Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

2006 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

84.86 RULES.
    Subdivision 1. Required rules. With a view of achieving maximum use of snowmobiles
consistent with protection of the environment the commissioner of natural resources shall adopt
rules in the manner provided by chapter 14, for the following purposes:
(1) Registration of snowmobiles and display of registration numbers.
(2) Use of snowmobiles insofar as game and fish resources are affected.
(3) Use of snowmobiles on public lands and waters, or on grant-in-aid trails.
(4) Uniform signs to be used by the state, counties, and cities, which are necessary or
desirable to control, direct, or regulate the operation and use of snowmobiles.
(5) Specifications relating to snowmobile mufflers.
(6) A comprehensive snowmobile information and safety education and training program,
including but not limited to the preparation and dissemination of snowmobile information and
safety advice to the public, the training of snowmobile operators, and the issuance of snowmobile
safety certificates to snowmobile operators who successfully complete the snowmobile safety
education and training course. For the purpose of administering such program and to defray
expenses of training and certifying snowmobile operators, the commissioner shall collect a fee
from each person who receives the youth or adult training. The commissioner shall collect a fee, to
include a $1 issuing fee for licensing agents, for issuing a duplicate snowmobile safety certificate.
The commissioner shall establish both fees in a manner that neither significantly overrecovers nor
underrecovers costs, including overhead costs, involved in providing the services. The fees are
not subject to the rulemaking provisions of chapter 14 and section 14.386 does not apply. The fees
may be established by the commissioner notwithstanding section 16A.1283. The fees, except for
the issuing fee for licensing agents under this subdivision, shall be deposited in the snowmobile
trails and enforcement account in the natural resources fund and the amount thereof, except
for the electronic licensing system commission established by the commissioner under section
84.027, subdivision 15, and issuing fees collected by the commissioner, is appropriated annually
to the Enforcement Division of the Department of Natural Resources for the administration of
such programs. In addition to the fee established by the commissioner, instructors may charge
each person up to the established fee amount for class materials and expenses. The commissioner
shall cooperate with private organizations and associations, private and public corporations, and
local governmental units in furtherance of the program established under this clause. School
districts may cooperate with the commissioner and volunteer instructors to provide space for the
classroom portion of the training. The commissioner shall consult with the commissioner of
public safety in regard to training program subject matter and performance testing that leads
to the certification of snowmobile operators.
(7) The operator of any snowmobile involved in an accident resulting in injury requiring
medical attention or hospitalization to or death of any person or total damage to an extent of
$500 or more, shall forward a written report of the accident to the commissioner on such form
as the commissioner shall prescribe. If the operator is killed or is unable to file a report due to
incapacitation, any peace officer investigating the accident shall file the accident report within ten
business days.
    Subd. 2. Public safety rules. The commissioner of public safety may adopt rules not
inconsistent herewith in the manner provided by chapter 14, regulating the use of snowmobiles on
streets and highways.
History: 1967 c 876 s 8; 1969 c 399 s 1; 1969 c 695 s 6; 1969 c 1129 art 10 s 2; 1971 c 491
s 1; 1971 c 577 s 7; 1973 c 123 art 5 s 7; 1982 c 424 s 130; 1982 c 594 s 2; 1985 c 248 s 70;
1Sp1985 c 13 s 194; 1986 c 444; 1993 c 184 s 1; 1997 c 216 s 63; 1998 c 401 s 22; 1999 c 4 s 1;
1999 c 231 s 90; 2000 c 495 s 3; 2004 c 221 s 11; 2004 c 255 s 9; 1Sp2005 c 1 art 2 s 38

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569