisfactory to the commissioner that the person has successfully completed at least 150 hours of
prelicense courses approved by the commissioner.
    Subd. 2.[Repealed, 1991 c 97 s 17]
    Subd. 3. Commissioner's approval; rules. The courses and instruction and procedures of
courses must be approved by the commissioner. The commissioner may adopt rules to administer
this section. These rules must, to the extent practicable, conform to the rules adopted for real
estate and insurance education. The credit hours required under this section may be credited to a
person for distance education courses that meet Appraiser Qualifications Board criteria.
    Subd. 4. Certified residential real property appraiser. As a prerequisite for licensing as
a certified residential real property appraiser, an applicant must present evidence satisfactory
to the commissioner that the person has successfully completed at least 120 classroom hours
of prelicense courses, with particular emphasis on the appraisal of one to four unit residential
properties. Fifteen of the 120 hours must include successful completion of the 15-hour national
USPAP course.
After January 1, 2008, a certified residential real property appraiser applicant must present
evidence satisfactory to the commissioner that the person has successfully completed:
(1) 200 hours of prelicense courses approved by the commissioner; and
(2) an associate degree from an accredited college or university. In lieu of the required
degree the applicant may present satisfactory documentation of completion of 21 semester credit
hours from an accredited college or university covering the following subject matter courses:
English composition; principles of economics (micro or macro); finance; algebra, geometry,
or higher mathematics; statistics; introduction to computer word processing/spreadsheets; and
business or real estate law. If an applicant has completed education requirements before January
1, 2008, no college degree is required.
    Subd. 5. Certified general real property appraiser. As a prerequisite for licensing as
a certified general real property appraiser, an applicant must present evidence satisfactory to
the commissioner that the person has successfully completed at least 180 classroom hours of
prelicense courses, with particular emphasis on the appraisal of nonresidential properties. Fifteen
of the 180 hours must include successful completion of the 15-hour national USPAP course.
After January 1, 2008, a certified general real property appraiser applicant must present
evidence satisfactory to the commissioner that the person has successfully completed:
(1) 300 hours of prelicense courses approved by the commissioner; and
(2) a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university. In lieu of the required
degree the applicant may present satisfactory documentation of completion of 30 semester credit
hours from an accredited college or university covering the following subject matters courses:
English composition; micro economics; macro economics; finance; algebra, geometry, or higher
mathematics; statistics; introduction to computer word processing/spreadsheets; business or
real estate law; and two elective courses in accounting, geography, ag-economics, business
management, or real estate. If an applicant has complete education requirements before January 1,
2008, no college degree is required.
    Subd. 6. All appraiser license levels. The required course hours for all appraiser license
levels include completion of the 15-hour national USPAP course and specific core curriculum
courses and hours in accordance with the real property appraiser qualification criteria as defined
by the Appraisal Qualifications Board:

Trainee

Basic appraisal principles
30 hours

Basic appraisal procedures
30 hours

The 15-hour national USPAP course or its equivalent
15 hours

Trainee level total education requirements
75 hours

Licensed

Basic appraisal principles
30 hours

Basic appraisal procedures
30 hours

The 15-hour national USPAP course or its equivalent
15 hours

Residential market analysis and highest and best use
15 hours

Residential appraiser site valuation and cost approach
15 hours

Residential sales comparison and income approaches
30 hours

Residential report writing and case studies
15 hours

Licensed level total education requirements
150 hours

Certified residential

Basic appraisal principles
30 hours

Basic appraisal procedures
30 hours

The 15-hour national USPAP course or its equivalent
15 hours

Residential market analysis and highest and best use
15 hours

Residential appraiser site valuation and cost approach
15 hours

Residential sales comparison and income approaches
30 hours

Residential report writing and case studies
15 hours

Statistics, modeling, and finance
15 hours

Advanced residential applications and case studies
15 hours

Appraisal subject matter electives
20 hours

(May include hours over minimum shown above in other modules)

Certified residential level total education requirements
200 hours

Certified general

Basic appraisal principles
30 hours

Basic appraisal procedures
30 hours

The 15-hour national USPAP course or its equivalent
15 hours

General appraiser market analysis and highest and best use
30 hours

Statistics, modeling, and finance
15 hours

General appraiser sales comparison approach
30 hours

General appraiser site valuation and cost approach
30 hours

General appraiser income approach
60 hours

General appraiser report writing and case studies
30 hours

Appraisal subject matter electives
30 hours

(May include hours over minimum shown above in other modules)

Certified general level total education requirements
300 hours
    Subd. 7. Student tracking manual. It is the responsibility of students to record the
qualifying education they have completed in a student tracking manual broken down by required
core curriculum modules and subtopics, and to maintain an orderly record of education,
experience, and other requirements.
History: 1989 c 341 art 1 s 13; 1991 c 97 s 5-7; 1992 c 587 art 4 s 3; 1993 c 309 s 31; 1997
c 222 s 37-39; 2005 c 100 s 12-15; 2006 c 235 s 4-8

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569