Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

2006 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

84.862 SNOWMOBILE TRAINING REQUIRED.
    Subdivision 1. Youth and adult safety training. (a) Any resident born after December 31,
1976, who operates a snowmobile in Minnesota, must possess:
(1) a valid snowmobile safety certificate;
(2) a driver's license that has a valid snowmobile qualification indicator issued under section
171.07, subdivision 12; or
(3) an identification card that has a valid snowmobile qualification indicator issued under
section 171.07, subdivision 12.
(b) For youth or adults taking the youth course, the certificate or qualification indicator may
only be issued upon successful completion of a course authorized under section 84.86. Either
the youth course under this paragraph or the adult course under paragraph (c) may be completed
by persons 16 years of age or older.
(c) Persons 16 years of age or older may take the adult snowmobile safety training course.
The certificate or qualification indicator may only be issued upon successful completion of a
safety course designed for adults or persons 16 years of age or older.
    Subd. 2.[Repealed, 2004 c 255 s 51]
    Subd. 2a. Certificates issued in other states. If a person completes a safety course in
another state that is recognized by the commissioner under a reciprocity agreement or certified by
the commissioner as substantially similar to requirements in this state, evidence that the person
has completed that course is acceptable in lieu of a certificate under this section.
    Subd. 3. Training for offenders. Any person who is convicted for a second or subsequent
speeding violation in a snowmobile season, or any conviction for careless or reckless operation of
a snowmobile, must successfully complete a training course in subdivision 1 before continuing
operation of a snowmobile.
History: 1997 c 216 s 64; 1999 c 231 s 91,92; 2001 c 185 s 10,11; 2003 c 28 art 1 s 7;
2004 c 255 s 10-12

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569