Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

2006 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

84.925 EDUCATION AND TRAINING PROGRAM.
    Subdivision 1. Program established. (a) The commissioner shall establish a comprehensive
all-terrain vehicle environmental and safety education and training program, including the
preparation and dissemination of vehicle information and safety advice to the public, the training
of all-terrain vehicle operators, and the issuance of all-terrain vehicle safety certificates to vehicle
operators over the age of 12 years who successfully complete the all-terrain vehicle environmental
and safety education and training course.
(b) For the purpose of administering the program and to defray a portion of the expenses
of training and certifying vehicle operators, the commissioner shall collect a fee of $15 from
each person who receives the training. The commissioner shall collect a fee, to include a $1
issuing fee for licensing agents, for issuing a duplicate all-terrain vehicle safety certificate. The
commissioner shall establish the fee for a duplicate all-terrain vehicle safety certificate that
neither significantly overrecovers nor underrecovers costs, including overhead costs, involved
in providing the service. Fee proceeds, except for the issuing fee for licensing agents under this
subdivision, shall be deposited in the all-terrain vehicle account in the natural resources fund.
In addition to the fee established by the commissioner, instructors may charge each person the
cost of class material and expenses.
(c) The commissioner shall cooperate with private organizations and associations, private
and public corporations, and local governmental units in furtherance of the program established
under this section. School districts may cooperate with the commissioner and volunteer instructors
to provide space for the classroom portion of the training. The commissioner shall consult with
the commissioner of public safety in regard to training program subject matter and performance
testing that leads to the certification of vehicle operators. By June 30, 2003, the commissioner
shall incorporate a riding component in the safety education and training program.
    Subd. 2.[Repealed, 1989 c 331 s 26]
    Subd. 3. All-terrain vehicle safety courses; reciprocity with other states. The
commissioner may enter into reciprocity agreements or otherwise certify all-terrain vehicle
environmental and safety education and training courses from other states that are substantially
similar to in-state courses. Proof of completion of a course subject to a reciprocity agreement
or certified as substantially similar is adequate to meet the safety certificate requirements of
sections 84.92 to 84.929.
    Subd. 4. Exemption from rulemaking and legislative approval. The fee to issue a
duplicate all-terrain vehicle safety certificate under subdivision 1 is not subject to the rulemaking
provisions of chapter 14 and section 14.386 does not apply. The commissioner may establish the
duplicate all-terrain safety certificate fee notwithstanding section 16A.1283.
    Subd. 5. Training requirements. (a) An individual who was born after July 1, 1987, and who
is 16 years of age or older, must successfully complete the independent study course component
of all-terrain vehicle safety training before operating an all-terrain vehicle on public lands.
(b) An individual who is convicted of violating a law related to the operation of an all-terrain
vehicle must successfully complete the independent study course component of all-terrain vehicle
safety training before continuing operation of an all-terrain vehicle.
(c) An individual who is convicted for a second or subsequent excess speed, trespass, or
wetland violation in an all-terrain vehicle season, or any conviction for careless or reckless
operation of an all-terrain vehicle, must successfully complete the independent study and the
testing and operating course components of all-terrain vehicle safety training before continuing
operation of an all-terrain vehicle.
(d) An individual who receives three or more citations and convictions for violating a law
related to the operation of an all-terrain vehicle in a two-year period must successfully complete
the independent study and the testing and operating course components of all-terrain vehicle
safety training before continuing operation of an all-terrain vehicle.
(e) An individual must present evidence of compliance with this subdivision before an
all-terrain vehicle registration is issued or renewed.
History: 1984 c 647 s 4; 1986 c 444; 1986 c 452 s 11; 2000 c 495 s 5; 1Sp2001 c 2 s 80;
2003 c 28 art 1 s 8; 2004 c 221 s 13,14; 1Sp2005 c 1 art 2 s 41,42

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569